Changes v Hawks

our forward line is currently one of our major problems, and some people are suggesting to drop one of our top couple forward targets in ben warren? stupid

The hawks will hit back hard this week.

The key to the hawks are:

Hodge and its either Spud or Greenwood who should rotate.

Bateman - Rawlings.

Mitchell - Spitta .

Roughead - Narni.

Toss a coin between hansen and Thompson onto Buddy (I reckon he will carve us up this week).

Need scoreboard pressure so Jones gets another chance.

In Greenwood / Jones
Out - Harding / Wright

After a little more thought Im going with

Out: Harding, Wright

In: Greenwood, Garlett

I would also like to see Goldstein dropped for Smith for team balance. Play Hale as a backup Ruck and at Full Forward. Smith to play CHF, Edwards can also play FF when Hale is on the bench. I think it would make the team a hell of alot less predictable and give more flexibility to the forward line.

I cant see it happening though because Scott, like Laidley seems to be in love with Hale at FF, so I would content myself with the initial 2 changes.

i will say it again,no way should scotty thompson be dropped,harding,wright,and hale all should be considered for a stint @ nth ballarat,brady to hodgey all game,lets hope our rucks dominate,they should,need plenty of forward pressure on the likes of guerra,birchall and company,the rest should take care of itself,tackling is the key to stopping hawks

Thompson Grima Rawlings
Firrito Hansen Urquhart
Anthony Swallow Bastinac
Wells Edwards Warren
Ziebell Smith Adams
McIntosh Harvey Greenwood

Garlett/Cunnington McMahon Goldstein Harding

Out: Hale (Free kick specialist), Thomas (Even the lovers surely cant still be loving), Wright (Completely out of touch)
In: Greenwood Smith, Garlett/Cunnington

That's pretty much how I see it too, although Harding would go as well for Cunnington or Ross. I think in a tight contest (rather than free flowing) we can't afford 3 ruckmen so Hale of Goldy has to give way to J Smith. He deserves an extended run at CHF. He actually reminds me a bit of a young Drew. Wells has got to play HBF to give us more drive from defence. Smith at CHF and Edwards at FF. This team looks a lot more balanced and has a bit more grunt through the mid-field.

LT has to go, he's just shite at the minute.

Wright has to go as he playing terribly.

Hale has to go also. If he wasn't getting free kicks he would have 4 goals this year.

Finally Leigh Harding should be banished to the magoos, very undisciplined and no influence at all.

On their last chance this week are Thompson, Warren and Urquhart.

Team vs Hawks

Pratt-Grima-Rawlings
Firrito-Hansen-Wells
Anthony-Ziebell-Greenwood
McMahon-Tarrant-Adams
Edwards-Hale-Thomas

Goldstein-Bastinac-Harvey

Warren-Swallow-Urquhart-Cunnington

In- Tarrant,Cunnington,Pratt,Greenwood
Out- Wright,McIntosh,Thompson,Harding

The ins:

Tarrant: We need another tall marking option up forward, time to start developing one.

Cunnington: Our side will be ready for a flag, when Cunnington, Ziebell and Bastinac get up to 80-100 games. Get him in asap and let him make his mistakes at AFL level. He is physically mature.

Pratt: I think we underate what this bloke brought to the table and what we are currently missing...a bit of heart.

Greenwood: See Pratt, hard as nails and the midfield could use his physicality. Will tag Hodge.

The Outs:

McIintosh: This guy has been pathetic. When Seaby and Mumford give you a bath, then surely its time for some VFL. We look such a better side when Goldy rucks. Hale can provide adequte support in the ruck.

Thompson: Has really struggled on the big forwards. Grima is a better matchup for Roughead and Hansen will get Franklin. Pratt and Firrito provide more versatility to cover the medium forwards of the Hawks.
I dont think he is a lock at full back for us going forward.

Harding: At 29, he just wont be part of our next flag. Has been a good player, but we have to move on. Will be a good depth player for this season.

Wright: This is one player who just needs some more VFL, he has got a look at the standard and now knows what he has to do. He has excellent disposal, but awareness along with his fitness and strength need some work. He will be back.

In Greenwood, out Wright.

Harding and McMahon must be skating on thin ice.

Hopefully Murphy will still be playing for the Hawks. If Ben Warren or Azza (or whoever his opponent is) can't give him the run around, I'll be very disappointed.

Mr R just noted the new tag line....
Dont panic, I am still on the bus....
Scotty is a good player and will make it

The question is to what extent we look at VFL form. If dominating VFL is a must, then Tarrant is a long way off it. Levi didn't dominate either, but at least had an ok game. Do we bring him in based on that?

Cunnington had a quiet one. Do we still bring him in?

