2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

The problem with the 7 and F1 for 2 is that the F1 could very well be a 6th to 8th pick. Let’s make up a number and say that weighting that pick vs this year and that’s equal to pick 10 (this notion that there aren’t good players available next year is silly).

What other players would command a pick 7 and pick 10 in a trade? Would be a top 10 player in the comp (ignoring the desperation of Freo and GC this year 🤣🤣).
One way of looking at it.

But if you draft again I suppose the value is in you having that player for 15 years as opposed to 5-6 when you can land them in FA.

I’d be more inclined to split 8 and trade our F1 into this draft and try bring 32 in abit.

I want more of that 10-23 range talent

And this is why he isn't in the conversation as a top 6 mid

It will take a club that believes in their development to take him and help him reach his potential. There is not that added bonus of 'proven product' that you get with the other guys above him

If we see the potential in him then I back it given the work of Damian Carroll in recent years with high upside guys like Nas and Pou and hopefully Wilson/Garcia/Hastie

He's got almost a unicorn athletic base - we just need to develop the craft. Given he has limited exposure to the midfield, I have faith we can teach him the necessary midfield craft. The kicking...well idk. Byrnes' problems seem somewhat alleviated while 30 yr old Zak Jones was able to turn it around this year as well.
Lenny would be the one mainly working with Bo Allan if we pick him

To be fair sounds like Corey Enright will aswell if you take the WA talent manager at his word that Allan will play Halfback/Third Tall initially before transitioning into the midfield full time.

A late option key defender who has been likened to Tom Stewart. He has rejected the call up in the past, but seems keen to give the AFL a go this year -

Traralgon defender Tye Hourigan looms as a bolter for 2024 AFL draft​

He’s 23, already has four best-and-fairests and a premiership medal to his name — and AFL clubs are taking notice. Meet the country footy defender bound for the big smoke.

The whispers out of Gippsland football are becoming more frequent. AFL clubs are watching Traralgon’s Tye Hourigan — and he may be the bolter in this year’s drafts. The 23-year-old is widely regarded as one of the best players in Victorian country football and it’s believed at least one club had recruiters running an eye over him in the Gippy league grand final three weeks ago.

Hourigan, a 193cm defender, played in Traralgon’s premiership win over Leongatha and claimed his fourth senior best and fairest despite missing a few games with injury. For the third consecutive season he was also named at centre half back in the Gippsland team of the year.

Even as a key backman, Hourigan has sometimes been tagged by rival teams. “I hope so. There’s been different inklings here and there,’’ Maroons coach Troy Hamilton responded to speculation that recruiters were on to Hourigan.

“It would be brilliant for him and brilliant for our club.

“I think he could play in the AFL. He’s the best country footballer I’ve seen. I think he could play in the AFL for sure. He’s 6’3 and a bit, he can play on talls or smalls, he’s an elite mark, he runs a 6:20 2km, he’s got pace, he’s an elite user and he reads the footy better than anyone I’ve seen. There is no weakness.’’

Hamilton said Hourigan was “lame’’ with an ankle injury in a match against Morwell this year, prompting the Maroons to play him out of the goalsquare. He kicked six goals.

Former Traralgon coach Jake Best was similarly effusive when asked about Hourigan.

The former Casey VFL player and Vermont premiership forward called him an outstanding player, “in the best three I’ve ever played with’’. “He’s a star mate,’’ Best said. “He’s a tall intercept defender with great skills and he reads the play like someone I’ve never seen.’’

Hourigan has been named in Traralgon’s best players 49 times in his 65 games in the past four seasons.

An official from an opposition Gippsland league club said of Hourigan: “Everything is one-touch clean. He kicks the footy like a mule – hits a bloke on the chest with a 60m drop-punt – and he’ll pick the ball up at pace below his knees, sidestep someone coming the other way and off he goes. “He’s as good a key position player as I’ve seen at our level.’’

Hourigan was runner-up in Gippsland Power’s 2018 best and fairest and trained briefly with Casey Demons before returning to Traralgon.

