Richmond - time for a rebuild?

Came her to reply to the post about Yze being a flaky half back, even though he played 271 games, won a B&F, and an AA jumper, then had to read the same crap about rich v geelong for the next two pages, the same crap I've read on every other Richmond thread by the same posters.
Agree it’s extremely tiresome. Cleaned up now.

It's not a rebuild
It's a Hard Reset
I actually don't see it quite that way.
Sure we had a horrid year, but we had some really good excuses.

We had 4 to 6 VFL players left on our list for half a season almost. 5 ACL's is unheard of. Our entire midfield gone.
We had players like Martin running around far, far off his best and not really helping the side. Bolton and Baker were sort of gone already and were nowhere near their best. A new coach etc.

Our fully fit side is not devoid of talent. Vlastuin, Prestia, Taranto, Hopper, Short, Lynch, Balta, Nankervis and Broad are good to very good players. Players like Ross, Mansell, Ralphsmith, Brown, Miller, Rioli Jnr have shown they can play at the level. A lot of new faces got a go last year and at times looked good, Campbell, Banks, Trezise, McAuliffe, Lefau, Bauer, Blight, Green etc.

Lalor and Smillie are already our biggest mids, so physically ready to go. Not expecting too much but they will impact, no.1 picks usually do. Gibcus has shown he can play and will be back in training soon. 6 other 30 odd draftees will get games at times, but we will not be relying on them this year.

Injuries will make a difference. Lynch is in full training and has done a full preseason, his first in 3 seasons.
I don't expect us to rise much, but I think we will be a fair bit better than last season. No injuries at all apart from the rehab of the ACL, so a full list to choose from rd.1 (with some luck over the next 6 weeks or so).

Came her to reply to the post about Yze being a flaky half back, even though he played 271 games, won a B&F, and an AA jumper, then had to read the same crap about rich v geelong for the next two pages, the same crap I've read on every other Richmond thread by the same posters.

Also finished equal 3rd in the Brownlow medal too.

Whether it’s a rebuild or a hard reset. Either way I dont mind.

What I’d like to see and think we might be for the next two/ three years is the biggest coach killer of AFL era.

There’ll be coaches praying they don’t lose to us.

I actually don't see it quite that way.
Sure we had a horrid year, but we had some really good excuses.

We had 4 to 6 VFL players left on our list for half a season almost. 5 ACL's is unheard of. Our entire midfield gone.
We had players like Martin running around far, far off his best and not really helping the side. Bolton and Baker were sort of gone already and were nowhere near their best. A new coach etc.

Our fully fit side is not devoid of talent. Vlastuin, Prestia, Taranto, Hopper, Short, Lynch, Balta, Nankervis and Broad are good to very good players. Players like Ross, Mansell, Ralphsmith, Brown, Miller, Rioli Jnr have shown they can play at the level. A lot of new faces got a go last year and at times looked good, Campbell, Banks, Trezise, McAuliffe, Lefau, Bauer, Blight, Green etc.

Lalor and Smillie are already our biggest mids, so physically ready to go. Not expecting too much but they will impact, no.1 picks usually do. Gibcus has shown he can play and will be back in training soon. 6 other 30 odd draftees will get games at times, but we will not be relying on them this year.

Injuries will make a difference. Lynch is in full training and has done a full preseason, his first in 3 seasons.
I don't expect us to rise much, but I think we will be a fair bit better than last season. No injuries at all apart from the rehab of the ACL, so a full list to choose from rd.1 (with some luck over the next 6 weeks or so).
Nothing wrong with being optimistic, but it’d be a massive surprise if Richmond aren’t bottom 2 this year and bottom 4 at best next year.

They seem to have drafted well (on paper at least) and there’ll be plenty of reason to be excited watching their games as a fan, but the list is thin on experience and will struggle to play 4 quarters.

I don’t disagree with your list of Good/Very good players, but that’s 9 guys total, and it’s a list that contains some highly injury prone players. The likelihood of all of those guys being there most weeks isn’t great.

As a Blues fan I’ve seen a lot of rebuilds in the recent past, and those super talented kids you’ve brought in are probably going to have a hard time early on their careers because they’re going to be asked to do far more than the young guys brought into other clubs. That’s not to say they aren’t going to be up to it but Lalor/Smilie and co will get far more attention than the Ashcrofts and Smiths of the world in their early years

I think they’ve had a good off season and made the most of what they could with guys asking to leave and bring in high quality talent, but while it’s better long term, losing Baker, Graham, Rioli, Bolton makes improvement in 2025 very tough.

