2024 Draft Thread.

🎯 Draft Period, November 20–21
  • Round 1 of the National Draft: Wednesday, November 20
  • Round 2–end of the National Draft: Thursday, November 21
  • Rookie Promotions: Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • Delisted Free Agency Period (3): Thursday, November 21, after the National Draft
  • List Lodgement 3*: Friday, November 22, 10am (optional; required for those participating in the PSD)
  • Pre-Season Draft: Friday, November 22, 3pm
  • Rookie Draft: Friday, November 22, 3.20pm

I love it, we wouldn’t have gotten pick 6 if we had 5 is the word from a VERY knowledgeable mate of mine inside AFL HQ.

8 creates so many opportunities it’s not funny, in an incredibly good draft. Let’s make hay.
stop making sh1t up

If we had pick 2 we were getting pick 3 if we had pick 12 we were getting pick13
we were always getting 8 lol

inside AFL HQ LOL

Go back to your GWS board and hop back in your lunchbox

AFL no worries you can have 8 but you weren't getting 6 LOL

Hello LDU.

Same same.

I rate the trajectory of NAS higher than LDU even. I'd be pissed off if we lose him. Inside mids are important but Nas is our architect.

If NAS goes we are better off drafting hard and not replacing him with established players. We are back stuck in the mediocrity cycle of trying to cover for losses. We have a few years to get a flag before we start losing the good older players. Losing our absolute cream young players is a disaster.

If he goes we should sell some of our older players to Tasmania for high picks. Start again and change the list managers.

Him wanting out and aggressively pushing for a trade is one thing, and I would be surprised,

But I would hope the club would do all it could to retain him, much more than it did to keep Josh Battle. I wouldn't even trade him for LDU.

Just frame and a not the fastest.

Ideally we need a Smith for outside pace, clean hands and ball magnet or Smille big body mid, has a bit of zip that loves the contact and potentially has the X factor that can break open games.

Having watched a fair bit of Jagga, I reckon he's agile more than quick. He seems to contort himself through traffic. His outside game is a bit average but his rubber band man inside work is incredible.

Smilie is boom bust. He's either a giant contested beast or a kid who has been bigger than everyone else that loses his size advantage. I can see him being more a third tall with less size advantage. A bit like Owens.

(Travaglia)

Good enough to convince GWS to sell the farm?

I'm so on the fence when it comes to splitting 8, especially if Reid is there.

I think I'd feel more comfortable doing 8 & 32 for 15, 16 & 21 but that's only because it's way overs for us (no doubt).

I'm holding and only looking at it if something too good to turn down gets offered. If that happens it probably means a slider got through and we'd probably want the player anyway.

I'm not trading next years picks or actively shopping anything. If offers come you look at them and see how desperate others get.

I think I know the answer is no but does anyone know the exact rule on trades on draft night. If north make their selection at pick 2 and then we pick Tauru at 8 can they trade who they selected for Tauru and something else, After the fact?

Let's assume Tarau is available and we like Reid
Then if there are no bids we take Reid Tarau or take Reid at 7 Tigers take Tarau at 8 we take Allen at 10 and best available at 20.

Reid at 7 and GWS take whomever at 8 we take 2 of Hotton Lindsay Trainor Whitlock Hynes etc at pick 15 and 16.

We decide the outcome and direction of the draft after 6 mids get taken which is a strong position.. teams must pay heavily in our favour to purchase that prized position...to choose who they want and how much they will pay for the privilege.

Oh if North do select Tarau we are still in a box seat after the 6 mids are taken, last one left will be our pick at 7. We take Reid at 8 or do the same exercise above.

Either way will be a good result on paper have to wait a few years to see if it worked out for real.

For the record I hope we get last available mid and DFA and take Reid.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I rate the trajectory of NAS higher than LDU even. I'd be pissed off if we lose him. Inside mids are important but Nas is our architect.

If NAS goes we are better off drafting hard and not replacing him with established players. We are back stuck in the mediocrity cycle of trying to cover for losses. We have a few years to get a flag before we start losing the good older players. Losing our absolute cream young players is a disaster.

If he goes we should sell some of our older players to Tasmania for high picks. Start again and change the list managers.
Losing NAS would be a disaster. Best young player we've had in ten years.

Let's assume Tarau is available and we like Reid
Then if there are no bids we take Reid Tarau or take Reid at 7 Tigers take Tarau at 8 we take Allen at 10 and best available at 20.

Reid at 7 and GWS take whomever at 8 we take 2 of Hotton Lindsay Trainor Whitlock Hynes etc at pick 15 and 16.

We decide the outcome and direction of the draft after 6 mids get taken which is a strong position.. teams must pay heavily in our favour to purchase that prized position...to choose who they want and how much they will pay for the privilege.

Oh if North do select Tarau we are still in a box seat after the 6 mids are taken, last one left will be our pick at 7. We take Reid at 8 or do the same exercise above.

Either way will be a good result on paper have to wait a few years to see if it worked out for real.

