Autopsy 2023 Rd 2 Blues hold on to beat the reigning premier

Who played well for the Blues in Round 2 vs the Cats?

So Carlton CAN play with all of SOJ/Pittonet/TDK in the same team - gee who would have thought?

Durdin in lifted the pressure capability massively he and Motlop look and play like manic midfielders covering massive amounts of ground. Hollands running power- amaaaazing.

Ed Curnow was clutch when Geelong put the foot down in the second half as was Acres

My little mate Kennedy the plodder killed 'em.

Nice win - I was actually calm and grinning with 10 minutes to go even knowing that the freak Cameron would likely score more.

I wonder what plan "crazy Voss" went with was it ABCDEF orG...

GO BLUES

Also I know easy to see who goes out for Walsh and Hewett - less so for when Cuningham has to be fitted in as well - but today is all smiles. We deserve it.

TODN rolls over in bed, opens one eye...

AAARGH, what have I done?!?

I had to chew my own arm off to leave without waking you motley crew.

That was a good win, it was hard work, but we got there. Big change to our ball movement which I like. A real intent to go up the middle. More switches of play, it was good. With a good offensive forward line it should be our go. Especially when we get more run back into the side. Geelong unlike Richmond didn't have the outside speed and didn't look as strong in the middle so we were a bit safer in this one. We had good matchups in defence. Our forwards were a lot better with pressure acts. We improved and we won which was the main thing. Silvagni permanently forward. Two rucks. Durdin back. boxes are getting ticked.

Saad - He was back to his best. Love how he uses his pace to play wide of his man, defend the opposition and to tare away with the footy.

Cripps - He was nullified playing against an even bigger body but he still had an impact. Last time we played Cripps struggled and was held in a tag so this worked well for us.

Kennedy - Thought he was super important and really good in this game. Just covered the field, helped the defence, won a lot of hard ball and halved a lot of contests.

Ed Curnow - He was pretty good just bash and crash in the contest. His tackling and competitiveness was important in there.

Acres - We played a more wingman friendly game and he was great. On the outside and inside he really competed and got to the right spots.

Cerra - He was influential, he was in the play all game. Thought he fought pretty hard and he stood up for us. Didn't get huge numbers but the quality and presence was good.

Newman - Defended well, another classic back pocket's game.

Docherty - He found enough of it and is moving well but didn't kick well.

Hollands - He was another super important. Can see why he's in, he just needs to play as much AFL as possible and build his game there. Is good enough, covers a massive amount of the ground. Drops back in defence, sneaks forward. He's a quality player.

Fisher - He was more involved this week. Still lacked the pressure from chasing and tackling, was walked through a couple of times. Finally in the dying stages he showed the desperation, intensity and physicality we want from him.

Young - He was ok but was beaten by Cameron who was probably a little quick and better at ground level play. Still Cameron is Cameron, he's a gun player so not a bad effort.

Silvagni - He was much better in that perminent forward role. Was really good early, he just makes space up the field and generates link up play for us. He's a high half forward who rests deep, that's his go, no rucking for me. Did not play 4th quarter.

Owies - Much better this week, he kicked straight, put his head over it and finished with 3 important goals.

Weitering - He did a decent job on Hawkins as he often does. It was a good contest.

Motlop - Did some really good things and some not so good things. The moment where he pulled out of a contest, allowing them to win it and go up the other end he would like that again. He was hot and cold but there is next week to better that.

Cowan - We have a really good player here. Another who we just can't get enough AFL games into. Attack on the ball, defending, elite kicking and some nice legspeed. This kid has it.

DeKoning - I thought he rucked a lot better. His game was solid. A bit clumsy in the air, he would have liked to hold a few more marks but I liked his game.

Charlie Curnow - A full forward who kicks 5.2. Say no more.

Pittonet - He wasn't out there long but when he was he was outstanding. Taking marks, laying tackles and rucking well. Glad to see him back.

McKay - He's marking the ball well, his up the field marking late in the game was great. It's his goal kicking which needs a tidy up, just struggling with it at the moment.

McGovern - He looks fit, gets to the right spots but skills are rough. Feel perhaps he's not handling the footys enough mid week? He'll get better, those drops will go from his game. He did a solid lock down job on Rohan by the look of things.

Durdin - We are so much better with Durdin in the team. He adds that aggression and closing speed to the forward line we lack. Kicked a crucial goal, layed a massive 5 tackles and his brief stint in the middle late in the game, there was some very good play there. Guy could be a gun onballer IMO.

O'Brien - He came on late, did a little but not a lot.

How’s everyone’s Friday morning?

Hugh Jackman Confidence GIF by PBS SoCal

Why can't people say defense and attack anymore? Why offense? Just because it's a partner word to deefence?