I hope Yze gets a fair run at it because rebuild coaches never seem to and we probably won’t know if he can coach for at least another 3 years.

I would be surprised if they win any more than 8-10 games over the next 2 years combined, after that it’ll depend on how many draft picks they hit on and whether they can use what will presumably be a sizeable salary cap to snag a couple of FA’s

Nothing wrong with being optimistic, but it’d be a massive surprise if Richmond aren’t bottom 2 this year and bottom 4 at best next year.

They seem to have drafted well (on paper at least) and there’ll be plenty of reason to be excited watching their games as a fan, but the list is thin on experience and will struggle to play 4 quarters.

I don’t disagree with your list of Good/Very good players, but that’s 9 guys total, and it’s a list that contains some highly injury prone players. The likelihood of all of those guys being there most weeks isn’t great.

As a Blues fan I’ve seen a lot of rebuilds in the recent past, and those super talented kids you’ve brought in are probably going to have a hard time early on their careers because they’re going to be asked to do far more than the young guys brought into other clubs. That’s not to say they aren’t going to be up to it but Lalor/Smilie and co will get far more attention than the Ashcrofts and Smiths of the world in their early years

I think they’ve had a good off season and made the most of what they could with guys asking to leave and bring in high quality talent, but while it’s better long term, losing Baker, Graham, Rioli, Bolton makes improvement in 2025 very tough.

I hope Yze gets a fair run at it because rebuild coaches never seem to and we probably won’t know if he can coach for at least another 3 years.

I would be surprised if they win any more than 8-10 games over the next 2 years combined, after that it’ll depend on how many draft picks they hit on and whether they can use what will presumably be a sizeable salary cap to snag a couple of FA’s
I would be surprised if we get anywhere near 8-10 games, bottom 4 odds on, but fully fit we could run sides, but as you say, not good/fit enough to finish them.

Will need some luck regarding injury, but have built depth over last year so our reserves coming in to replace injured players will not be coming in as new players.

8 new additions all with fairly high expectations prior to whichever club they landed at gives real hope going forward. Not to climb up the ladder necessarily, but to have a year in the system and set themselves up for perhaps the following year.

Plus we will get 1-4 draft pick next year and North's first rounder which could easily be used on a real quality free agent, we have lots of $$ to spend as well. Pick 5-10 most likely will net a top line player.

Finishing last isn't tracking well.
Can't see that changing next year or the year after.
I am not worried about what you see

I am more interested in what our prospects are showing.

Mccauliffe, Blight putting in and showing clear development, at least some of our new draftees showing good signs, ,so the signs are going forward we will rise for sure, and I am happy to accept we are not winning a premiership in 2025 and if we did, Yze and the players would be immortal

If RFC won the premiership in 2025 it would be the greatest premiership bar none and probably close to the greatest achievement in sport ever

everyone in footy would be gobsmacked and jaws drop to the floor if RFC won the premiership in 2025, that is the size of such a mountain. Even conceiving it is borderline ridiculous

Fonseca has more chance of winning a gram slam this year than RFC winning the AFL premiership in 2025, no ones fault, it is just the size of the task given our profile versus who we would have to face

if you cannot see us kicking goals, we slip under the radar until we win the GF.

it is like 2017, no one believed we could win until late in the GF when we could not lose

no pressure when no one thinks you can win, and when you win, no won rates you like in 2017 which helps us win more

Bottom 2 this year is very likley. Except for all our mature players staying fit and in form. Then we'd be a pretty good team.

If our main mids stay fit-ish (Taranto, Hopper, Prestia) our new guys will be protected. The new tall players will mostly play VFL, we have plenty of talls - not quality KPFs outside Lynch though. So I reckon we'll be focused on development and protecting the kids, whilst giving them a good taste.

Winning games isn't important in 2025. Developing players, and nailing the game plan are important.

We'll win a few games I'm sure. But given our injury history I reckon at times the Tigers will be playing young guys who aren't good quality AFL, yet. It'll be a ride. Hopefully one full of highlghts and glimpses of the future.

Bottom 2 this year is very likley. Except for all our mature players staying fit and in form. Then we'd be a pretty good team.

If our main mids stay fit-ish (Taranto, Hopper, Prestia) our new guys will be protected. The new tall players will mostly play VFL, we have plenty of talls - not quality KPFs outside Lynch though. So I reckon we'll be focused on development and protecting the kids, whilst giving them a good taste.

Winning games isn't important in 2025. Developing players, and nailing the game plan are important.

