List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.1

I watched mid week tackle and they reckon hawks are elbows deep in battle

On SM-A156E using BigFooty.com mobile app
As I’ve been saying for Weeks. I personally think he is gone.

It’s also looking like what I said at the start of June that the club believed it was band 1 territory

They sound like they are going all in early with this group. Next year teams will start paying attention to them and working out how to beat them. Might be a little early but who knows.

Their list looks really solid now. It’s probably only a couple of good talls and injury luck off a top 4 spot. They have drafted really well.

If they get Barass and Battle they'll be looking pretty good. Mitch Lewis with the ACL is gonna hurt but he hasn't really been there anyway. Sicily could be a very dangerous forward.

I watched mid week tackle and they reckon hawks are elbows deep in battle

On SM-A156E using BigFooty.com mobile app
More like the midweek mouth fart. Never heard so much gas and so little substance come out of a panel.

And their "Oh and YOU broke the story!" as if anybody else in the whole world gives a s#!t.

More like the midweek mouth fart. Never heard so much gas and so little substance come out of a panel.

And their "Oh and YOU broke the story!" as if anybody else in the whole world gives a s#!t.
There's never been as much choice of footy content to consume, don't understand why anyone would willingly watch these AFL mouthpiece Herald Sun "journos"

Sounds uncomfortable for Josh........ :oops:

giphy.gif

It is also scheduling, like no home game in the first 6 rounds, 7 different venues in the first 7 rounds, two interstate games followed by a 5 day break ( against AFL oen rules) where we got smashed by ten goals.
Have you heard the whinging about 5 day breaks this week because Carlton had one?
Then when we have spluttered to some type of form we get Brisbane in Brisbane after they had had two byes and we had not had one.
It isn't who you play, it is the scheduling and unfair playing conditions so the AFL can have their blockbuster games and their stupid vanity project in Adelaide on substandard grounds.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
We really can't be complaining about a lack of home games in the first 6 rounds - we chose to play a home game against the Pies at the MCG, it would otherwise have been at Marvel. Rounds 3 and 6 were also played at our home ground Marvel as away games.

Don't disagree we got a harder start than we should have (especially the 5 day break), but a lack of home games is not the excuse.

We really can't be complaining about a lack of home games in the first 6 rounds - we chose to play a home game against the Pies at the MCG, it would otherwise have been at Marvel. Rounds 3 and 6 were also played at our home ground Marvel as away games.

Don't disagree we got a harder start than we should have (especially the 5 day break), but a lack of home games is not the excuse.

Round 6 was a home game.

Round 4 Adelaide on a Sunday
Round 5 Canberra on a Saturday
Round 6 Marvel (anywhere really is a problem because it was) on a Thursday
Round 7 Adelaide on a Friday
Round 8 Marvel on a Saturday
Round 9 Launceston on a Saturday

This coincided with our worst run of form. We should have done better but it was a contributing factor. Also Round 1 to Round 2 was a five day break.

100% Footy Journos in Australia are some of the laziest and most entitled people going around.

The older brigade just thought the gravy train would keep on going, but with all the cost cutting going on in media, they're all sooking up a storm of striking now.

Striking only strengthens the media companies point, that they can use ai and junior people to aggregate the news and still get all the clicks and ad rev.

Would love to be a fly on the wall in some of the conversation's with older journo's facing the chop when the media bosses ask them "when was the last exclusive story you broke?"

All footy clubs have gone with their own in house media teams because they can control the narrative.

Post match press conferences are lucky to get 5 journos at this rate, multiple games have only had one journo turn up to cover the presser.

A lot of old entitled dudes are facing centrelink payments because they haven't moved with the times, haven't gone digital and have no idea how to chase or break a story anymore

and tbh the media we get is better for it :tearsofjoy:

100% Footy Journos in Australia are some of the laziest and most entitled people going around.

The older brigade just thought the gravy train would keep on going, but with all the cost cutting going on in media, they're all sooking up a storm of striking now.

Striking only strengthens the media companies point, that they can use ai and junior people to aggregate the news and still get all the clicks and ad rev.

Would love to be a fly on the wall in some of the conversation's with older journo's facing the chop when the media bosses ask them "when was the last exclusive story you broke?"

All footy clubs have gone with their own in house media teams because they can control the narrative.

Post match press conferences are lucky to get 5 journos at this rate, multiple games have only had one journo turn up to cover the presser.

A lot of old entitled dudes are facing centrelink payments because they haven't moved with the times, haven't gone digital and have no idea how to chase or break a story anymore

and tbh the media we get is better for it :tearsofjoy:

Ahh but you can't replace Robbo like that , not until they develop Artificial Unintelligence.

