Review Dees v the Blood-Stained angels: the Good, Bad and Fugly

We lulled ourselves into playing boring dump kick footy just by managing to bring the ball to ground in the first quarter and a half.
Gawn’s shit kick scared us off trying to use it through the middle and we played too safe. Even so we still had our chances.

A couple of tweaks to the side and a good mindset and we should win next week.

You look at how the swans move the ball then you watch us bomb it to the HFF 17 times and then Jayden Hunt misses a pass to Brown who is 20m in the clear. Guys like ANB Hunt Harmes all work their arse off but the difference between us and the swans is their ball movement is much braver.
Biggest front runners going round in 2022, feels a nearly impossible task to win once we go three goals down, we cant flick the switch and score against proper sides when we need to like last year.

Biggest front runners going round in 2022, feels a nearly impossible task to win once we go three goals down, we cant flick the switch and score against proper sides like last year.

Pretty obvious directive to the players not to play on tonight, which I find bizarre. We are never running down a deficit over two goals because our guys are too scared and/or not good enough for play an attacking brand.

May have Buddy an all time bath. Petty was also great. We dominated them in the air down back.

Oliver was great and played a bit of a lone hand in the middle. Two clutch set shots as well, he's a gun.

Petracca commendable with his knee issue or whatever it was. Still managed to contribute more that some others.

This game showed what ANB, Melksham and Spargo do not give us. The swans were clean and dynamic up forward, they looked so dangerous when the ball hit the deck (which it did every time thanks to May and Petty). We were fumbly, slow and at times absent on the ground. Hard to watch the swans waltz out of the back 50 every time.

Gawn disappointing, he needs to stop trying to pinpoint kicks. He simply does not have the skill to pull it off (and doesn't need to, he's the ruckman). Clunked a few but overall didn't seem to have the impact we need. I could be wrong though.

Ultimately they got 3 free goals from 50s and pulled a bunch more snaps out of their collective proverbial. They match up incredibly well against us. Still the margin was not great, we are not that far off. No point losing faith now, smash the Brions next week and it's a home prelim.

Good: Oliver is a god, May brilliant, Petty, Fritsch, Sparrow, Max all put in
Bad: ANB was a liability, Kossie did naught, Melksham 2 misses so costly, Predictable Salem returning from injury game, Fwd line like a rebound wall.
Ugly: Floppy Buddy Ump Suck In momentum changer, Harmes could miss a week, Trac injury, taking Clarrie off when he was on fire after second goal.
Guess that’s why earning a second chance is important.

Pretty obvious directive to the players not to play on tonight, which I find bizarre. We are never running down a deficit over two goals because our guys are too scared and/or not good enough for play an attacking brand.

Agree, its too foreign to them, and for some reason Goody expects them to become a scoring phenomenon when its needed. All Goody has seemingly drilled into them from round 2 this year is play the territory game and lock the ball in our forward 50 with a kick to the pocket. Once we get behind by 3 goals + that game plan becomes useless.

May have Buddy an all time bath. Petty was also great. We dominated them in the air down back.

Oliver was great and played a bit of a lone hand in the middle. Two clutch set shots as well, he's a gun.

Petracca commendable with his knee issue or whatever it was. Still managed to contribute more that some others.

This game showed what ANB, Melksham and Spargo do not give us. The swans were clean and dynamic up forward, they looked so dangerous when the ball hit the deck (which it did every time thanks to May and Petty). We were fumbly, slow and at times absent on the ground. Hard to watch the swans waltz out of the back 50 every time.

Gawn disappointing, he needs to stop trying to pinpoint kicks. He simply does not have the skill to pull it off (and doesn't need to, he's the ruckman). Clunked a few but overall didn't seem to have the impact we need. I could be wrong though.

Ultimately they got 3 free goals from 50s and pulled a bunch more snaps out of their collective proverbial. They match up incredibly well against us. Still the margin was not great, we are not that far off. No point losing faith now, smash the Brions next week and it's a home prelim.
Agree on all fronts but Sargo was terrific in first half. Dropped off a bit in 2nd

Feeling flat as, first finals series back at the G after a few years and we serve up that, hard to cop.

We weren’t even that bad, we just broke down going inside 50 (again), some of our worst forward play of the season. On the flipside, Sydney are genuinely fantastic, seriously good football side, no shame losing to them, still hurts though.

Not sure how to feel about next week, should beat Brisbane (again), but who knows what we’d serve up the following week in a prelim, just doesn’t look like happening this season.

Prove me wrong dees.

Ugly: Melk, contact extension killer game?

I don't think the week off helped us with our Prep for this game tonight.

I would have Salem in danger of missing next match.

