2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

Perhaps thats the deal request? I dont think pick #8 is worth all 3 of their first round picks. Perhaps a swap of F1 comes into play.

Surely we wait to see who is available at 8.. What if we can take Smilie +Allan at 7 and 8?
Seems they would be a great combination to me...

But then again, maybe we dont rate Smilie that high and think we can get a bidding war going if he is available?
I hope we dont out smart ourselves

Thats a big price.

After the first list lodgement, the Saints have the second smallest player list (29 players)to Richmonds (27 players)

Our 29 players list includes 1 new player and 4 rookies (2 x cat B)

We have 9 list spots available, 1 of which is reserved for the redrafting of Brad Crouch probably as a rookie

That leaves us 8 list spots that we can fill

I believe our intention has been to try and trade our way back into this draft to maximise the quality of these selections.

If we can't then we will be forced to use our later (5th, 6th, and 7th round) picks (currently #85, #103 and #121)
but in reality those picks will be much earlier that those numbers, nevertheless it would mean that we would be selecting players very late in the draft.

This might not be such a bad thing.

We have to consider our two academy picks and the F/S pick will not require a great deal of draft currency and there is the Sandringham Dragons player we are committed to drafting (as well as the redrafting of Couch already mentioned). Many of these may well be rookie selections.

These four extra selections mean that we will only make FOUR other selections from this draft (and this omits the possibility that we hold back a list spot for a possible mid season draftee).

We have picks #7, #8, #32, and #47

These picks will change in value with the burning of later picks by other clubs to match bids for their F/S or Academy players.

I don't know if we have to commit to using pick #47 for Cole (which will probably be closer to pick #40 by then) because our later picks do not qualify as providing points towards matching the pick price.

If we do then we will need to use picks #7, #8, #32 and future picks in a trade deal with another club in order to stretch those picks out to four good picks.

If we are offering a F1 then I would be advocating that we aim for a late first round or early second round pick rather than burning pick #8
Sorry gents I’m not sure of any specifics of if it happens or doesn’t.

It’s as simple as:

• we like those Giant picks.
  • clubs are all asking for premiums
  • 8 is very much gettable for clubs
  • and confirming the old news of… we love this draft

No mention of pick 2/North. Just the Giants

It’s as simple as:

So something like 8+32+F2 for 15+16+21 & 56?

So then assuming we take we pick up Cole, Hoffman & Peckett and one of Smillie or Allen at 7

Then the choice is between Ried or Tauru & 32 or

3 of Lindsay, Hotton, Shanahan, Trainor, Whitlock or Hynes

Can play with the combinations a little, but that split looks very attractive. Giants get Travaglia, and we get 3 bites at that second tier, rather than getting to pick our preference of any of the second tier + 32.

As saintmike65 mentioned, upgrading 32 to 21 is really what tips it from a good to great deal for us

So then assuming we take we pick up Cole, Hoffman & Peckett and one of Smillie or Allen at 7

Can play with the combinations a little, but that split looks very attractive. Giants get Travaglia, and we get 3 bites at that second tier, rather than getting to pick our preference of any of the second tier + 32.

As saintmike65 mentioned, upgrading 32 to 21 is really what tips it from a good to great deal for us
21 will blow out to about 26/27 while 32 will only go back 2 or 3 spots due to picks used on bids.

So it's not that significant of a pick upgrade that it should be considered a major part of anything we do with our first round picks.

I think that 15-16 range makes a lot of sense with the KPP we have cut from our list.

21 will blow out to about 26/27 while 32 will only go back 2 or 3 spots due to picks used on bids.

So it's not that significant of a pick upgrade that it should be considered a major part of anything we do with our first round picks.
As mentioned a few days ago - just because picks that would get swallowed up for bids are currently between those two picks, with live trading (and particularly Essendon likely to able to match Kako with later picks) those picks will likely be traded for future picks once a bid comes.

I reckon he very well could be. He has the freakish vision, skill and creativity to make him an absolutely unique and damaging player. He really could be something quite special IMO. There aren't many that play like him in footy. Watching full champs games he was giving me the shits because he kept making me watch him instead of Jagga who I was trying to watch. He just makes shit happen and makes his teammates look better by being on the end of his creative ball movement.

He's a risk still but if it comes off he could be an absolute star.
A friend of mine who is a scout for Tasmania -said exactly the same thing

You and I see the same player mate. It’s not often players like him come along, but the league wide fascination for big bodies has him like to fall right in our laps provided he gets passed Melbourne.

