2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

St Kilda will select 3 to 4 more players Tomorrow Night that may include NGA players Hoffman and/or Cole.
It's possible that we only pick 1 of the above given the selection of Tauru and Travaglia and the need to balance the list.

Ideally, we draft at least 1 midfielder and 1 Ruckman with those Picks.

We currently have picks 32, 51, 76 and 84,.

There are a few clubs that seem to have excess selections that we could target for trades.

Brisbane is expected to take 1 to 2 more selections and have Picks 46, 47, 49,56,59,66, and 69
Carlton is expected to take 3 more sections and have 40, 55, 63,64,67
Collingwood 3 Selections 45, 48, 53, 61
Essendon 3 Selections 37, 39,43,60
Hopefully we had a side deal with essendon - if saints don't bid on kako they will trade us pick 43 for a future 4th round pick

We then trade 43 to Brisbane for 46,47 and 49

This Will certainly cover any bids.

I also think no consideration is going into the possibility Hugo Garcia could be valuable addition to the midfield rotation.

I'm certainly not suggesting he is a guaranteed success but he showed enough last season to feel he is a good chance to be a good player.

There is also the hope that Windhager goes up a gear, Clark stays fit and lifts his output slightly (which would be magnificent) and then the unknown of Max Hall.

I'm not stating these guys are going to make a premiership midfield next season, but there is more midfield building blocks than people are considering.

Maybe this is why the club didn't overpay to get up the draft order? I don't know.

But it just seems like melting and throwing out rubbish chat is the go instead of consideration.
Agree, I think Hugo will have a breakout year this year. Would not be surprised to see Henry spend time in the mid at times either.

Alrighty, the second round will allow us to right some of the wrongs of the past thirty years when Shanahan kicks five goals in the last quarter of the 2027 grand final.
Against Hawthorn and a 32 year old JARMAN Impey. Or against Josh Battle of course! Or even against Adelaide...

Extraordinarily under selling McKercher (a baby who is about as locked in to be a gun as you can get)and Wardlaw.

Of course I'm going to undersell him. So far all he's done at AFL level is seagull in the backline and pinch kick outs.

What you're talking about is long term development.

That couldn't possibly happen at AFL level. Travaglia is a halfback flanker, just like McKercher, and that's all he'll ever be...

Sarcasm aside:

My point was that having half a dozen top 5 picks doesn't mean you've got a team of superstars. You have to train and develop them.

Forwards can become defenders, defenders can move on ball, on ballers can rest forward... The success rate of these moves is as much on the development of the player as it is on their talent.

Would you trade Wilson for McKercher in that same draft? What about Phillipou vs Weddle?

12 months ago Jase Burgoyne looked like he was going to wash out of the league. A late shot that only got listed because of his name. Port gave him a shot at half back and now he's probably one of their first picked!

Do I even bring up teaching the old dog that is Rory Lobb his new trick of playing CHB in the stingiest defence in the comp? Who could see THAT coming?

Everyone's pretty well calmed down now but the carry on in here over drafting two 'defenders' was just ridiculous.

By my calculations Maximum we can have on the Primary List is 38 then 4 CAT A Rookies and 2 CAT B Rookies

We currently have:
34 Primary List
2 CAT A Rookies (Plus a promise to re-rookie Brad Crouch)
2 CAT B Rookies

So my guess is 4 added to the list tonight including Cole and Hoffman so 2 unknowns to add one at 32 then a late hail Mary or trade in with a Future 3rd

We then Rookie Peckett on Friday and Crouch to fill our Rookie quota

Later Crouch will retire and we will have one list spot open for SSP for a mature Ruck to provide some insurance for Ro.

We will probably pick one of the next few rated that have all been discussed at 32 Boxshall Mraz Dodson etc but the last pick is wide open if we do take one. It could be the mature Ruck backup but thats a bit dull.

So for the late pick presuming we take one a few I think are interesting (lots more on those lists I have no idea about and I have completely ignored looking at talls in this draft) any one of the below end up at the Saints and I am claiming them:

1. Rhys Unwin Small but fast and can play mid 11 clearances in the CTL GF probably a forward at AFL but he has something stood out as the only one trying in the first quarter onslaught by Sandy.

