• J. Clarke (sub)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • S. Banks

Votes: 1 0.7%
  • J. Ross

Votes: 91 63.6%

Still ran a top team touted for this year for a long period of the game with tons out.
I think Yze is doing well ATM with the cubs at his disposal.
Our senior players starting to show signs of fading.

Gold Coast got smashed.
Kangaroos got smashed.

We did not.

Yze needs to give these boys a Rev up and tell them to bring the mouthguards to training this week. Sure they are early in the new regime but the effort from the team with shit pressure and terrible tackling is not something in relation to game plan.

I really liked the work by Brown - he really looks unflustered and doesnt shit himself. Trezies has enough to work on and should be working on that in the 1's. He does make stupid mistakes but that can be taught out of him.

Out: Lefau, Banks, Tarranto (I have a feeling he is injured from that game)
In: McAulife, Sonsie, Young

I don't think we need 3 talls against Sydney.

Part of the reason we had a great team is we had a group of 5 that played about 7/8 years together before success, nearly 300 games together.
Rance would’ve easily played that many if he wanted to stay.

We need look to the longterm and stick with em.
I did crack it with Dow but we have to get more games into them.
Someone else posted…Shedda ave 11 possesions a game for his first fifty games.
Dow is a ave just over 13 in 19 games.
He’s averaging over 20 in 30 games if vfl
He needs another 10 games at least in the 1sts to try and get going.

Was named and injured pre game so hes out.
I get that, but there were 2 or more people posting he should be a change from the team next week.
We can't actually drop him from the team if he wasn't part of the team.
Different if he had lined up and got injured, but as a late out you can'tlist him as a change for next week!
I have a feeling some just always want to drop him, just assume he had a crap game and didn't realise he didn't play lol.

I must have missed it - Caren Kornes was not grilled about Port's full strength squad not belting an undermanned Richmond side with +10 free kicks and at least 4 gift goals from umpire mistakes and their "soft as butter" midfield flopping / staging. BUT, he made sure of the point we only had 23 tackles. But 23 or 32 makes no difference - we SELDOM get rewarded for tackles, and more than likely will be penalized for "technique".

If Short's name was Daicos, that goal would have been reviewed 32 times by 72 cameras and if the game had to stop for 15 minutes it would have been done.

I have no problem that we are in a transition mode and not good enough to win some games, but the constant lack of "missed frees" are making it difficult to even watch games. Sure we get the occasional other AFL team anomaly, eg Colonwood last week - but that is once a year - for other teams. It is EVERY week for us. Its exhausting.

I’d leave dow in. I’ve thought he was a bust for a while but we might as well confirm it beyond doubt and move on. Another wasted first rounder.

Dow is so far away from even an amateur footballer.
They have been our wingers and we get sliced apart every … single … week. Haven’t you seen how easy teams transition the ball through us?

I’m not saying just play all kids, not by any stretch. I’m saying don’t play 30yo + players who are not helping us now, haven’t helped us for 2-years, and can’t help us in the future. What’s the point? As an example T Brown and Tresize wouldn’t have landed without our backline injuries …. they were game leading interceptors today with 8 and 7 and both showed positive signs.

If Mansell wasn’t injured round zero Campbell doesn’t play and kick 2-goals. He’s now played 3 games and looks a better prospect than all of Mansell, Coulthard and MRJ…. he’s really doing some nice things.

I’m not sure if Hopper and Broad are right to go, but if they are then here is my changes this week:

Out: Macca. Pickett. Lefau. Banks

Ins: McAuliffe. Hopper. Young. MRJ

We should play only one of Grimes or Broad each week. And none of Macca or Pickett. I thought Miller was really good today under an avalanche of I50’s and often zero pressure into their forward line. He’s a KPD, pure and simple. Let’s keep developing him there as who knows what Gibcus’s future is … and we want Balta forward as our options are very limited post Lynch.

