Training 2024 Pre-Season discussion

I agree its no sure thing but he has some of the attributes...
ZB 181, 78
JC 181, 78
Good start.
Having not seen Clark, I'd be rapt, we all would, if he is anywhere near the package of Butters

If he can't impact as a forward though he ain't sticking around. I just think with the tools he has he's worth persisting with for a solid chunk of games. I don't think we have any better prospects on the horizon.
Spot on here.

We just have nothing at all in the key forward cupboard to unleash beside Neale… who probably isn’t the greatest prospect but since there is nobody else to get pumped about, we hold our hopes in him making it.

Hopefully he really steps it up.

Lol at Cam Guthrie being dropped.

And yes let's risk the only ruck to have played more than 1 game on our list getting injured in the VFL while we flog the injury prone 20 year old into the ground.

I guess one man's "ruthless" is another man's "stupid".

Whilst I don't necessarily agree with all the names thrown up, I do agree that a bit more ruthlessness would help smooth the transition from old to new.

Spot on here.

We just have nothing at all in the key forward cupboard to unleash beside Neale… who probably isn’t the greatest prospect but since there is nobody else to get pumped about, we hold our hopes in him making it.

Hopefully he really steps it up.
I don't think it's the biggest issue either though. I'd be happy to run with Cameron/Henry the marking targets with a resting mid in the forward line if it came to it. Reckon we'd be mad not to give him a solid crack though

I think they'll be wanting to get some professional level running power and endurance into him before debut. Even someone like Parfitt would be selected ahead of him in that respect.

Jhye Clark will be the priority midfield debuton this year and to me he is the key pillar to our clubs future. He could become the next Zac Butters.

I like the sound of Humphries on the wing actually. Not often players get accolades for having a 5 star weak foot.

Clark is definitely going to be the priority partly because of how much hes impressed the club with his leadership early on but also the high draft pick need for exposure etc. With george it will be interesting i agree endurance is a priority (thesedays if you lack it as a mid you cant play) it looks like hes slimmed down a lot so maybe he plays quicker than we think.

Ball use is an issue for us so i can see humphries playing a role off hbf if he keeps training well.

Agree its a good rule of thumb. The first two years it's more about moments at AFL level that show talent. By year 3 contributing.

Ugle-Hagan just kicked 35 in his 3rd season. Curnow 34 goals in 3rd season.
I don't necessarily disagree, but we're putting the cart before the horse a bit here.

Two things can be true:

1. Shannon Neale can be a good key forward prospect who can help fill the Hawkins sized hole impending in our forwardline.

2. And he can do it without being compared to the best key forward in the game (Curnow) the best junior key forward prospect since Lance Franklin (JUH) and one of the greatest key forwards of all time (Hawkins).

I'm one of the bigger Neale fans on this board, and even I've said all along that a Cam Mooney style career is what I'm expecting.

A good career, and a player who in a really good year with good supply could be All Australian once or twice, but not the best key forward of a generation like the aforementioned names either have been, or have the talent to do so.

Pretty funny that the journo says "players selected at pick 63 are not high up on the list of players to debut early" straight after saying George Stevens selected at pick 58 is likely to debut.

It's amazing how fans and journos see big bodied mids and all logic goes out the window. I hope Stevens makes it but realistically why would a pick 58 who would have to go up against the best and strongest players in the comp be more likely to debut than a mature aged pick 63 (Humphries) who could play on a wing or half back flank? Or a pick 32 who has had 2 injury riddled years on the list to learn his craft and get his body more mature (Willis)?
Because they're largely guessing.

You have to remember, these aren't footy nuffies who are spending hours at training and getting the inside word from coaches.

They're not even like us on here, where most posters at least have a vague idea on who they think will/won't make it, and have followed the players since prior to the draft, and watched every moment of their career available since, whether it be good, bad or indifferent.

These are just journos getting paid a buck to write an article that ChatGPT could have come up with. It's a lot of cliches, assumptions, and so on without much endeavour.

It's cookie cutter journalism, particularly at this time of year. If James Willis debuts early and suddenly looks like a future star, nobody's going to be ringing up that particular journalist and telling them what an idiot they are for a January article. It's just how the business goes.

In some respects though, they are just like us on here, with even less accountability. These articles really aren't even meant for us, they're meant for the casual footy supporters who are just finding out the names of these players while sipping their morning coffee.

The sooner we understand that, the sooner we'll stop taking these articles as gospel, and rather focus on what the coaches, club, and selection are telling us - and even that's fraught with danger.