VFL clubs have sounded him out in the past two years but he’s been content to play for the Maroons as he completes his university studies to be a schoolteacher.

Hourigan is also an accomplished cricketer, captaining a local A grade team

I actually think Smillie has the biggest bust factor in the top 15. Tall mids like this fail more than they succeed and he doesn’t look like he will make it in another role if he isn’t competitive enough or good enough at ground level to be a mid he won’t make it.

Murphy Reid is no sure thing mid at afl level either. Just as likely a half forward/wing.

Bo’s kicking isn’t as bad as some are making out on this thread today. If they have only seen his highlights from the midfield than he looks worse than he is. Looks rushed which isn’t a surprise considering he is learning a new craft in the midfield.

Highlights below are of him in the WAFL playing off halfback.

It’s very unlikely we are picking a “sure thing” mid at our selections so I don’t get why we keep banging on about every prospects weaknesses in our range because they aren’t a proven top end mid. Both prospects we pick will have questions marks, particularly those we hope are mids.

Don’t fall into the trap of focusing too much on what these kids can’t do at a high level but what they CAN DO!

Yeah agree with you on this .... think when given time & space his kicking is fine but currently under pressure he is a bit of a headless chook

That said I believe in time with more experience he can fix this flaw and improve his skill execution when the heat is on

His speed and athleticism is salivating and he is a one grab good mark and has a great tackle

If he can stack on muscle and grow another few cms he will be a beast

Plenty of great modern mids have had or still have flawed kicks .... Danger / Fyfe / Cripps / Oliver to name a few
He's a February birthday so probably won't get any taller. 191cm is plenty though.
What he can do is exit stoppage at speed and hoof it 65 metres which is a good start. If we can get one of Langford/Smillie to add craft and Allan for what he can do then it's a good mix.
Also still not writing of old mate Lindsay as a good pairing. Since we should also be adding the Hoff, thats 3 guys with speed and a 65m. Add the Pou and Ari (King) and it builds an offensive kicking element across all lines.

But if you draft again I suppose the value is in you having that player for 15 years as opposed to 5-6 when you can land them in FA.

I’d be more inclined to split 8 and trade our F1 into this draft and try bring 32 in abit.

Whereas funnily I’m not a fan beyond what looks like 12+ into the 20s. Full of small fwds that aren’t as pressing (but still hardly dripping in them) or talls that don’t float my boat.

Sure, if two of Reid, Lindsay, Trainor or Dodson back a bit, then 15,16 is a good deal. It’s hard to see Reid and Lindsay still on the board and while I can certainly see some great attributes, I’m a bit more unsure on those two.

Whereas I really like a few of the options that look like 30s picks. Odd 😆

Gimme one of the top 6 mids, a slide to 10 or 11 for an early 20-ish(?) with something going back, Travaglia or Allan at the 10 or 11, a good fit at 20 odd, a tall at 32.

To be fair sounds like Corey Enright will aswell if you take the WA talent manager at his word that Allan will play Halfback/Third Tall initially before transitioning into the midfield full time.
Most of these kids won't start AFL in the middle that always takes time they will either play VFL or outside the mids in AFL if they have the vestility

FOS will start on a Wing HF or HB
Lalor will start forward
Reid will start on HFF
Smillie probably HB
Ashcroft HFF
Langford Wing HF
Jagga and Draper probably most likely to get a start onball but that might mean they spend a fair bit of time in the VFL

Allan is more ready than most to be a meaningful contributor in an AFL team and his transition should not take long to the middle even at senior WAFL level in the Premiership winning Docker alligned Peel he moved from HB to the middle come finals and was in their onball rotations for all the finals.

His kicking is not diabolical as someone pointed out earlier in the Colts and from HB he hit targets consistently - He also has plenty of distance in his leg. Composure and reliability will come with time.

These picks won't make a meaningful difference to our midfield whoever we pick for another 2 or 3 seasons hence we needed Macrae. Hopefully Pou is ready to make that difference in year 3 next year.

I don't know the unease about Allan if the most likely scenario of us keeping 7 and 8 occurs.
There will be a slider from the top 6 mids ( if Tauru is taken) so we get a Smillie or Draper.
Then we can take Allan as a bit of a risk.

