MRP / Trib. is out after round 20

Agree, I hope he takes it to the tribunal. What a bullshit call, the MRP are just making up rules and shit on the fly now.
And Cyril got penalised for a "dangerous" tackle too. Thought it was just a hard tackle.
The afl don't like players like Hodgey and Cyril who can inflict physical punishment on
opposition players. Its not a good look they would say!

Cyril Rioli, Hawthorn, has been charged with engaging in rough conduct against Clayton Oliver, Melbourne, during the first quarter of the Round 20 match between Hawthorn and Melbourne, played at the MCG on Saturday August 6, 2016.

In summary, he can accept a $1000 sanction with an early plea.
Based on the available video evidence and a medical report from the Melbourne
Football Club, the incident was assessed as careless conduct with low impact to the body. The incident was classified as a $1500 sanction. The player has no applicable record which impacts the penalty. An early plea enables the player to accept a $1000 sanction.

This could be the greatest drivel I've ever heard in my football following life.
Firstly there is no mention of high contact and the ball is only a couple of steps away so its impossible Cyril did anything wrong.
What did melbourne's medical report say "our player had a bruised chest and ego"?
It was a fair bump, end of story or have we now got degrees in which how hard you can hit them?
And "careless conduct"? Whats that for god's sake. The kid got up and played on and the dees players had no dramas with it.
Should be challenged in the interests of our game, just more afl bullshit sabotaging our game that we have to put up with.

It was a effing cracker of a bump. What a load of Basil Zempilas (aka shit).

Based on the available video evidence and a medical report from the Melbourne
Football Club, the incident was assessed as careless conduct with low impact to the head.(originally body)

This is the second time today they have amended first up stories about us. The first with Mitch "expected to miss" blah blah blah changed
to "could face scrutiny" and the one above.

Greatest pack of liars around.

Oh look the original wording is still on the Hawks website
a8c9aa23b7c63d64f0fae1647d163e04.jpg

Have to challenge the Rioli decision, what a load of shit. Rough conduct is now a tackle is it? The fact people are wanting him suspended shows what a bunch of bubble wrapped flogs follow the game. If they don't like good aggressive footy go watch soccer

Talk about dodgy adjudication.

The fine was for a hit to the body.

That made no sense, so they change it to the head.

:rolleyes:

Amateur hour.

The Zeibell hit on Mitchell ... sick of hearing tim Watson say to lingy... 'it was in the chest lingy" but clearly zeibells left upper arm came up & he turned it towards' Mitch's head and copped him ... and he stood over Mitch like a mugger ... what did zeibell get for that? and Cyril gets a fine?

Match review is a dog's breakfast this season. Either Cyril gets weeks or gets off completely. Should have been zero fine and move along.

Haven't seen the Sicily hit, but reckon he just takes the week and has a rest. Needs a rest/recharge.
Yep - always thought that if you elect to bump and you get the head you're in big trouble. WTF?

It's the old charge for Cyril "unduly rough play"

A bit like attempted striking
Only ever seen when he does something

The Sicily one though, wowza

Its all 'potential' with sizzle. If it was a final there'd be nothing at all. Corrupt campaigning

I have had it explained to me(by a Geelong fan on the umpiring board) that the following pictures depict Jack Watts just trying to get up. Sam's head obviously got in the way. :drunk:

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Clearly Jack thought the pack was about to fall on them and was trying to hug Sam to his chest in a protective fashion. Like a mother with a small child.
Sam's response was clearly that of a slightly older boy say around 10 who didn't want to be hugged by his mother in public. So he gently pushed mother Jack away

Have to challenge the Rioli decision, what a load of shit. Rough conduct is now a tackle is it? The fact people are wanting him suspended shows what a bunch of bubble wrapped flogs follow the game. If they don't like good aggressive footy go watch soccer
Now they're saying low impact to the head, Cyril must have broken a hair on the kid's chin - its all bullshit.
This convoluted tribunal system which we borrowed from the nrl has got to go and get back to a simpler, fairer
way we used to have.

Now they're saying low impact to the head, Cyril must have broken a hair on the kid's chin - its all bullshit.
This convoluted tribunal system which we borrowed from the nrl has got to go and get back to a simpler, fairer
way we used to have.

It is the "rough conduct" charge, devised on the back of fear of post-retirement player litigation, that needs to go.

The criticism at this decision is really all about the desire to see Hawthorn fail this year. The problem is, what goes around comes around and before we know it the physicality of AFL is removed and we are fielding teams to the mould of Robbie Nahas and Angus Monfries. It is clear that Rioli didn't make head contact and he did not leave the ground (which I think should be a distinction to charge a player for head high bumps).

They should have challenged the fine but strategically want to keep the AFL tribunal on-side and will accept the penalty.

It is the "rough conduct" charge, devised on the back of fear of post-retirement player litigation, that needs to go.

The criticism at this decision is really all about the desire to see Hawthorn fail this year. The problem is, what goes around comes around and before we know it the physicality of AFL is removed and we are fielding teams to the mould of Robbie Nahas and Angus Monfries. It is clear that Rioli didn't make head contact and he did not leave the ground (which I think should be a distinction to charge a player for head high bumps).

They should have challenged the fine but strategically want to keep the AFL tribunal on-side and will accept the penalty.
Well said, great post.

MRP / Trib. is out after round 20