Analysis 2024 National Draft

Who should Carlton take at Pick 3 if available?

Ok, is Harley Reid mates with any of these boys where looking at taking in a couple of nights time??
We take the one that is and then wait until Reid finishes his p-plate 3 year contract.
Then we get his mate to help convince to come home to blues.
Perfect! Midfield of Reid, who ever we take in two days time, Walsh, cez ect
Jagga and Reid.

Jagga Smith draft profile: Harley Reid, Nick Watson, AFL stats ...

1731919731743.jpeg

Is anyone concerned with the size of Jagga Smith and stepping up 2-3 weight divisions? It's the only thing I'm scared of.

If his body doesn't develop in line with age where does that leave him? I'm less scared with the others in this category as their bodies have a wider frame.

Some people mentioned a match to Neale due to height but Neale is an absolute tank in the body/legs. Did Neale have the same slim legs at the same age?
Neale was 177cm 81kg and classed as an inside midfielder although he ran a 20mtr sprint 3.00 flat, good aerobically and agility…
Had a thicker more solid frame in comparison to Smith who looks to be of a lighter weight/frame…
Still can’t believe the boys weights have been off the players profile, another AFL head scratcher…

Unless he’s not going to ever have a preseason or do weight training at AFL level, no I am not worried at all.

Unlike say a Kade Simpson, Jagga has a natural arm / shoulder shape that will allow for significant muscle definition over the next few pre-seasons.

He’ll have to play light for the first 2-3 years but he’ll beef up nicely. I’m certain of it.

Have heard our new fitness boss is a gun at building bulk into his players.

Is Smith quick? Worried our midfield is going to continue to be slow.

If you lined up all AFL players and asked them to sprint 100m I think he’d be mid field.

If you ask them to get a loose ball in the contest and exit it without being touched, he’d be one of the best.

Unlike say a Kade Simpson, Jagga has a natural arm / shoulder shape that will allow for significant muscle definition over the next few pre-seasons.

He’ll have to play light for the first 2-3 years but he’ll beef up nicely. I’m certain of it.

Have heard our new fitness boss is a gun at building bulk into his players.
Dad looks a decent size too. Reckon he ends up lean and strong.

But Cal said its Jagga IF FOS is off the board! So Cal is effectively saying we have FOS, then Jagga. Its just that most ITKs have FOS going top 2 now

Before it was FOS top 2 if North traded Pick 2 out to Richmond. Now they are all saying that North will take FOS and forget Tauru.

Would be stoked with Jagga or FOS.

FOS feels the better positional fit right now but Jagga could be absolutely anything. I know most people compare him to Butters due to his stature, but I see Pendlebury traits with better ball-winning ability and acceleration.

Jagga also has the drive and passion to succeed. He took feedback on board mid year re lack of hurt factor and improved that part of his game in the back part of the year. Goals and score assists increased noticeably.

Don’t need stats on kicking efficiency if you know you’re looking at…
Draper, just as agile as Smith, arguably even more so...

Got any stats on his so called kicking inefficiency or shooting from the hip?

p.s. tigers won three flags getting the ball into F50 as fast as they humanly could.... Danger won a Brownlow doing the same thing....

Is Smith quick? Worried our midfield is going to continue to be slow.

20m sprint 3.038

This compared to FOS 2.989, and Draper 2.94 last season as he was injured for the combine this year.

These sort of differences come down a bit to reaction time, and Smith probably looks faster than that because he reads the play quicker than most.

Butters in his draft year was
178cm 70kg
20 mtr sprint 3.015
Agility test 8.184
Endurance test?

Strengths
Speed, Agility, X-factor, Vision, Scope

Improvements
Endurance, Strength

Smith
182cm 70kg
20 mtr sprint 3.038
Agility test ?
Endurance test 6.23

Strengths
Decision Making
Accumulation
Clean hands
Agility
Stoppage Craft
Leadership
Footy IQ

Butters in his draft year was
178cm 70kg
20 mtr sprint 3.015
Agility test 8.184
Endurance test?

Strengths
Speed, Agility, X-factor, Vision, Scope

Improvements
Endurance, Strength

Smith
182cm 70kg
20 mtr sprint 3.038
Agility test ?
Endurance test ?

Strengths
Decision Making
Accumulation
Clean hands
Agility
Stoppage Craft
Leadership
Footy IQ

Smith was 6:23 in the 2km time trial.

Before it was FOS top 2 if North traded Pick 2 out to Richmond. Now they are all saying that North will take FOS and forget Tauru.

I reckon NM were real keen on Tauru, but it's hit a roadblock with either nobody willing to make them an offer strong enough to justify dropping back, or enough of a fear that Melbourne might pounce on him at 5, resulting in them getting stuck with another general midfielder.

FOS is different enough to their existing mids that he at least gives them some variety, and they can start him up forward while he develops.

Can we take a moment to appreciate the position we are in here. We traded up to 3 to acquire another gun mid to complement Cripps and Walsh. Yet a team like St. Kilda who need an elite mid desperately are likely to miss out on a decent mid if the phantoms play out that way. I was hesitant at first to admit trading up for 3 was the right idea, but it’s these kind of bold calls that can pay dividends. Kudos Austin.

As for Jagga.. he has a beautiful sidestep to weave out of traffic and seems to have terrific special awareness. Clean hands and a fraction of a second quicker than most to analyse the situation and move the ball on. The Butters comparisons are reasonably accurate. Moves very similarly and is slippery in congestion. He’ll fit in beautifully and has future captain vibes.

Can we take a moment to appreciate the position we are in here. We traded up to 3 to acquire another gun mid to complement Cripps and Walsh. Yet a team like St. Kilda who need an elite mid desperately are likely to miss out on a decent mid if the phantoms play out that way. I was hesitant at first to admit trading up for 3 was the right idea, but it’s these kind of bold calls that can pay dividends. Kudos Austin.

The irony is that their meaningless win over our VFL side in the final round cost them a double dip at the the top mids.

… and we still made finals anyway 😂

Also noting that the last minute point that was kicked by Sam Durham to get Essendon a 1 point win over Freo, effectively cost them Pick 5. They could have taken a premium mid and then matched a bid for Kako.

Analysis 2024 National Draft