1. Shannon Neale can be a good key forward prospect who can help fill the Hawkins sized hole impending in our forwardline.

2. And he can do it without being compared to the best key forward in the game (Curnow) the best junior key forward prospect since Lance Franklin (JUH) and one of the greatest key forwards of all time (Hawkins).

I'm one of the bigger Neale fans on this board, and even I've said all along that a Cam Mooney style career is what I'm expecting.

A good career, and a player who in a really good year with good supply could be All Australian once or twice, but not the best key forward of a generation like the aforementioned names either have been, or have the talent to do so.
Jezza says hi

Whilst I don't necessarily agree with all the names thrown up, I do agree that a bit more ruthlessness would help smooth the transition from old to new.

So who deserved to be dropped that wasn't this year?

The only old guy regularly selected where you could even argue over their form was Tuohy. And even then only Knevitt from the VFL had shown any substance at AFL level. Even then Tuohy was still probably playing better.

Every other senior player was either playing great when fit or was dropped to the VFL barring an injury crisis (Ceglar, Menegola and Bews). We even dropped Parfitt despite being massively short midfielders.

Any more "ruthless" and we would've just been throwing games with weakened teams.

from the herald sun​

Geelong Cats: Every players chance of senior debut in 2024​

Geelong added eight players to its list in the off-season, and with four other players without a senior game, there could be up to 12 debuts in 2024. We break down every uncapped player’s chances of selection this season.
Matthew Forrest
@mattforrest29

7 min read
January 3, 2024 - 6:00AM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom
https://archive.vn/JfdUM#share-tools
96906b9237c31a886d9c98dfcd7a364dcb4baea5.webp

Geelong had its biggest haul at the draft since 2018 when seven new players landed at the Cattery in 2023.
But with a number of Cats who had been picked up before the national draft who also have not made their debuts in the hoops, there could be up to 12 debuts in 2024.
The footy experts at the Addy have broken down each players’ chance of making the senior side at some stage in 2024, with some predictions on when players could crack the best 23.

Connor O’Sullivan​

18 years old
Key Defender
2024 Debut: Lock

If Geelong’s top pick in the 2023 draft does not play in round 1 against St Kilda at GMHBA Stadium, it would be a shock. The key defender is fast-becoming one of coach Chris Scott’s favourite toys, with the Cats trialling O’Sullivan on a wing, in the ruck and through the midfield during training drills and match simulation. While Jack Henry is expected to be fully available when the club returns to training in January, Geelong did lose Esava Ratugoela to Port Adelaide in the off-season. There is likely a key position hole in defence O’Sullivan could fill with his 198cm, 92kg frame. He dominated pre-season running tests, showing off his elite endurance and his ball use for a young tall was elite. While Mark Blicavs is an easy comparison for a key defender-turn midfielder who shares a changeroom with O’Sullivan, the 11th overall selection in last year’s draft should be trying to emulate Marcus Bontempelli’s rise as a midfielder, such is O’Sullivan’s elite ball use and fitness.
Connor O’Sullivan at Geelong Cats training. Picture: Alison Wynd

Shaun Manangh​

26 years old
Small Forward
2024 Debut: Lock

Teams don’t draft 26 year olds from the VFL in order to play them in the VFL, and the Cats especially will look to slot Mannagh into the senior side as soon as there is an opening. The former Werribee goalkicker will have stiff competition in Geelong’s senior side, with Gryan Miers, Brad Close, Tyson Stengle, Gary Rohan and Ollie Henry all playing consistent senior football in 2023. However, the Cats’ forward production dropped off last year, and with Miers pushing further up the ground Geelong is likely to experiment with the forward mix. Stengle needs to find the form he had in 2022 when he booted 50+ goals and was an All Australian, while the Cats’ coaching staff needs to figure out how Rohan and Henry, two medium sized lead up marking targets, can play together. With plenty of decisions to be made about the forward line during the pre-season, Mannagh will be right in the conversation for a potential round 1 debut.
Shaun Mannagh at Geelong Cats training. Picture: Alison Wynd

Mitchell Edwards​

18 years old
Ruck
2024 Debut: Unlikely

The Cats took one of the best rucks available in the draft when Mitch Edwards fell to pick 32, however Edwards will sit pretty far back in the pecking order in 2024. At 206cm tall, Edwards definitely has the height to ruck well in the AFL, but the 18 year old only weighs 88kgs and would struggle to compete with mature-bodied rucks like Fremantle’s Sean Darcy or Carlton’s Marc Pittonet. Young Cat Toby Conway is expected to compete for the mantle of number one ruck in Geelong, but Rhys Stanley has performed that role admirably for a number of years, while Mark Blicavs is playing as a midfielder who can pinch hit in the ruck. It is likely Edwards is the fourth-string ruck behind the more experienced trio, and would likely have to compete against the 24-year-old rookie Joe Furphy and the 197cm utility Phoenix Foster if there was a run of injuries in 2024.
Mitch Edwards. Picture: Alison Wynd