2. Sam Toner Goalkicking overager that came out of the blue mid season after dominating local footy to star for a handful of games for Dandenong before breaking his hand true smokey

3 Josh Murphy Probably not an AFL player but can kick a goal and is different to anything we have. Led the goalkicking in the CTL Stringer type 190cm bull full forward. Would be fun and might make Sandy more watchable.

4. Luke Kennedy The guy who let the rest of the Sandy Midfield run free while he did the dirty work maybe an option Clean - Great Kick - Dual Sided - Genuine Mid - 6.09min 2K doesnt have that explosion or size but maybe.

5. Luke Urquhart WA inside mid bull bit rough around the edges but finds the pill and he is blonde to keep with the theme

Haven’t addressed?
We’ve added a triple All Australian midfielder and a promising young mid in Carroll with picks still to come.
Didn't we also draft Pou, Wilson and Garcia and Hall and trade in Dow and Henry?
So apart from
Phillipou
Wilson
Garcia
Hall
Dow
Henry
Macrae
and Carroll

Saints have done nothing about mids.

Honestly, for me the only thing that is open for discussion if whether we should have intentionally dropped the Carlton game. (I'm not talking the stupidity of blaming Higgins for his kick). It's fair enough to have an opinion either way on that, but with the way things fell, once all the top mids were taken, it would have been insane to pass up talent for position.

That we rated talent over what position a kid plays?

Sounds like a pretty reasonable approach to me.

You're 100% right mate. Dogs breakfast of midfielders between 8-20 no talent at all. Lucky we dodged that bullet.

Shame about the other 8 clubs that got duped. Some of them even got done twice!

Would probably cost us a F2nd to get a pick form the Lions or Bombers.

Unless there's someone we absolutely love I rekon we take our pick, get our NGA kids and Peckett and see what's left in the rookie draft.

If everyone is bailing on next year's draft because of all the NGA kids then I rekon we could load up TBH.

Target teams that want to sell picks into the 2026 and 2027 drafts and we could end up with 3x 1st rounders to play with.

I'd say the Lions are the ones for us. Next year's F2 for 46 and their 4 fourth rounders would be handy. Means we don't carry over points in a revised year where points reduce for each pick later on and Lions will definitely appreciate the future points.

List spots and knowing how many players clubs would take would definitely help in such an exercise. For example if we grabbed 46 from Lions, we could do 46 & 51 for GWS' 36 (if they had 2 spots to fill).

Out: 51, F2
In: 36, 56, 59, 66, 69

That sounds too good to be true, what am I missing here? We could easily add an F3 or F4 somewhere to even things up or take one less 4th rounder. But honestly, that's the ideal scenario for us.

Grab 2 more in the 30s, Cole, then Hofmann and rookie Elwood.

By my calculations Maximum we can have on the Primary List is 38 then 4 CAT A Rookies and 2 CAT B Rookies

We currently have:
34 Primary List
2 CAT A Rookies (Plus a promise to re-rookie Brad Crouch)
2 CAT B Rookies

So my guess is 4 added to the list tonight including Cole and Hoffman so 2 unknowns to add one at 32 then a late hail Mary or trade in with a Future 3rd

We then Rookie Peckett on Friday and Crouch to fill our Rookie quota

Later Crouch will retire and we will have one list spot open for SSP for a mature Ruck to provide some insurance for Ro.

We will probably pick one of the next few rated that have all been discussed at 32 Boxshall Mraz Dodson etc but the last pick is wide open if we do take one. It could be the mature Ruck backup but thats a bit dull.

So for the late pick presuming we take one a few I think are interesting (lots more on those lists I have no idea about and I have completely ignored looking at talls in this draft) any one of the below end up at the Saints and I am claiming them:

1. Rhys Unwin Small but fast and can play mid 11 clearances in the CTL GF probably a forward at AFL but he has something stood out as the only one trying in the first quarter onslaught by Sandy.