The question is to what extent we look at VFL form. If dominating VFL is a must, then Tarrant is a long way off it. Levi didn't dominate either, but at least had an ok game. Do we bring him in based on that?

Cunnington had a quiet one. Do we still bring him in?

Levi was hard and strong in a beaten midfield. We can expect a hard game on the weekend and I would love to see him in the mix, working up the hawks mids with his close checking and annoying tactics. I can imagine that Brown and Hodge would react and give Levi a few free kicks.

Taz is a fair way off. Dropped a few that he should have taken and looked lost on the lead. I think Scott had a word to him at 3 qtr time about repeat leading and how he needs to lead, and lead again, but the set up didn't help. 4 talls in the forward line?

Cunners can have one more week and debut against Melbourne. Let's see how he backs up after a hard tag.

I'm sorry, but how are so many people suggesting we drop Warren? Who would you possibly replace him with? Warren works harder than both Edwards and Jones, has only played a handful of games and remember we don't have a CHF at the moment!

He didn't have a great game on the weekend, a few silly handballs and a few marks that should have been gobbled up hit the turf, but seriously he is doing pretty well given our forward structure is without Petrie.

Same with the calls on Wright, to say that he's 'not up to it' and has 'had enough time' is bull shit. He's only played a few games, if Scott does decide to drop him and replace him with someone like Garlett, I'm sure everyone will be calling for his head too if the team isn't winning.

Remember Greenwood's first few games? Heaps of 'experts' on here were claiming he was 'out of his depth' and 'never going to make it'. Now the very same people are praying that he's over his injury because he's THAT important to our best 22. The hypocrisy is beyond ridiculous.

Also, how would dropping Scott Thompson help? He won't 'gain confidence' from being demoted after a few bad games, particularly after being told over the off season that he's one of our most important players. It's not like he's not working hard, if he was lazy and disinterested I'd understand the pleas to drop him, but merely omitting him on a few errors wouldn't be healthy given his importance to the team set up.

Give the kids a chance - its round 4 ffs.

In terms of changes, Greenwood is the obvious one and I think Smith may be a good inclusion given Warren and Hale badly need help in the forward line. But don't think it will happen due to Edwards probably deserving to keep his spot (despite the fact he goes missing too often).

Think Harding has to be omitted this week, as he would have been one of the passengers Scott was talking about post game. 6 disposals is a woeful return for a senior player like Harding who wasn't under a hard tag or any tag for that matter. Not sure what Harding's role is under Scott, but he needs to adjust to it asap or be played in a different position. I hope Turtle will be back to his best form sooner rather than later though, we need his drive.

In: Greenwood
Out: Harding

Taz is a fair way off. Dropped a few that he should have taken and looked lost on the lead. I think Scott had a word to him at 3 qtr time about repeat leading and how he needs to lead, and lead again, but the set up didn't help. 4 talls in the forward line?

Yeah, I saw Scott come up to Tarrant briefly a 3/4 time. I was right next to that part of the huddle. Not sure what was said, but Robbie's last quarter was pretty crap. Who knows, he could have told him not to worry about it, just stay fit and I'll give you a game regardless. ;)

After that Scott went to talk to the umpires which was interesting.

I'm sorry, but how are so many people suggesting we drop Warren? Who would you possibly replace him with? Warren works harder than both Edwards and Jones, has only played a handful of games and remember we don't have a CHF at the moment!

He didn't have a great game on the weekend, a few silly handballs and a few marks that should have been gobbled up hit the turf, but seriously he is doing pretty well given our forward structure is without Petrie.

Same with the calls on Wright, to say that he's 'not up to it' and has 'had enough time' is bull shit. He's only played a few games, if Scott does decide to drop him and replace him with someone like Garlett, I'm sure everyone will be calling for his head too if the team isn't winning.

Remember Greenwood's first few games? Heaps of 'experts' on here were claiming he was 'out of his depth' and 'never going to make it'. Now the very same people are praying that he's over his injury because he's THAT important to our best 22. The hypocrisy is beyond ridiculous.

Also, how would dropping Scott Thompson help? He won't 'gain confidence' from being demoted after a few bad games, particularly after being told over the off season that he's one of our most important players. It's not like he's not working hard, if he was lazy and disinterested I'd understand the pleas to drop him, but merely omitting him on a few errors wouldn't be healthy given his importance to the team set up.

Give the kids a chance - its round 4 ffs.

In terms of changes, Greenwood is the obvious one and I think Smith may be a good inclusion given Warren and Hale badly need help in the forward line. But don't think it will happen due to Edwards probably deserving to keep his spot (despite the fact he goes missing too often).

Think Harding has to be omitted this week, as he would have been one of the passengers Scott was talking about post game. 6 disposals is a woeful return for a senior player like Harding who wasn't under a hard tag or any tag for that matter. Not sure what Harding's role is under Scott, but he needs to adjust to it asap or be played in a different position. I hope Turtle will be back to his best form sooner rather than later though, we need his drive.