Why don't people people use goalkickers and goalstoppers any more? Why not pigskin hoofers and aerial markers? Why supporters and not braggarts and ruffians? Why chicken dumplings and not mutton pastries?

It's madness.

Best few mins of footy I’ve seen from Harry I reckon. Could be the making of him.

Ps. Jezza Cameron - what a performance. What a gun. One of the best individual performances I’ve seen since Kouta.
I hope Harry sees that last 5 minutes and realises he can just f'n grab the ball and no-one will stop him.

What I love most about Hollands and Cowan is their ability to play with intent and physicality. They tackle with ferocity attack the ball with courage and are not scared to put their body on the line.

Durdin...what an In. This guy is immense and the constant forward pressure he applies is so important. He's so strong for his size. No wonder Vossy wants him straight in, no VFL or practice games required. He is our Toby Greene minus the douchebaggery.

I wanted to be a good and proper person, but I slipped every fifty into my pocket and gave you back $20 for a measly hotdog in the 80’s at Princes.
We were winning and you didn’t care, I took advantage, how good were Harry, Weits and Youngy in the dying minutes, would you like sauce with your baby wipe?
Bag of peanuts & keep the change

Is this heaven?.........

It feels like heaven. :D

Being there last night with my 16 y/o son was priceless.

His passionate and emotional reaction to Durds incredible goal and Big H's last quarter heroics
was unforgettable. :heart: Pure joy and relief.

He has pretty well only known pain and disappointment unlike my lucky generation.
The outpouring of emotion last night after finally winning a big , tight game was exactly what
we all needed but especially rewarding for the young ones.

What a difference it made to have our smalls be so influential .

What a night, what a win..... LOVE YA BLUE BOYS

Yep, the lost generation is a myth perpetuated by end of worlders

If we win one in the next 5 years I reckon I’ll be an emotional wreck, my 13 year old will be like I was back in the 80’s/90’s. Fist pumping and jumping around like a lunatic

I see it but I don't believe it, you beauty!!

6 points in the bag already

Harry and Ed huge in the last quarter.

Sent from my SM-G998B using Tapatalk

This - when we saw the fixture with Richmond and Geelong the first two games - and to come away with 6 points - is a bloody good result.

Take that.

Is this heaven?.........

It feels like heaven. :D

Being there last night with my 16 y/o son was priceless.

His passionate and emotional reaction to Durds incredible goal and Big H's last quarter heroics
was unforgettable. :heart: Pure joy and relief.

He has pretty well only known pain and disappointment unlike my lucky generation.
The outpouring of emotion last night after finally winning a big , tight game was exactly what
we all needed but especially rewarding for the young ones.

What a difference it made to have our smalls be so influential .

What a night, what a win..... LOVE YA BLUE BOYS

Wife away OS and not back until tomorrow.

House to myself - will sit tonight and watch the complete replay from last night with a couple of glasses of red.

Heaven !!

On a side note very poor crowd tonight.I know cats supporters probably didn’t make the trip cause it’s our home game but 55k is a bit unders.

Stoopid playing on a Thursday night should’ve been scheduled on a Friday, missed another 10K plus with all the worker’s & families, just too hard with the travel on a work night…

Such a welcome change to see us being the aggressors for once. Started early with Charlie crunching SDK in a pack and just snowballed from there. Tackling with intent, body on the line, challenging the opposition to earn every disputed ball. Not confident we'll be able to maintain that level every week for the season, it'll take its toll, but hopefully we can get a good balance between that and the more controlling play we displayed later in the game. Make sure that we're able to go balls to the wall when it's needed.

Biggest takeaway for me - and I don't want to be "negative" - but Jack Martin can play ressies for the rest of the year as far as I'm concerned. I have this gut feel that Durdin, Motlop, Fisher and Owies have a phenomenal chemistry, and feed off each other's energy and competitiveness. Perhaps Durdin is the secret ingredient...

Can see them having their own little huddle in the rooms firing each other up and working out who they're gonna target. On the other hand, I really don't believe that Martin is as invested. It's the dawn of a new Mosquito Fleet, and long may they reign.

Important thing for us is to consolidate and beat GWS next week (which may look a gimme on paper)

We cannot afford to take any team lightly in the league anymore (except probably Hawthorn and West Coast)

Aside from injuries and inexperience, I feel like complancey and getting ahead of ourselves (the players) was the main reason we ended last season in such heartbreak.

Also not looking ahead to much to our next month or so of our fixture, let's just take it one week at a time. Almost everyone here (including myself) got way ahead of ourselves after the half way point of the season.

It's a long, gruelling and at times unpredictable season.

I am cautiously optimistic, but there is also still plenty of areas we can improve on and have room for growth (which is actually a good thing)

Autopsy 2023 Rd 2 Blues hold on to beat the reigning premier