Review Cats turn Lions into wet pussies at the Gabba by 26 points

Look i really like parf and i ageee with some of your points..his last month has been great.
But lets remember some facts. We have 6 fwds who are locks (jez tommy ollie plus the 3 smalls) plus dempsey that are all locks. We have 6 or so defenders as locks (even i admit kolo and zuthrie are having great years). Then either stanley or conway plus danger blitz cuthrie and bruhn and holmes are all locks.
That only leaves 3 or 4 spots realistically open.

In that context i dont think you can fit all of atkins parf bowes and oconnor in the side.
And the other 3 are all more versatile.
Atkins can play bull clearance mid or go to hbf and excel at groundballs
Bowes with his height and running power can be a inside mid or a defender (as he was when stewart went off)
Oconnor has good endurance and can play defensive or attacking roles as a mid or can again go the backline.
When you are looking at the 22nd/23rd player versatility and ability to cover injuries is important.
Parf is a super clearance player (albeit disposal by foot is limited) but how many centre bounce attendances will he get in a final with danger blitz cuthrie and bruhn as the starting mids? And where will he be for the rest of the game as he cant play wing or anywhere else.

Now i could be wrong they could keep him and drop bowes or moc but i doubt it.
I think hes a great 1st emergency but needs an injury to get in-its no coincidence his good run has come with guthrie out.

Parfitt plays in front of Atkins atm who is just going.

Theres some truth to that.
But again while i love his defensive work hes not an ideal transition player because his kicking is poor. His best work is done as a first possession player or trying to turn the ball back over at the stoppage. How many of those stoppages will he get once guthrie etc are back? I just dont see where he fits in.

Yes sub but again with the tactical sub you are either going to go for a player who can cover several positions (oconnor especially and bowes and atkins are ideal for this) especially in the HIA era we are in now. Or you go for an impact player who can open the game up in the last quarter (likely rohan).
Parfitt is neither of those things-hes a very good midfielder but tactically makes no sense as a sub. Hes either got to be in the 22 or hes first emg.
I know we made him sub 2 years ago but the speed of the game is clearly faster now and sub tactics need to change accordingly.

I'm not sure his kicking is all that bad, but I'll take your take on it. I like his nouse with the ball.
The truth is, it's still a long season and he along with others he could go off the boil,or God forbid, injuries.
In the same vein, sub is a bit of a lottery, given a midfielder needs to be pulled, or someone like Clark/atkins if playing.
The other thing is match ups throughout the run, something they like to do week to week.
For the moment, if it's worth much, Scotty is fan enough to mention him in the presser.

Gee I got to hand it to that defense once they settled, hope Stewart is ok, also like that young Bowes, puts his head over it but agility also shows up around goals. He's going to be a ripper.

I love how he beat up on himself when he missed the goal.
So dark (and motivated) off he went to do more damage from there. Big like.

I love how he beat up on himself when he missed the goal.
So dark (and motivated) off he went to do more damage from there. Big like.
It’s funny seeing the difference between our leaders compaired to Bris last night ..Neale was dropping his head a lot when under the pump and things weren’t going there way

Bloody hell there are so many tossers up at Brisbane. Fagan is a tosser. Zorko is a tosser. Neale... Hipwood... Some of the worst.

View attachment 1965668
I know wet weather footy isn't much of a spectacle, but I enjoy seeing a gutsy slog like this. The boys were up for it.
Kane Cornes was right this week when he said the Brisbane Lions have all the tools.

It’s funny seeing the difference between our leaders compaired to Bris last night ..Neale was dropping his head a lot when under the pump and things weren’t going there way
Even the bald headed umpire dropped his head in the final quarter he knew it was a lost cause.

Someone earlier mentioned the camaraderie evident playing for each other. They seem to have that licence, or just the spontaneous joy at each others success. Stengle and Parf were both recipients of packs showing true teamwork and delight.
It must mean a lot to them with the likes of Hawk and Cameron pumping them up.
While Bris celebrated their goals with what seemed liked a personal fist pump/FIGJAM.