Too Slow Melbourne, to kicking to deep forwards. No wonder our tall forwards are all low on confidence.
Get it in quick and deep; or don't bother with that deep kick.

Our forward entries seem better, when we run the ball between wing and hff. Causing chaos with Opp defences.

Not true. He was awesome v Brisbane. Game winner.
He did play well, but against the lions.
Hes been a revelation playing in defence as well.

But the team syncro has not been as good as last year, when Bray was playing wing, and sliding back into defence to chop-off Opp runs.
Simple as that. The team was better in last years structures.

Losing to the Swans is pretty easy to swallow but unfortunately they wont be the ones to knock us out. Lost to the better side in the end, had some chances but in typical Dees fashion couldn't claw back into it. If the players are serious they'll have to do it the harder way now

Feeling flat as, first finals series back at the G after a few years and we serve up that, hard to cop.
We seem to have given up on the switch from defence.

Our opponents open us up with the switch; and we just play along the line with safety of the boundary. I don't like our dependence on the members boundary.

Good: Oliver and May. Also the fact that either Geelong or Collingwood will have to beat Sydney in Sydney to make the GF. We've effectively just knocked one of them out.

Bad: too many of our players are limited to role players and can't make an impact in clutch high pressure games. When things are working they look great but they cant adapt and work together when it's tough.

Despite being a contested team, we rely too much on clean ball and keep losing to teams which can play elite dirty ball.

Ugly: Goodwin is in denial.

We must have been very happy with the loss earlier in the year vs the Swans, maybe our best ever? what exactly did we actually change or try and do differently? Was just more of exactly the same honestly. Play Max forward and hope he kicks 5 again, Longmire has only had 6 months to come up with something to stop that. I for one am shocked it didnt work.

Players well down tonight and should absolutely take the majority of the blame but Horse must have been laughing to himself at our predictability

Should have played it in Sydney. :cool:

If we didnt have Smith as sub for flexibility this loss would have been far heavier than it was , one positive out of the game.

Correct

Honestly, can't be too upset after a game like that. The Swans brought it all night and set a standard that every team would struggle to beat. Credit to them for an incredible performance.

I think we'll win next week, and this will be a huge learning experience for our boys. Their attitude when the tide was against us was poor. Sydney are hungry as sin, they won't give up after a barrage of goals. They just reset and go again. Our players weren't equipped to deal with that, but I reckon for the rest of the finals we will be. Goody will be ropable behind the scenes, even if his presser (which I won't be watching) is the usual stuff.

Good:
  • Oliver - clutch goals and amazing in and under with Trac injured and Viney poor
  • May - masterclass defensively. Shame the Swans decided to stop kicking it to Buddy, it was our main source of rebound
  • Fritsch - was clearly proppy but still performed
  • A few role players did pretty well. Hunt, Harmes and Spargo all did a good job in my eyes.

Bad:
  • Salem, 3 touches after QT. Completely negated.
  • Brayshaw hasn't looked that poor for years. You'd hope he was unwell like Hibberd because he just looked slow and sluggish.
  • Lever - speaking of slow and sluggish. How much damn time do you think you have on the ball?
  • Papley - amazing player, absolute prick.
  • Harmes' forearm on Lloyd. Just unnecessary.
  • Hibberd - like against the Pies, he looked old and slow. Need him for CC next week but don't think he gets a gig in '23.
  • Kozzy - when he's off, he's really off. Where was the manic pressure? KPF's didn't help him which saves him from the ugly.
  • Jackson - dumb ruck craft all night
  • Gawn - just generally poor

Fugly:
  • The attitude. We genuinely seem to just expect other teams to roll over for us, and when they don't we get mouthy and drop our heads at the same time. ****ing grind it out like the Swans. 2021 was out the box, you don't just get to win finals because you're more talented.
  • Brown - moved like an absolute truck and didn't do anything to stop either McCartin. I genuinely think he'll hang them up. He can barely run.
  • Neal-Bullen. Taking on tackles when he's no chance to break them and missing 20 metre squaring kicks is all he's good for these days. I've had enough. Chandler, Bedford and Laurie all deserved chances as a pressure HF but Goodwin stuck with him all year for him to make the same skill errors as always.
  • Melksham. It's over, mate. You work so hard to get back in the team and you do that when it really counts. There's no world that he plays next week. Didn't compete for three quarters, and then has three absolute gimmes when we're three goals down and he shits the bed over and over. I just can't imagine how he could have been any worse.

If we didnt have Smith as sub for flexibility this loss would have been far heavier than it was , one positive out of the game.
I really hope we go with Smith as sub for flexibility.

Review Dees v the Blood-Stained angels: the Good, Bad and Fugly

Write your reply...