List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

• Zane Trew, Jamaine Jones and Jordyn Baker delisted

• List Manager Matt Clarke appeared on Gettable - Click spoiler below for summary
    On the draft: "We predicted that the draft was strong, but it's probably gotten stronger during the year."

On top end of draft: "You could probably make five or six different choices and get it right."

On Pick 3: "I reckon there's five (players) around that mark."

On splitting: "I think you want to hold an early selection if you can. The depth of this group allows you to maybe have some movement there, and see what you can do to bring in more talent in the first 20-25 picks. Easier said than done, and I think most clubs would be saying the same thing. We'll see what we can do."

On Liam Baker: "He's still yet to make a decision. They're still weighing up a few things. We'd love to get Liam on board from what he offers from a talent and leadership point of view. We understand where we're at as a group, we're rebuilding our group, we need to add some guys in the middle tier to support our young group."

On Jack Graham: "We've got a number of players that we're speaking to. A bit of a wait and see on that one as well. We'll talk to a number of guys."

On Shai Bolton: "I think it will be difficult for anybody, really. He's heavily contracted and a high quality player."

On James Peatling: "He's heavily involved in a finals series at the moment so I don't want to comment too much on it, but I think there's a number of guys that have been playing really good footy this year that could suit what we do and what other clubs do. He's taken his footy to another level this year."

On Tom Barrass: "We've had an early discussion with Hawthorn about it, they understand where we're at. He's nominated Hawthorn as his ideal destination. We want what we think he's worth, as a genuine key back in the competition that can do what he can do. We're obviously mindful of getting an appropriate deal for West Coast."

On Tom Clurey: "Maybe (note: sounded very non enthused). We'd probably need some key back depth, whether that's through the draft or trade and free agency."

On Jack Darling: "We've had initial discussions with his management group about (moving). We're open to talking, as we are with all of our players, but Jack's contracted with us."

On Liam Ryan: "I expect him to be at West Coast next year, yes." (The most definitive answer of the day by a mile, a non-starter of a talking point.)

On out of contact players e.g. Rotham, Witherden, Jones: "We're still working through what it looks like from a list point of view, and how many selections we'll want to have, and players that may come in and potentially may go out. You might want to give a coach an opportunity to look at these guys."

On Harley Reid: "We've had discussions most of the year with his management group. I think it sits in a really good place. We're open to doing really whatever they want to do to be honest. We're really confident in building the right system around Harley, on and off field, to make sure that he's really comfortable, that he's going to play his best footy, and his long term future."

On Jake Waterman's new deal: "Yep, really close. We're working really closely with his management on that. I expect that we'll have something done pretty soon."

On Oscar Allen: "We've been talking with Oscar and his manager most of the year on that one. We're going through some stuff at the moment. I think we'll be ok with that one."

Last edited by a moderator:
It still hasn't happened yet.
:rotatinglight: club is so f****ed at the moment :rotatinglight:

baby crying GIF

I melted hard when the club went after Stinger instead of Nathan Thompson. Thought a forward was more what was needed at the time.

Waterman is worth every cent... Right age... Probably the hardest working forward in the league... Can beat the gorilla backs with strength... And great set shot and on a lead....

We are lucky he actually came on and realised his potential
A quick google search tells me he was a natural second round pick, 20-30ish. Apparently. Happy to be corrected as, to be honest, I don't remember.

To say that ended up being a pick 77 turned out to be an AA forward, even belatedly, is a win in any book.

He's earned his dollars

A quick google search tells me he was a natural second round pick, 20-30ish. Apparently. Happy to be corrected as, to be honest, I don't remember.

To say what ended up being a pick 77 turned out to be an AA forward, even belatedly, is a win in any book.

He's earned his dollars
Not only was he pick 77 he wasn't bid on by another club at all and we had to take him with the last pick of the national draft

Yep for all the (probably justified) melting about our drafting, our 2 AAs this year were picked with pick 77 and a rookie pick

Have to give credit where it's due if you're going carry on about the negatives

I know everybody wants us to take a mid with pick 3, but I dont think we NEED to.

If we were to grab 2-3 mids from other clubs, youngish mids with potential but lacked opportunity being behind very strong midfields we could give it another year and then re-assess where we are at. They would be very cheap too.
We dont know what Hewett and Hall will be, Hewett could be an A-grader easily and if he is that would lower our need for a mid with a super early pick.

