Rumour 2023 Rumours and Speculation (Rumours total 33!, 1 BIG FISH ALERT last October 4th) (7 confirmed! 11 Busted!)

Will Clayton Oliver join the Adelaide Crows?

It's embarrassing that this board ever gave Cornes anything but the disdain he deserves.

Even interstate footy supporters are aware of how garbage the blokes views are
Like most of the footy media.

It's nearly all clickbait rubbish or outrage fodder these days.

Melbourne has pick 5 and I think their pick 15 and a future first could go a long way towards getting Gold Coasts pick 4 ...
if you were the crows holding pick 4 would you be happy swapping pick 4 for pick 15 and a likely 15-18 next year, I personally wouldn’t irrespective of what the trade points machine pops out. I reckon it needs more than that.

Look that’s a fair point, he doesn’t really show me he wants to be involved that much, that’s his first port of call, and stop sulking if it’s not going your way show some grit and urgency and work through it
He was more effective than ROB in the ruck in the last game.

ROB had several poor games during the year,,, yet in none of them did we give Thilthorpe more time in the ruck.

If ROB is playing well & Thilthorpe is quiet, why not try him off a wing or a different role.

Similarly when Rankine, Rachele or Pedlar were having a quiet game, why didn't we give them some time on ball or off a wing? Our coaches rarely adjust player roles when things are not working.

Is he?

"His off-season training regime should include some martial arts training or boxing to try and add more competitiveness and toughness to his game."

cleanhands
The highlighted - bolded - section I was referencing was Cornes saying TT played SANFL late in the year. That’s what was him talking crap

the rest is fine. I have said repeatedly that both Fog and TT were underwhelming this year.

He has been pretty underwhelming to be honest. He has bursts where we see the undeniable talent he possesses but I agree with Cornes that he needs to get more aggressive.

In fact we have seen the same with Fogarty, glimpses and patches of form intermingled with plenty of barren spells. Something isn't right with the forward development at the Crows.
No issue with that . I agree, I was calling Cornes out for saying TT was dropped to the SANFL late in the year, anyway, I have emailed our mate Kane and ccd Jakey Niall to see if he can bother correcting

Extending Nicks contract beyond 2024 in this offseason = Stupid.

Watching Crouch & Slowne play the last month or so and deciding to keep Slowne and get rid of Crouch = Stupid

And that's just a couple of the latest off field decisions, we don't need to touch on the plethora of coaching decisions to know your question is at least a few years too early.
Yeah, but if this unstupid came after that stupid then maybe..

However, if we tossed away every player who didn't meet our lofty expectations weekly ....our list would be only 30 deep

Doedee is a very good footballer, we can ill afford to lose
I agree he's a very handy footballer. He's not so handy that we need to be coughing up his asking price. He'd be great to keep certainly but not at a hefty price. To me he's only on a par with the amazing talent we seem to be able to find in the likes of Murray, Max, Kean and Worrell. I'm actually preferring those to Butts and Doedee.

Extending Nicks contract beyond 2024 in this offseason = Stupid.

Watching Crouch & Slowne play the last month or so and deciding to keep Slowne and get rid of Crouch = Stupid

And that's just a couple of the latest off field decisions, we don't need to touch on the plethora of coaching decisions to know your question is at least a few years too early.
Wait. Are we definitely getting rid of Crouch? I've been out f the footy loop since last Sat.

I don't disagree but Matt needs to be careful having 5 kicks and 25 handballs.
That can be counter productive as well.
Depends whether Dawson is on the end of those handballs*. Certainly seemed like he was actively searching for Dawson at times, and I am very much here for that.

*A little tongue in cheek re 25 handballs, but point remains the same.

Many forget what the average wage is for these guys. As soon as you are a regular fixture of the best 22 you are going to get above average wage

I think the theory of Bell Curve will disagree with this. I believe substantially more players are below the mean average as the best paid players (say 10 players) will elevate this average disproportionately. The median average is the one you're looking for if using "possibles" vs "probables". Using this theory, out of 44 on the list, player 22 is the median. I'm sure that guys is being paid less than the mean average across the list which is simply adding total payments and dividing by the amount of players (is it 44?).

I'm no mathematician but you cant, for example, add up the total prizemoney of the top 44 tennis players in the world and simply divide it to get an average. The top 3-4 guys will skew the pure numbers to create a worthless data point.

For what it's worth Tommy a s a pure need for the club is probably in the player 20-30 range of importance. His knee injury has reduced his value greatly until he can prove his worth post recovery. I'd be offering a one year deal with the promise of a sincere appraisal in 12 months time. He might come back strong....or not at all. The club will remain loyal to Tom but within a realistic and sensible level of risk.

I think the theory of Bell Curve will disagree with this. I believe substantially more players are below the mean average as the best paid players (say 10 players) will elevate this average disproportionately. The median average is the one you're looking for if using "possibles" vs "probables". Using this theory, out of 44 on the list, player 22 is the median. I'm sure that guys is being paid less than the mean average across the list which is simply adding total payments and dividing by the amount of players (is it 44?).

