Disposal by hand and foot is pure A grade.Kid was all class in the last. I thought his disposal was really solid in the end and looked like he had a dry footy whilst everyone else was working with a wet one.
Missing Bramble, Day, Wingard and McEvoy - All in our best 22
The only thing stopping him from becoming a quality AFL mid is his disposal at times. Has good penetration on his kicking but sometimes blazes too much.Incredible win.
That was so much fun. Newcombe is an absolute beast. What a find.
We made him accountable in the last and it helped turn the tide. Still had his moments but we made it harder for him. You can see without his influence they lacked spark. Bit of a reliance on too fewWell blow me over
Reeves went down and I thought fu**
What a great win - never gave in
Went back to how they started and played the game on their terms
Now all we need to do is stop kicking it straight to Tom Stewart
Underrated post. His work at ground level was super impressive.Thought that was just about Mitch Lewis' best game for us
He should be embarrassedJohn Ralph just said Hawkins will be fined for his dive.
Jake Bowey(Melb) has stolen his winning form from the beginning of his career and his mojo.View attachment 1377313
Spy footage of Selwood in an unusual Cats training drill this week.
I actually thought he was ok. Was their best midfielder across the game. When he isn't playing for free kicks he's a good footballer. The issue for Scott and Selwood is he normally relishes the dogfight with us and today didn't seem up for it in the crunch moments. It's a sign he is certainly past it and shows the leadership vacuum they have down there. Stewart should be captain now.A typical miserable Melbourne day, we’ve gone from Summer to Winter in a week, at least we weren’t in danger of getting sunburned!
1. I love hard fought, come-from-behind games like that, particularly against a club that considers us to be a rival: I hope the Cats enjoy the rivalry, we don’t even notice.
2. We conceded the lead several times, the comeback was all hard work across the whole team. I always feel the Hawks will come back, last week was an aberration. Everyone contributed, such a great team effort. And we finished with a bang!
3. Jai Newcombe is a player for the future, just needs to improve his decision making, and he’ll be there.
4. Selwood is a sad leftover of a footballer: I guess he doesn’t get the free kicks, and then has no influence on the game, and it’s been like that for a few years. I wonder if Scott will be brave enough to drop him.
Go Hawks!
To come back after dropping that mark late in the game to impose himself on the next couple of contests he was involved in had me excited. Shows real leadership at his age to not let the disappointment get to him and just move on to the next contest.So happy that some of the players who struggled with fumbles and errors in the second and third (Cmac, Morrison, DGB) all had some really important moments in the last.
The growth in matches like this is the reason why we won’t be rebuilding for long.
Also love Ward’s balance and composure at the contest. Is extremely clever not to give away frees but still have an impact. Something that our previous midfield have struggled with.
I am also hoping Downie can get a gig and he and Bramble become our two running wingman.Wingard, Day and Bramble to come back over the next few weeks to add some much needed speed on the flanks.
He would be currently feverishly working on some “Debbie Downer” as we speak.Is Hodgeyroad around ?? Someone please check they are ok
Wow! what a great call. We were only 4 goals up with him in the ruck in a single quarter, and lost the rest of the game overall when he was not in the ruck as you say.Great win, I reckon we are better with Reeves not in the ruck. Hope it stays that way.
Loved standing at the HFF screaming hawk fans around the area. That's what its all about
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
Scrimmas crucial win with that loose ball running towards the cats goal should get heaps of recognition. Left his man to impact the contest in front of him which forced the ball into a contested situation which we were able to win. That ball gets behind him they run into an open goal.Breust has now kicked 10.2 for the year... his 2 points have been posters.
Lewis presented well all game and created contests didn't clunk those marks but still managed 3 goals, huge work rate.
Moore lightning again in the first half, lead the team again for score involvements currently 8th in the league.
Newcombe what more can you say, top 5 for distance covered and most meters gained on the ground.
MacDonald Some class ball movement that was utterly vital in the final quarter, was gliding on the grass when Geelong players were treading water
Worpel A huge comeback great attack on the ball, ball use still a concern but he has a place with that effort and attack.
Scrimshaw Was alright for the first 3 but stood up with smart ball use, tap on's and just getting a hand to the contest whenever the ball went near him in the last quarter.
No concern for Bradkli?Is Hodgeyroad around ?? Someone please check they are ok
What?Great win, I reckon we are better with Reeves not in the ruck. Hope it stays that way.
Yeh for me he is the best Backman going around, a hell of a player (pity he plays for Geelong but )They outplayed us in the 2nd and 3rd qtrs and it was only due to us losing Reeves. Once the team adjusted to the situation we backed our runners to finish off strong and that's what happened. Stewart was the only reason the wall didn't break completely. The guy is an immense player.
You were late to the game?Great win, I reckon we are better with Reeves not in the ruck. Hope it stays that way.
Loved standing at the HFF screaming hawk fans around the area. That's what its all about
Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk