Review R12: Dees v The Cats - the Good, the Bad & the Fugly

Congrats again.
Good we don't play Melbourne again this year, will only get uglier for us, but as you say, we have had a great run, and I for one would love to see Demons, Dogs and Saints taste the success of GF wins. And it will happen. Wait til you see the Petracca machine as well. Have had a lot to do with him, GUN.
What is your story with Petracca Vdubs

Congrats again.
Good we don't play Melbourne again this year, will only get uglier for us, but as you say, we have had a great run, and I for one would love to see Demons, Dogs and Saints taste the success of GF wins. And it will happen. Wait til you see the Petracca machine as well. Have had a lot to do with him, GUN.

Thanks for those kind words.

The story today: It was meant to be The Cats day to celebrate one of their sons 300th game. But it seems that the were betrayed by their one fatal flaw hubris. Everyone was saying "This is Madness!" Melbourne said "Madness, This is PAYBACK!".

Congrats again.
Pretty sure Geelong ruined these dreams a few years back :p Anyway hopefully this really gives the boys some confidence to get a few more scalps and finish the second half of the year strongly. As fantastic as the win was today there's still heaps more improvement to come :)

Dunn was massive today, just getting in front of Hawkins all day, 15 rebound 50's which was a game high for the entire league this season.

Really happy for the MFC today, fantastic win and very well deserved. My thoughts were that the better team won on the day, simple as that. Geelong have a long way to go, before we start talking or even thinking premierships' again. We've had a pretty good run and now its time for a re think in a number of different areas. Well done Dees and good luck for the rest of the year.

My father has been a dee member for 42 years. I've seen him suffer the heartbreak this club has has gone through from the prelim final against hawks to the poor performances of the last decade. He had a tear in his eye after the game. Can easily say, that was the best win I've seen from the club from the past 10 or so years at least. What you guys have been through, and to come out and win down at the cattery is HUGE for the dees. This win will generate members, supporters, player confidence. Unreal win and hopefully many more to come

'Geelong has always loved beating Melbourne, but what happens when Melbourne says no more'

when-buildings-collapse-o.gif

Roosy pumping up Howie's touchless first half...because he brought the ball to ground repeatedly. **** yeah.

Play Howie out of the square and let Hoges roam...do it Roosy.

I was accused of this early in the week when I said we were gettable, no rucks, Selwood our only MF, and that your blokes are more talented than most of your supporters realise.
Was there to witness a team that is def on the up, this could be an era changing win.
Anyway, congratulations, very good 4Q effort, last Q so meritorious given your game last Sunday and we played Fri pm.Pity we didn't get to see the Hogan show, but sadly, I really expect Demons to set up a new winning streak against us.

I hope deeco and schmutt will be humble in victory.

I'm here buddy, years of going for Melbourne will make you particularly pessimistic no matter who you are playing. Kudos to you for fronting up straight after the loss

Apologies for omittting a "t".
It gives me no pleasure successfully picking our losses, but your team is already good, and once the players get that belief, will go a LONG way.

This, from the Main Board is Good Bad and Fugly,
Are any other Melbourne supporters having a hard time comprehending result?

2007 - Geelong by 52
2008 - Geelong by 30
2008 - Geelong by 116
2009 - Geelong by 43
2009 - Geelong by 46
2010 - Geelong by 54
2011 - Geelong by 186
2012 - Geelong by 43
2013 - Geelong by 68
2014 - Geelong by 66
2015 - Melbourne by 24

Average Margin from 2007-2014: Geelong by 70.4 points

This is a 94.4 point turnaround for Melbourne from the past 10 games.

Fugly: How many in the media will say this is the worst game the cats have ever played?

Roos: 7

MFC fans: Paul, Its supposed to be a rhetorical question.

Roos: Rhetorical hey...... 8
Yep, posted that on twitter. Every time we beat someone, it's the worst game they've ever played. This time though, we simply outplayed them.

BEST: In my opinion, this game started out like the GW$ game, the Adelaide game and the Port game. We blocked their exits and made them look slow. It also made their forward entries rubbish and stopped them being able to score easily. The difference was, in this game for whatever reason, we were able to keep it up for the whole game. We didn't look tired at any point like we usually do and ran out the game really well I thought.

GREAT: The ruck. Just dominated. One area where I think we all thought we might be able to beat them in, we actually did. Gawn was terrific and Spencer serviceable. I must say though, I don't like how Spencer almost always does the Jamar hit it backwards or behind. It puts us on the back foot and Geelong players were able to run onto the ball too easily. Small thing. Overall those two were just brilliant.

BLOODY GOOD: The mids, because of the dominant ruckwork, smashed the living shite out of a midfield that every 'expert' rates way higher than ours. So many centre clearances. Cant remember the last time we dominated that much from the centre bounces. Maybe Jamar/Beamer that day?

GOOD: The spread of good players. We didn't really have any passengers. I think this is the main reason we won. Bail turned it over 3 times in 10 seconds during one passage and Spencer tried to hit a target he really didnt need to which made me want to break my second phone in 2 weeks but all in all it was a fantastic team effort. That's been a theme in our wins. Seems pretty obvious but the good teams seem to be able to carry passengers even in their wins. Our wins are just bloody good old fashioned team wins. I like our style better :)

SPECIAL MENTION: Dunny. Yep, Brayshaw, Viney, Vince, Jones and Gawn were all bloody great. Dunny though. I've been one of the few that never jumped off and always loved his effort. When we were real toilet, he always gave his all, which was way more than could be said for plenty of his team mates. Probably the reason why he's still there. Same as Jones. Was a B/C grader early on. Worked his arse off and is now benefiting. When we win, it's those guys I think of first. They could probably have jumped ship like others, but didn't.

God damn I wish Mitch Clark was playing today

As good as any chance the Dees have had to beat the Cats in years.

Selwood has been underwhelming.
Steve Johnson is ageing.
James Kelly has split testicles.

What did I tell y'all earlier today before the match?

Enjoy the win, best win I can remember for over 10 years. Feels great to have a win over the Cats after all the rimmings we have received from them.

Best: Keeping the Cats out of the 8. They would've thought "hell yeah, get in the 8 with %!". Nekkminnit........

Half a bottle of celebratory red wine has limited my ability to provide a thorough G/B/F analysis, so I'll only offer the following:

Good:
  • I'm in love with Gus.
  • If we get that from Gawn every week I'll be in love with him too.
  • Our captain is an inspiration and deserves to enjoy this victory more than anyone.
  • I think we've found one in ANB.
  • Viney going in dry on Selwood was beautiful.
  • Vince - inspirational.
  • The Dunny Brush - huuuuuuuuuuuuge game.
  • Geelong Hoodoo MUTHA-****ING BROKEN.
  • There's plenty more, but as I said, red wine.......
Fugly:
  • Could not believe the exodus of Geelong supporters before the final siren (or the apparent exodus as shown on Fox Footy). I know it must have been hard to stomach the result, but it was Enright's 300th game for ****s sake! He has been a great servant to the club through their golden era and seems a genuinely nice guy. If it were Nate Jones's 300th and we were getting done by 200 points I'd stay to the bitter end to be able to salute him off. I can't fathom how people could do that.