We'll win a few games I'm sure. But given our injury history I reckon at times the Tigers will be playing young guys who aren't good quality AFL, yet. It'll be a ride. Hopefully one full of highlghts and glimpses of the future.
Yeah sure. I said 8-10 wins as a ceiling for the next 2 years combined, wouldn’t be surprised with anywhere from 2-4 this year. Teams don’t go winless, there’ll be some games the Tigers are right in and some where they get completely blown away.

I think success for the tigers in 25 is 15-18 games into most of their 2024 draftees, (KPP less), and quarters/halves most weeks where the game plan is really clear and effective. Wins don’t matter but if you can snag 4 (one every 5-6 games) then it’s enough to keep the vibe up.

Ideally 2 of Hopper/Taranto/Prestia play as close to 23 as possible to support the young guys, and the forward line REALLY needs Lynch to be around.

These are almost the “fun” years of a rebuild. No expectations, glimpses of potential from the kids and any wins are absolutely tremendous.

gameplan is not that important.

Our gameplan is up in the air.

Gameplan dependent on players which is evolving and dependent on the players development

i bet I have a gameplan different to yours, and different to these Geelong posters.

I bet our Geelong posters want to sow seeds of doubt to pinch Tom Brown but I bet RFC could give Tom Brown down the track a role inconceivable, along with success because our mix and the gameplan drawn from it could be so different enabling Tom Brown to do things with his teammates at RFC not possible at Geelong as Geelong would have a different team dynamic and requirements along with gameplan meaning a different fit for Tom if at all possible

I bet our Geelong posters will say with all our talls Tom Brown will get squeezed out and should come down to the Cattery, lol. That is if they do not forsee our possible gameplans including Tom down the road

Gameplan dependent on players which is evolving and dependent on the players development

i bet I have a gameplan different to yours, and different to these Geelong posters.

I bet our Geelong posters want to sow seeds of doubt to pinch Tom Brown but I bet RFC could give Tom Brown down the track a role inconceivable, along with success because our mix and the gameplan drawn from it could be so different enabling Tom Brown to do things with his teammates at RFC not possible at Geelong as Geelong would have a different team dynamic and requirements along with gameplan meaning a different fit for Tom if at all possible

I bet our Geelong posters will say with all our talls Tom Brown will get squeezed out and should come down to the Cattery, lol. That is if they do not forsee our possible gameplans including Tom down the road
Gameplan is central. It sounds like our gameplan going forward is more focused on winning the ball and using powerful mids to control the ball, with a strong spine. So, much more old fashioned than under Dimma. You structure your game around the players you have. And conversely you structure your list around your game plan.

The club has a plan and focus going forward. It is all based around a planned game plan. Yes thigns will change. But in Dimma's era we picked up a lot of players with extraordinary repeat effort ability, and decent skills. That enabled us to play a super high pressure style that no one else did, or could. So players and game plan go hand in hand.

If in Ooze's reign we have the best monster midfield in the AFL, with a very strong spine we might well achieve a simialr dominance

Gameplan is central. It sounds like our gameplan going forward is more focused on winning the ball and using powerful mids to control the ball, with a strong spine. So, much more old fashioned than under Dimma. You structure your game around the players you have. And conversely you structure your list around your game plan.

The club has a plan and focus going forward. It is all based around a planned game plan. Yes thigns will change. But in Dimma's era we picked up a lot of players with extraordinary repeat effort ability, and decent skills. That enabled us to play a super high pressure style that no one else did, or could. So players and game plan go hand in hand.

If in Ooze's reign we have the best monster midfield in the AFL, with a very strong spine we might well achieve a simialr dominance
game plan is not central.

this is how we won in 2017.

we had a few injuries and won changing our gameplan after Griffiths got injuried etc...

what is central is player development and quality

that is why they say good players make great coaches.

no matter how good a coach you may be if you do not have the players you are not winning a lot.

Once we have players of quality and their development is tracking then we know what each can do with the team and formulate the best gameplan with adaptions given versatility inbuilt in certain player attributes

it is hard for opposition coaches to defeat a unfamiliar gameplan as well, takes longer for the AFL HQ to change rules to screw a new gameplan to

every winning game plan requires levels of pressure and we do not know the best way to use our players yet, especially as they have not played together yet, against high end opposition either, lol

I bet on a narrow game plan, Geelong supporters are saying Trainor will do great at RFC and Tom Brown may not get the same opportunity in the backline and where does he fit with all RFC talls? Well that is if Geelong supporters have not considered Tom Brown to do different things in alternate gameplans at RFC enabling Tom to be integral to RFC efforts. It would be stupid of RFC not to consider different gameplans to exploit Tom Brown's strengths along with our other players even if the game plans where different, especially if the gameplans empower RFC to win premierships down the track and it is harder for oppositions to inped such gameplans

Richmond hit the draft hard in 2021 taking five picks in the top 30.
This was meant to be the beginning of their rebuild, but none of these players are coming on as Richmond would have hoped.