2. Sam Toner Goalkicking overager that came out of the blue mid season after dominating local footy to star for a handful of games for Dandenong before breaking his hand true smokey

3 Josh Murphy Probably not an AFL player but can kick a goal and is different to anything we have. Led the goalkicking in the CTL Stringer type 190cm bull full forward. Would be fun and might make Sandy more watchable.

4. Luke Kennedy The guy who let the rest of the Sandy Midfield run free while he did the dirty work maybe an option Clean - Great Kick - Dual Sided - Genuine Mid - 6.09min 2K doesnt have that explosion or size but maybe.

5. Luke Urquhart WA inside mid bull bit rough around the edges but finds the pill and he is blonde to keep with the theme

Great work Mangus

I suspect that other pick tonight might end up being used on Boyd, if the links are legit.

After Crouch retires there are a few delisted players we could invite to train for a while. We reportedly spoke to Marchbank and Tomlinson but I'd think landing Tauru means they're both out of the running. There was some talk about Curtis Taylor I think. I rated Cumberland at the Tigers but not sure he's what we need. I haven't heard anything about Brandan Parfitt since he got delisted...

Then there's half a dozen state league players that everyone will want to see get a gig.

Plenty of options!

But the Saints also had their eyes on busy left-footed small forward Joe Berry, and were prepared to dangle their future first-round pick for him with clubs in the teens.

But there were no takers.

Port Adelaide snaffled up the quick and clean goal kicker at pick 15, and that is when the Saints went quiet.

As well all surmised.

North too stupid to trade down to 7 and get a free F1 and get Tauru, instead use their F1 for pick 27. Instead of 2 F1's they have none.

The others holding tight as we all thought. Someone said SOS had failed last night, didn't try hard enough of something. There were no deals to be had by the looks.

Hopefully we had a side deal with essendon - if saints don't bid on kako they will trade us pick 43 for a future 4th round pick

We then trade 43 to Brisbane for 46,47 and 49

This Will certainly cover any bids.
We already did a side deal with Essendon. I'm not sure what happens now about trading with them as you can't trade same picks back. They won't be the same as they changed with the Kako bid but it may complicate things

For the record I'm not keen on drafting the mature agers we've been linked to. The way this deep draft is going and with Crouch no good, we just need to get them down to RSEA Park and train to the death for the SPP spot.

Get the best 2 open draft kids, ie Shanas, Ough, Mraz, Gerryn, Boxshall and the top ups should be SPPs.

You're 100% right mate. Dogs breakfast of midfielders between 8-20 no talent at all. Lucky we dodged that bullet.

Shame about the other 8 clubs that got duped. Some of them even got done twice!

Neither of our boys were taken earlier than expected.

If we didn’t select them then they’re well & truly gone in the next few picks.

Why can't you trade the same picks back? Is that actually a rule?

Pretty sure it is.

It's to stop teams doing a trade, matching a bid with what's left, then trading back the same picks, effectively losing nothing.

Teams have done it before and just throw in a token 4th rounder or something to meet the requirements of not reversing the same trade.

OUT
def: Battle, Paton, Bonner, Van Es
ruck: Campbell
mid: Ross, Hotton
fwd: Membrey, Hayes, Allison

IN
def: Tauru, Travaglia, Hofmann*, Cole*
ruck: X
mid: Macrae, Carroll
fwd: X, X, X

Wanted us to split pick 8, but pretty rapt with those first two picks on balance.

Reckon we've hit a pretty sweet spot in the draft for a key/mobile forward as well
so we still need a ruck, a fwd, and of course a mid - and may only have 1 live pick left if Cole and Hofman get bid on

Why can't you trade the same picks back? Is that actually a rule?
I believe so. I found this, when trying to find something to confirm. I feel ill about the Essendon link, but it's actually a very very good resource.

https://discourse.bomberblitz.com/t/the-2024-draft-explainer-confuser/33438

It explains it all the way down under Single Use Picks for the trade period section.

Not sure how complicated/convoluted it gets when it comes to new picks generated due to accepting bids though.

2024 Draft Thread.