If we were to grab 2-3 of Erasmus, Dev, Prior, Garcia, Peatling, types, our midfield would have enough depth and elite talent with Reid and Hewett coming through. Chances are at least 1 of those guys traded in improve and become very solid contributors with increased opportunity and responsibility.
Their role would just to be extractors/defensive mids to let Reid/Hewett/Yeo/Kelly be the aggressive types anyway, its not a flashy high skill role theyd be expected to play
Should be able to secure 2-3 of these guys without touching our 1st or 2nd rounders this year. None of these guys would be guaranteed 23 games, put them against eachother, Hall, Culley(if retained), and our existing best 22 mids for spots.

With midfield not being a huge immediate need we could try to split pick 3, one I kinda like is 3 for 7+24 from the Saints. I think theyd go for it to secure one of the top mids, and theyll have band 1/2 compo for Battle so they might not mind upgrading as theyll have a 2nd 1st rounder anyway.

Go into the draft with 7+13+23+24+whatever we think we need to match Champion
Could grab Travaglia + Tauru + Oliver + whoever with 24(Dodson?) + Champion. If Tauru doesnt make it to 13 we take Lindsay at 13 and take a KPD at 23 instead.
2 outside halfback/wings, a KPD and a ruck/whatever else we want is a good haul thatd cover a lot of our list holes.

Thats 5 picks plus say 3 recruits, im sure we can manufacture 8 list spots

Thats our backline sorted long term, forward line more or less finished as long as we can get a few more goals from our smalls, a developing ruckman after Barnett seems to be a fail, and the midfield has enough that we could give them a year and see how it goes, then chase Warner next year who would finish the midfield if we could acquire him.

If we cant get Warner then we have our 2025 1st pick to draft what we need anyway

I know everybody wants us to take a mid with pick 3, but I dont think we NEED to.

If we were to grab 2-3 mids from other clubs, youngish mids with potential but lacked opportunity being behind very strong midfields we could give it another year and then re-assess where we are at. They would be very cheap too.
We dont know what Hewett and Hall will be, Hewett could be an A-grader easily and if he is that would lower our need for a mid with a super early pick.

If we were to grab 2-3 of Erasmus, Dev, Prior, Garcia, Peatling, types, our midfield would have enough depth and elite talent with Reid and Hewett coming through. Chances are at least 1 of those guys traded in improve and become very solid contributors with increased opportunity and responsibility.
Their role would just to be extractors/defensive mids to let Reid/Hewett/Yeo/Kelly be the aggressive types anyway, its not a flashy high skill role theyd be expected to play
Should be able to secure 2-3 of these guys without touching our 1st or 2nd rounders this year. None of these guys would be guaranteed 23 games, put them against eachother, Hall, Culley(if retained), and our existing best 22 mids for spots.

With midfield not being a huge immediate need we could try to split pick 3, one I kinda like is 3 for 7+24 from the Saints. I think theyd go for it to secure one of the top mids, and theyll have band 1/2 compo for Battle so they might not mind upgrading as theyll have a 2nd 1st rounder anyway.

Could grab Travaglia + Tauru + Oliver + whoever with 24(Dodson?) + Champion. If Tauru doesnt make it to 13 we take Lindsay at 13 and take a KPD at 23 instead.
2 outside halfback/wings, a KPD and a ruck/whatever else we want is a good haul thatd cover a lot of our list holes.

Thats our backline sorted long term, forward line more or less finished as long as we can get a few more goals from our smalls, a developing ruckman after Barnett seems to be a fail, and the midfield has enough that we could give them a year and see how it goes, then chase Warner next year who would finish the midfield if we could acquire him.

If we cant get Warner then we have our 2025 1st pick to draft what we need anyway
If nothing else I like this post to get this conversation back away from the bin fire it has been the past five pages.

I see your logic, but I don't agree.
Our list lacks top end talent. Your plan is to bulk up with mid to lower mid tier talent and hope one emerges as being a jewel in the rough.
Sure, it brings our bottom end talent right up, but then I see us as being a bit like the Western Bulldogs of the mid 2000's - a good all around side who lacked genuine top end talent anywhere on the field, so made the finals most seasons but were never really ever a genuine chance due to being blown away by the better sides. As always, happy to cop a history lesson if I've remembered the last 20 years ago wrong.

Look at top tier talent on our list now.
H Reid. Tick.
J McGovern. Tick
T Barrass. Gone
E Yeo. One injury away from bye bye.
O. Allen

That's really it.
The next tier below we have a few. Hewett is a big question mark. Waterman is probably there on form. Ginbey probably a rung below that still, but still room to move up.
We realllllllllllly need some top end mid talent. Sid the Kid would be my pick, but any of the touted top 5 would suit me.

