Matthew Lloyd/ Kane Cornes believe Jack Reiwoldt’s tears will be used against him.

Have no issue with Jack saying he was in tears leaving his family

Players being emotional about leaving there family doesn’t equate to them sooking about having to be in hubs. I agree that there’s no need to be sorry for them however.

This is why it’s best to give a robot response like usual. People don’t get it.

Not sure this is right either Quivorir

The AFL players sign up knowing they will be on the road for a certain amount of the season.

If he plays 6 games in a row on the GC and plays the remainder of the season at the MCG is it any diffent to what he was signing up for?

Riewoldt as a Richmond player cannot seriously complain about the amount of travel he does.
Whilst I get what you're saying, they sign up knowing they'll never (almost never?) be away for more than 2 weeks. Obviously this is a unique situation though. My only argument is that I don't think comparing them to workers who knew exactly what the signed up for to this weird situation AFL players are in is fair.

For the most part, I agree. Toughen up and get on with it, you're earning big bucks to play sport. But I can see where some of the players are coming from too.

Suck it the fu** up, what about Fifo workers, soliders and other military staff if you don't like it stay home
So just because other people have it worse they should suck it up and shut up?

It's just like people on Facebook who were saying those locked away in the housing commission without any food/medicine should be thankful they still have a bed because the bushfire victims don't. What does it matter?

So just because other people have it worse they should suck it up and shut up?

It's just like people on Facebook who were saying those locked away in the housing commission without any food/medicine should be thankful they still have a bed because the bushfire victims don't. What does it matter?
Yes, because his situation is no where near as dire as your ridiculous analogy.

Riewoldt earns hundreds of thousands in a year, many people would kill to be in his lifestyle. Perspective. You and Riewoldt need to get some.

Exactly, it is called context. Earn 700k a plus sponsorships and you get a 6 week holiday to the gold coast brilliant

I don't get this argument. FIFO workers, soldiers etc, all signed up knowing they'd be away for long periods of time. AFL Footballers did not. I don't care either way what the players do, but this argument just seems stupid to me.
Australian Army earns about $59,500 annually (including uniform and service allowances) he earns that in a month, he can suffer for 6 weeks

And if they were in his lifestyle, they would realise the grass isnt always greener.

I don't get this argument. FIFO workers, soldiers etc, all signed up knowing they'd be away for long periods of time. AFL Footballers did not. I don't care either way what the players do, but this argument just seems stupid to me.
It’s a stupid argument used by incredibly stupid people.

The fact that this is being discussed stinks of a culture of toxic masculinity which still exists within footy/footy media.

I have little sympathy for the players being away to play footy - it is what it is and 2020 is not a normal year, however I can appreciate time away from your family (especially during COVID) could make someone emotional and teary!

The fact that this is being discussed stinks of a culture of toxic masculinity which still exists within footy/footy media.

I have little sympathy for the players being away to play footy - it is what it is and 2020 is not a normal year, however I can appreciate time away from your family (especially during COVID) could make someone emotional and teary!
I agree with you but don't think the reaction is really about an emotional reaction around leaving your family. There has been little humility coming out of the whole AFL player community during this whole situation. An acknowledgment from them that while difficult, this is a necessary and fair path for the AFL to take would go along way for the general public. Lachie Neale's perspective was refreshing.

While they fight to keep their salaries, 80% of their non-playing colleagues lost their Job in March.

This is an AFL issue, not a Richmond issue, although their dominant role in the media hasn't helped.

The query was, can they get stuck into him on field, in these PC days ?.

Players mutter all sorts of things on the field and a dig at his tears should be "water off a sheep's back" to a seasoned AFL footballer.

Personally if I was playing on him, I'd be too busy watching the play + Jacks movements, to worry about some good one liner's.

I'm from an older generation who keeps things to themselves. 20 something players are big on sharing emotions, Reiwoldts got no issue, and Lloyd/Cornes really lack awareness on this.

The query was, can they get stuck into him on field, in these PC days ?.

Players mutter all sorts of things on the field and a dig at his tears should be "water off a sheep's back" to a seasoned AFL footballer.

Personally if I was playing on him, I'd be too busy watching the play + Jacks movements, to worry about some good one liner's.

Well this week it is likely to be Sir Dane Rampe marking him ( if not then Allir, or Brand)

Rampe is a chatterbox ( witty comment man) but I do not think there will be anything at all said about tears or missing family.
Jack would have heaps of come backs ..... just tell Sir Dane "to try to climb his pole?" Or advise "he had a coffee with Clarko and it was all sorted ... umpires to give free kick sympathy compensation"
However, Sir Dane might constantly politely friendly enquire/chatter about whether Jack's new bed is cumfy? or is it big and soft enough, what sort of food they serve, can he sneak a beer or two , whether he has been playing any decent golf or doing any fishing?

Allir, had best just shut up and try to get a decent kick. Any possible come backs about corrugated iron shanty refugee camps in Sudan (Swans new hub location?)might start a stupid BLM protest march up! and even more media beat up bull sh!t on Footy classified.

Nothing will be said to fire up Jack or about the predicament.

I think all of these footballers and Media personalities such as Gerard Whately need a serious reality check. They are in a bubble.

Not here to whack him for being vulnerable, but their comments and views on the plight of a footballer is in very poor taste given the situation many Australians find themselves in.

They need to be very careful IMO.

Very well said.

Matthew Lloyd/ Kane Cornes believe Jack Reiwoldt’s tears will be used against him.