Preview Round 13, 2023 : Hawthorn v Brisbane, 1:45pm Sat 10th June, MCG

Just left training,

Counted about 36 out there. Good vibes.

Frosty and Brocky on the sidelines not training.

Ryan doing a lot of work leading out of the square and has a beautiful kick on him. Very fluent compared to Ramma.

If I were a betting man Chad will come in this week. Doing a lot of running work and goal kicking.

Seamus looks the goods and right to go .

Wardy did an extended piece with Reeves and Meeky.

I think we might see 4 changes this week.

Just left training,

Ryan doing a lot of work leading out of the square and has a beautiful kick on him. Very fluent compared to Ramma.

If I were a betting man Chad will come in this week. Doing a lot of running work and goal kicking.

I wouldn't read anything into Frost and Brocky not doing anything at this stage of the week

G'day hawks fans

Interesting to see a few tipping an upset - but then no surpise given you have won 3 in a row against us.

It's definitely a danger game. Hawks have been very good in patches. Like any young team they have down periods / lapses, but the good sign is getting some wins, some close losses AND when blown out of the water early winning second halves. All the sorts of things that come when a team is re-building successfully.

I've seen a few comments re our defence - it's been a problem in the past, it seems improved this year. We did leak a bit last week v Adelaide without Payne who should be back this week. Like any team if it comes in really quickly re struggle a bit but i don't think it's a big weakness any more, although a few of us lions fans think Rich is starrting to struggling a bit with the pace of the game

Daniher and Cameron have easily been our best forwards. Sicily back is huge, i assume he gets Hipwood as he smashed him last time, and try to play off him. Hipwood has been competing well but pretty lean for goals. Gunston is struggling a lot. The lions brainstrust says he creates space and has forward craft. He is looking very slow and struggling to convert his few opportunities. He was a gun at Hawthorn and tormented us for years but looks a long way off it right now.

Midfield is an interesting battle - hawks look very different there is year and been going pretty well. Dunkley has been our big in, Ashcroft good at times but seems to struggle away from home. I think teams who soft tag Neale usually go better against, would Nash be the player doing that?

Lewis looks very good these days, I expect Payne to get the job who has been excellent but coming back from concussion. Kozzie has played some good games but seems down on form?

Scrimshaw i see is out of favour - surprised as he has always looked pretty talented to me.

Anyway looking forward to a rare trip the mcg. A bit nervous but given the difference in experience, and the fact we are coming off a bye against a young side pre bye, should be enough to get a win.

But i have far too much scar tissue against hawthorn in the past few years to be confident...

Reckon that Scrimmers wouldn't scrap to keep the ball in the forward line. Lacks a second effort and hardly ever tackles.
[/QUOTE]

He’d take marks, bring the ball to ground and is an accurate kick. In an experimental year I can’t see the harm, has done well when thrown forward previously and a lot better option than throwing Frost forward who contests but misses the simplest of goals.

First game against Brisbane at the MCG with a crowd since Round 12 2012. :eek:

The only meeting there since was Round 1 2020.

Other than that, every "home" game against the Lions since the beginning of 2013 has been in Launceston.
The other amazing thing is we have played at the Gabba 3 times in 15 years

It is a ridiculous run of home games we have got against them

Cant believe how many people on here expecting Frost to be dropped this week. They play with 4 to 5 tall forwards. No chance Frost is getting dropped. Blanck, Sicily, Frost will play on the talls. Hardwick will play on Charlie Cameron, Impey, S Mitchell and Weddle to rebound and provide all the run off half back.

Is the problem with frost that we are needing him to be a lockdown defender when he is actually better at intercepting? He seemed out of position and constantly trying to find a body where his game style seems more suited to see ball get ball. So is it just a question of balance as we only have blanck as a pure defender then Sicily frost scrimshaw DGB who all do better intercepting. Surely there’s a defender we can get from the lower levels who comes in a does a job that we don’t need high picks for? I raised Jack Payne 2 years ago wouldn’t he be a great fit now for example.

You lost me as soon as you added Morrison to the INS list. Been there, seen that for 80 repetitive games. There's just not enough eliteness in him. I feel he's played his last games for Hawthorn.
No he hasn't.

Just left training,

any reason why brocky and frost didn't train? I really want brocky to play, always provides a spark.

Just left training,

Did you get a snag?

You lost me as soon as you added Morrison to the INS list. Been there, seen that for 80 repetitive games. There's just not enough eliteness in him. I feel he's played his last games for Hawthorn.

So delist most players who are not elite? Leaving the logic of that aside, the salary cap would burst.

I think people are generally too harsh on Frost.

His 'kamikaze' attack gets emphahsised and laughed at by commentators so much that people miss how good defensively he has been for us this year.

Yes, a stinker on the weekend but do people realise that Frost is 12th in the entire comp for intercepts? (ahead of Harris Andrews, Steven May, Jacob Weitering, Liam Jones, etc, etc) (He was 7th before the weekend).

For the most part, he has not only shut down his opponent but as instructed by Sam, played the ball on its merits and attacked the contest to intercept and take marks rather than just spoil and nullify.

The other key factor is that Hawthorn seriously lack AFL ready key position players at either end of the ground. We don't have someone in reserve able to be the big bodied defender playing on the opposition best tall. For the sake of our structure (including the freedom of Sicily and others), we need to give him another
Need to swallow our pride and make Wingard earn a place back in the team through good box hill form.
Hawks injury update says Wingard will be returning via BXH this week.