For the record I hope we get last available mid and DFA and take Reid.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app

If the top 6 runs -

Lalor
FOS
Draper
Langford
Smillie
Smith

Then I'm taking Reid & Tauru and running.

You’d know as your side has been lost for more than 100 years. I came to your sight to state the obvious that it’s ridiculous to think you’d get picks 10&11 for 8 but if you want to be that deluded, enjoy the fantasy until you see that no club will pay that price.
Dude if you wanna get in a pie fight then F off back to your own board. No room for it here. You're right that it would be nuts to do 10 & 11 for 8, unless there was a particular who was must have at 8.

Just to be clear.

I’m not in anyway indicating NAS will leave or the club wants to cash in. I don’t want this shit coming back in 8 months and I’m batting you and the like minded back with a stick.

It’s wildly different to the Battle/Howard scenario.

I was more referring to how the club believes it will always have a first round pick in some form available to them next year - against the grain of thought of how those interpreted Bassats interview comments, WHICH make no indication our F1 is off the table.

If this is the case, we could see Smith slide to 7!

1 Tigers - Lalor / FOS
2 North - Taru / FOS / Lalor
3 Carlton - FOS / Draper / Smith / Lalor
4 Crows - Draper / Lalor / Smith / Langford
5 Melb - Langford / Smith / Reid / Lalor
6 Richmond - Smille
7 Saints - Smith / Langford / Reid

** the first name mentioned is my best guess:
If you factor in that Twomey says Jagga and FOS don’t make it to 7.

Then it only leaves Draper Langford or Smillie.

Draper has to get through picks 2-4. So makes it unlikely.

Langford is my tip.

If this is the case, we could see Smith slide to 7!

1 Tigers - Lalor / FOS
2 North - Taru / FOS / Lalor
3 Carlton - FOS / Draper / Smith / Lalor
4 Crows - Draper / Lalor / Smith / Langford
5 Melb - Langford / Smith / Reid / Lalor
6 Richmond - Smille
7 Saints - Smith / Langford / Reid

** the first name mentioned is my best guess:
1. Lalor - RICH
2. Tauru - NORF
3. FOS - CARL
4. Draper - ADEL
5. Jagga - MELB
6. Smillie - RICH
7. Langford - STK

OR

1. Lalor - RICH
2. Tauru - NORF
3. Jagga - CARL
4. FOS - ADEL
5. Langford - MELB
6. Smillie - RICH
7. Draper - STK

OR (if NORF and ADEL trade)

1. Lalor - RICH
2. FOS - ADEL
3. Jagga - CARL
4. Tauru - NORF
5. Langford - MELB
6. Smillie - RICH
7. Draper - STK

OR (if NORF and ADEL trade)

1. Lalor - RICH
2. FOS - ADEL
3. Draper - CARL
4. Tauru - NORF
5. Jagga - MELB
6. Smillie - RICH
7. Langford - STK

Melb will take Langford. They need a big body mid and a big body forward.
They want Armstrong at 9.
No, we don't. People just assume we need a key forward which automatically means we then want Armstrong.

We're red hot for Cooper Hynes as well as guys like Reid, Linsday and Allan. Jason Taylor spoke at a Melbourne function last week and mentioned that we will be targeting midfielders in the draft.

No, we don't. People just assume we need a key forward which automatically means we then want Armstrong.

We're red hot for Cooper Hynes as well as guys like Reid, Linsday and Allan. Jason Taylor spoke at a Melbourne function last week and mentioned that we will be targeting midfielders in the draft.
Troy makepeace thinks you are all over Tauru.

Either you or Richmond must be as it makes no sense for North to slide back to 4 and take him for a few third rounders as opposed to sliding back to 7 and getting better assets.

Have we committed to picking up a Sandringham player before a certain date? Given the lack of obvious standout, my hope would be that we delay commitment until the MSD and draft the most in form player. This would be a great recruitment tool for Sandringham, and means that we're only replacing a LTI at the time

(Travaglia)

Good enough to convince GWS to sell the farm?

I'm so on the fence when it comes to splitting 8, especially if Reid is there.

I think I'd feel more comfortable doing 8 & 32 for 15, 16 & 21 but that's only because it's way overs for us (no doubt).
Reid will be a chance to get through to 15 by the looks. With a few selections at picks between 8 and 14 being talls and quite likely a couple of small forwards, there must be a decent chance that one of Reid, Lindsay, maybe even an Allan at an absolute stretch will get there.

Clubs never tell fibs... and especially around draft time.

It wouldn't at all be in Melbourne's interest to deny their interest in Armstrong as he might end up sliding to pick #9 :eek:

Reid will be a chance to get through to 15 by the looks. With a few selections at picks between 8 and 14 being talls and quite likely a couple of small forwards, there must be a decent chance that one of Reid, Lindsay, maybe even an Allan at an absolute stretch will get there.
And people here want to take him at 7 🤣

2024 Draft Thread.