Richmond took seven picks in the top 30 of the 2024 draft, but what happens if these players don't come on and the draft is a bust like the 2021 draft?
It could be the beginning of a long period in the wilderness similar to 1983-2016.

Yze isn't a good coach either, as a player he was a flaky half back flanker who never tasted premiership success and he was a part of a loser culture at Melbourne.
The likes of Caroline Wilson will have the knives out for him soon enough, probably as soon as this year if Richmond look like winning another wooden spoon.
Don't get me wrong.... Richmond making finals twice from 1983 to 2012 is t great. (although both of those years they made finals, they ended up in preliminary finals).

I don't think Richmond will be that bad over a period of 30 seasons.

Again .... 18 teams in the comp. 8 finals spots and 10 sides don't make finals. So teams spending 5 or 6 years in a row not making finals will be common for teams "rebuilding".

You also saying Adam Yze isn't a good coach. Hard to judge him after he coaches 3 or 4 seasons.

You said he is a flaky half back flanker that never tasted a flag at a then struggling club like the demons.

Well I am gonna name 3 examples.

1. Fagan. He won a flag at Brisbane as a Premiership coach. Please look up his playing career in the VFL or AFL .

2. Luke Beverage. Won 4 finals in 2016 as dogs coach. Won 3 finals in 2021 and made a grand final. Go look at his playing career. It wasn't great.

3. Alistair Clarkson. Got a flag at hawks coach in 2008. Then got 3 more flags as coach from 2013 to 2015. His playing career in the AFL didn't go great either.

Actually I will name a 4th one.

4. Paul Roos. Solid for 13 or 14 seasons at Fitzroy lions. Played finals and won finals but no flag.

Goes to Sydney at the end of 1994. Made a grand final as a player in 1996, lost to North Melbourne.

He had a good decade as Sydney coach. Won a flag in 2005.

I am not saying Adam Yze will be a Premiership coach at Richmond. But if he does, it won't be anything unprecedented.

Don't get me wrong.... Richmond making finals twice from 1983 to 2012 is t great. (although both of those years they made finals, they ended up in preliminary finals).

Again .... 18 teams in the comp. 8 finals spots and 10 sides don't make finals. So teams spending 5 or 6 years in a row not making finals will be common for teams "rebuilding".

You also saying Adam Yze isn't a good coach. Hard to judge him after he coaches 3 or 4 seasons.

You said he is a flaky half back flanker that never tasted a flag at a then struggling club like the demons.

1. Fagan. He won a flag at Brisbane as a Premiership coach. Please look up his playing career in the VFL or AFL .

2. Luke Beverage. Won 4 finals in 2016 as dogs coach. Won 3 finals in 2021 and made a grand final. Go look at his playing career. It wasn't great.

3. Alistair Clarkson. Got a flag at hawks coach in 2008. Then got 3 more flags as coach from 2013 to 2015. His playing career in the AFL didn't go great either.

4. Paul Roos. Solid for 13 or 14 seasons at Fitzroy lions. Played finals and won finals but no flag.

Goes to Sydney at the end of 1994. Made a grand final as a player in 1996, lost to North Melbourne.

I am not saying Adam Yze will be a Premiership coach at Richmond. But if he does, it won't be anything unprecedented.
to be fair Roos was a star, more than just solid

Only thing is there are more mechanisms to speed up a rebuild now and upcoming. Free Agency, extended future trading, & draft pick purchasing. Also Richmond has a blueprint to follow this time.
True on all your points. Yes there are more mechanisms and outcomes to speed up the rebuild.

Free agency is one. Mind you, I want it to go down to 6 years rather than 8. Extended future trading of picks is another factor, But I think Richmond will be more careful about that. In their position, they should be keeping or getting 1st rounders rather than trading picks for players.

And getting the occupational delisted free agent or delisted 31 or 32 year old on a 1 or 2 year deal helps in the short term to help the younger players that are 18-20 year Olds.

I also agree Richmond have a blue print or at least a path to follow .

Richmond drafted well in the 2006-2009 drafts before Gold coast and GWS came in. Riewoldt, Alex rance and Dustin Martin were good young kids that were future players in the 2017 flag.

