List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season

Whose future picks would you have preferred?

Quick links

Trade period
In:
12, F1, F2, F3, 73, Baker, Owies, Graham*
Out: 3, 63, F4, Barrass, Darling

*Free agent

Done deals

• Jai Culley, Alex Witherden and Coby Burgiel delisted

• Zane Trew, Jamaine Jones and Jordyn Baker delisted

Last edited by a moderator:
is that how it went or was he led to believe it would be a certain figure and ended up being less than that?

Maybe his manager mislead him on what it would be but the understanding is we made improved terms. End of the day though we didn't need to do anything. He signed a long term contract which he was happy with, maybe swayed for more by the original Sydney offer.

I hear what you are saying but that doesn't mean you can't make a judg

Freo were offering 11 for Baker because he is worth more than that draft pick for him. The question is if Baker was worth trading down from pick 3 to 12 for us.

Market value is irrelevant if what you're buying is out of your budget. If the car you want to buys market value is $60000 and you can buy it for $56000 but your budget is $40000 you shouldn't buy that car
Fremantle were negotiating to get Bolton in. They were not recruiting or offering anything for Liam baker

Unfortunately what Gold Coast trade for players doesn’t reflect that players value. They are a blight on the competition because of this. Can throw top 6 picks away for B grade players and still get a top 5 prospect for next to nothing
Totally agree - though I'd say 2x F1 in the expected late teens for Barrass & F3 is fair value.

Especially if pick 14 is worth F1 + F2 from a team that finished 8th this year.

There a couple of posts on Twitter saying he lost his battle with cancer. Only posted in the last few mins.

It better be one of the nails in Pyke’s coffin when the time comes for him
Pyke is a stain on the West Coast now. I don't think he realises how badly this period will linger on fans' minds. The kelly trade was a trade that slowly turned sour, but this trade period is a whole new level of immediate stupidity.

not sure why people are shitty at the hawks. just doing what you should do in negotiations, what you should expect them to do- look after themselves first and foremost.

I don't really agree with this. In construction terms it's like a builder winning a project in a booming market when contractors are all busy. They ring around relentlessly and finally find someone who agrees they have the labour to help out.

When it comes time to sign on the line they try to haggle over the price and risk losing access to critical labour that is in demand on other projects already. Hot tip - next time that builder calls you tell them to **** off.

As the buyer in a trade, particularly for someone with so much contract still remaining, there is an onus on you to pay a minimum of fair market value, and generally an expectation you pay above that given the contract.

We don't need TB off the books, they are not saving us a salary we can't cover. We are not flush with KPD. They are not saving us from a surplus of tall backs.

The Hawks have already denied us instant rebuild gratification by not giving us a 2024 R1. To kick our rebuild down the road 12 months and then haggle over basically the same value as was originally tabled is pretty poor conduct. They might be high fiving internally and Hawks fans might think they have BSD energy but it will be a stain on their name if they cannot get a suitable deal done. It won't fill Tom with much confidence either that they have pumped up his tyres as being the critical missing piece who isn't worth paying up for.

Fremantle were negotiating to get Bolton in. They were not recruiting or offering anything for Liam baker
Their football manager said this morning they put an offer to Richmond for Baker - pick 11 was added to the 10 and 18 they had on the table for Bolton

Sorry for the intrusion jatz, with all sincerity, I'm seriously not trying to troll you guys but I agree completely with you.

In all honesty, you guys seriously need to be loading up with draft picks like Richmond are. I know you're not gunna like it, but I said the same thing last year that you should have sold pick 1 for as many first rounders as you could get to load up with developing superstars and smash out your rebuild.

There's gunna be some compromised drafts coming up with Tassie entering the comp in a couple of years and I'm not convinced Chads gunna be your difference maker long term as much as a group developing 1st rounders will be.

I know you're all gunna jump on me and tell me to pi55 off back to my own board, but I honestly reckon you're all better off taking your medicine and getting started on this rebuild as soon as possible rather than looking for that big name import that might be a bandaid fix but will probably be worth just a couple of extra bums on seats at Optus on a Sunday arvo.

And trust me, as a Fremantle supporter, I do speak from experience on that. Don't do what we've done for the past 30 years.

Good luck guys and gals.
Us supporters have wanted this for a good 4 years now but our idiot club has no idea what’s they’re doing