George Stevens​

18 years old
Inside Midfielder
2024 Debut: Likely

Stevens is the most physically-ready midfielder that has come through the draft in recent years, however he slid to the Cats with the 58th pick after being touted as a potential first round selection. Stevens ran an impressive 6.37 2km time trial at the draft combine, yet weighed 100kgs as an 189cm midfielder. He has since trimmed down substantially since entering the doors at GMHBA Stadium, with the Cats reporting the midfielder weighs 90kgs. An inside midfielder in a squad that has lacked an inside midfielder, Stevens will likely be right on the edge of selection, and if Cam Guthrie struggles with his fitness early in the season after a wretched 2023, the 18 year old could be a chance at an early debut. It would be surprising if Stevens does not ultimately get a game in 2024, considering the transition that Geelong’s midfield is going through. Stevens played VFL football for Geelong in 2023, so coaches would have had a real chance to see how he works against mature bodies, and some awareness of the Cats’ system would also help him press for an early debut.

Lawson Humphries​

20 years old
Winger
2024 Debut: Smoky

Typically, players selected at pick 63 are not high up on the list of players to debut early, but the 20 year old is already a club favourite at the Cattery. Humphries could play as a half back, winger or small forward, with great footy IQ and ball use. Humphries would be one of Geelong’s best ball users by foot, with coaches genuinely questioning whether he is a left or right footer. Humphries could easily continue impressing through the pre-season and be a chance at debuting in 2024. Expect Humphries to become a fan favourite and cult figure with an eccentric personality.
Lawson Humphries. Picture: Alison Wynd

Oliver Wiltshire​

21 years old
Medium forward

The local talent nabbed from Barwon Heads would be an amazing story if he can get a debut in 2024, but in reality Wiltshire is an incredibly raw forward who has some great traits. Wiltshire has impressed early in his first pre-season, but would play a similar role to Ollie Henry, who booted 40 goals in 2023 and is locked into Geelong’s best 23. Wiltshire would need to add a bit of size and impress in VFL games to be a chance at a debut, after recording an official weight of 67kg. But with great goalsense and football traits, Wiltshire could be a great addition to the Cats.
Oliver Wiltshire at Barwon Heads in 2023. Picture: Mark Wilson

Phoenix Foster​

19 years old
Key Forward

Going into his second year, Foster’s first full pre-season has been impacted with a foot injury, however the 19 year old should be a full participant in the Cats’ first session of 2024. A key forward who showed glimpses in the VFL last season and will likely be given plenty of time to continue to develop into an AFL key forward. Shannon Neale is currently ahead of Foster as the first-up key forward, however there is a void that Foster fills after that, with little other competition for the spot. A couple of injuries at senior level could lead to a debut, however with Jeremy Cameron and Tom Hawkins filling out the spine of the side, there is little room for any other tall forwards.

James Willis​

20 years old
Inside Midfielder

It is a do-or-die season ahead for Willis, who will enter his third season on an AFL list without making his debut. The former second-round selection has had a wretched run with injury, kept to just four VFL games in 2022 before signing a one-year extension in June 2023 during his best run of form in the reserve grade. Willis is an inside midfielder that has shown promising signs, but will be fighting Tanner Bruhn, Jhye Clark, Brandan Parfitt, Max Holmes, Mitch Knevitt, and George Stevens as young midfielders looking for a role.
James Willis

Joe Furphy​

24 years old
Ruck

Furphy signed on at Geelong as a category B rookie, having spent his recent years playing basketball at an elite level. But the 24 year old has fit right in at Geelong, showcasing great athleticism and endurance for a 202cm prospect. Furphy is a true depth ruck option, behind Conway, Stanley and Blicavs, and competing with Edwards, Foster and Neale for a backup role.

Oscar Murdoch​

19 years old
Medium Defender

Another yet-to-debut Cat that is coming out of contract, Murdoch was one of the last players handed an extension for 2024, which means he could be fighting for another deal at the end of the season. The 190cm defender has great versatility in his role, with the ability to play lock down or in an intercept position, which will help him fight for a spot in the best 23. However, Geelong’s back six is pretty set and experienced, so it would take a fair bit to see Murdoch playing senior football in 2024.

