2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

We need to use 47 on Cole bid, yeah?
I've mentioned before, that pick will likely come into early to mid 40s, and based on a few phantoms getting around, I think we would try to get it in before the bids.

If a bid comes, and looking at the players still available, I don't think it's a certainty that we will take them around that mark anyway. The draft is super deep!

I reckon he very well could be. He has the freakish vision, skill and creativity to make him an absolutely unique and damaging player. He really could be something quite special IMO. There aren't many that play like him in footy. Watching full champs games he was giving me the shits because he kept making me watch him instead of Jagga who I was trying to watch. He just makes shit happen and makes his teammates look better by being on the end of his creative ball movement.

He's a risk still but if it comes off he could be an absolute star.
You and I see the same player mate. It’s not often players like him come along, but the league wide fascination for big bodies has him like to fall right in our laps provided he gets passed Melbourne.

I’ve said it before but his athletic profile is no worse than Sheezel, Daicos, Serong, Neale and Ashcroft. Irrespective of whether he’s a saint, he’s going to be a real joy to watch.

My dream scenario is Smilie and Reid. Combine them with Pou and our midfield is sorted for a decade.

You and I see the same player mate. It’s not often players like him come along, but the league wide fascination for big bodies has him like to fall right in our laps provided he gets passed Melbourne.

I’ve said it before but his athletic profile is no worse than Sheezel, Daicos, Serong, Neale and Ashcroft. Irrespective of whether he’s a saint, he’s going to be a real joy to watch.

My dream scenario is Smilie and Reid. Combine them with Pou and our midfield is sorted for a decade.
I'm on the same train!

8 & 32 should be enough for 15, 16 & 21.

What can they offer for our F1?

For 15, 16? and what else mate?
No idea.

Was just told the closer we get the more “minds will focus”

Sounded like a big pick swap was being worked on between clubs.

And that’s it. Small update. No guarantee of anything.

So we had 27 and exchanged for 32 and 45.

Now we are exchanging pick 8 & 32 for 15,16 & 21.

Can someone explain the reason behind this when we are being told its the strongest draft in years.

Just seems like a dilution of picks and we don't trust our ability to nail a top 10 pick.
4 first round picks vs 2 and bonus of removing any chance of 32 being used on an annoying cole early bid,i will be wrapped if we get this

2 mids a kpd and dodson
cole
hoffman
peckett
knobel dfa

Forgive the rest of us setting our hopes higher than similar to the upper echelon of St Kilda FC 2012-2024.

Seb Ross was a great bloke but if he's our Gold Standard let's merge with Sandringham and give our AFL spot to Tassie.

Not sure what you’re on about. Who said he was the gold standard? I think we all hope we have now, or draft soon, some serious A-graders.

The discussion was purely about Hunter Clark. I think we can probably accept Hunter isn’t going to turn into Dustin Martin. If he can win 2 BnFs and play 200+ games from here, I’d say that’s a pretty good result, and would be a necessary part of a future successful team.

Not sure what you’re on about. Who said he was the gold standard? I think we all hope we have now, or draft soon, some serious A-graders.

The discussion was purely about Hunter Clark. I think we can probably accept Hunter isn’t going to turn into Dustin Martin. If he can win 2 BnFs and play 200+ games from here, I’d say that’s a pretty good result, and would be a necessary part of a future successful team.

No chance Clark is winning a single BnF during his time at St Kilda unless he seriously turns things around. Even Byrnes is more likely to win one than him atm

Steele, Wilkie, Sinc, Row will probably continue to monopolise it for the next 2-3 years, before the likes of Nas, Pou, King?, Wilson etc take the reigns

Clark just needs to play 200 games to be a raging success from this point on given the way his career has gone. If he can stay in the 22 with all these kids coming through, it'd mean he's made a massive improvement

I'm a Clark fan but its hard to see how he holds his spot with Pou, Windy, Garcia, Wilson, Dow, and 2 top-end picks all competing with him for 4-5 spots over the next decade...plus the current guys like Steele and Macrae

They want our F1 + 8 apparently.

Been talking for the past week.

Surely we wait to see who is available at 8.. What if we can take Smilie +Allan at 7 and 8?
Seems they would be a great combination to me...

But then again, maybe we dont rate Smilie that high and think we can get a bidding war going if he is available?
I hope we dont out smart ourselves

2024 Draft Thread.