Changes for round 19

i have a feeling Butler may be the one to make way. This would be very harsh but he didn't get a lot of ground time vs Saints and didn't seem to handle the pressure as well as most.
Jones will stay. The only other option is Armstrong who can't handball but tackles quite well and works hard.
Lecras.....emergency with Morton and Rosa

djdarren said:
i have a feeling Butler may be the one to make way. This would be very harsh but he didn't get a lot of ground time vs Saints and didn't seem to handle the pressure as well as most.
Jones will stay. The only other option is Armstrong who can't handball but tackles quite well and works hard.
Lecras.....emergency with Morton and Rosa

No chance.

Butler was fine, if anyone is getting dropped its Rowan Jones, purely on ability.

Will be a few changes from North this week. Simmo, Pratt & Grant to be given spells and get surgery done now.

On paper, looks like a big loss, but they haven't been in the best nick. The Ins will be Archer & probably McConnell and most likely another youngster.

Will be less clangers than usual from us this week.

Should be a good game. Thommo & Sav in form up forward will cause your backline some headaches. Hale & McIntosh are coming along nicely in the ruck. Our defence is starting to click - just our tactics suck.

In pretty decent form, having won 5 from our last 7 (including a 1 point loss to the Bears).

Looking forward to seeing how Swallow (&Harris) goes in the guts against your midfield. If our tags stick (Rawlings & Firrito) and we kick straighter - I reckon we'll see a close one.

Talk of sending key players back to the WAFL doesn't convince me. The theory being that it's easier to get into the play and have an influence in a WAFL game than one played at AFL level.

But this week we face the Kangaroos at home, a time that has written off this year and who is leaving out some of their best. Wouldn't THAT be the perfect opportunity to play some of these guys back into form?

I think they should play both Embley and Staker. Perhaps they might think about playing both of them in more prominent roles. Embley running on the ball a lot more and playing more inside footy for example. The next two games should be the perfect opportunity to do that

Does anyone think that Matt Priddis is a realistic chance of getting a guersney this week?

I mean what else does the guy have to do to get a game?

My Changes:

In: Cox, Priddis

Out: RoJo, Armstrong

In: Cox
Out: Armstrong/Staker

As well as Armstrong has done, I think he is the most expendable of our squad. Unless the match committee thinks we're a bit tall, in which case Staker is the prime candidate to go.

I think RoJo has played really well in the past month and will keep his spot.

What I fear most is that injured guys will return and be brought straight back into the squad, while blokes who are responsible for our form revival will be dropped back to the WAFL. It sends a bad message to the squad, and we may potentially be selecting guys on reputation more than anything else.

daddy_4_eyes said:
What I fear most is that injured guys will return and be brought straight back into the squad, while blokes who are responsible for our form revival will be dropped back to the WAFL. It sends a bad message to the squad, and we may potentially be selecting guys on reputation more than anything else.

I was having that thought today aswell. Hunter and Nicoski are unlikely to return before Round 22, giving them a good 6-8 weeks off and 0 match practice. How the hell are they gonna have enough time to find top form for the finals? And do the lesser lights who have got us there deserve to stay in the team ahead of their more fancied team mates?

94_Eagles said:
I was having that thought today aswell. Hunter and Nicoski are unlikely to return before Round 22, giving them a good 6-8 weeks off and 0 match practice. How the hell are they gonna find top form for the finals? And do the lesser lights who have got us there deserve to stay in the team ahead of their more fancied team mates?
I don't think you could argue with Hunter coming straight back in to the team, he is a proven and vital player come finals . Nicoski, while his form was fantastic before injury, may not slot straight back in as others can take his place.

We actually had the same problem last year with players coming back late in the season from injury (I think we had four come back in against Adelaide in round 22 from memory). Embley, Sampi were two of them, and they did alright in the finals.

Maybe this week is the week to give someone a rest, rather than drop someone as such for Cox. Wirra and Chicky come to mind as two who would benefit from a week off to freshen up before finals. Unless Staker is carrying an injury I see no benefit in dropping him this week.

I think there are interesting few weeks ahead with some guys coming back from injury. The match commitee must keep the momentum up whilst whilst trying to get the right mix of players fully match fit

I would not drop staker...despite people not liking him he actually leads west coast for contestd marks this season....and is 15th in the league for contest narks overall....at 196cm he always draws a good defender which frees up someone else....we are overly blessed with height so we shouldnt drop him and they wont...he has kicked 18 goals...while that isnt brilliant he does lead well and provides a thrd tall option behind Lynch and Hansen

armstrong maybe.....the roos arent blessed with heaps of height so bring in cox. I have a feeling woosha might rest a few blokes in the coming weeks to freshen then for the finals assault. we saw the benefits for cuz in that regard..even kerr missing a week suspended he has come nack oin sparkling form. Maybe somone like stenglein who rarely gets a break and chick maybe braum also might have a break before the finals....irs september we want to be ready for not now..............