I also don't reckon, based on nothing but gut feel and vibes, that Warner comes West this year or next. Why would he? We're still a fair way off, Sydney are still in their window firmly.

Yeah like Mop I like the post and think it raises some good points, but I still think taking the best mid at that pick is a necessity. The good teams seem to consistently have 3 elite mids + a role player/defensive mid or two + some specialist wing/flankers who can go through there.

Sydney: Heeney, Warner, Gulden elite + Rowbottom as elite roleplayer + heaps of players who can take a stoppage

Brisbane: Neale, McCluggage, Ashcroft elite +Dunkley elite roleplayer (I don't think Ashcroft is as elite as the others quite yet but Dunkley is offensive enough to make up the balance) + heaps of players who can take a stoppage

Port: Butters, Rozee, JHF, Wines elite + Drew elite roleplayer - but think slightly less players who can take a stoppage and Wines can't play other positions so balance off

Geelong: Absolute outlier in that literally everyone they draft seems to turn into B-B+ players at least (they got Menegola to AA squad level) and I don't back us to be at that level to make up for lack of midfield brilliance.

GWS I'd argue are similar to the first three teams mentioned but have never quite got the timing of elite seasons from their elite mids like Kelly, Green, Coniglio, Whitfield etc ever really synced up on-ball. Melbourne nailed it for a season then when those stars dropped off for various reasons the other players couldn't put it together.

Yeo and Kelly won't be around for our next premiership, Hewett is a big question mark but could get there, I do agree we can find solid contributors but we can probably find one when we need to/out of later picks/maybe from those players you mentioned. Can't fill a side with those types though or else you turn into Essendon/St Kilda. We need our next top tier, guaranteed-as-possible mid to come through ASAP and to spend on that while we're down the bottom IMO.

If nothing else I like this post to get this conversation back away from the bin fire it has been the past five pages.

I see your logic, but I don't agree.
Our list lacks top end talent. Your plan is to bulk up with mid to lower mid tier talent and hope one emerges as being a jewel in the rough.
My thought process is that we need elite talent in more than 1 position.
We need an elite KPD to replace Gov, we need someone across halfback as it is such a crucial role in modern footy, and we need to finish off our midfield. The rest of the roles we can fill with lesser talent or role players.

The players on the market for trade that are potential options for us this year seem to be basically exclusively midfielders, if there was a few more half backs going around id be fully onboard with taking a mid with pick 3 and trade in a defender, but thats not really an option.
We can make do with some speculative mids who worst case are role players or depth for a few years, best case are long term players for us. Theyll be better than Trew/Culley and are capable cover if Yeo/Kelly are out for whatever reason.
We have spots in our midfield, may as well give them a run and see what they can be.
The plan would be for them to either lock down a spot or be out of the team by 2026 so its not necessarily a long term thing, its just filling a spot until we get an A-grader in the 2025 draft.

If we took a mid with pick 3 we still need to find an elite half back from somewhere, and an elite long term KPD. Imo we dont need 3-4 A-grade mids in the team to win a premiership, but we do need a Gov replacement and we do need a rebounding half back.
Sure, it brings our bottom end talent right up, but then I see us as being a bit like the Western Bulldogs of the mid 2000's - a good all around side who lacked genuine top end talent anywhere on the field, so made the finals most seasons but were never really ever a genuine chance due to being blown away by the better sides. As always, happy to cop a history lesson if I've remembered the last 20 years ago wrong.
Imo we need to take a few risks to rebuild in the current climate. Cant just take our picks and hope the players work out, the NSW/QLD teams just have too much of an advantage and the Vic teams have the travel advantage.
We could end up as a middling team, but having a few A-graders wont change that, just look at Carlton or the Bulldogs of the last couple of years.