Emerson Jeka​

22 years old
Key Defender

A mature-aged recruit coming from Hawthorn, Jeka was a surprise delisting at Waverley after an injury-riddled start to his career. Jeka made the transition from key forward to key defender and showed glimpses at VFL level, but never got a real run in the AFL in defence. The 22 year old played seven games in his first three seasons with Hawthorn after being selected in the 2019 rookie draft, but did not feature in the AFL in 2023. He signed a one-year deal with Geelong, and would be the first back up behind the trio of Sam De Koning, Jack Henry and Connor O’Sullivan.
New Cats player Emerson Jeka

Mitch Hardie​

26 years old

More Coverage​

Cats legend Ablett Jr locks in next local footy stintCats legend Ablett Jr locks in next local footy stint
Golden duck for Carlton star but gets help from umpireGolden duck for Carlton star but gets help from umpire
Inside Midfielder

Similarly to Shaun Mannagh, Hardie was picked as a mature-aged midfielder and Geelong is not a side that would stash them in the VFL. Hardie was close to a debut late in the season, and after a pre-season with the club will be a real chance to add to the Cats’ engine room. One Cats official compared Hardie to Adelaide’s Rory Laird in his game style, and he would add another mature body into the midfield mix that would prefer not relying on young players to carry the side’s clearance work.

10 pounds of sand 5 pound bag

Because they're largely guessing.

You have to remember, these aren't footy nuffies who are spending hours at training and getting the inside word from coaches.

They're not even like us on here, where most posters at least have a vague idea on who they think will/won't make it, and have followed the players since prior to the draft, and watched every moment of their career available since, whether it be good, bad or indifferent.

These are just journos getting paid a buck to write an article that ChatGPT could have come up with. It's a lot of cliches, assumptions, and so on without much endeavour.

It's cookie cutter journalism, particularly at this time of year. If James Willis debuts early and suddenly looks like a future star, nobody's going to be ringing up that particular journalist and telling them what an idiot they are for a January article. It's just how the business goes.

In some respects though, they are just like us on here, with even less accountability. These articles really aren't even meant for us, they're meant for the casual footy supporters who are just finding out the names of these players while sipping their morning coffee.

The sooner we understand that, the sooner we'll stop taking these articles as gospel, and rather focus on what the coaches, club, and selection are telling us - and even that's fraught with danger.

I understand most journos are clueless. I just find it funny that every journo and fan gets repeatedly sucked in by the big bodied inside mid. They see Cripps and Tom Green and think Stevens is just as big and strong so must be as good when almost no big bodied mid picked at 50+ has ever made it.

I expect journos to make dumb comments. It's just funny how they all seem to make the same dumb comment.

I understand most journos are clueless. I just find it funny that every journo and fan gets repeatedly sucked in by the big bodied inside mid. They see Cripps and Tom Green and think Stevens is just as big and strong so must be as good when almost no big bodied mid picked at 50+ has ever made it.

I expect journos to make dumb comments. It's just funny how they all seem to make the same dumb comment.

I'm not bullish on Stevens being right to go early.

But the part I bolded is probably a sample size thing. Not many players with Steven's size and midfield role get drafted at his point or later. He doesn't have a fashionable build. Goes back to you have two kids getting the same numbers and one is 10 kgs heavier. The recruiters go for the lighter one.

The next question is given a player is a big bodied midfielder do they tend to outperform or underperform their draft pick, especially late?

ZB 181, 78
JC 181, 78
Good start.
Having not seen Clark, I'd be rapt, we all would, if he is anywhere near the package of Butters

Height and weight are their only similarities. Butters and Clark are completely different players. Butters significantly more tricks and x-factor.

Clark is definitely going to be the priority partly because of how much hes impressed the club with his leadership early on but also the high draft pick need for exposure etc. With george it will be interesting i agree endurance is a priority (thesedays if you lack it as a mid you cant play) it looks like hes slimmed down a lot so maybe he plays quicker than we think.

Ball use is an issue for us so i can see humphries playing a role off hbf if he keeps training well.

Endurance isn't the issue with George, it's leg speed. The full U18 Academy v Port Adelaide game is on Youtube (below). If you watch George closely you'll see how much of a liability his slowness is down back.

I think if any of Duncan, 2E, Bews, Cuthrie (injured I know) Rohan, O’Connor, Stanley don’t fire early in the season they’re in the 2’s. Coaches need to be ruthless this year and there’s a s**t load of players waiting in the wings.