Team:

B: Grimes. Miller. Brown
HB: Vlastuin. Young. Short
C: D Rioli. Hopper. Ross
HF: Martin. Balta. Bolton
F: Clarke. Lynch. Baker
R: Nank. TT. Dow
I/C: Tresize. Campbell. Mansell. McCauliffe
Sub: MRJ

I’d be in favour of bringing in Sonsie as well, but it gives us too many mids if Hopper is back and McCauliffe comes in which I think he will… Bolton looked so much better today with more midfield time. Swap Sonsie for Hopper if Hopper doesn’t come up.

I’d give Dow at least another game. I think we need to persevere. I remember Shane Edwards head was on the chopping block a few years into his career .. and he’d played a lot more than Dow. Edwards first 3 seasons from 2007-2009 was 47 games for 28 goals, averaging just 11 touches per game. Yes, 11! Year 4 he played 22 games and averaged 19 and he went from strength to strength every season from there, peaking from 2017-2020. .. his 11-14th seasons !

Macca had 1 possession in the last 2.5 quarters today FFS - how does that even happen on the expanses of the MCG?. We lose nothing …. NOTHING … if we play Clarke on a wing or move D Rioli or Short to a wing.

Let’s be bold and have Grimes, Broad, Macca and Pickett play plenty of VFL this year.

Edwards does not equal Dow. Not within a bull’s roar even in his first 100 games. Dow has no physical presence, no intensity, minimal ability to read the play, can’t kick far etc. Edwards always had great skills, was lightening fast and smart, and had great overhead presence amongst other amazing attributes. To think that Dow wil ever be 10% as good as Edwards even after 300 games, which is feasible given the propensity to give him a go, is risible.

The game is just an uncontested mark fest now.

Collingwood had 120 uncontested marks in our practice match.

Gold Coast 107 uncontested marks and Port had 100 uncontested marks.

We also had the lowest tackle count of the year, 32.

We are the proverbial witch’s hats now

Part of the reason we had a great team is we had a group of 5 that played about 7/8 years together before success, nearly 300 games together.
Rance would’ve easily played that many if he wanted to stay.

We need look to the longterm and stick with em.
I did crack it with Dow but we have to get more games into them.
Someone else posted…Shedda ave 11 possesions a game for his first fifty games.
Dow is a ave just over 13 in 19 games.
He’s averaging over 20 in 30 games if vfl
He needs another 10 games at least in the 1sts to try and get going.
I agree keep all kids, but Dow is so light and another Banks and Ryan. We've got to put work into them in the gym as they just won't make it otherwise.

- Why is Dusty barely playing in the middle despite Yze saying he had been trained all preseason as a midfielder? We need him even more there now.

- Why did Banks play before Clarke? We already had Pickett, McIntosh, and Ross in the side, who all play wing even if Ross was more in the guts. Banks is pretty average and we definitely did not need a 4th winger in the side.

- If ever a team can basically "expect" to win a free kick count, it's at home against an interstate side. But Richmond? Nup, 13-23 with most of the latter coming in the second half. That free kick stat line is almost always exactly the same, the other team 20+ and us in the low teens. Nice one umps, nice one. As with ALL Richmond supporters, we rarely say it's the main reason for losing (sometimes we do, and in those cases it's with good reason like against Carlton), but we just WANT A FAIR ****ING GO! Is it the coach? Can't be, he's gone. Is it the gamestyle? Can't be, we're unrecognisable from the 2017-2020 years. So WTF is it? It's bias, perhaps subconscious, and maybe a little cheating, but it's not our imagination. Bloody hell.

Anyway, changes:

OUT: Banks, Trezise, Dow, McIntosh
IN: Clarke, Broad, McAuliffe, Cumberland

I'd give Miller another game and Young another week off. Like the look of Brown, persist.

Broad, Grimes, Brown
Vlastuin, Miller, Short
Pickett, Ross, Clarke
Bolton, Balta, Campbell
Mansell, Lynch, Cumberland
Nankervis, Taranto, Martin
D. Rioli, Lefau, Baker, McAuliffe

Give Lefau another game, but I reckon otherwise we really need to just get Balta back into defence, maybe play two rucks and one can rest forward at times, just so there's a tall option there and so Lynch isn't manhandled worse than he already is. Then we have the resting midfielder and the small forwards to swarm.