Look at top tier talent on our list now.
H Reid. Tick.
J McGovern. Tick
T Barrass. Gone
E Yeo. One injury away from bye bye.
O. Allen

That's really it.
The next tier below we have a few. Hewett is a big question mark. Waterman is probably there on form. Ginbey probably a rung below that still, but still room to move up.
We realllllllllllly need some top end mid talent. Sid the Kid would be my pick, but any of the touted top 5 would suit me.
I do consider Travaglia and Tauru to be A-grade talent for their position. Both are the top ranked for their role in Twomeys phantom form guide.
Our forward line is done if we can find a few more goals from our smalls, our backline is done with Travaglia + Tauru added to Ginbey, Bazzo, Hough and HEdwards, and our midfield with Reid +Warner/2025 1st pick alongside Hewett and whoever out of Hall or the guys we trade in is more than capable on paper.
I also don't reckon, based on nothing but gut feel and vibes, that Warner comes West this year or next. Why would he? We're still a fair way off, Sydney are still in their window firmly.
I think there is too much talk about Warner for there to be nothing to it, imo more than likely he comes back to WA, and if we could sell him the idea that he is the last piece needed(outside time/experience) along with offering him a contract nobody else can match, we would be in the box seat.

If not we just draft a mid with a top 4 pick next year, its the same end result as taking a mid this year and trying to fill the gaps by splitting the pick next year. Without being too familiar with the 2025 cohort id imagine itd be a lot easier to get a mid in the top 4 than a half back or KPD.

Gotta consider that the new coach will need something to work with, theyll have an idea of a modern gameplan and theyll need pieces to work with. We have very little off half back or the wings right now, adding travaglia and Oliver/Lindsay fixes that, and adding a couple of early 20s mids who will be out to prove themselves fixes midfield depth immediately.

Yeah like Mop I like the post and think it raises some good points, but I still think taking the best mid at that pick is a necessity. The good teams seem to consistently have 3 elite mids + a role player/defensive mid or two + some specialist wing/flankers who can go through there.

Sydney: Heeney, Warner, Gulden elite + Rowbottom as elite roleplayer + heaps of players who can take a stoppage

Brisbane: Neale, McCluggage, Ashcroft elite +Dunkley elite roleplayer (I don't think Ashcroft is as elite as the others quite yet but Dunkley is offensive enough to make up the balance) + heaps of players who can take a stoppage

Port: Butters, Rozee, JHF, Wines elite + Drew elite roleplayer - but think slightly less players who can take a stoppage and Wines can't play other positions so balance off

Geelong: Absolute outlier in that literally everyone they draft seems to turn into B-B+ players at least (they got Menegola to AA squad level) and I don't back us to be at that level to make up for lack of midfield brilliance.

GWS I'd argue are similar to the first three teams mentioned but have never quite got the timing of elite seasons from their elite mids like Kelly, Green, Coniglio, Whitfield etc ever really synced up on-ball. Melbourne nailed it for a season then when those stars dropped off for various reasons the other players couldn't put it together.

Yeo and Kelly won't be around for our next premiership, Hewett is a big question mark but could get there, I do agree we can find solid contributors but we can probably find one when we need to/out of later picks/maybe from those players you mentioned. Can't fill a side with those types though or else you turn into Essendon/St Kilda. We need our next top tier, guaranteed-as-possible mid to come through ASAP and to spend on that while we're down the bottom IMO.
As I said in my other reply, we could take a mid with our 2025 1st pick. Harley + 2025 1st pick + Hewett(who is a ? still) isnt the worst first 3 mids.
Imo we have to take some risks to rebuild in a system thats rigged against us, so we have to take some risks. Cant just play it safe and rebuild the normal way when the northern state teams are getting all the freebies. If we found a couple of B - B+ mids this year we would get a HUGE jump in our rebuild.

We still need to fill roles other than the midfield with elite talent.
Sydney have Blakey running off half back and an academy to fill their midfield. Brisbane have traded a lot to get their midfield up and running, and theyve been a good team for years now, that no doubt helps attract talent, and got very fortunate with f/s. Port have a midfield but their fwd and defence are honestly just shit. Geelong I agree are a weird one as they dont have a strong midfield, but they have elite fwd/def and great wings.

We still have so many unknowns on our list, we could even have a couple more A-graders just waiting to break out

To say that ended up being a pick 77 turned out to be an AA forward, even belatedly, is a win in any book.

He's earned his dollars

I remember him in his U18's days, he was a natural forward who already had a great work ethic, wasn't as accurate then though as he is now iirc.

I absolutely would not be including Hewett in any "We've already got a gun mid sorted with Harley - tick :whitecheck:" talk.

Bloke has been injured for over a season, who knows how he'll return, or even IF.

Then there's the actual matter of us not having a proper body of evidence to suggest he even can play as a midfielder full time at AFL level. His debut season, his tank clearly wasn't a strong point (like any draftee) and he was used in the forward line constantly. Nobody knows how he'll go running from stoppage to stoppage and playing that role as an explosive player.