How many BOGs does he need to get before he pushes out Bramble/Amon/Impey/CJ/SMitchell/Butler or Moore? When I say it out loud doesn't sound great for him. I thought he was great early last year and embraced the new game plan.
I agree with that, so many players have gone past him now. Brambles spot is gettable for him though, for mine, the jury is still out on whether Bramble makes it. I feel a better option would be a Weddle or even CJ on a wing - still leaves Morrison without a spot.

On Pixel 7 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think people are generally too harsh on Frost.

His 'kamikaze' attack gets emphahsised and laughed at by commentators so much that people miss how good defensively he has been for us this year.

Yes, a stinker on the weekend but do people realise that Frost is 12th in the entire comp for intercepts? (ahead of Harris Andrews, Steven May, Jacob Weitering, Liam Jones, etc, etc) (He was 7th before the weekend).

For the most part, he has not only shut down his opponent but as instructed by Sam, played the ball on its merits and attacked the contest to intercept and take marks rather than just spoil and nullify.

The other key factor is that Hawthorn seriously lack AFL ready key position players at either end of the ground. We don't have someone in reserve able to be the big bodied defender playing on the opposition best tall. For the sake of our structure (including the freedom of Sicily and others), we need to give him another chance.
I get what you're saying and I'm cheering for him every game BUT, it's no good getting intercept marks if you're then going to make a mind boggling decision or horrible skill error (or a combination of both) and give it straight back to the opposition.

Where does he sit for turnovers that lead to an opposition score?

It's not like it's occasionally either, it's every game - usually multiple times.

I do not hate him and want him to succeed but I just cannot see success with him in the side the way he is playing right now.

On Pixel 7 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

So delist most players who are not elite? Leaving the logic of that aside, the salary cap would burst.
We have much younger players with such a higher ceiling that play in that position. Unless Morrsion was Elite (which he's clearly not) than I would rather we pump the next 2 seasons into these younger potential elite players. Amon is an elite winger so he deserves to own 1 wing. The other wing needs to be shared between Weddle, Day, Ward, MacDonald, Mackenzie, Jiath and Bramble. I'm pretty sure all them players would be much better players that Morrison at 80 games into their careers.

Good points. I see him as a solid B grade player and a developed list needs plenty of B graders. As you point out we are not there yet...

G'day hawks fans

Interesting to see a few tipping an upset - but then no surpise given you have won 3 in a row against us.

It's definitely a danger game. Hawks have been very good in patches. Like any young team they have down periods / lapses, but the good sign is getting some wins, some close losses AND when blown out of the water early winning second halves. All the sorts of things that come when a team is re-building successfully.

I've seen a few comments re our defence - it's been a problem in the past, it seems improved this year. We did leak a bit last week v Adelaide without Payne who should be back this week. Like any team if it comes in really quickly re struggle a bit but i don't think it's a big weakness any more, although a few of us lions fans think Rich is starrting to struggling a bit with the pace of the game

Daniher and Cameron have easily been our best forwards. Sicily back is huge, i assume he gets Hipwood as he smashed him last time, and try to play off him. Hipwood has been competing well but pretty lean for goals. Gunston is struggling a lot. The lions brainstrust says he creates space and has forward craft. He is looking very slow and struggling to convert his few opportunities. He was a gun at Hawthorn and tormented us for years but looks a long way off it right now.

Midfield is an interesting battle - hawks look very different there is year and been going pretty well. Dunkley has been our big in, Ashcroft good at times but seems to struggle away from home. I think teams who soft tag Neale usually go better against, would Nash be the player doing that?

Lewis looks very good these days, I expect Payne to get the job who has been excellent but coming back from concussion. Kozzie has played some good games but seems down on form?

Scrimshaw i see is out of favour - surprised as he has always looked pretty talented to me.

Anyway looking forward to a rare trip the mcg. A bit nervous but given the difference in experience, and the fact we are coming off a bye against a young side pre bye, should be enough to get a win.

But i have far too much scar tissue against hawthorn in the past few years to be confident...
Good post. A few things.

Nash should go to Neale as you pointed out. He's had a good year curbing the influence of the Bont/Petracca-types and getting plenty of the ball himself. If no one from your team goes to Will Day, then they should. He's an absolute gun who can be a matchwinner, but is unfortunately seemingly easy to tag out of the contest for now. I don't know how Ross Lyon missed that detail.

If Hawks are going to get on top, it's going to be on the back of the usual suspects. Day and Newcombe getting creative on the back of good grunt work, and bringing others into the game.

Apart from Sicily and Impey down back and Lewis and Breust up front, the rest of the team is pretty inexperienced and just improving week by week. Moore has been hot and cold.

Over the past 7-8 weeks we've been a really competitive midfield unit, it's our biggest strength. But Port showed that if we get beaten in there, things can get ugly.

The other amazing thing is we have played at the Gabba 3 times in 15 years

It is a ridiculous run of home games we have got against them
A stat which shits me to tears. All down to the Tassie deal I believe. :mad:

I've pretty much lost my 10 year son to the NRL (my wife is a Qlder and follows Broncos) as its impossible to beat seeing every game either live on TV or at the Stadium. He pays only a passing interest to that other team he's seen live once in a blue moon when he was younger.

Sorry to rant but it's become a big sore point for me over the years. I feel like a generation of potential Hawthorn supporters has been lost up here because so many kids born during this time to Hawthorn supporting parent(s) have lost interest because we are never here. Absolutely shits me.