Wait
Wat
3 times in a week?
Thats a lot of travel
Fly to Melbourne today
Fly home Saturday
Fly to Melbourne next Wednesday
3 times, that is rather fatiguing on a body that has been playing footy for 25 weeks already.
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Wait
Wat
3 times in a week?
Thats a lot of travel
2 hours and 10 yearsThanks mate but i have come to realise after 12 years on this site that its not only the time that is behind out west and it just takes that little bit longer for the WA supporters specially the eagles supporters to catchup and understand things.
So if more top 4 teams came to Perth then Eagles would've finished even lower?Should we start with the fact only Collingwood from the top 4 had to come to Perth?
And then work our way back from there.
The only final in Melbourne this week, after only one last week. Surely the Melbourne footy loving public will get along and get 80,000 plus there?
It'll be under 60k I reckon.Nah 65K tops
Hassle for cats supporters to get to the city on a Friday night. No parking at the G so train is the only real option.
Unless you get cheap tickets, the other 9 vic club supporters probably wont waste 50-100 bucks on a ticket.
My thoughts that night?? I was like nervous Nankervis! I was not confident at all. Our form tailed off towards the end of that H&A season & coming up against a hungry pies who are underdogs is always dangerous. I had about 8 that day!
You'll find out in a couple of days.Why should they have been top 4 given the home and away season is 23 rounds in length?
Blue shorts at home games and white shorts at away games. Has been the case as far as I can remember. Back around the same time as our premiership years (no coincidence) the AFL tried to force us to wear white shorts for all games. Since I'd say 2016 or 2017, all home games have been in blue shorts, and most away games in white.But normal kit for Geelong is sometimes white shorts, sometimes blue shorts. White shorts would make sense this week but if the club wants to make some point about home grounds again by wearing blue shorts then they can knock themselves out.
They wore white shorts in your last home game in round 23.Blue shorts at home games and white shorts at away games. Has been the case as far as I can remember. Back around the same time as our premiership years (no coincidence) the AFL tried to force us to wear white shorts for all games. Since I'd say 2016 or 2017, all home games have been in blue shorts, and most away games in white.
Yes, because Carlton and Collingwood are protected species. Like everything the AFL does, you can always find an exception to an otherwise easy to follow rule for no other reason than "tradition" or some bull along those lines. (See Geelong playing finals in Melbourne, the GF still being 2pm and the AFLW being shafted to the middle of summer).They wore white shorts in round 23.
Nic Nat’s scary stat for Cats
For a footballer whose qualities rarely translate to raw numbers, Nic Naitanui’s AFL return produced one statistic which has Geelong on red alert.www.perthnow.com.au
I wasn't blaming the fixture, I was merely mentioning that because of the draw being uneven, it is possible for teams to be of a similar calibre to top 4 teams without finishing in the top 4.And who won that game?
You were in the top 4 until you lost to hawthorn, where was that played?
To blame the fixture as to why you finished 5th sounds like something Chris Scott would do. Don’t worry though I still think you’ll end up being top 4 after this week anyway
Yes, because Carlton and Collingwood are protected species. Like everything the AFL does, you can always find an exception to an otherwise easy to follow rule for no other reason than "tradition" or some bull along those lines. (See Geelong playing finals in Melbourne, the GF still being 2pm and the AFLW being shafted to the middle of summer).
If we win on Friday we'll charter private flights from then on.Fly to Melbourne today
Fly home Saturday
Fly to Melbourne next Wednesday
3 times, that is rather fatiguing on a body that has been playing footy for 25 weeks already.
Not saying it should be moved. But tradition alone as a reason is pretty pathetic. Especially when AFL is objectively a better sport to watch at daytime due to it a) not being ****ing freezing and b) the sunshine reduces the dew which improves the ball handlingA 2pm GF is still what the majority of fans want. Why mess with what works? Some traditions are worth keeping imo.
Thanks for confirming that for home games sometimes Geelong wear white shorts and sometimes blue.Yes, because Carlton and Collingwood are protected species. Like everything the AFL does, you can always find an exception to an otherwise easy to follow rule for no other reason than "tradition" or some bull along those lines. (See Geelong playing finals in Melbourne, the GF still being 2pm and the AFLW being shafted to the middle of summer).
So if more top 4 teams came to Perth then Eagles would've finished even lower?
What you are saying now is completely different to your original argument but never mind, I agree the fixture is very uneven.I wasn't blaming the fixture, I was merely mentioning that because of the draw being uneven, it is possible for teams to be of a similar calibre to top 4 teams without finishing in the top 4.
You'll find all this out on Friday night anyway.
Not saying it should be moved. But tradition alone as a reason is pretty pathetic. Especially when AFL is objectively a better sport to watch at daytime due to it a) not being ******* freezing and b) the sunshine reduces the dew which improves the ball handling
Unless we want players wearing gloves, we should be trying to limit the number of night games. There's a reason why Easter Monday, Anzac Day, Queens Birthday and the GF are right up there and can be beautiful spectacles to watch. The demise of Saturday and Sunday day finals is a shame.
I think it's WC defence TBH. Leaking way more than it has in the last two years. Barrass being down on form, Nelson playing like a potato and Duggan being out don't help. Also, if Hutch is in, and he isn't tagging a mid, he and Masten are defensive liabilities.Yeah I can see this potentially happening.
It isn’t great for your guys to be playing against a side who are getting smashed by the media and have backs to the wall.
If we can’t win in this situation I’ll be fuming and you’ll have done well.