2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Absolutely so much better now but really down to one guy on YouTube and his posting in the draft thread cudos to noobermensch but incredible that the AFL doesn’t release this footage themselves. I assume they are trying to protect the kids from too much scrutiny given they are 17-18 but it seems like such a missed opportunity.

As for the coverage by mainstream journos Cal is great but is Kevin Sheehan-esque when discussing draftees only discusses the positives. Good that the Age and Herald Sun are doing more but paywalls suck. As you would expect they tend to take the Journalist approach to their rankings even their early power rankings and they more represent what others in the industry think and are saying than their own opinion. The group think is strong with these guys and that tends to shape all the opinions on here as to relative rankings. This idea there are Tiers in a draft seems to be a Cal Twoomey concept not sure I buy it. Last year for example Tier 1 consisted of one player Harley.

Rookie Me Central has been really good for a long time and are for the first time dipping their toes in providing video if limited at this stage and their power rankings are genuine lists of their collective opinion hence Jagga at 1 Reid at 3 Allan at 5 in their current list for example, and they do the hard yards and watch nearly all the CTL games and bias towards performance and stats hence Lalor and FOS are lower on their rankings.

Then there has been a bit of an explosion of YouTube amateurs having a crack some decent like Dylan Alexander for example and the craft of the draft guys who are dull and a bit repetitive but at least they have watched the kids.

But it still could be so much better just got to balance out the intrusion this could have on kids being put under the spotlight

Giantroo has done videos for a few years too. Streaming of champs and general reviews, previews and analysis are so far ahead of where they were. 5 years ago reading Knightmare's phantom and a couple of private smaller analysis sites were all we had.

AFL has ben really negligent for a pro sport. It was away to keep engagement and hope going for sides in the bottom out cycle. It keep eyes on the sport in cricket season too.

Take it you haven’t listened to the audio.

His opinion was that Allan was the best prospect out of WA but that WA SA + Allies would have a poor draft crop overall and thus it wouldn’t be a super draft. However the vic kids are very good this year.

He directly compared Allan against those vic kids and said based on testing + attributes etc he would be a top 5 pick if he was part of that vic crop this year.

He didn’t say anything outlandish ie he should be pick 1. But in the middle to end of that top 10 hence his belief it’s either us or Melbourne who take him and he won’t make it to either WA side at 12+14

He said he will play early and he is a likely captain at AFL level.

He said he likes to keep a close eye on the trades and picks etc to work out where his boys would go and that he thinks Allan would fit in at those clubs.

That said a year ago there was a rumour that WA might not have a player drafted this year because their pool was so thin. Obviously a completely overstated headline but it is a pretty weird year for them.

I'm going out on a limb, going full gringo2011 and will say over a career Murphy Reid will be the best player in the draft.

A few people on a forum saying he is slow, or projecting as a potential small forward shouldn't cloud your own judgement- which it did mine.

How many people have actually focussed on his footy IQ, fend offs, ability to find time in traffic. He is often in a canter because he has more time than most. His kicking is good, handballing is elite, movement in close is elite, he should be the pairing to whoever is at 7.

As for the speed concerns, absolutely unfounded, his preseason testing had him going under 3 seconds for 20m!

I reckon he very well could be. He has the freakish vision, skill and creativity to make him an absolutely unique and damaging player. He really could be something quite special IMO. There aren't many that play like him in footy. Watching full champs games he was giving me the shits because he kept making me watch him instead of Jagga who I was trying to watch. He just makes shit happen and makes his teammates look better by being on the end of his creative ball movement.

He's a risk still but if it comes off he could be an absolute star.

CENTRE HALF BACK:
Will Hoare 24yo 197cm key defender for Essendon VFL is attracting a bit of interest. I must say when Sandi played the Bombers VFL I was impressed with Essendons tall defenders.

RUCKMAN:
Last night I also watched the round 15 WAFL game between East Fremantle and Peel Thunder with Lachlan Blakiston and Max Knobel pitted against each other in the ruck. Knobel is the far superior tap ruckman and when he grows into his body will be the much better player IMO. Blakiston plays very much like Rhys Stanley he has a good leap, is quite agile but not a lot else to his game. Knobel got his hands to a lot of marking contests and with more upper body strength will start clunking them. He is a big lump of a lad and is quite lumbering around the ground, but when given space his kicking skills are very good.