I'm no mathematician but you cant, for example, add up the total prizemoney of the top 44 tennis players in the world and simply divide it to get an average. The top 3-4 guys will skew the pure numbers to create a worthless data point.

For what it's worth Tommy a s a pure need for the club is probably in the player 20-30 range of importance. His knee injury has reduced his value greatly until he can prove his worth post recovery. I'd be offering a one year deal with the promise of a sincere appraisal in 12 months time. He might come back strong....or not at all. The club will remain loyal to Tom but within a realistic and sensible level of risk.
Tom would be a mug to accept a 1 year deal with other clubs reported to be still circling.

Thilthorpe is a 21 year old ruck/forward who's stats are no worse than any comparable player in the same draft. Hell, he's tied with Joe Daniher and Jesse Hogan in contested marks (equal 10th in the comp), get a grip people.
Contested marks is one measure. But 18 goals for TT and 51 for big Joe and 42 for Jesse is another.

TT and Fog are difficult to read still as they haven't had any clean air without Tex yet. Accordingly, neither are a great worry yet so long as there is still growth in their performances.

I'd like to see Riley kick more goals than Peds and Keays next year at least. Didn't happen this year!

Tom would be a mug to accept a 1 year deal with other clubs reported to be still circling.
He might well be a fool to do it. But if you were the club contract guy, what length deal would you offer him right now?

It's tricky looking at this from a distance but the club would know all they need to regarding his injury recovery prospects...and his attitude to the previous deal reportedly offered.

What would you say is a fair deal for all (contract length perspective)?

I'm not sure.

I think we broke Chayces confidence.

He started great and just played his natural game with courage.

We made him doubt himself and that took a long time to recover that.
We definitely whiffed on his development. I vividly remember a game where he was so preoccupied by his opponent he had his back turned 180 degrees to the ruckman at the centre bounce. Multiple times.

He was so overly concerned about his man it completely stopped him hunting the ball. Then we criticised and dropped him for not finding the footy. That's terrible coaching. Set Chayce back years, he's lucky to have come good with the damage we did to his confidence.

We definitely whiffed on his development. I vividly remember a game where he was so preoccupied by his opponent he had his back turned 180 degrees to the ruckman at the centre bounce. Multiple times.

He was so overly concerned about his man it completely stopped him hunting the ball. Then we criticised and dropped him for not finding the footy. That's terrible coaching. Set Chayce back years, he's lucky to have come good with the damage we did to his confidence.
It was hard to watch at the time

We fxxked both jones’s and Fogarty’s development in the 2019 year of stupidity from Pyke..

set the development of both of them backwards for atleast a good year.

Pyke loved Matty Crouch and I'd bet he has plenty to do with the Swans interest now. Crows best 2 players in the finals in 2017 were the Crouch brothers and unlike many of their teammates they turned up to play in the Grand Final
I was speaking more about the stubbonness after a decision was made and inflexibility to change their thinking.

Of course, Pyke saw Crouch 1st hand at his best.

Nicks only saw him and made decisions based on an injured/returning from injury player who had a less than ideal fitness coach, until we got Burgess.

Who’s responsible for not being in enough contests, if he’s competitive enough he would involve himself in more contests
Seems to be in the contest a reasonable amount.

I think people want to see him crash packs, which he doesn't tend to do. He isn't afraid of a competitive contest at all otherwise how is he in the top 10?

I'm with Kane on this.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230831_224627_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20230831_224627_Chrome.jpg
    161.8 KB · Views: 76
He might well be a fool to do it. But if you were the club contract guy, what length deal would you offer him right now?

It's tricky looking at this from a distance but the club would know all they need to regarding his injury recovery prospects...and his attitude to the previous deal reportedly offered.

What would you say is a fair deal for all (contract length perspective)?
2 or 3 years because you know Tom is the kind of character that will put 110% into his rehab giving himself every chance to return to his best form post the ACL.

Melbourne has pick 5 and I think their pick 15 and a future first could go a long way towards getting Gold Coasts pick 4 ...

I just can’t see how 2024/1s can come into play for pick 4.

Gold Coast are around 2,000 points short this year if they cough up pick 4 and their 3 x Academy players go where they are expected too.

Pick 15 would only give them around 1,100 points, leaving them a significant Round 1 deficit next season. This would push back their 2024/1, potentially up to 8-10 spots depending on where they finish.

Depending on what else GC do during the trade period, any team that bids for 4 may need to cough up far more points than the 2,034 attached to this pick.

——————————

Quick question for the draft gurus - do Gold Coast need to have the available list spots to be able to use picks to match? E.g. they currently have 9 picks with points attached, if they were looking at utilising all of them, do they need 9 x list spots available on draft night?