Or if Tauru is there him and then pick 8 maybe Allan, Reid, Lindsay.

Or pick take someone pick 7 and then see who want Tauru.

Really anything above will be acceptable.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

A late option key defender who has been likened to Tom Stewart. He has rejected the call up in the past, but seems keen to give the AFL a go this year -

Traralgon defender Tye Hourigan looms as a bolter for 2024 AFL draft​

He’s 23, already has four best-and-fairests and a premiership medal to his name — and AFL clubs are taking notice. Meet the country footy defender bound for the big smoke.

The whispers out of Gippsland football are becoming more frequent. AFL clubs are watching Traralgon’s Tye Hourigan — and he may be the bolter in this year’s drafts. The 23-year-old is widely regarded as one of the best players in Victorian country football and it’s believed at least one club had recruiters running an eye over him in the Gippy league grand final three weeks ago.

Hourigan, a 193cm defender, played in Traralgon’s premiership win over Leongatha and claimed his fourth senior best and fairest despite missing a few games with injury. For the third consecutive season he was also named at centre half back in the Gippsland team of the year.

Even as a key backman, Hourigan has sometimes been tagged by rival teams. “I hope so. There’s been different inklings here and there,’’ Maroons coach Troy Hamilton responded to speculation that recruiters were on to Hourigan.

“It would be brilliant for him and brilliant for our club.

“I think he could play in the AFL. He’s the best country footballer I’ve seen. I think he could play in the AFL for sure. He’s 6’3 and a bit, he can play on talls or smalls, he’s an elite mark, he runs a 6:20 2km, he’s got pace, he’s an elite user and he reads the footy better than anyone I’ve seen. There is no weakness.’’

Hamilton said Hourigan was “lame’’ with an ankle injury in a match against Morwell this year, prompting the Maroons to play him out of the goalsquare. He kicked six goals.

Former Traralgon coach Jake Best was similarly effusive when asked about Hourigan.

The former Casey VFL player and Vermont premiership forward called him an outstanding player, “in the best three I’ve ever played with’’. “He’s a star mate,’’ Best said. “He’s a tall intercept defender with great skills and he reads the play like someone I’ve never seen.’’

Hourigan has been named in Traralgon’s best players 49 times in his 65 games in the past four seasons.

An official from an opposition Gippsland league club said of Hourigan: “Everything is one-touch clean. He kicks the footy like a mule – hits a bloke on the chest with a 60m drop-punt – and he’ll pick the ball up at pace below his knees, sidestep someone coming the other way and off he goes. “He’s as good a key position player as I’ve seen at our level.’’

Hourigan was runner-up in Gippsland Power’s 2018 best and fairest and trained briefly with Casey Demons before returning to Traralgon.

VFL clubs have sounded him out in the past two years but he’s been content to play for the Maroons as he completes his university studies to be a schoolteacher.

Hourigan is also an accomplished cricketer, captaining a local A grade team
They sell him like he's Jesus, wow

Sounds like he'll be better than Alex Rance + Tom Stewart's baby

Most of these kids won't start AFL in the middle that always takes time they will either play VFL or outside the mids in AFL if they have the vestility

FOS will start on a Wing HF or HB
Lalor will start forward
Reid will start on HFF
Smillie probably HB
Ashcroft HFF
Langford Wing HF
Jagga and Draper probably most likely to get a start onball but that might mean they spend a fair bit of time in the VFL

Allan is more ready than most to be a meaningful contributor in an AFL team and his transition should not take long to the middle even at senior WAFL level in the Premiership winning Docker alligned Peel he moved from HB to the middle come finals and was in their onball rotations for all the finals.

His kicking is not diabolical as someone pointed out earlier in the Colts and from HB he hit targets consistently - He also has plenty of distance in his leg. Composure and reliability will come with time.

These picks won't make a meaningful difference to our midfield whoever we pick for another 2 or 3 seasons hence we needed Macrae. Hopefully Pou is ready to make that difference in year 3 next year.
I’d say the alarm is that any saints supporter who has so much as watched a game in the last decade knows we need genuine midfielders and star players.

