Round 1 - Richmond vs. Carlton

Richmond will win this by a coupla goals. Will be pissing down rain and an ugly scrappy game. One of Cousins or Judd will be injured. Crystal ball told me so.:cool:

For all you Carlton idiots that think you will win this easy think again as it wont happen. You would be lucky to win let alone by alot. But i guess all Carlton fans must be idiots its just normal. Tigers by afew goals.

hear hear

tight...it will be even right up until 3 quarter time like both of last years game..and then come down to who can keep going in the last. On that it has to be Richmond...not biased...but our backline is more capable and settled then the blues. I also reckon our mids can easily take it up to blues mids.

Disposal has to be spot on. Courage has to be shown and accuracy in front. That all in place Tiges will start the campaign well and prove Connolly's ladder prediction wrong.

4-5 goals is not a cracker. 4-5 points maybe...

Remember a young Blues side beat a full strength, maxed-out Richmond side in their last encounter by about 30 points, and that was with a Carlton side without Judd and a few others. Have the Tiges actually improved their list this year? Looks much the same. A 5 goal win by the Blues is very conservative given the Blues large and growing list talent advantage. But footy is a funny game, especially in these early season games, so anything can happen on the day I guess. :)

hear hear

tight...it will be even right up until 3 quarter time like both of last years game..and then come down to who can keep going in the last. On that it has to be Richmond...not biased...but our backline is more capable and settled then the blues. I also reckon our mids can easily take it up to blues mids.

Thats one of the funniest things I have read all week.

I think the 1st quarter will be very scrappy as a lot of the young blokes will be very nervous in front of a sold out G.
Then look for the Carlton mids to take control and I reckon we'll win by 4 to 5 goals.

it's going to be an awesome game. I know round 1 is always highly anticipated but this year's hype seems to be through the roof.

I'm not going to make any stupid bias predictions like "tigers by 10 goals" because both sides look pretty even at the moment.

I don't get why it seems only carlton supporters are predicting wins by a large margin. Over confident for no apparant reason.

Midfield battle is a beauty, both sides have plenty of talent there, I'm really dissapointed we will be missing Cotchin as his value shouldn't be underestimated.

Both teams have a couple of key players out, I can't pick our round 1 team as there's too many close calls.

I think we'l win, Carlton's best 3 might be better than our best 3 but over the 22 (and both team's entire lists) i think we have more depth and more established players.

Could go either way, if Fev doesn't kick a few then they'l struggle to find enough goals (that said Fev's a gun and will be hard to stop so probably count him for atleast 4 goals.). I think if it's down to the last few minutes we have a bit more experience to win it.

Tigers by 6 points.

Let's see. You have Judd, Gibbs and Murphy. We have Deledio, Foley, Tuck and Cousins.

You forgot to mention Heath Scotland and Kade Simpson for Carlton.

And if you are going to include a player like Foley then you can also add to the Carlton list players like Chris Johnson, Adam Bentick, Andrew Walker and Richard Hadley.

There is no doubt you have a good core of mids with Deledio and Cousins but the depth is no match for Carltons.

Also has Cousins played a full match yet in preseason? His match fitness to run out a full game could be doubtfull.

I think the 1st quarter will be very scrappy as a lot of the young blokes will be very nervous in front of a sold out G.
Then look for the Carlton mids to take control and I reckon we'll win by 4 to 5 goals.

How is it funny in any way?

Carlton have some very good mids, but the Tigers are pretty evenly matched in that department, especially if Cousins can live up to his considerable hype. Deledio is poised to become one of the best players in the comp, Foley can destroy opposition sides if he is turned on, Tuck is one of the more underrated players in the comp and Richmond also have the advantage of having a far better ruckman to tap it down to them. Carlton will also be weakened by the loss of Stevens, who was best on ground for mine last time the two teams played. I'm predicting a very close battle in the middle, and indeed all around the ground.

How good do you think your midfield is? Richmond have mids more than capable of competing and even beating Carlton's.

And if you are going to include a player like Foley then you can also add to the Carlton list players like Chris Johnson, Adam Bentick, Andrew Walker and Richard Hadley.

There is no doubt you have a good core of mids with Deledio and Cousins but the depth is no match for Carltons.

Also has Cousins played a full match yet in preseason? His match fitness to run out a full game could be doubtfull.

Foley is a league ahead of those players. If we're going to be saying anybody who can rotate through the midfield, add Richo, Tambling, White, Edwards, Jackson, Raines, Newman, Polo. See, it's easy to list off every player in the team.

How good do you think your midfield is? Richmond have mids more than capable of competing and even beating Carlton's.

Considering we have 1 of the top 2 players in the comp leading the way. Gibbs and Murphy who are superstars and others already mentioned. I reckon it is pretty good mate.

I must admit the shortage of an A grade ruckman is a worry and Simmonds will clearly win in the ruck on Thursday.

And if you are going to include a player like Foley then you can also add to the Carlton list players like Chris Johnson, Adam Bentick, Andrew Walker and Richard Hadley.....

Also throw in Grigg and Mitch Robinson. Grigg's taken his game to a new level and is pushing toward the Murph and Gibbs class level. Mitch Robinson is all class, and looks like being the steal of the draft. Walker's set for a huge year, and Hadley has been outstanding in the pre-season. The Blues not only have outstanding elite midfielders, but their 2nd tier midfielders are also quality and better than most other midfields in the AFL. Other young future midfielders hoping for an opportunity include Browne, Joseph, and Yarran. The Blues recruitment has been outstanding. BTW never rated Tuck as a midfielder - his disposal is poor and was terrible in the last game Blues V Tiges. Like Foley's determination, but his kicking lets him down. Stevens destroyed him last time. Who else? Seems everything is resting on Cousins shoulders at Tigerland. Big ask for a 31 year old who has been out of the game for 2 years. :)

Considering we have 1 of the top 2 players in the comp leading the way. Gibbs and Murphy who are superstars and others already mentioned. I reckon it is pretty good mate.

I must admit the shortage of an A grade ruckman is a worry and Simmonds will clearly win in the ruck on Thursday.

Judd isn't top two anymore, and Gibbs and Murphy haven't reached Superstar status just yet (While they are very good). At their collective peak, Carlton's might edge out the Tigers', but Richmond is capable of winning the contest in the middle.

I think a lot depends on Cousins. If he plays to 80% of his ability then it's 50/50 all the way.

Will be a great game to watch. I can't get over these silly Carlton supporters, Thinking the match will be a blow out in there favour. If cartlon were to win they would have to rely on Judd and Fevola to smash it.

Richmond by 17 points

Foley is a league ahead of those players. If we're going to be saying anybody who can rotate through the midfield, add Richo, Tambling, White, Edwards, Jackson, Raines, Newman, Polo. See, it's easy to list off every player in the team.

Richo(Has been a great player and was freakish last year but I doubt he can match last years effort being another year older), Tambling(You have got to be kidding), White(Never heard of him), Edwards(Never heard of him), Jackson(Never heard of him), Raines(Isn't he a backman??), Newman(Isn't he a backman??), Polo.

Out of the list you gave you have got Polo to add to the rotation. Half the list struggles to stay in the senior side. Some of the others are backman.

Nice try though.

Judd didn't even play last time, and Fev had minimal impact, and we still won by about 30 points against a full-strength Richmond side. So your logic is a little flawed. More based on hope I suspect. :)

Dude just watch the match. Who won round 1 last year? To a full strength Carlton team?

Round 1 - Richmond vs. Carlton