Dow is so far away from even an amateur footballer.

Edwards does not equal Dow. Not within a bull’s roar even in his first 100 games. Dow has no physical presence, no intensity, minimal ability to read the play, can’t kick far etc. Edwards always had great skills, was lightening fast and smart, and had great overhead presence amongst other amazing attributes. To think that Dow wil ever be 10% as good as Edwards even after 300 games, which is feasible given the propensity to give him a go, is risible.
From memory ....Edwards kicking was often atrocious....particularly earlier on !!!

The general tone of it by picking on passionate fans. In the end you take the game day threads with a grain of salt.
Also it’s four seasons since our last flag and a lot of poor off field decisions in administration and FD have been made or not made which has accelerated our demise.
Louie Meehan still employed is a concern as well as poor trades , poor draft picks and personnel leaving. Team selection are puzzling and reminiscing that we are stuck in the past.
People have a right to be concerned and vent their anger as where do you expect them to do it? I’d love to do it on the Suns board, but I don’t think I’d last long. 😂
Not picking on them, just pointing out how disappointing it is to be hearing that sort of chat 3 games into a new coaching regime.

From memory ....Edwards kicking was often atrocious....particularly earlier on !!!
Edwards also only ever used to get it 15 or so times like Dow, but then again I think Edwards was played in flank-type positions before becoming more of a midfielder. I just don't see Dow ever getting to the level Edwards go to, he was pretty amazing there for a period.

Dimma now getting frees galore in a big loss as well.
While Richmond....

We could have the late great Nelson Mandela coach us and the umps would still rort us.

Not only smashed by the CFL boy's club but by the umpire's boy's club as well.

Having said all that,I reckon 3 games in,Yze has been very good.

His tenure has been greatly set back by constant injuries to senior players.

We dominated for a period in the game yesty but could not put the goals on the board.

Keep Fightin' Tigers!

For me Yze needs to make a few non negotiables in our side.

Tackling and pressure is expected in every game regardless score and hitting our targets.

And from the Grant Thomas book 💯 efforts 💯 of the time. We're not getting that from a bunch of our senior players coasting around.

Young Back in alongside Miller helps alot with structure.

Those 2 get a whole season now to build some kind if chemistry. Miller making it would be a god send given our list. Miller, Young and Gibcus long term is super flexible. Fingers crossed.

Dusty has to go midfield now as does Bolton, we saw how much better our mix looks with Bolton in there. This opens up a spot for Cumbo, make or break, just play the kid.

PS. Archie May, mid season draftee, get this kid on the list.

Dimma now getting frees galore in a big loss as well.
While Richmond....

We could have the late great Nelson Mandela coach us and the umps would still rort us.

Not only smashed by the CFL boy's club but by the umpire's boy's club as well.

Having said all that,I reckon 3 games in,Yze has been very good.

His tenure has been greatly set back by constant injuries to senior players.

We dominated for a period in the game yesty but could not put the goals on the board.

Keep Fightin' Tigers!
100% - the same people bashing him are the same people that said we would be bottom 4, so stop ya sooking ****ers.

I agree keep all kids, but Dow is so light and another Banks and Ryan. We've got to put work into them in the gym as they just won't make it otherwise.
He hasn’t got the time for that now, he just has to get after it.
6th year and it’s only a this season contract, we are going to lose a few this year but we need to get sorted before Tassie comes in.
Last Rnd last year 27 poss against Port, yesterday he looked about a minute behind the game.

Taranto played 86% TOG. For an inside mid that is much more than expected, he has been asked to play a sacrificial role and to hold up. People expect the guy to play at higher intensities but when he's playing that much more its more difficult. Considering he held the load of the likes of Dow, it's not a terrible performance, not perfect, but not his best. For comparison Butters had 76% TOG and Wines 75%

Autopsy Roast Toast & Changes for Round 3 V Sydney