Quinzate1 said:
My personal opinion- Embley should go back to the WAFL for a week.

your kidding aren't you? He is one of our genuine match-winners. He has hardly played on the ball at all this year, and I suspect it's because Woosha didn't want him injuring himself a month or two out from the finals like he seems to do every year. Hopefully, Woosha has been playing him in a less physically demanding role, hopefully so he is fresh for the finals and on top of him not coming back from an injury come finals time, other teams may underestimate him due to him not being as prominant as Kerr, Cousins, Judd, etc.

The thing is we have 3 best 18 players coming back and it will be hard to fit them all in. Cox, Hunter and Nicoski will come back in. Only Rojo and Armstrong really stand out as not being best 22 players (I know it's harsh as they both have contributed to our good form recently), but we will be forced to find one more. I'd hate to be the one to pick the other player to drop, but I have a feeling B. Jones will be the one, which is a shame as I really rate him.

Also, does anyone think Banfield will make his way back into the side?

ok lets make it simplier....

pick your current side..heres mine

Wirpunda Glass B Jones
Waters Graham Hunter
Braun Stenglien Nicoski
Kerr Hansen Embley
Sampi Lynch Chick

Ruck Cox Judd Cousins
Bench: Butler Seaby Staker Selwood

Unluckys

Banfield..Brett jones is a better athlete and can play on a taller or smaller player

Rowan Jones...because Nicoski is better simple as that
Armstrong.....hunter comes in while they are different a resting midfeilder plays forward so armstrong isnt need.

Matt Rosa..bloody unlucky also because Braun and Nicoski fill his role

Stoles said:
Does anyone think that Matt Priddis is a realistic chance of getting a guersney this week?

I mean what else does the guy have to do to get a game?

My Changes:

In: Cox, Priddis

Out: RoJo, Armstrong

Id lean more towards

IN: Cox, Priddis
OUT: Staker, RoJo

Cabbie said:

Wirpunda Glass B Jones
Waters Graham Hunter
Braun Stenglien Nicoski
Kerr Hansen Embley
Sampi Lynch Chick

Ruck Cox Judd Cousins

Unluckys

Banfield..Brett jones is a better athlete and can play on a taller or smaller player

Armstrong.....hunter comes in while they are different a resting midfeilder plays forward so armstrong isnt need.

How does this make things simpler?

It's got absolutely nothing to do with what's being discussed in this thread.

There are players from our best 22 who are unavailable. We know that. So why post a side that includes them in a thread discussing changes for this week?

Cabbie said:

Wirpunda Glass B Jones
Waters Graham Hunter
Braun Stenglien Nicoski
Kerr Hansen Embley
Sampi Lynch Chick

Ruck Cox Judd Cousins

Unluckys

Where is Chad Fletcher?

heals said:
Resting players could be an idea , just so they can have a break for september

The Junk Yard Lunatic has been yapping about not playing Grant, Simpson, etc (operations). if the Roos do that it might be a good time to freshen up Judd and Cousins again, although Judd did miss four weeks with a hamstring a few weeks back.

Ben might benefit from another week off as might Kerr.

Also agree with Reason and others about the value of Bones - Hope they keep him in. It was McHale - not Woosha - who was talking baout Banners coming in. could be a ploy.

There's no way Embley or Staker should be dropped, and there's no way we should even be thinking of bringing in blokes like Morton or Priddis.
We're on a bit of a roll now, and with finals looming large, we have to start thinking about forming a team that we genuinely believe could play in another Grand Final.

As much as Priddis etc may be playing well in the WAFL, it's a shocking comp, and they won't be selected for big, crunch finals games. Now is not the time for experimenting and possibly ruining the confidence of established players.

How would Embley/Staker etc feel about playing against Sydney or Adelaide on Grand Final day when they were dropped for a routine home match against a side like the Kangaroos? They would be doubting themselves, and we don't need that when we're a huge chance of a flag.

These guys may not be knocking up getting the pill, or kicking 4 goals every week, but we all know they are good players who will serve us well.
Form is temporary, class is permanent!

Cabbie said:
armstrong maybe.....the roos arent blessed with heaps of height so bring in cox.

I suggest you take a better look at our side.

Petrie, Brown, Watt, Hale, McIntosh, Thompson, Rocca, Schwarze

Some maybe duds but they are tall.

And I'm sure most of you would be pleased to know that McConnell is getting a game this weekend.

Benno_900 said:
I suggest you take a better look at our side.

Petrie, Brown, Watt, Hale, McIntosh, Thompson, Rocca, Schwarze

Some maybe duds but they are tall.

And I'm sure most of you would be pleased to know that McConnell is getting a game this weekend.

yeh good luck to him. I am somewhat surprised that he has hardly played. How have you guys viewed Kasey Green's contribution to the side this year?

Changes for round 19