Player Watch #6: George Wardlaw - two-time RS nominee ('23 &'24) - The Warlord/ The Boss - out vs RFC w/ delayed concussion

Absolutely bang on. This kid has leadership written all over him. How can a team mate go less than 100% with the standard set by George

He's not really a captain though.

He wasn't captain for Oakleigh (despite being their star player going into last season), Drury was.

He didn't captain SKEVS either.

He's the epitome of a captain on the field, however, no reason he can't just be in the leadership group. There's more to being a captain than onfield leadership though. I'm not sure he's that type, I think he's alot more aloof outside of footy. A bit like LDU...

If I was framing a market, Phillips would be $1.05 as North's next captain.

He was school captain of Caulfield, captain of their footy team, captain of Oakleigh, captain of the Vic u/16's and would have been the Vic Metro captain had the season not been cancelled.

He's an absolute professional off field and his onfield performances are starting to replicate his junior career.

He's absolutely who I think should/will captain the club down the track.

The thing about Warlord is his relentlessness.

All the time. It never ends.

That's what is catching everyone's eye.
i thought his tank was a weakness? He was even more manic in the last quater than he was in the first. I don't his 3k time trial matters much on game day. Even if his body is out of gas, it just doesn't register between the ears.

It's probably a god send that he missed the start of the season. He'd burn himself out playing in warlord mode for 23 games this early in his career. Imagine him with a proper pre-season or 2 under his belt and another 5-6kg of muscle on his frame?

i thought his tank was a weakness? He was even more manic in the last quater than he was in the first. I don't his 3k time trial matters much on game day. Even if his body is out of gas, it just doesn't register between the ears.

It's probably a god send that he missed the start of the season. He'd burn himself out playing in warlord mode for 23 games this early in his career. Imagine him with a proper pre-season or 2 under his belt and another 5-6kg of muscle on his frame?

Watching him live, he was absolutely cooked getting contest to contest.

As you can see in the highlights, he got almost all of his ball from stoppages, as he was dragging himself from stoppage to stoppage.

Imagine when he's fit and he's linking up in possession chains, pushing forward, get ball from half back etc.

He's at about 10% of his future peak as a footballer at the moment.

Goddamn 3 games in and he already has a highlights package 😎

Re his kicking, I think his kicking is great, the ones he has shanked are the ones where he had gone across his body resulting in him kicking with the inside of his boot.

I love how he just takes the game on, I reckon rats has told these guys to just take the game on, doesn’t matter if you get pinged for HTB or turn it over trying to play the way that we want to play.

As you can see in the highlights, he got almost all of his ball from stoppages, as he was dragging himself from stoppage to stoppage.

Imagine when he's fit and he's linking up in possession chains, pushing forward, get ball from half back etc.

That's what i'm getting at. Relentless will power and the drive to keep going.

Absolutely, I prefer this kid, everything about the other screams mercenary, he picked up his contract and laid down arms. I have no doubt he’ll do it again if he’s not the highest paid player at port in a few years.
Ones Selwood and the other is Buckley

Reading your post

1686008234531.png

I had to stop myself from hitting the "post reply" button with Wardlaw on a few occasions over the past year, because I'd always read my post back and it'd be one of the most insane hyperbolic takes that I've ever come up with.

I truly think he is as close to a perfect prospect as you'll see. The combination of his power and short-range acceleration makes him the perfect athlete for playing midfield. He didn't play a lot last year, but he showed enough of his determination, instincts, and creativity to show that he had the footballing ability to match that athleticism.

I don't watch as much juniors as some posters on here, but I've watched most of the top prospects over the last fiveish years play a few games at NAB League level. Anyway, you don't need to be an expert to know that the game against Sandringham last year was legendary stuff. Sandringham had one of the best u18 midfielders ever assembled and Wardlaw made them look second-rate. Sheezel always speaks about Wardlaw in reverential tones and that game would be a major reason why.

Ones Selwood and the other is Buckley
I’ll keep saying it - the other one is nothing like Buckley. Buckley was totally honest with Brisbane that they only had one year, and gave professional 100% commitment to them as long as he was playing with them.

Just hoping the Selwood comparison runs through to George’s fairy tale retirement as a three time (at least) premiership player.

Yes I've seen him on the training track receiving the ball in the middle of a chain and it's something to behold. When he is fit enough to be doing this in games, taking possession in the middle of the ground and speering a kick onto the chest of a leading forward, people might lose their minds. The upside that the footy media hasn't even seen yet is off the ****ing charts.

Player Watch #6: George Wardlaw - two-time RS nominee ('23 &'24) - The Warlord/ The Boss - out vs RFC w/ delayed concussion