Unfortunately we're still short on a quality young midfielder to pair with Harley.

I'm all for topping up the mids via other means (FA/cheap trades for depth players like Dev, Carrol), but it's fairly imperitive to my eyes we still need to address getting the ball at stoppages and actually having it in our half of the ground. Can worry about depth elsewhere later on. At the moment we just need some quality around the ball to make things happen. The pointy end of the draft is where such players are found.

Depth/moneyball players from other clubs are generally in that situation for a reason. Lack of opportunity/development, or they're just not very good. We can't hinch our long term rebuild by sacrificing top end mids for these types.

Oh FFS you don’t quit.

I said “ Not since Nick Stevens and Jade Rawlings in the mid-2000s, before players could go into the ND.”

Look at the bolded bit. It’s the bit you’ve been ignoring while bolding everything else.

I don’t even want an apology. Just **** off already.
Hahaha mate you are absolutely clutching at straws there. Just ignore the majority of your post being wrong? Bless your heart trying so hard to prove that you weren’t completely incorrect. How embarrassing.

50,000+ posts and you still can’t handle someone coming back at you for being a smartarse and getting it wrong? So fragile.

You say I don’t quit but I wonder if your ego will allow you to not have the last word…

Go on, clog up this thread some more with your self-justified nonsense 🎣🎣

I absolutely would not be including Hewett in any "We've already got a gun mid sorted with Harley - tick :whitecheck:" talk.

Bloke has been injured for over a season, who knows how he'll return, or even IF.

Then there's the actual matter of us not having a proper body of evidence to suggest he even can play as a midfielder full time at AFL level. His debut season, his tank clearly wasn't a strong point (like any draftee) and he was used in the forward line constantly. Nobody knows how he'll go running from stoppage to stoppage and playing that role as an explosive player.

Unfortunately we're still short on a quality young midfielder to pair with Harley.
Yeah hes still a question mark, but its still more than likely he has a career, he might just not have the ceiling we want.
Im optimistic though, id give him a chance to have a pre-season and play some games before losing any faith.
I'm all for topping up the mids via other means (FA/cheap trades for depth players like Dev, Carrol), but it's fairly imperitive to my eyes we still need to address getting the ball at stoppages and actually having it in our half of the ground. Can worry about depth elsewhere later on. At the moment we just need some quality around the ball to make things happen. The pointy end of the draft is where such players are found.
We need a lot of things, not just midfield ball winners. Imo some elite talent and speed across half back is just as important, we cant rely just on Gov to do kickins and Ginbey to run it out.
Unfortunately there arent really any suitable players to help our backline available for trade, but plenty of mids.
Depth/moneyball players from other clubs are generally in that situation for a reason. Lack of opportunity/development, or they're just not very good. We can't hinch our long term rebuild by sacrificing top end mids for these types.
Im not sacrificing an elite mid for these guys, im suggesting we sacrifice a top 3 pick mid this year for a half back who is similarly rated and another player in a deep draft to cover another list hole.

If I’m the new coach I’m coming in on day one and showing the players this thread and saying “lads I want you to attack the ball with the same fervor as these posters do with winning an argument against an anonymous stranger on the internet, they won’t relent and neither should you!”

What I wouldn’t give for just a tidbit of something from Phil or bond right now.

I'm not sure how you could be sitting through the last 3 years of our teams games and come to the conclusion we don't need to take an elite mid with pick 3 and that our midfield isn't a huge immediate need.

Also given our lack of ability to develop players getting those players in who couldn't get games at their respective clubs isn't going to solve the problem.

Kelly and Yeo are our top end mids left on our list and Yeo breaks down and is 2 years from retirement and Kelly chooses when he wants to be involved in games and also 2 years from retirement.

Reid is new and a step in the right direction but may leave in 2 years time.

We seriously need to use 90 percent of our draft capital on midfielders before tassy comes in.

Here’s a quote, which states he agrees to terms on a 2 year deal. Just stop will ya.
If Garcia does come over on a 2 year deal you’re gonna look even more stupid.

The West reports Waterman on Saturday declined the Eagles’ offer and looked to begin discussions with clubs including Fremantle, Essendon, Hawthorn and Adelaide over his AFL future.

His management had reportedly been told the Saturday offer was the last he would receive.

But on Sunday afternoon he agreed to terms on a two-year deal, with a trigger for a third, on around $400,000 a season plus incentives
Do you even read what you post?

You said he completed a 2 year contract before being offered a 5 year one.

You are entirely wrong on that part.

List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season