AFLW 2017 - Rnd 1 - W.Bulldogs v Frem, WO, 7.45 (Fox, 7 national (ex.Adl),afl.com.au, app, watchafl)

Gotta say that was the highest stamdard game so far by a fair margin. Well done to the Bulldogs.
Not sure how much the weather affected our game, and I've got L plates re AFLW.
We've definitely just seen the flag favourites win in my view.

Didn't players have to nominate which state they wanted to be picked in? I haven't checked but minus the marquee players each non Vic teams are essentially state teams?

There's not enough depth for 18 teams in the men's league let alone the women's...
Of course now there is not but you have to give it time. This is a fantastic competition and will bring thousands of young girls into the game. They will see their heroes playing and start playing at a younger age. That will mean more and more girls will develop their skills quicker. Who knows how long it will take to have 18 teams, but give the ladies a chance to show their talent. Some of them have only just started playing, crossing over from other sports. You dont learn your skills overnight. Young girls now will be going home and kicking the footy,hoping they can become stars. That can only be a good thing! All they need is a chance.

^ I've witnessed this first hand.
I run a junior basketball club.
We have young girls in the 11-14yr old bracket who started playing AFL last year on the back of the womens league becoming a real possibility. Girls playing footy used to be viewed as an abnormality and that was a big stigma for a lot of girls, now they have a real avenue to pursue something they want to play, I expect a lot of our girls will jump into it in the next couple of years.

^ I've witnessed this first hand.
I run a junior basketball club.
We have young girls in the 11-14yr old bracket who started playing AFL last year on the back of the womens league becoming a real possibility. Girls playing footy used to be viewed as an abnormality and that was a big stigma for a lot of girls, now they have a real avenue to pursue something they want to play, I expect a lot of our girls will jump into it in the next couple of years.
Yer well said mate. Im seeing it too and it is brilliant!

Some teams draft better than others just like the mens....with that said, it's one game each so far.

Yeah but the men's players are drafted as 17-18 year olds, which is unpredictable, these are mature age players.

If you put the all the AFL players in an open draft you would expect 18 pretty even teams.

I've changed my mind on the skill level. some horrible mistakes by a couple collingwood players aside, it's been 'good enough'. Can't expect much more than what we've seen, and it will definitely get better with time. I love how excited everyone got at WO tonight at the sight of someone hitting a 45m pass :D

Gotta say that was the highest stamdard game so far by a fair margin. Well done to the Bulldogs.
Not sure how much the weather affected our game, and I've got L plates re AFLW.
We've definitely just seen the flag favourites win in my view.
Yeah nah, the 4 victorian sides already had practice matches against each other. The dogs are only just better then collingwood and collingwood and melbourne are pretty much on par.

Why are the games so one sided wasn't their a draft ? What was the order ?
Womens footy when it is contested tends to be low scoring, so the losing side doesn't tend to score much. With shorter kicks and lower groundspeed, the ball has to go through more hands to transition. More hands equals more chance for it to break down.

Women's games can be huge scoring, but usually only when one team is so outmatched it cannot apply pressure.

Sent from my XT1068 using Tapatalk

While expansion will be on the agenda at some stage, Lethlean indicated there were no immediate plans to do so.

"There will be a complete review of the competition at the end of the year from rules to teams to venues to fixturing and broadcasts, so we will look at all of that," he said.

"I don't think we will be rushing into expansion until we get the talent pool below. That dictates the number of teams we can have. We are pretty steadfast in having the right amount of teams at the moment, which is eight teams, but hopefully [Friday night] means girls and boys are registered for Auskick and our talent pool will grow and our coaching is better in community football and we will build from there."

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/womens...lash-a-tv-ratings-winner-20170204-gu5h6z.html

Bullshit mate. Many of the girls have just started playing football, crossing over from other sports. What do you expect? Their skills are awesome for the amount of time they have had in the game. Your comment is pitiful, keep it to yourself.
Whether they've been playing it for 2 minutes or 2 years, the skill level is pretty damn ordinary, and the games are being served up on TV in prime time, so the expectation would be that we're going to be watching a high level sport, just like anything else that gets the gold star treatment and prime time fixturing. It's far from that at this stage.