The fact the WA talent manager is saying Allan will start as a third tall and HOPEFULLY transition into midfield and be a big contributor is a scary proposition.

I think we all feel like we need to hit home runs with these picks.

Now hypothetically if we knew we were landing LDU in 12 months. It would make riskier choices a lot easier to get on board with.

I mean for all we know…

Pick 7 Alix Tauru
Pick 8 Bo Allan.

Allan's speed and strength exciting for sure but his skills and judgement seem way too raw to risk a top 10 pick?

Act

I heard I think Hamish Ogilvie talk about Nas’s poor stats in his draft year.

I was adverse to our pick of him
But during the year I was incredibly impressed with him.

Back to the point. Ogilve stated that ‘poor stats’ especially for wingers is very surface level analysis. When they spoke to the coaches at SANFL and SA they were very impressed with his ability to perform the role that was being asked of him. So it’s not just ‘stats’

Also NAS I think had a very strong level of determination and competitiveness that you wouldn’t necessarily see.
Underage and State level comps also play a very different game to AFL footy.

There's a lot less ball possession that we see at the top level that makes it difficult for some kids to rack up impressive numbers.

Then you throw in the fact that during the National Champs kids are moved out of prime ball winning positions onto flanks and wings because there's so many others who can play midfield minutes to a high level.

Fortunately, our recruiters are all over this & will make decisions based on factors other than just raw (and somewjhat misleading) stats.

Realistically there's only 2 options, Richmond and GWS.
If we take p7 the only hope is to use p8 and a F1st to get 10&11 off Richmond as Allan will otherwise likely go to Wet Toast as p12.

7. Stk - Smillie/Langford
8. Rich - Armstrong
9. Melb - Reid?
10. Stk - Allan
11. Stk - Travaglia/Lindsay/Hotton

The gamble is what Melbourne do as they may also jump on Allan with Armstrongoff the board.
Failing this scenario the value proposition diminishes greatly as GWS are just that little bit too far down to offer any guarantees of getting who we might want.
With a nudge-nudge wink-wink between us an Richmond it could aslo be p7 that's used.

Realistically there's only 2 options, Richmond and GWS.
If we take p7 the only hope is to use p8 and a F1st to get 10&11 off Richmond as Allan will otherwise likely go to Wet Toast as p12.

7. Stk - Smillie/Langford
8. Rich - Armstrong
9. Melb - Reid?
10. Stk - Allan
11. Stk - Travaglia/Lindsay/Hotton

The gamble is what Melbourne do as they may also jump on Allan with Armstrongoff the board.
Failing this scenario the value proposition diminishes greatly as GWS are just that little bit too far down to offer any guarantees of getting who we might want.
With a nudge-nudge wink-wink between us a Richmond it could aslo be p7 that's used.
If you listen to the interview I posted

Wa talent manager thinks Allan is off the board within the top 10 from either us or Melbourne.

The sen boys think it’s us taking him

So, if North retain 2 and don’t Tauru and he doesn’t go before 7. There won’t be a slider and we will be left making a choice between trading 7 or 8 and retaining both and taking the 2 boys we have been hard linked too.

Could we trade our F1 in along with 32 and get something like the Giants 15?

I really want Trainor 😔 (but not at 7/8)

I’d say the alarm is that any saints supporter who has so much as watched a game in the last decade knows we need genuine midfielders and star players.

The fact the WA talent manager is saying Allan will start as a third tall and HOPEFULLY transition into midfield and be a big contributor is a scary proposition.

I think we all feel like we need to hit home runs with these picks.

Now hypothetically if we knew we were landing LDU in 12 months. It would make riskier choices a lot easier to get on board with.

I mean for all we know…

Pick 7 Alix Tauru
Pick 8 Bo Allan.
+ Cole + Hofmann

Typical of St Kilda to go all in on defenders in a midfield-heavy draft

If we end up with Tauru at 7 I think we have to split 8 to hedge our risks

2024 Draft Thread.