Preview Changes vs. Hawks

Thompson was a knock to the leg, not a pulled hammy so that gives me some hope. Dangerfield and Talia are both risks as well after copping knocks. Fortunately they both played out the game. Crow's have a ridiculously good success rate with managing knocks and corkies so I'd hope all are good to play.

Clubs have been fairly cautious with concussions this year so i'll be interested to see if they bring Rutten back in. Especially given that he doesn't necessarily have a perfect opponent at Hawks.

Reilly was out with "soreness" so i'd imagine he'd be straight back in. Laird was fairly average yesterday.

Changes:

IN: L Thompson / Reilly
OUT: Rutten / Laird

No chance Radar coming in for Laird

Pat selection this week Sando made it clear that the four changes this week were best 22 players

Laird is best 22, Radar is not and the GWS game would not have changed this

Fair to say that we would be lower than 9th without Pods

He's been a good get. I'd be happy to see him play on next season providing he isn't preventing any good young KPF's from getting a game. If it's just McKernan and Johnston getting left out for Pods, I don't have a problem with it. (on the off chance they are still on the list next year anyway)

Easy way to avoid that - don't draft one.

This years draft is a good draft for talls so I expect that we will draft a KPF however it's difficult to expect a KPF to be AFL ready in his first season

Blaming Podsiadly for the form of Walker and to a lesser extent Jenkins is, well, to put it kindly, grasping.

But that is exactly what a poor structure does. We get a bit from our future coach and forward line general in pods at the expense of the other 2 key forwards. Do you know that little about footy that you cannot concede that this is a distinct possibility. You're as brainwashed as sando, you can't see a way to win without 3 talls, meaning pods must play. Again I ask, who was our 3rd tall when we were a kick away from a gf in 2012. Tex and tipp keeping out of each other's way didn't seem to work too bad. It's a bit harder to avoid each other the more of them you put into a finite area.

Look, I might be biased against pods and I'll accept that it may be short-coming. All that means is that I won't be able to rejoice in an 8-10 finish that might have been anywhere between 5-12 if not for the investment in our future by playing a 31yo Geelong discard who denied us of mid-field grunt. Will be a very sombre off-season for me, but I'm sure you will be enjoying yours.

Agree

With 7 rounds to go JPod and Betts gave kicked 53 goals between them and baring injuries they could deliver 80+ goals this season and if you add JJ's goals this trio has already kicked 80+ Goals which is a win

Out: Rutten
Passable???? He was our best key forward by a mile today; 19 disposals, 11 marks and 3 goals 1 behind. That is more than passable, it is about time people took their blinkers off and stopped presenting the same old escape goats. Like it or not Pods is working and is important to our structures.

Against the worst side. He goes missing completely against good opposition. He is out of the goal square where walker should be. Walker is not recovering anymore, he is ready to go. Time to go pods

JPod is not exactly keeping out a young KPP forward so I'm happy for the club to take a now approach with our talls
But he is taking the space of walker and lynch. Walker is seeing less time inside 50, and lynch is basically spending no time in there as its too crowded. But i guess we have to cater for a 32 year old delisted player....

Fair to say that we would be lower than 9th without Pods

Not in my mind. Having another ball winning mid in the rotation through that spot would likely have resulted in more wins/less losses. Everyone knows footy is won/lost in the midfield not in amongst the 10 contested marks per game, half of which are in the fwd line. The major reason we have lost is we haven't been good at countering midfield spread. Does 3 tall fwds and lynch address that or would a deeper rotation and getting our hands on the ball first and more often do the trick.

I'm starting to feel like Alex in this. I will continue to argue and argue and in reality it's nothing more than an opinion. I reckon we'd be better off without the 3rd tall. Pods could get a virus during the week, we beat hawks by 15 goals and there's plenty of pods enthusiasts who will say it would have been 20 goals if he'd played. And, obviously, the reverse is true, because I reckon this structure and going a mid short has cost us goals and games. It's an argument without hope of a defined conclusion.

I won't bother this thread any more with my view and argumentative nature on pods/3talls, this is about Friday night against hawthorn.

Out - danger (inj), truck (inj), pods (he's shit and screws our structure):D
In - m crouch, l Thompson

Unlucky - Lyons, paying the price for couple weeks of emergency status and Reilly who won't come up from his general soreness.

the bigger picture is that we want to go with 3 big forwards (i do like this decision) + Lynch and we don't rate any other option outside of Pods.

Expect us to bring in someone at the end of this season who could play third tall, either via draft or trade.

Lynch is our third tall, and one of the best in the game.

We are platting three KEY forwards at the moment, and its hurting us on the rebound, and walker is not getting the ball kicked to him enough

Lynch is our third tall.

Walker is the power forward

Jenkins is the Tall forward/ruck

Have you watch Lynch he does not play tall and is not suited to playing as a third tall

His strength is his gut running and playing as a high HF where he can out work his opponent and present as a extra link man

No, pods is going ok at the expense of a better structure and the performances of tex, jj and lynch. Quite a few of you are blinded by viewing him in isolation as opposed to how the forward line system is working. 7 shots from our 3 prong tall attack is a very skinny return. Our fwd line can be a lot better both offensively and defensively by removing pods.

Completely agree. Our structure is 100% more effective with Walker, Lynch, Jenkins, Betts, and midfielders.

If we had franklin, tippett, hawkins and coke, sando would still find a way to play his old mate pods

Geelong knew what they were doing, it is just delaying the inevitable by playing him. And it is not allowing walker, jenkins, lynch and betts to gel together; which is what everyone wants to see

But he is taking the space of walker and lynch. Walker is seeing less time inside 50, and lynch is basically spending no time in there as its too crowded. But i guess we have to cater for a 32 year old delisted player....

Pods sure is taking up space in the Fwd line when he rotates back.

Walker is regaining his touch. It won't be until next season that he's flying again. Do not underestimate the mental side of returning from a debilitating injury. Let alone getting strength in the leg and touch into the kicks after the hamstring graft. It's a process, Tex could tear it up one week and struggle the next. Pods being there has no effect on this. Go rewatch a few past games. Had 4 shots vs Pies and kicked 5 vs Gold Coast with Pods in the team.

Wouldn't we need to draft one though if we want to get rid of McKernan & Johnston?

Or they keep them both.

My point is - it's easy to avoid the problem of not playing a kid over a senior player if we don't have one on our list.

Preview Changes vs. Hawks