Autopsy Round 1 2019: Hawks defeats the Crows

Impey was enormous and always seemed to be there when we needed him. TylerDurden I hope that tosser that was giving you grief about Imps was taking notice. I feel if he stays consistent he could be the most improved player in the comp come the end of the year.

WTF was with Betts sitting on Stratton?

Is it just me or is that disrespectful AF?

Imagine the melts if the situation had happened the other way around.

I don't get all the frothing over Betts, overrated AF and isn't half the player Breust is yet gets a million times more love.

I thought it was just a bit of harmless banter, but you are right, the other way around would have had Waleed Ally in a spin..

Plenty to feel happy about tonight,
I feel most happy for the solid Hawks fans who put their time and $ on the line and went over there to truly support their team!
Good on you all.

Also like to add be safe over there while celebrating. We all know how restless the natives get 😂

G'day all for 2019!

I had a feeling after the Tigers first half in the JLT the other week; this looks like a faster, aggressive mindset of players so thought why not put a $400 win bet on the Hawks as had a feeling the Crows as not as good as what people say, all the so called experts. Well f... em I say as you can see the attack on the ball, just brilliant.

Thanks for $1350 and must be honest to say the odds got me but geez so much to like.

Again, as we say over the last couple of years, bloody kick straight (Gunston etc) as should have won by a lot more but a fantastic effort and really excited about the future.

Impy I love you! Just keeps impressing me every game, floating across half back taking gusty marks and using the ball with pace. O'Meara just raising the bar.

Add Scully on the wing, Wingard on the forward flank and perhaps Birchall and let's get Rioli back (I pray) then this team is a speed machine so fu.. everyone to write this great club off again.

I said before I reckon Coniglio might join us next year also.

Clarkson and co are just masters of blooding new blokes into the team who didn't feel comfortable at other clubs or couldn't produce their best footy.

Mitchell, obviously a blow but gives the opportunity like Cousins and Worpell etc to make their mark.

Impy is one example of how you can see how much he his enjoying the new environment like Scrimshaw just to name a few!

SPEED, PRESSURE AGGRESSION AT EVERY CONTEST! THAT'S WHAT I REALLY LOVED. THE INTENSITY AT THE BALL I HAVEN'T SEEN LIKE THAT FOR YEARS.

YOUNG HUNGRY MONGRELS COMPETING FOR THEIR SPOTS NOW

Last edited by a moderator:

So proud.

That's really going to annoy all the haters.

Please spare a moments thought for...

David King
Brad Johnson
Gerard Healy
Mark Robinson
Gerard Whateley
Caroline Wilson
Damien Barrett
Essendon supporters
Geelong supporters
Bigfooty mainboard

Full credit to the boys for a magnificent opening win. We completely shut the Crows down and stopped them playing the way they wanted, it was a comprehensive team effort that typified our very best interstate wins. A win that could really set up our season.

I thought JOM looked a cut above the rest :drunk:
Worpel & Cousins provided excellent support
Sicily showed he's a weapon and I think belongs in defense
Bruest was back to his silk best
Impey was amazing in defense and looks set for a big year
Stratton did his usual blanketing job on Overhyped Eddie
Roughy looked a step up from last year, continuing his good preseason form

Clarko is the real star. I have no idea how he does it when so many other coaches struggle to, but for 10+ years we've rarely had cause to doubt the professionalism and application of the teams he's put out on the park. He gives them every chance to succeed and you can't ask for more than that.

It’s a huge win and but something I think that a lot are forgetting is the effect Sammy Mitchell would’ve had on that victory. The young guys would’ve leant on him immensely this week and during the game. If Clarko is the little master the Sammy is the master blaster (vocally and physically) 😂

It's official, Adelaide are Hawthorn's bitch.

This.

I couldn’t understand why all of the experts and betting agencies gave us no love. Our recent record against Adelaide BEFORE today’s game was absolutely outstanding - nine of the last ten, and three from three over there. We improved that today, to ten from eleven, and four from four.

Yet he debuted in the same year as Roughy and they have both kicked the same number of goals.....

I though it would be a little fun to go over for a stroll to the Adelaide board.

Didn't even get through the first page without laughing my backside off, the melts are of epic proportions.

It seems as though Adelaide supporters think the same of their captain and club, as the supporters of the 17 other clubs do.

Comedy at it's finest, now excuse me while I mosey on back and finish reading the thread.

20190323_202125.jpg

20190323_202312.jpg

Gunner was a bit underdone.

He did look a bit rusty but he still played well despite not being 100% fit yet. He could've easily been the best forward on the ground if not for his inaccuracy.

19 disposals - 6 marks - 3 tackles - 1 goal - 4 behinds

So good. Dons fans telling me all week we’d get done by 10 goals. EAD you campaigners.

Worpel unbelievable. I love this club. Undermanned. Underrated. Too ferken good.

Oh, and imagine being a Dees fan? campaigners can EAD too.
Where's jobe Watson? That clown is obsessed with trolling us at any given opportunity he even did it today bringing up Burton and how dumb we are for shipping him off. EAD you moron.

I loved the game but given there are all these posts out here (rightfully!) calling out the boys for a great win, I thought there were a few negatives we need to address going forward
  1. O'Meara was outstanding, but he did try and do too much at times, and a couple of times took the selfish option instead of looking for a teammate in better position
  2. Burgoyne's kicking has gone downhill pretty quickly. I noticed it last year, especially with his long kicking and he missed quite a few targets today that he'd normally nail
  3. We fumbled the ball a lot at ground level, especially Rough and Sicily. It didn't hurt today but it might.

All in all I'd definitely take that. I've got a huge 07 vibe about this season. So many young players coming of age and a couple of wise heads to lead us on. We will be inconsistent I reckon through the year but you can see the quality in players like Morrison, Worpel, Nash, O'Meara etc. Get another 20 games into them and we'll be thereabouts next year.

Autopsy Round 1 2019: Hawks defeats the Crows