Yes we can complain. We don't get the free ride of blockbusters like them or the perpetual failure Essendon do, we HAVE to sell a game to the MCG to get a decent crowd.

We have to go cap in hand begging for a game where we can fit in more than 50k, Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond, Carlton get multiple every single bloody year.

It is because of this we need to do this. Nice you didn't mention 7 different venues in 7 rounds, two away games followed by a 5 day break against AFL's own rules, and playing a club away from home who had had two byes before we had one.

I suppose its easier to just be pedantic of the one small thing in the first two months of the season where we had a tiny bit of control. When do we get Games at our home every year in a decent time slot against these teams instead of 4.35 on a July Sunday v Gol Coast Suns every year.

When we earn it? have Essendon earned ANZAC Day since 1995? Dreamtime? Carlton v Richmond first game of the year for decades?

We get screwed but should be happy about it?

Yes we can complain. We don't get the free ride of blockbusters like them or the perpetual failure Essendon do, we HAVE to sell a game to the MCG to get a decent crowd.

We have to go cap in hand begging for a game where we can fit in more than 50k, Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond, Carlton get multiple every single bloody year.

It is because of this we need to do this. Nice you didn't mention 7 different venues in 7 rounds, two away games followed by a 5 day break against AFL's own rules, and playing a club away from home who had had two byes before we had one.

I suppose its easier to just be pedantic of the one small thing in the first two months of the season where we had a tiny bit of control. When do we get Games at our home every year in a decent time slot against these teams instead of 4.35 on a July Sunday v Gol Coast Suns every year.

When we earn it? have Essendon earned ANZAC Day since 1995? Dreamtime? Carlton v Richmond first game of the year for decades?

We get screwed but should be happy about it?

Essendon can keep Dreamtime, they put so much work into that it's not funny, but like most the alt opponent needs to be rotational. Reality being ANZAC should be ours if we were at all relevant to the AFL, as to date we are the only club to have "conflict" ID wise with the Reich, so whilst all was impacted, our very identity was.

As it stands, money talks, so we just need to make sure others listen when we do talk.

Essendon can keep Dreamtime, they put so much work into that it's not funny, but like most the alt opponent needs to be rotational. Reality being ANZAC should be ours if we were at all relevant to the AFL, as to date we are the only club to have "conflict" ID wise with the Reich, so whilst all was impacted, our very identity was.

As it stands, money talks, so we just need to make sure others listen when we do talk.
Us being a small club means we don't get the marquee games we otherwise should if all things were fair and equal -- in saying that, we fumbled the bag big time with both ANZAC NZ games and Good Friday. Had we put together some good performances these may have turned into something for us (or not). But it was in everyone's best interests to ensure this was never given a chance to repeat itself:

1722488704861.png

Us being a small club means we don't get the marquee games we otherwise should if all things were fair and equal -- in saying that, we fumbled the bag big time with both ANZAC NZ games and Good Friday. Had we put together some good performances these may have turned into something for us (or not). But it was in everyone's best interests to ensure this was never given a chance to repeat itself:

View attachment 2065250
But Essendon, Carlton, Richmond, and Collingwood all have had games like that. They dont get punished by the AFL for a decade.

These reasons are lazy thinking and as RTB would say fingernail deep.

We have one bad game last decade so we never get a decent game again. Talk about loser mentality.

But Essendon, Carlton, Richmond, and Collingwood all have had games like that. They dont get punished by the AFL for a decade.

These reasons are lazy thinking and as RTB would say fingernail deep.

We have one bad game last decade so we never get a decent game again. Talk about loser mentality.
I'm not saying it's right or fair, in fact the opposite. But this is the way things are when money talks. We are objectively a 'boutique club' as RTB would also say and therefore we don't get the same opportunities other clubs do. We have to fight harder for them and take them when they come. That's just how it is -- 'loser mentality' isn't relevant.

Last time we had some half chances at creating something we blew them 🤷‍♂️

View attachment 2065250
I'm against the same clubs getting the same slots year in and year out, I mean, this is one game and I agree with the ANZAC NZ games too, in fact, I'd be more than happy to have zero special games because historically we've been shit in almost every one of them - the first game in honour of Danny Frawley was the worst IMO given his contribution to the club and the performance we put up, total bullshit.

That said, I don't like the fact that Collingwood and Essendon get the prime time ANZAC day every year, especially when usually one of them are down in the dull drums, I'd prefer something like a GF repeat for that spot, and North for Good Friday, the game above is probably the only one they won, since then, they've got an average losing margin of nearly 6,000 points, in fact, they're an argument for a mercy rule in football. Yet, they still get to keep the day.

Comes back to the AFL's equality, which only exists when they want it to exist and doesn't when they don't want it.