Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 24

Advertiser today -

SANFL club Norwood has emphatically shut down speculation that it is preparing a bid to enter the AFL.
“It’s just an annoying rumour,’’ Redlegs chief executive James Fantasia told News Corp.
“There has certainly been no consortiums or discussions of anything of that nature. There is absolutely no substance there, 100 per cent there isn’t.

I cant believe people are running with this. Why would the AFL want a 3rd SA team in?
It gets clicks and we're talking about it. That's why they're running with it. Whether it's the remotest chance of happening or not is incidental.

Tom Rehn was running with it on AA this morning.

Theres something about that guy I cant stand.

I think it's at least in part how gleefully he took Tredders' spot when he was sacked. Seemed like a bit of a weezel.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app
I grew up as a mate of Tom, was in his classes, hung out at parties, played golf with him and he came to many SANFL GF's with me when he was a Magpie fan (He was one of those supported both clubs people, that gravitated towards the Crows more over time). He was the absolute life of the party, he is an extremely charismatic and hilariously funny guy, but he also always had that little bit of weird.

Knowing all I do, it is hard to comprehend that he is a sports presenter and paid for sporting knowledge.

No doubt he now has lots of contacts, spends all day on sport for his job, and hangs in sporting circles as part of it all, but I still can't take him fully seriously knowing sporting and footy wise he is far less educated than many, including myself. Then when he does something like this and just copies a story from another station, it feels like it just shows his lack of depth in the sports industry.

Advertiser today -

SANFL club Norwood has emphatically shut down speculation that it is preparing a bid to enter the AFL.
“It’s just an annoying rumour,’’ Redlegs chief executive James Fantasia told News Corp.
“There has certainly been no consortiums or discussions of anything of that nature. There is absolutely no substance there, 100 per cent there isn’t.

Chris 'Max Harris' Dittmar.

I cant believe people are running with this. Why would the AFL want a 3rd SA team in?
Metro Adelaide will not get a third team, well not in my lifetime. Just not enough dollars to go around and cannibalise the current teams.

WA more likely for a third team in the shorter term, possibly an amalgamation of current wafl teams.

There is a contingent of Nord/Crows bogans in the north-eastern burbs that still worship Garry McIntosh the King of Hope Valley FC, the rumpus room decor of these types would make you physically ill on entry..

Still they are not as bad as Central supporters who wanted to beat me up & cut my hair for being a Port fan.

You're assuming that the other SANFL clubs had any kind of self-awareness to know this.

They all lined up at the trough in 94/95 with their various, ill-considered, 2 page bids, and were shown up for the inept shitshows they were.
The genius of the SANFL clubs. Bought that an SA side would be a cash cow, yet somehow the SANFL would remain relevant, so they could just enjoy the cash. By the time the second bid rolls around they realise they are screwed and hope to be the last ones on the raft (AFL) saving them from sinking. No sympathy at all, especially for Norwood.

You're assuming that the other SANFL clubs had any kind of self-awareness to know this.

They all lined up at the trough in 94/95 with their various, ill-considered, 2 page bids, and were shown up for the inept shitshows they were.
I love this.

The common idea that we simply forced our way in to the AFL because we thugged our way to the most on field success and did underhanded tactics off field, but the reality is we were by far the most professional mob, all above board. The little old working class club at Alberton destroyed the suits and ties from over town at their own game.

Powerhouse SANFL team Norwood says reports the club is preparing a bid to become the AFL’s 20th team is just “an annoying rumour”.

Redlegs chief executive James Fantastia went on the record to emphatically deny claims the club wants to join the league after Tasmania.

“There has certainly been no consortiums or discussions of anything of that nature. There is absolutely no substance there, 100 per cent there isn’t,” he told News Corp on Wednesday.

Powerhouse SANFL team Norwood says reports the club is preparing a bid to become the AFL’s 20th team is just “an annoying rumour”.

Redlegs chief executive James Fantastia went on the record to emphatically deny claims the club wants to join the league after Tasmania.

“There has certainly been no consortiums or discussions of anything of that nature. There is absolutely no substance there, 100 per cent there isn’t,” he told News Corp on Wednesday.

This should be in the Oxford for the definition of Oxymoron

There is a contingent of Nord/Crows bogans in the north-eastern burbs that still worship Garry McIntosh the King of Hope Valley FC, the rumpus room decor of these types would make you physically ill on entry..

Still they are not as bad as Central supporters who wanted to beat me up & cut my hair for being a Port fan.

"wanted"? You're still on their hit list, don't worry. ;)

You would think the two new AFL sides .
Has to be Tasmanian and one extra in SA or Wa.That could be a relocation of a Melbourne club.In one state and probably Wa.The second new club in SA.
Unless foxtel and 7 are dangling the Afl a pay Tv carrot.For more games.
A 3rd team in Wa could help break the Eagles massive financial stronghold.Richest sporting club in the Southern Hemisphere.
In Wa you would think the Northern Coast line,West Perth.

Norwood in the AFL? Ya dreaming. What would they call themselves and who are they marketed towards?

Best way to go about a third team would be to develop a new franchise which covers all of Onkaparinga and the Fleurieu Peninsula to capture the growing population in the South - this will cover a population over 500,000+ in the coming years.

The Southern Panthers would be an excellent name for this team. Southern since we cover the large southern expansive of South Australia, and Panthers which is a unique mascot to the SANFL (WAFL and VFL never had a Panther team) - so you have a uniquely South Australian club.

SAFC in the SANFL can be the reserves side for the Southern Panthers, unless a reserves league gets established by the AFL.

You would think the two new AFL sides .
Has to be Tasmanian and one extra in SA or Wa.That could be a relocation of a Melbourne club.In one state and probably Wa.The second new club in SA.
Unless foxtel and 7 are dangling the Afl a pay Tv carrot.For more games.
A 3rd team in Wa could help break the Eagles massive financial stronghold.Richest sporting club in the Southern Hemisphere.
In Wa you would think the Northern Coast line,West Perth.
There was a storya while ago about a potential third, WA team, albeit; not based in Perth.
Down south, Margaret River regions based in teh city Busselton.

Norwood would probably be in the AFL now if they hadn't bitched out hard in 1990.

I maintain there isn't a worse administrative decision in sporting history outside of decisions that led to clubs folding. Imagine losing your nerve and consigning your club to meaningless park football for eternity while your long term great rival plays in the national league.

It was then Port or nothing in 1997, it was never going to be any of those other garbage options,

Maybe in the eyes of a couple of thinkers in the AFL administration but do not under-estimate how hard the SANFL pushed to stop Port's go it alone bid.

Never forget that many months into the bidding process, and after Port has made it clear it would be entering a stand alone proposal and was not prepared to join with another club to secure AFL entry, the SANFL Future Directions Committee issues a 200 page report recommending that the next AFL licence be handed to a team formed by the amalgamation of two clubs.

And low and behold, less than 2 full days after that SANFL report is released. Sturt and Norwood publicly reveal their plans to amalgamate as their bid for the second licence.

Just a coincidence of course.

I Dont Think So No Way GIF

Nope - it was never going to be a lay down misère for Port Adelaide to enter the AFL - not with the SANFL in charge of the bidding process..

Which is why Boulton, Bucky and their team at Alberton left no stone uncovered in putting together a comprehensive application that could not be ignored.

There was a storya while ago about a potential third, WA team, albeit; not based in Perth.
Down south, Margaret River regions based in teh city Busselton.
Good idea lovely part of the World.
I'm pretty sure Qantas or Virgin have flights from Melbourne to Busselton.