Knobel 20yo would be my choice he projects ahead of Blakiston longer term, however Blakiston might interest us more because of his run and ability to play now. Blakiston has the tools he just needs to involve himself more physically in games ala Stanley.

Knobel looks good. I wouldn't mind shaking the tree. Gippy boy playing in WA behind a couple of star rucks. If I'm him I'd be looking at moving back home.

Yeah the problem is he (Knobel) is another slow burn and will take a year or two to be ready. Blakiston is a more ready and mobile product if we are happy with another Rhys Stanley like player. I think ideally we find a pick between 15-20 and grab Dodson, if Marshall gets injured, Heath will have to step up.

Windy’s trajectory is to be a permanent mid, he just won’t be a superstar mid

Best case he becomes a Brayshaw type

Worst case he becomes a winger

Somewhere in the middle he becomes the Rowbottom/Drew of our team..which I’ll be fine with

He's still young and has had a terrible run with his body. It's impossible to call yet. I had real doubts that Steele would ever learn to read the ball in the centre without a better player to take him to the ball.

Chatting with a close mate at the cricket last night (a Cup Eve one dayer is a winner if CA could be arsed promoting it properly… fk it was cold though!

Got talking about the draft… his eldest son has come through junior ranks with Jagga & Smilie… wont get drafted unfortunately due to his size & preference for cricket but has done all the pathways stuff with this cohort.

Anyway, he (the son) said that Trainor is the best of the lot. Exquisite skills, footy IQ off the charts & the athleticism to run & jump all day.

My mate, who has watched them all the way through junior rep footy since U12s, said Jagga will go #1. Was a bit concerned with Smilie’s pace & Lalor’s game being currently built around being bigger that other kids.

I reckon that all sounds fair. He sounds like me. Trainor apart from the concussions is the best tall in the draft by heaps. I reckon an upmarket Aaron Naughton like trajectory. I reckon he could be a 60 goal a year forward. 100% agree on Smilie and Lalor.

That said a year ago there was a rumour that WA might not have a player drafted this year because their pool was so thin. Obviously a completely overstated headline but it is a pretty weird year for them.
AFL has spent over $200 million on the abject failures of GCS and GWS while juniors in SA and WA are falling off a cliff.

The incompetence and absolute failure of the AFL to nurture its heartland states while off on a fantasy adventure that Western Sydney would ever care about AFL is absolute corporate malfeasance.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

He’s only 2 centemetres shorter than Battle but has him covered with speed & athleticism

He plays more like Sam Gilbert than a tall though. He seems quite similar is style to Hastie.

Finally get top 10 draft picks and we are to scared to use them
Take pick 7 & 8 to the draft and pick the very best available, if the new bloke is as good as some think he is surely we get a better player at 8 then 15

All the cheering for losing Battle for a top 5 pick then when we get pick 8 we try to downgrade it. I think we are wetting the bed.

Yeah the problem is he (Knobel) is another slow burn and will take a year or two to be ready. Blakiston is a more ready and mobile product if we are happy with another Rhys Stanley like player. I think ideally we find a pick between 15-20 and grab Dodson, if Marshall gets injured, Heath will have to step up.

True, but do we need either for more than back up?

All the cheering for losing Battle for a top 5 pick then when we get pick 8 we try to downgrade it. I think we are wetting the bed.
Lucky then that we’re not actually the people making the final decisions!
😂

AFL has spent over $200 million on the abject failures of GCS and GWS while juniors in SA and WA are falling off a cliff.

The incompetence and absolute failure of the AFL to nurture its heartland states while off on a fantasy adventure that Western Sydney would ever care about AFL is absolute corporate malfeasance.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

That's true but WA just seems to have had a barren year from nowhere. SA had a bit of a shit run for a while and have so really nice prospects again.

Its hilarious isn't it :p complain for years we haven't had good picks and now we want to trade out those picks

2024 Draft Thread.