Matthew Lloyd/ Kane Cornes believe Jack Reiwoldt’s tears will be used against him.

How fu**in' cooked is Lloyd and Cornes?

Sounds like a pretty average "weapon" to me.

"OI JACK YOU'RE UPSET BECAUSE YOU LEFT YOUR NEWBORN AND WIFE AT HOME"
"Yeah it's a bit sh*t"
"..."

No. The sledge would be repeating. "Why are you here Jack?"

Say that over and over in a game to distract him.

"You obviously dont want to be here do you Jack?"

Or for those who are single or not yet fathers, "Mate no way Id leave my wife and kids, glad I didnt have to make that tough call!"

No. The sledge would be repeating. "Why are you here Jack?"

Say that over and over in a game to distract him.

"You obviously dont want to be here do you Jack?"

Or for those who are single or not yet fathers, "Mate no way Id leave my wife and kids, glad I didnt have to make that tough call!"
And you honestly think he'd give a shit?

That's right it was all about the hub and nothing to do with leaving a few month old baby behind. The last thing you'd want to do as a new father is leave.
Some blokes don't get to see their kids for the first couple of months and get paid a hell of a lot less and put their lives at risk doing it. Jack needs to HTFU.

And how do you think those blokes feel, gutted. You reckon soldiers don't cry when they are leaving their wives and babies behind. You reckon no other footballer shed a tear when they had to leave their families behind. Jack just did it on TV. Good for him, I bet his wife is proud of him.

Having a tear saying goodbye is fine

Asking "why am i here in a shoebox?" on his wage and job reeks of self entitlement and a severe mis reading of the room regarding the plight of many other Australians right now
C'mon, this is a guy who "put his body on the line" playing a SOO bushfire fund raiser earlier this year. Wouldnt see himself as self entitled would he?

Us watching however........

So because you don't cry about your brother being in the UK means that Jack shouldn't shed a tear about being separated from his young family? Solid, solid logic right there
That's not what I am saying. Do you have difficulty reading? Or are you just to busy inserting your own words into other people's posts?

You literally made up that point out of thin air.

Sorry if my POV about him needing to harden up is so upsetting to you.

He's probably said it so that he does get sledged. He's struggling to self motivate at the moment so a bit of sledging might get him to fire up and snag a couple of goals.

That's not what I am saying. Do you have difficulty reading? Or are you just to busy inserting your own words into other people's posts?

You literally made up that point out of thin air.

Sorry if my POV about him needing to harden up is so upsetting to you.
If I'm not reading you right then you're not saying that he needs to harden up. Which is it?

He said he shed a tear? Wtf cares? I am sure soldiers do the same thing.

The fact this was even made into a story is a disgrace.

In fairness though, he said he cried like a baby? He Probably could have worded it better to sound less “dramatic”. Probably still would have received criticism though.

Just the comments of what am I doing here away from my family for 5 weeks, Jack you are doing it for your family, fans and the club, most people atm would jump at chance to get out of Victoria and be paid to do there job.

Some of the international sports people who represent Australia must read these type of comments and burst out laughing it's really embarrassing.

The question nobody has thought to ask is if Lloyd and Cornes are in any way qualified to comment about things said and done in the heat of battle on the field. And we aren't talking about dinosaurs from a bygone era, as both their careers crossed over with Jack's.

Lloyd, like Riewoldt, was a star forward of a big and successful Melbourne club, so would be well-versed in the dark arts of opposition full backs trying to put him off his game.

I honestly can't say exactly what Cornes may have said to opposition players he was tagging, but given the nature of his role and his many outspoken comments in the media since, I'd doubt there were many lines he didn't cross attempting to get under his opponent's skin.

As for using these comments, it could be really subtle stuff like 'you really don't want to be here, do you?' and similar stuff over and over that doesn't mention tears or family once. Imagine JR or a teammate mentioning that in the media? It'd basically prove the point Lloyd and Cornes were trying to make.

Ultimately, it'll be up to opposition players to know the man himself. Many great across the sporting spectrum would use sledges to spur them on. Jack may well be one, but he's also well-known for getting emotional too. Time will tell, I suppose.

Nothing wrong with him showing emotion but where was the sympathy for the 4 clubs already in hubs for a few weeks, told to 'harden up' by the VFL media?
Cornes was consistent in his comments on Jack and his calls that the first batch of hubbers were precious. While I don’t agree with his opinion on either, at least he is consistent.

The first batch of hubbers didn't piss their pants about leaving home. All they asked for was a return date, which the VFL media got up in arms about.

Riewoldt has a sook to the media and he's 'brave'.

Why didn't he take his family like others?

Not saying he has no right to be emotional about leaving his family btw, more the usual double-standards by Vic media when reporting interstate vs Vic.

This being a football matter is a red herring. Cornes and co brought it up under the guise of a football matter so they didn’t come come across as muck rakers.
Who is going to bother sledging Jack over crying when he left his family and think it will have any effect. “ yeah I cried when I won 2 premierships too”.

Jack's just about done with the game perhaps?

Shocking on-field attitude this year, petulance you expect from a second year player, and was lucky not to miss a week for a late whack- the very opposite of leadership. That has been coupled with some strange decision making at times when in possession.

He came out in defence of earning an extraordinary salary early this year, but then complains about the size of the window in his hotel room...Hard to hear for people paying their memberships, but there would be gung-ho players at every club, and others who are just clocking on and clocking off, particularly ones that have prem medals in their bag.

The first batch of hubbers didn't piss their pants about leaving home. All they asked for was a return date, which the VFL media got up in arms about.

Riewoldt has a sook to the media and he's 'brave'.

Why didn't he take his family like others?

Not saying he has no right to be emotional about leaving his family btw, more the usual double-standards by Vic media when reporting interstate vs Vic.
No. Cornes called the first hubbers out for being precious and making demands on playstations and sandwich presses. He’s also called out Reiwoldt for his comments. He’s consistent. While I disagree with both his views, at least he’s consistent here.

There’s no Vicbias here, no matter how hard you look. Perhaps you will have better luck on another thread.

Matthew Lloyd/ Kane Cornes believe Jack Reiwoldt’s tears will be used against him.