Pretty disappointing effort by the Dockers team, considering how much we heard about how much of a premiership contender they were going to be. Apart from a couple of players, they just didn't seem that interested to be honest.
Well done to the Dogs team as they were fantastic.

Whether they've been playing it for 2 minutes or 2 years, the skill level is pretty damn ordinary, and the games are being served up on TV in prime time, so the expectation would be that we're going to be watching a high level sport, just like anything else that gets the gold star treatment and prime time fixturing. It's far from that at this stage.
Change the channel then pal if you dont like it. Get out to some schools, watch girls play football, watch some womens games, coach the girls playing football, encourage them and you will see how wrong you are and you little you know. Then comment about the standard. You know nothing.

Bullshit mate. Many of the girls have just started playing football, crossing over from other sports. What do you expect? Their skills are awesome for the amount of time they have had in the game. Your comment is pitiful, keep it to yourself.
That doesnt mean the skill level wasn't horrible. I get that people are defensive about the league but if they are marketing the league in primetime, casual fans are going to be interested and if the skills are as poor as those on display tonight it doesn't matter how many caveats you put on it, people will just think that it was a shocking display. I am not saying it won't get better or that there arent reasonsfor it as you say, but sometimes a spade is a spade. And i am someone that wants the league to succeed.

Skills are fantastic, but no where near awesome, eventually it will be a quality competition but not for 4 or 5 years

Yeah but the men's players are drafted as 17-18 year olds, which is unpredictable, these are mature age players.

If you put the all the AFL players in an open draft you would expect 18 pretty even teams.
I disagree about the point that the girls recruiters would have an easier job because the girls are older. Game experience is still lacking with a lot of them.

If anything the guys teams would have far more of an idea about their 17 year old draftees than what the girls clubs would have in terms of players that could actually play a professional level game. A lot of these girls have been plucked from fairly obscure club level competition with little to no idea of the consistent standard. Heck, some of the girls are just multi sport athletes that just picked up the game like ex college basketballers or ex rugby players etc.

Each team would maybe have 5-8 girls that every club would have had a decent look at. The rest is still pretty hit and miss.

That doesnt mean the skill level wasn't horrible. I get that people are defensive about the league but if they are marketing the league in primetime, casual fans are going to be interested and if the skills are as poor as those on display tonight it doesn't matter how many caveats you put on it, people will just think that it was a shocking display. I am not saying it won't get better or that there arent reasonsfor it as you say, but sometimes a spade is a spade. And i am someone that wants the league to succeed.
I'm not sure what you expected from 2 semi-pro girls per team and the rest being amateur club level players.

Would you have preferred it not to have been given media exposure until the skills got better? Considering the tv and crowd numbers and the overwhelmingly positive response I suspect your expectation of the skills and the reality were just too far apart.

Pretty disappointing effort by the Dockers team, considering how much we heard about how much of a premiership contender they were going to be. Apart from a couple of players, they just didn't seem that interested to be honest.
Well done to the Dogs team as they were fantastic.
Travel will be a factor in this league. Bulldogs spend the first 6 weeks at home.

I'm calling bullshit on this one.

What gets shown on primetime on TV is what's popular. The standard of sport or even tv show has nothing to do with it. Women's sport on the whole is growing with popularity. 800k with a 1.1 million peak tuned in to watch the Collingwood Carlton season opener and it was a sellout at the ground. Those are insane numbers. Considering the barren wasteland that is sport on television in February, you had better get used to watching these girls develop their skills if you flick on channel seven during primetime.

AFLW 2017 - Rnd 1 - W.Bulldogs v Frem, WO, 7.45 (Fox, 7 national (ex.Adl),afl.com.au, app, watchafl)