Again ... Richmond had a slow v
Build to the 2017 flag. Developing the younger's guys In 2010-12. Made finals in 2013-15. Misses finals in 2016. Contenders for the flag In 2017-2020.

Tassie coming in the comp in 2028 means most of the 1st round picks in 2027 will be Tassie picks.

I can see a similar path Richmond will take from 2007-2017. So Richmond will stack up with kids In the 2024, 2025 and 2026 draft.

So that means development years in 2027-29. Make finals in 2030-32 miss out on finals in 2033, the a 4 year run of flag contention in 2034-37 , similar to 2017-20.

You might have missed the posts about Yze being a forward flanker and not a half back. Flakey players don't play 271 games, AA, B&F and come 3rd in the Brownlow. But yes average players can become great coaches, Tom Hafey probably leads that list.

to be fair Roos was a star, more than just solid
I won't deny Paul Roos was a star. He sadly didn't get his Premiership as a player.

He was never gonna get a Premiership or make a grand final at Fitzroy with the lack of money they had.

I was replying to the cats fan on Adam Yze saying he wasn't a good player and didn't get a Premiership, which means he has no chance to become a Premiership coach.

Yze was part of a struggling culture at the demons at the time as a player, which is partially true.

But saying that, one of Richmonds best ever coaches only played 60 odd games as a player but got 4 tigers flags in 1967, 1969, 1973 and 1974.

Yep I am talking about Tom Hafey.

History has had people that have become Premiership coaches in the VFL or AFL despite not having a great playing career.

You might have missed the posts about Yze being a forward flanker and not a half back. Flakey players don't play 271 games, AA, B&F and come 3rd in the Brownlow. But yes average players can become great coaches, Tom Hafey probably leads that list.
True.... I just literally posted about Tom Hafey. LoL

Hafey playing career wasn't great. But he got 4 flags at your club.

He did ok after he left your club.

Did fine as a magpies coach and Sydney coach.

I am not worried about what you see

I am more interested in what our prospects are showing.

Mccauliffe, Blight putting in and showing clear development, at least some of our new draftees showing good signs, ,so the signs are going forward we will rise for sure, and I am happy to accept we are not winning a premiership in 2025 and if we did, Yze and the players would be immortal

If RFC won the premiership in 2025 it would be the greatest premiership bar none and probably close to the greatest achievement in sport ever

everyone in footy would be gobsmacked and jaws drop to the floor if RFC won the premiership in 2025, that is the size of such a mountain. Even conceiving it is borderline ridiculous

Fonseca has more chance of winning a gram slam this year than RFC winning the AFL premiership in 2025, no ones fault, it is just the size of the task given our profile versus who we would have to face

if you cannot see us kicking goals, we slip under the radar until we win the GF.

it is like 2017, no one believed we could win until late in the GF when we could not lose

no pressure when no one thinks you can win, and when you win, no won rates you like in 2017 which helps us win more

Oh My God Wow GIF

It's like 2017?

Ostrich GIF by joelremygif

True on all your points. Yes there are more mechanisms and outcomes to speed up the rebuild.

Free agency is one. Mind you, I want it to go down to 6 years rather than 8. Extended future trading of picks is another factor, But I think Richmond will be more careful about that. In their position, they should be keeping or getting 1st rounders rather than trading picks for players.

And getting the occupational delisted free agent or delisted 31 or 32 year old on a 1 or 2 year deal helps in the short term to help the younger players that are 18-20 year Olds.

I also agree Richmond have a blue print or at least a path to follow .
Unless a player like Bolton comes along...

bet on a narrow game plan, Geelong supporters are saying Trainor will do great at RFC and Tom Brown may not get the same opportunity in the backline and where does he fit with all RFC talls? Well that is if Geelong supporters have not considered Tom Brown to do different things in alternate gameplans at RFC enabling Tom to be integral to RFC efforts. It would be stupid of RFC not to consider different gameplans to exploit Tom Brown's strengths along with our other players even if the game plans where different, especially if the gameplans empower RFC to win premierships down the track and it is harder for oppositions to inped such gameplans
I mean this without trying to be a dick, but an estimate of about 3% of Geelong supporters would even know who Tom Brown is...and I imagine that number would be similar throughout other non-RFC supporter bases.

Best of luck to the kid of course, but you appear a tad unhinged when presenting it as something you're "betting on", or showing such a level of concern for so early in the piece.

Just let the kid develop at his own pace. If other clubs supporters do eventually show an interest in him, take it as a badge of honour that the Tiges have clearly got a good one.

Richmond - time for a rebuild?