List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part III

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Courtesy of Lore

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm in a punters group with a couple of Bomber supporting mates... made the mistake of engaging in their discussion around Oliver and Shiel when they said they'd give up Pick 13 they got from us for taking Gresham on for Shiel to Melbourne for Oliver..... Apparently the rumours are BS and Oliver is unhappy with the joint and wants to leave Melbourne... This trade period can't end soon enough...

some dude just called up TR to say exactly that... FMD they're cooked

I'm in a punters group with a couple of Bomber supporting mates... made the mistake of engaging in their discussion around Oliver and Shiel when they said they'd give up Pick 13 they got from us for taking Gresham on for Shiel to Melbourne for Oliver..... Apparently the rumours are BS and Oliver is unhappy with the joint and wants to leave Melbourne... This trade period can't end soon enough...
I can’t get over how delusional bombers fans are. They think they can get a first round pick for us taking a player worth absolutely nothing on a big contract then flip said first rounder for one of the premier mids in the game at the peak of his power.

They clearly don’t understand how stupid they sound.

I can’t get over how delusional bombers fans are. They think they can get a first round pick for us taking a player worth absolutely nothing on a big contract then flip said first rounder for one of the premier mids in the game at the peak of his power.

They clearly don’t understand how stupid they sound.

they clearly have a very favourable opinion of our club

Do we reckon Tim got a strike this year btw?

Went in for surprise knee surgery, think it was pitched as a 'clean up' about a month before the season, but at the time the club still said he should be right for round 1, then he hardly played all year.

On top of that, Ross had comments in a presser at one point that were pretty pointed around Tim basically being cleared by the medical team of any knee issue and it was just around when he decided he was okay to come back and help.

why's there such a big deal being made of Callum Mills rotator cuff injury.... how was he responsible for it?

Tom Morris just said "I think Sydney is the best option for Callum Mills departing Rotator Cuff tendon"

why's there such a big deal being made of Callum Mills rotator cuff injury.... how was he responsible for it?

Tom Morris just said "I think Sydney is the best option for Callum Mills departing Rotator Cuff tendon"

He did it on mad-monday, but not going into details i think.

Yeah I'm with ya. Wet blanket damo was calling for him to lose the captaincy.

Sounds like he was extremely unlucky with the injury. Yes he was horsing around but jesus christ, let the boys live.

Heard a saints fan call up trade radio this morning and say we should offer 12, 13 (if we get it) and a future first for Oliver and "see if Melbourne like it"

This is the most St.Kilda thing to do and we should be doing the total opposite.

If we can get enough assets to try and trade for Oliver, we can get enough assets to try and trade up for pick 1 or pick 4 and draft our own Oliver and maintain money in the cap for free agents down the track.

trading multiple firsts from our position just isn't worth the risk.

It's a classic St.Kilda shortcut that we will be sooking about on here in 8 years time when we still haven't made a prelim let alone a GF and are facing another half hearted rebuild.

This is the Beams to Brisbane and Beams back to Collingwood stink about it
mate some saints fans on fb wanted shiel for shiel in the early days of this pick 13 gresham thing,pick 13 didnt matter at all,i asked them if they were 30yo,seen 4 grand finals,3 pre season titles,a couple brownlows & probably our best sustained success run(2004-2011)in our history and were thinking life was grand?

one replied that he just liked to be positive not negative(little dig at me)

i decided to let it go,of course only after suggesting that the likes of dodo would flop it out and pull the head off it if he was dealing with you(fb poster)

My 2c

Tassie coming into the comp in a few years which will comprise the cr@p out of the talent pool. As much as I would love Oliver we are not a chance at winning the GF with the aging midfield of Crouch/Steele/Sinclair etc.

We need to invest in quality Mids that are kids so that we peak at the right time when Tassie is about to enter. Then we stock up on Free Agents.

We have a lot of list building to do in the next 2 or 3 years to really be at peak form. We have a decent amount of young core players, just need to draft midfielders. Get rid of Gresham/Clark/Billings/ Coff (if we get a decent pick) and hit the draft hard.

Keep Jones and McKenzie for another year for depth and see if they can get fit as they would all be upgrades on the above and it won't comprise our list.

Went in for surprise knee surgery, think it was pitched as a 'clean up' about a month before the season, but at the time the club still said he should be right for round 1, then he hardly played all year.

On top of that, Ross had comments in a presser at one point that were pretty pointed around Tim basically being cleared by the medical team of any knee issue and it was just around when he decided he was okay to come back and help.
Not sure this is the time to be going down that path

AFL Trade radio stating Jade Gresham will be a bomber 100%
Good luck to him, but I won't miss his many turnover inside 50 kicks. He had the 2nd most clangers for us despite only having the 9th most disposals. At best I would say he finished 13th in the b&f after missing 1 game, so we are not really going to miss him that much, especially for the ridiculous price he wants.

Tassie coming into the comp in a few years which will comprise the cr@p out of the talent pool. As much as I would love Oliver we are not a chance at winning the GF with the aging midfield of Crouch/Steele/Sinclair etc.
Agree with this.

Last time we bottomed out we were shit out of luck with GC and GWS and all the mini draft bullshit

Now we didn’t help ourselves with the drafting as well but I digress.

Get as much young talent as we can before tassie come in and rort the already rorted draft

Nah his knee injury was a real injury was at training when it happaned.

I was in Jambaran, Sumatra. An American woman came in, interrupted my chat with the hostel worker by blurting "We need food, we are VERY hungry" and sitting down facing the opposite direction.

Poor fella's face looked like he was flustered, like he'd upset her. Generally never had dramas with American tourists but this cow was so patronising and rude.

Anyway... yes to Oliver. We need some American tourists level c**t on our list. Even our toughest players are bloody nice off the field (Owens, Stocker, Steele)
singapore airlines flight years ago,american woman seated right side of plane first row after toilets,i was one row back middle,her husband was two rows behind me middle(smart man,she pointed out her husband during outburst)

starts wingeing big time that she specifically did not want a seat near toilets,shes a travel agent etc,after 20 minutes of non stop complaining they told her they had found a pregnant woman who would appreciate the seat near toilets and that she could swap with her,so the swap was made,heavily pregnant woman arrives & to everyones relief this woman disappears down the back somewhere

not 5 minutes later this woman came back wanting her original seat,poor old pregnant woman returns to her seat without complaint,british woman sat beside her without saying a word during the initial outburst says"you know that woman is pregnant dont you?"american woman goes off her nut telling her to mind her own business etc,then sees me and everyone else looking at her and gives the flight crew the"everyone is looking at me,poor me"line

wow what a piece of work

Its literally the same s**t many said about DeGoey last year and look how he went this year.

I cant see anyway we get him and i wouldnt want us to trade the farm for him either, its just dumb to get on your high horse about footballers over rumors when they get floated as trade bait. I couldnt care if he is Tony Montana if he wins us a flag I also trust the club will sort the bullshit from the truth and make a decision about whether and how hard we pursue him.
If your assumption about the equivalency of their behaviour, and what was said about it, is correct:

It’s still not the same as De Goey.

He was a FA exploring his options, Collingwood still wanted him.

This guy has years left on a recently signed multi million contract, but Melbourne wants to sell him.

That’s all we need to know.