Bews will go regardless (we will delist him if he doesnt retire). Same with tuohy and potentially rohan.
I think we will try to convince stanley to do one more year as backup but i reckon he will rather retire to his farm.
I think duncan and hawk are both 50/50 to go on but if we win the flag i think both definitely retire. (Dangerfield i think goes on and blitz and cuthrie are contracted).
Forgot about Ferrari Rohan.
Look i really like parf and i ageee with some of your points..his last month has been great.
But lets remember some facts. We have 6 fwds who are locks (jez tommy ollie plus the 3 smalls) plus dempsey that are all locks. We have 6 or so defenders as locks (even i admit kolo and zuthrie are having great years). Then either stanley or conway plus danger blitz cuthrie and bruhn and holmes are all locks.

In that context i dont think you can fit all of atkins parf bowes and oconnor in the side.
Bowes with his height and running power can be a inside mid or a defender (as he was when stewart went off)
Oconnor has good endurance and can play defensive or attacking roles as a mid or can again go the backline.
When you are looking at the 22nd/23rd player versatility and ability to cover injuries is important.
Parf is a super clearance player (albeit disposal by foot is limited) but how many centre bounce attendances will he get in a final with danger blitz cuthrie and bruhn as the starting mids? And where will he be for the rest of the game as he cant play wing or anywhere else.

I think hes a great 1st emergency but needs an injury to get in-its no coincidence his good run has come with guthrie out.
You remind me of Bill Collins. THE ACCURATE ONE.
Perhaps I just don't want to accept seeing him go elsewhere.
True about the injuries and opportunities, BUT it was not all that long ago that he was in the best 22 easily, and it was injury that saw him lose his spot, and then form/confidence. There will always be those injuries, to various players, but if we get lucky and see CGuthrie fit again, it certainly will be a challenge.

Usually it isn’t easy to pick cultural differences from outside. Often subtle but important differences.

But the difference between Brisbane and Geelong is so stark any dumb support (me) can see it.

evidence is not just dropping head but also genuine excitement in other team mates doing well…gut running…sacrificing. From young to old…

Oh. And not being d***ks

Parfitt plays in front of Atkins atm who is just going.
I think Atkins offers more options whilst Parf offers just the one.
Axe is a man between positions/jobs atm for me.
Whether that's hindering him with switching between assignments i'm not sure.

Someone earlier mentioned the camaraderie evident playing for each other. They seem to have that licence, or just the spontaneous joy at each others success. Stengle and Parf were both recipients of packs showing true teamwork and delight.
It must mean a lot to them with the likes of Hawk and Cameron pumping them up.
While Bris celebrated their goals with what seemed liked a personal fist pump/FIGJAM.
Having your own little ditty played after a goal in my opinion is the opposite of team building and snubs all those involved in the build up. Fagan should **** it off for the sake of the team.

Bruhn looking the goods this year.. but only 58% TOG last night... what the?

Surely he doesn't need to be spending 42% of the game on the bench.

We are undefeated so I guess they know what they are doing.
All that and he had a equal game high clearances and was he most tackles on the ground

Impressive

He’s our best clearance player in what is still a fairly thin lineup. I get why they iced him in the last.

He only played 46% in the last quarter so his game time in the first 3 quarters was 62% which is not unusual for our midfield. My guess is he was put in cotton wool late to give Clark some game time and save Bruhn for Carlton.

Cripps and Walsh, Wines and Butters, then Petracca and Oliver. What a three weeks that guy has coming up

Parfitt was the 5th mid last night with only 8 CBAs, yet he still had 7 clearances, 17 disposals, 6 tackles, 5 inside 50s and a goal. He also had 29 pressure acts which I think was a match high. He’s more versatile than he’s given credit for.

Review Cats turn Lions into wet pussies at the Gabba by 26 points