Preview Round 16 vs. Gold Coast, PFS, 4:35pm Saturday 29/06

Ben King hurt his knee at training last week, I'm guessing he will miss this weeks game and be touch and go against us.
Yeah this one’s been really quiet. I’d imagine he won’t be travelling this weekend and will be unlikely against us based on the early reporting. It seemed as scary as Naughton’s.

With Gold Coast having Witts and Moyle as dominant big rucks , it was a bit scary how bad Kreuger was in the ruck yesterday.
Not sure we can afford him in the ruck against Suns
The two have never played together 😂

Twisting yourself in knots over something like this that won’t happen is odd.

This was my take as well. The catch is it lands his 400th v Sydney if he misses v GC and whilst I’m not normally big on that stuff my gut feel is if it’s line ball they might navigate it to be v Carlton. Which means he starts or ends with the vest on v GC.
I think they’d prefer his 400th against Carlton, but if not I reckon they’ll engineer it so that it falls against Brisbane at the G the week after the Sydney game.

The latest update hints towards him missing so I agree it’s more likely to be Brisbane for his 400th. That said I’d never write off his powers of recovery.

It's no co-incidence our midfield has gone to a new level since JDG got injured.
If he plays middle with Nick, he is second fiddle now.....post JDG back, i don't think he knows how to play this role.

Players have said last year it was "hit it to Jordy".....that's not the case anymore.

Also no co-incidence he played fwd / roll up high against ADL.
We need a new weapon.....every year teams win it with something different from the year before.
Someone pops up and has a career year or does something very different.

I'd be giving this a few weeks once JDG is back to see how it looks.

Changing the mids back to JDG / Nick combo is changing something that has been winning.
We've been blocking for Nick to flash through the ball drop and then continue to track the footy. You don't think Jordy could block for Nick and then provide a better contest if it doesn't fall for Nick than Sullivan and Finn offer?

Moore is shockingly out of form.
But still creates drive. Frampton can not do anything but defend. And like i say good on him. He is a premiership player. But he has absolutely no skill. Could not out mark an opponent or kick to.position to save himself I'd leave Dean back.
A guy like Jiath is the future. We struggled today with an alarming amount of players out and the depth isn't up for it.
Great win and we challenge again. But we are seriously looking at a West coast cliff if you think frampton is a mainstay
Great call on Darcy . some of his decision making and skills this year has been horrendous .

The two have never played together 😂

Twisting yourself in knots over something like this that won’t happen is odd.
If you think you can manage the ruck minutes so Kreuger never takes on Witts all power to you.
Kreuger was embarrassed against the North back up rucks regardless

78 points
Is that even legal? Feel like the Suns should be gifted a 50 point handicap /sarcasm :drunk:

No stress on the fact we won last year. So far the Suns have a different coach, so are less of a basket case. Given the different weather up there, out of a frigid Melbourne winter, we don’t want to turn into Geelong, and get slaughtered in the tropic thunder…

Glad they don’t have Gary Ablett Jr anymore, either. I still haven’t recovered from 2013-14, and 2021 during COVID, at the ‘G 😭

Shout out to mods as well. Why am I getting roped into Sydney swans threads still? I’ve never even been onto their board, let alone any other board than Collingwood. I can’t seem to unsubscribe to them, despite having never subscribed?

Is that even legal? Feel like the Suns should be gifted a 50 point handicap /sarcasm :drunk:

No stress on the fact we won last year. So far the Suns have a different coach, so are less of a basket case. Given the different weather up there, out of a frigid Melbourne winter, we don’t want to turn into Geelong, and get slaughtered in the tropic thunder…

Glad they don’t have Gary Ablett Jr anymore, either. I still haven’t recovered from 2013-14, and 2021 during COVID, at the ‘G 😭

Shout out to mods as well. Why am I getting roped into Sydney swans threads still? I’ve never even been onto their board, let alone any other board than Collingwood. I can’t seem to unsubscribe to them, despite having never subscribed?
Same here mate. The Swans are that up and about they've hacked the Bigfooty servers too

If you think you can manage the ruck minutes so Kreuger never takes on Witts all power to you.
Kreuger was embarrassed against the North back up rucks regardless
Xerri is embarrassing a lot of 1st rucks this year let alone 2nd rucks and it’s more about the ground level work anyway (Healy’s in game stat re 60% of our scores coming in the 20% of time Wardlaw spent off the ground was staggering). Walter also won’t “embarrass” Kreuger.

On the list of red flags heading into this match our 2nd ruck is a long way down. For me no Pendles or Mitchell to lean on Rowell would be far more concerning because it’s likely to have a far greater impact on the contest if it’s left to a Sullivan/ Macrae (Rowell>>Wardlaw). GC are a quality unit on their home deck so to me it makes more sense to discuss stuff that will actually impact the contest as opposed to a made up concern you have.

Of course Xerri would beat Kreuger. I was referring to North’s other rucks who also smashed him

You mean Teakle a ruckman? Let’s drill down on it. In the circa 15-20 mins maybe of matchtime he has through the ruck it’s going to be at least 10 against one of Day, Read or Walter who have a combined 43 hitouts from 16 combined games. That’s how marginal this is!

You’ve got actual concerns like Rowell’s ball winning or Flanders rebound or Collins intercepting or Jeffrey’s creativity or King’s scoreboard impact or Anderson’s game breaking to be considering. Nah let’s discuss the 4-5 hitouts we’re going to conceded with Kreuger through the ruck 🤦‍♂️

Teakle is also a proper ruckman though. Barely any teams have 2 proper ruckman.
And also a bit of an anomaly given it’s the first time this year North have used two rucks. Their preferred structure was Xerri/ CCJ. I’ve got us, Essendon, Fremantle and Carlton as the only clubs who would genuinely consider using two ruckman if everyone had a full list to choose from. The rest do it out of necessity or not at all.

How is Richards for Sullivan sideways? Richards is much better than him

Richards is an inexperienced player (3 games) who will have been out for a month.

Likely the coaches will want him to come back in via the VFL.

Sullivan had a shocker, the first half every time he touched the ball he turned it over or got caught with it.
But then there are several posters on here more than happy with his second half performance. Was he instrumental in letting an opponent off the leash then reining him back in after half time? Before we omit Sullivan, shouldn't we decide if he is in fact next in line to be dropped?