O'Connor just had his best ever season. Duncan was our second best ball winner despite the injury interruptions. Were Stanley and Rohan sub-par when they played? I'm not so sure.

The rest fair enough but Guthrie has only had a 2 game bad stretch before he got injured.

I'm not bullish on Stevens being right to go early.

But the part I bolded is probably a sample size thing. Not many players with Steven's size and midfield role get drafted at his point or later. He doesn't have a fashionable build. Goes back to you have two kids getting the same numbers and one is 10 kgs heavier. The recruiters go for the lighter one.

The next question is given a player is a big bodied midfielder do they tend to outperform or underperform their draft pick, especially late?

It probably applies anywhere outside about pick 25 and there's a decent sample of failures from then on. Apart from father sons (Kennedy and Watson) and mature agers (Priddis, Menegola) I'm struggling to think of players after pick 25 recruited as big bodied slowish mids who have made an impact at AFL level.

Yet every year there's a slider who gets obsessed over. We've had our share with Jansen, Constable and now Stevens.

I really hope he defies the odds and makes it. But even if he does become a Kennedy or Watson type which would be amazing they were slow burns so he probably wouldn't debut this year anyway.

Yeah but it shows how little the journalist understands the game and our team. Inside mid requires the most development time of any of the small positions. And it's also the spot we have probably the most depth even though we lack real quality there.

Humphries doesn't actually have huge competition as a good ball user off half back if he impresses. Bews and Tuohy dropping off and places will open up.

But Stevens has Clark, Knevitt, Willis, Dempsey, Parfitt, Mannagh, Hardie, Clohesy, etc to go past just of guys that weren't best 22 last year. And that's before you look at Guthrie coming back or guys like Bowes, O'Connor, Holmes, Stengle, etc pushing through midfield more if they develop. The fact he's an inside mid with limited versatility makes it much more difficult to see him debuting. If he can do a job in defence that might be his ticket into the team rather than relying on him pushing out a good mature player.

Yep i definitely most journos are throwing darts and havent studied our list properly. On a lot of the rest i largely agree for example i dont think its in dispute that we have more options for young mids than say young small defenders which is why mullin played as many games as he did last year despite not being ready. I think our selectors like you know the lack of young defenders on the list and it would influence selection. I also agree that our coaches historically tend to like mids with versatility.

That said while i think it makes stevens path a bit harder i dont think its impossible. We are about to have so many retirements that we will need to just find potential A graders wherever we can regardless of position. And in most cases besides bruhn henry clark and osullivan we will be trying to get those A graders from later picks. So if a later pick like stevens smashes the lights out in vfl (which he could do if his 2 games last year are an indicator) i am sure they will find room for him in the afl side. They will simply then shuffle around the versatile role players (guys like bowes and oconnor and even zuthrie etc) to different positions in order to make the room. So its not impossible for him to get in hes just going to have to show good vfl form and that he can athletically do the running first.

O'Connor just had his best ever season. Duncan was our second best ball winner despite the injury interruptions. Were Stanley and Rohan sub-par when they played? I'm not so sure.

The rest fair enough but Guthrie has only had a 2 game bad stretch before he got injured.

Rohan wasnt sub par but hes starting to struggle with soft tissue injuries (a telltale sign of age) and henry had a breakout year (i see him as b23 from here on out) and dempsey is getting to a point where his form is demanding games (and you cant pick all three unless one of them plays down back). So its easy to see rohan getting the dahlhaus/menegola vfl treatment.

Oconnor has been reasonably good but i wouldnt say is guaranteed b22. His versatility will help him get games though for eg he can easily take over the small defender role from bews which would allow us to prioritise guys like knevitt and clark as midfielders.

Duncan offers us something we need with his ball use but again soft tissue injuries are the issue..it depends on where his body and performance is at.

Guthrie im less worried about as he was very durable until this year.

Rohan wasnt sub par but hes starting to struggle with soft tissue injuries (a telltale sign of age) and henry had a breakout year (i see him as b23 from here on out) and dempsey is getting to a point where his form is demanding games (and you cant pick all three unless one of them plays down back). So its easy to see rohan getting the dahlhaus/menegola vfl treatment.

Oconnor has been reasonably good but i wouldnt say is guaranteed b22. His versatility will help him get games though for eg he can easily take over the small defender role from bews which would allow us to prioritise guys like knevitt and clark as midfielders.