I’ve said it before but his athletic profile is no worse than Sheezel, Daicos, Serong, Neale and Ashcroft. Irrespective of whether he’s a saint, he’s going to be a real joy to watch.

My dream scenario is Smilie and Reid. Combine them with Pou and our midfield is sorted for a decade.
mine as well

been crying out for top 10 picks for years and now we want to sh1t the bed and trade them out, elite talent much better chance with top 10 picks

The club has also culled the list pretty hard getting rid of anyone who doesn't look to be in their window.

We have so many open spots on our list and diluting our top 10 picks may just be to gap fill our list.

I don't like this strategy one bit.

One player can make a difference to a clubs fortunes ... think Dangerfield, Cripps, Petracca, Neale and the difference they singularly have made to their perspective teams.

If we dilute we have less chance of getting a player who could turn our fortunes around.

As mentioned a few days ago - just because picks that would get swallowed up for bids are currently between those two picks, with live trading (and particularly Essendon likely to able to match Kako with later picks) those picks will likely be traded for future picks once a bid comes.
There is very minimal options for Brisbane to do that with their pick 27.

Essendon will have a few more options since picks should come in after the Brisbane and GC bids but it's still only likely to be 1 pick they can do with that given the picks other clubs have. Port and Dogs are the two main ones with the picks to do that but if the reports that Port are trying to move up in the teens so their picks might not be available to do it.

It’s as simple as:

liking this and no wonder no talk of pick 2,north are risking missing tauru by dealing with richmond and 6,why would they do 8?

Pick 21 still gets you access to the same players, even if it's moved back by bid matching. I'd rather have 21 than 32.

Always boggles my mind when people think it's going to be a worse pick by pushing back.

I'm getting this vibe from Reid as well. Ball magnet, slick hands, great decision maker, hits the scoreboard....but isn't the prototype Aidan Bonar style athlete that everyone is looking for...

I'm thinking Sam Mitchell with Reid. Pure footballer. Pair him with Smilie and we've gone a long way towards building our future midfield.
Footy IQ > Elite athleticism

We have enough top end athletes, we need some pure footballers who can make good things happen when they've got the ball in their hands.

Pick 21 still gets you access to the same players, even if it's moved back by bid matching. I'd rather have 21 than 32.

Always boggles my mind when people think it's going to be a worse pick by pushing back.
I know the same players will be available. But our pick 32 will blow out less than pick 21 will so the upgrade isnt as big as it initially seems and shouldn't be heavily weighted in a trade that sees our pick 7 or 8 move backwards.

I'm going out on a limb, going full gringo2011 and will say over a career Murphy Reid will be the best player in the draft.

A few people on a forum saying he is slow, or projecting as a potential small forward shouldn't cloud your own judgement- which it did mine.

How many people have actually focussed on his footy IQ, fend offs, ability to find time in traffic. He is often in a canter because he has more time than most. His kicking is good, handballing is elite, movement in close is elite, he should be the pairing to whoever is at 7.

As for the speed concerns, absolutely unfounded, his preseason testing had him going under 3 seconds for 20m!
Based on his videos I reckon he looks a lot like a right footed dal!

On Pixel 8 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

I know the same players will be available. But our pick 32 will blow out less than pick 21 will so the upgrade isnt as big as it initially seems and shouldn't be heavily weighted in a trade that sees our pick 7 or 8 move backwards.
It won’t be about the number of the pick.

It will be about the target we can get 4-5 spots ahead of where we are.

So slide 8 back for 2 mid firsts = 2 instead of 1 in the same tier. But we lose the ability to select who we want most and it’s left to chance.

32 into 21 gets us a few picks ahead which would have to be targeted.

That's true but WA just seems to have had a barren year from nowhere. SA had a bit of a shit run for a while and have so really nice prospects again.
Wait til you see WA's 2027 draft cohort...kid by the name of Axel Walsh was the standout at the U15 carnival this year,

It won’t be about the number of the pick.

It will be about the target we can get 4-5 spots ahead of where we are.

So slide 8 back for 2 mid firsts = 2 instead of 1 in the same tier. But we lose the ability to select who we want most and it’s left to chance.

32 into 21 gets us a few picks ahead which would have to be targeted.
Sure. Back to the point, any trade we do will be able how we view the players around 8 and the teens, not because we can upgrade the 3rd/4th draft pick we hold.

We arent even guaranteed to use a 4th pick in the open pool or on an u18 players where getting higher up the order matters.

2024 Draft Thread.