Changes Vs Geelong

Wall-E summised it best a few pages ago.

Out: Otten (even if fit to freshen up for finals, dont risk soft tissue ever), Martin (unlucky but someone has to go)\
In: Walker (reward form, Stevo goes back to cover Otten), Edwards (Automatic inclusion if fit)

Yeah but you don't that Round 22 game at Optus Oval surely so its only 249. And 150 isn't a real milestone.

:(

If 150 isn't a real milestone, what's 50 games? :p

Had a chuckle about the Optus Oval line though. :thumbsu:

Good luck for the match on Saturday. Should be a ripper.

It's nice to see the mutual respect that goes on here between club fans. I'm a passionate Geelong supporter living in Adelaide and my wife is a passionate Crows fan since thier inception in 1990. We will both be cheering for our respective clubs this weekend. At least I know the Cats will be on Channel 10 regardless of whether the coverage was originally channel 10 or Foxtel.

Selection dilemma's looming!

IF Otten is fit and selected, will someone make way for Walker?

Only options i can see are Symes, Shirley, Reilly, Stevens or Sellar (forcing a rethink of our ruck/forward set-up which prob wont and shouldn't happen). All those guys would be considered extremely unlucky to miss out. Structurally it could be Stevens but i just cannot see it happening, and come finals time (as proven last year) Stevens is an invaluable older, wiser swingman who can perform on the big stage.

Tough, tough call.

The pressure will certainly be on those selected this week because Mackay will return asap as well.

Yeah I guess no reason to recall Walker, it's not as though he kicked 7 goals, put in a 4 quarter performance and worked on the one aspect that was holding him back, defensive effort. :thumbsu:

Honestly Riggy, you're useless, delist.

In: Davis, Walker
Out: Otten (inj), Martin

If Edwards is fit, find one more to drop.

Yeah I guess no reason to keep Martin, it's not as though he fought on through injury, had 5 marks, 9 Kicks, 9 Handballs at a 94% efficiency and had a goal assist.

And if we can drop Martin after that, should be easy to "find one more to drop".

Honestly Drummond, your reasoning is useless too!

However, based on Wall-e's more reasoned analysis

In: Edwards and Walker anyway

Out: Martin and Otten unluckily.

thankyou for making it easier Brodie

Out Martin In Edwards
if Otten hurt
Out Otten In Davis (form is considerably more consistent than Walker and can be used as a swing man as well)

One way to go could be:

Out: Martin (inj), Otten (inj/rested), Sellar (omit).

In: Edwards, Davis, Walker.

With Walker in and Burton back, Tippet could share back up ruck duties with Stevens. This would only take him away from ff for no more than a quarter. We would still have (relative) talls for the forward line at this time in Danger, Walker, Burton and Davis/Stevens. At least we have options.

Selection puzzle just got a little simpler, with the news that Martin is gone for 12 months with an ACL injury.

That's one out, for Edwards. The big question is whether we bring in Walker and/or Davis (my opinion Walker, yes, Davis, no) - and who makes way for them.
I actually think we would go the other way and bring in Davis if Otten is not ready to go!

Craig has said many times, even in the presser after the showdown that he is a great believer that if the player is performing well in SANFL to bring him in to get a game or 2 at AFL level and the impact that has on their pre-season is enormous. Craig was pretty honest in saying that a young player getting a game or 2 gives them a great taste of what the AFL is all about and has very positive effect going forward.

Taking those comments onboard and the fact that Davis has been an emergency a few times this year (especially lately), I can see us bringing in Davis before Walker.

As much as I love Walker (and I would definetly play him) I think at this stage, in match committee's mind, its either Walker or Burton.

I agree that makes sense, but what happens moving forward?

Burton will almost certainly be there next year barring another unfortunate injury. Walker will certainly make the team also.

Perhaps the club believes another pre-seasons work will enhance Walker's forward line versatility enough that they can both play? Otherwise we are simply delaying the issue. I reckon we should get Walker in sometime in the next 2 weeks so we can settle the forward line going into finals.

Also love the idea of Davis getting a game or two also. He, Armstrong and perhaps Sloane, are the only realistic options left to get a couple games to get a feel of the big league prior to next year.

Don't know how the selectors will do it but i hope injuries dont continue to mount.

One way to go could be:

Out: Martin (inj), Otten (inj/rested), Sellar (omit).

In: Edwards, Davis, Walker.

With Walker in and Burton back, Tippet could share back up ruck duties with Stevens. This would only take him away from ff for no more than a quarter. We would still have (relative) talls for the forward line at this time in Danger, Walker, Burton and Davis/Stevens. At least we have options.

Sellar is about 0 chance of being dropped right now. Stevens is a "dire emergency" back up rucking option, not an alternative gameplan. Sellar out would mean Tippett would spend 1/3 to 1/2 of the game out of the forward line and in the ruck, otherwise Mumford and Hawkins would make Maric explode by 3/4 time.

You are probably right. There is probably no way we can put both Davis and Walker in the same team this Saturday. If Otten is not up to it, it would come down to between Davis and Walker. I would go Davis, many others would go Walker. Perhaps Otten will get up and it wont be an issue. We will see.

For me, assuming Otten doesn't make it:
In Edwards and Davis; out: Martin and Otten.

McKay is 2 weeks away. Will he come straight back in or be sent to the SANFL? Personally I would bring him straight back in as his run and carry is invaluable, although we are running out of people to drop.:thumbsu:

thankyou for making it easier Brodie

Out Martin In Edwards
if Otten hurt
Out Otten In Davis (form is considerably more consistent than Walker and can be used as a swing man as well)

Mate, that would be pretty ordinary if he was a Port player, but geez, as one of ours, thats approaching Red Card territory. :thumbsdown:

Changes Vs Geelong