In: Greenwood
Out: Harding

I am all for giving kids a chance, but at what point do you decide that OTHER kids like Garlett, Cunnington, Smith etc also deserve their chance?

Nobody is suggesting Wright isn't up to it - but he has had several ordinary games in a row. I reckon dropping him right now would do no harm, and would actually take some pressure of him. He can and should come back in 2-3 weeks.

Being 1:3 and refusing to change the side will do nothing but create a wrong environment, where solid VFL form no longer gets rewarded.

I was in the rooms before Saturdays game and Warren was told in no uncertain tems that he was very close to being dropped. Personally, on sat I don't think he did enough to get another game......Jones kicked 5 and looked ok.....give the kid a rest.

Anybody talking about Pratt coming in didn't see the Roosters game on Saturday.....he stunk it up big time, he'll be lucky not to get dropped to the Roosters reserves!

Cunnington should be held off for Melb, I don't think we need to panic too much, Sydney are a good team and we matched them for nearly 3 quarters.

Out: Warren, Harding & Wright
In: Garlett (looked really good), Levi (if ready) and Jones

I'll drop to the floor and curl up in a ball if he plays again this week...interesting my family and I believe he has some damaging photo's of Clarko and hence his insistance that Murphy plays...honestly, this bloke is your play through man, make sure you isolate him one out and off you go...

We'll isolate him on Hale and they can have a competition as to who can fall over first! :thumbsu:

I was in the rooms before Saturdays game and Warren was told in no uncertain tems that he was very close to being dropped. Personally, on sat I don't think he did enough to get another game......Jones kicked 5 and looked ok.....give the kid a rest.

I wasn't thinking about dropping Warren, but given your information, it seems he is certain to play VFL next week. If those words were said to him, his game on Saturday would definitely not save him.

Jones has the experience, and IIRC has done well at that ground before. I would like to see Smith in as well.

We have 5 players to worry about.

Roughead
Franklin
Rioli
Hodge
Mitchell

If we can curb the influence of 3 or more of these players, we will win.

Showers are predicted pretty much all week in Launceston so I will definitely be dropping one of the rucks, but keeping Hale to rotate him through FF. I have also chosen Jones over Smith due to weather and Jones's past performance on this ground. Jones is also a good inclusion for wet weather conditions as he has good footy smarts. Thompson gets one last chance, mainly due to the weather also. I am picking a forward line that can play at ground level this week. Hale to alternate between ruck and FF, with Warren and Azza rotating between FF/FP and HFF

Out: Goldstein (unlucky), Wright, Harding

In: Jones, Garlett, Greenwood

B: Thompson, Grima, McMahon

HB: Wells, Firrito, Rawlings

C: Bastinac, Greenwood, Anthony

HF: Ziebell, Hansen, Harvey

F: Warren, Edwards, Jones

R: McIntosh, Swallow, Adams

Int: Hale, Urquart, Garlett, Thomas

Matchups

The first 3 matchups are pretty straight forward.

Roughead - Grima
Rioli - Rawlings
Mitchell - Swallow

Hodge - Ziebell

I have chosen Ziebell to go with Hodge because I think he can match him for pace and strength. This match up is dependent on Hodge playing his behind the ball role, and I am choosing it as part of Jacks education and because I believe that Jack is the player that can severely hurt Hodge going the other way if Hodge does not pay him respect off a HFF.

Franklin - Firrito

I have put Spud on Franklin because Spud can match him in the air, with pace and most importantly in the strength department. This also allows us to play Hansen as an offensive forward.

Levi can sit on Sewell.

Left Field.

Hansen on Schoenmakers.

I believe that Hansen has the ability to take Schoey to the cleaners and I believe this can be a headache matchup for Hawthorn.

Of course, if Franklin gets away from Spud then we also have the option of putting him back in to defence.

Anybody talking about Pratt coming in didn't see the Roosters game on Saturday.....he stunk it up big time, he'll be lucky not to get dropped to the Roosters reserves!

Cunnington should be held off for Melb, I don't think we need to panic too much, Sydney are a good team and we matched them for nearly 3 quarters.

Out: Warren, Harding & Wright
In: Garlett (looked really good), Levi (if ready) and Jones

How was the big day out, MaccaRoo? Did your Dad enjoy it? Were you both looked after well? Pity about the result but we were in it for a fair while.

Sorry if you've posted on another thread. I haven't stumbled across it.

As for Pratty, he might be a victim of having to do the kick ins - remember the day he totally lost the plot - followed by his role in Chickengate. A form of 'nervous breakdown' so to speak.

Changes v Hawks