Duncan offers us something we need with his ball use but again soft tissue injuries are the issue..it depends on where his body and performance is at.

Guthrie im less worried about as he was very durable until this year.
Rohan I can understand if he bumps into more injury issues.

I'd think Rohan, Tuohy and Bews (remember Smith makes a 4th) out would be enough turnover unless some senior players really dropped off a cliff. 5 at a push, let's say if Guthrie can't find his old form or someone like Duncan declines rapidly.

In reality you have players injured or managed and a few players underneath get 10 games even without being best 22. We don't really seem to add that to our calculations.

Rohan I can understand if he bumps into more injury issues.

I'd think Rohan, Tuohy and Bews (remember Smith makes a 4th) out would be enough turnover unless done senior players really dropped off a cliff. 5 at a push, let's say if Guthrie can't find his old form or someone like Duncan declines rapidly.

In reality you have players injured or managed and a few players underneath get 10 games even without being best 22. We don't really seem to add that to our calculations.

I do agree rohan tuohy and bews are the 3 likely to drop out and ive said as much previously. Stanley would be the next most likely if we had another ready ruck but i dont think conway is ready. Beyond that it depends on injuries some of the older guys might get injured (like danger and duncan have the last 2 years) which will naturally open up games for younger guys. I agree about 4 older players out (plus the spot smith had) is about the max turnover (say 5 changes to b23) that i expect but if the season goes pear shaped i can see some guys retiring early and more youth getting games whereas if we are in top 4 contention they will probably hang on til the end of the year.

There has been a lot of focus on Neale pre-season.

From what I’ve seen, his hands don’t seem particularly strong in a marking contest so he spills quite a few marks. He may be better up the ground where there is more space to get separation from opponents with his athleticism.

I agree with an earlier post that a Cam Mooney type career would be amazing for him. At this stage it’s a 50/50 if he’ll become a regular senior player in the future.

I do agree rohan tuohy and bews are the 3 likely to drop out and ive said as much previously. Stanley would be the next most likely if we had another ready ruck but i dont think conway is ready. Beyond that it depends on injuries some of the older guys might get injured (like danger and duncan have the last 2 years) which will naturally open up games for younger guys. I agree about 4 older players out (plus the spot smith had) is about the max turnover (say 5 changes to b23) that i expect but if the season goes pear shaped i can see some guys retiring early and more youth getting games whereas if we are in top 4 contention they will probably hang on til the end of the year.
Agreed.

I have a feeling that without an injury crisis they will be more likely to rest up a banged up Dangerfield for Knevitt/Clark (for example) and try to manage 1 at a time but this can only happen if luck is on your side.

Rohan and Stanley I'd hope the club say 15 good games is enough given the youngsters we have who need experience. Tuohy and Bews I'm hoping we use mostly when the other small/running defenders are out of form or injured.

Without being best 22, hopefully we see Knevitt, Dempsey, Clark, Mullin, Conway and Neale types getting enough experience that we are happy for them to take over in 2026.

There has been a lot of focus on Neale pre-season.

From what I’ve seen, his hands don’t seem particularly strong in a marking contest so he spills quite a few marks. He may be better up the ground where there is more space to get separation from opponents with his athleticism.

I agree with an earlier post that a Cam Mooney type career would be amazing for him. At this stage it’s a 50/50 if he’ll become a regular senior player in the future.
My theory is kids who are really tall all the way through junior footy generally have soft hands and are poor marks as they never have to develop strong hands"" as it is too easy for them through junior footy. I think Neale could be in this category.

Hope he makes it, but I think he will be more a role player. The advantage he has is that for a guy his size he is a good kick. Does not have to get a lot of kicks to hurt on the scoreboard. Even if he cannot mark just need him to hit a pack hard and compete. At least bring it to ground and take the odd mark on the lead.

Endurance isn't the issue with George, it's leg speed. The full U18 Academy v Port Adelaide game is on Youtube (below). If you watch George closely you'll see how much of a liability his slowness is down back.

All true, but that's while carrying 100+ kgs rather than 90. It's a huge difference.

Even Christian Petracca looked slow and cumbersome in 2019, where bulked up too much, played poorly, and was being called a bust by every Dees supporter under the sun.

They even played him at full forward, as he didn't have the pace or the endurance to do anything in the midfield.

After that season, he has a huge preseason, loses some kilos, and looks like one of the most dynamic players in the game 6 months later.

I'm not for one second saying Stevens will be Christian Petracca, but the point is it doesn't matter who you are, you're going to look be a lot slower carrying 10-15 kilos of unwanted weight.