Doing it for Kennythey fcuckin
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Doing it for Kennythey fcuckin
This is still a weak outcomeI don't think it's a specific margin per se where things topple over. But rather it will depend on the eye test. They need to be competitive and giving everything.
Earlier in the year they lost to GWS by under 4 goals but looked lifeless and played a beyond boring game style that day. Despite being a relatively small loss, the footy committee and Board were really quite angry about the result, which is why tensions flared 6 days later when they got smashed against Brisbane.
A game like the GWS one will also put Ken's job into a precarious position.
Mate they were never going to sack Ken in 2019 considering their debt levels in conjunction with his contract not ending until end of 2020 (with a trigger for 21).
The times Ken has been in a position where they could sack him have been:
- 2017 after the EF loss (in hindsight should have let him go then)
- end of 2020 season had they missed finals
- end of 2022 had they been able to get Clarkson (which was fortunate in hindsight because they don't get JHF if Clarkson joined Port)
- end of 2023 if they missed finals
- end of 2024 depending on a variety of results.
I am only speculating, but I would suggest a loss on Friday night most likely results in the announcement of a formal succession plan whereby Carr takes over as senior coach in 2026.
It's just lazy. Not happy with it at all.Regardless of what any of us want, Carr will be the next coach. Might as well make peace with it now to save yourself the angst later.
You say succession plans "has been tried and failed before."
Worked pretty well at Sydney with Longmire and Melbourne with Goodwin. Each situation is its own circumstance and should be looked upon as such.
Cant believe anyone is defending the possibility of this happening. Nothing about it feels like "Josh Carr is the best man for the job", just feels like the least labour intensive move. Entire coaching staff needs a complete clean out.It's just lazy. Not happy with it at all.
The club may be incredibly confident but the confidence I have in the club, given its ridiculous endorsement of Ken over the years & its appointment of very ordinary assistant coaches, is zero.A succession plan just doesn’t happen without the club being incredibly confident and convinced that they have their man to take them to the summit, which is the premiership.
As much as we have leaders like Koch, Richo, and CD who we don’t trust, as far as we as supporters can throw them. The club would have had to have done an external search by itself, or the club hired an agency to conduct that.
Well the right decision on Ken has been obvious for bloody years. No crystal ball was required and yet, here will still are, a total embarassment in finals & our players talking like 5 year olds.Like I said if we all had a crystal ball, we would all be winners and make the right decisons and choices.
I'm not sure I'm interpreting your first paragraph correctly. From what I've seen, which is limited to TV viewing as I sit in the Eastern stand, Ken does not appear to be involved in game day coaching strategy, his role is to encourage players from the bench. If Carr is not pulling all the strings is it a collective decision making process from within the coaches box?This idea that Carr is pulling all the strings from the box is fanciful. At the same time, Ken doesn't do a whole lot on the bench either.
They weren't happy because that was the game after the bye, the coaches and footy department in general were saying that things were going to look considerably different after the bye and that the team would be taking the game on more, but that game against GWS was as defensive as you could have possibly imagined.
So true re the Crows despite our pitiful record against them when they've been crap.We need to stop punishing ourselves, Ken will be here next year for reasons unknown to man.
Unfortunately it seems the people that can make the call on Ken's future at Port, are either weak, scared or stupid, they must be people who find it easier not to make a tough decision and not rock any boats. I feel for Tredda's but let's see if his stance softens any.
Who we gonna get crap isn't even justified when Carr is sitting right there and another year in the passenger seat may do more damage to his profile than good, especially if Port have an average to poor year, imo our draw was one of the easier ones this season. People's faith in Josh may get to the point where you may as well keep Hinkley.
David Koch's 20 year coach.
Wow even the Crows have played in a Grand Final in Ken's tenure at Port and not to long ago they graced themselves with a wooden spoon, make no mistake, Ken has gotten away with this sham because we for the most part have kept a higher position on the ladder than the Crows and wouldn't have been able to build a membership base full of happy Clappers.
When you put all this in perspective, the only conclusion that you can really draw is that the club have a government-departmentesque employee on 800k per annum who is only still here because he is part of the furniture and refuses to leave. A problem manifested by gross gross incompetence time and time again.I'm not sure I'm interpreting your first paragraph correctly. From what I've seen, which is limited to TV viewing as I sit in the Eastern stand, Ken does not appear to be involved in game day coaching strategy, his role is to encourage players from the bench. If Carr is not pulling all the strings is it a collective decision making process from within the coaches box?
More likely the club thought they would have better control over Primus. Ain'tThe club thought that Primus interviewed better.
Ken was smart enuf to work out a strategy to survive & thats where his smarts end. And his strategy had nothing to do with achieving ultimate team success. He's made the players soft mentally & the place sounds more like a child care centre.When you put all this in perspective, the only conclusion that you can really draw is that the club have a government-departmentesque employee on 800k per annum who is only still here because he is part of the furniture and refuses to leave. A problem manifested by gross gross incompetence time and time again.
The Hinkley family are expert grifters.Ken was smart enuf to work out a strategy to survive & thats where his smarts end. And his strategy had nothing to do with achieving ultimate team success. He's made the players soft mentally & the place sounds more like a child care centre.
Agree that they are 2 different skills. Irrespective of him being OK at reading the game (his interviews over 10+ years suggest otherwise), the fact he is shocking at doing anything about it, & yet is still at our club, is an indictment on the decisions makers. The lack of ambition at our club to win a premiership is so distressing.It's this, 100%. He tinkers over the off season and makes a few changes, but as soon as things go a bit pear shape he reverts to type. Happens every season.
Fwiw, the people telling me about Ken's ability to read the game do not want to keep him as coach if it were up to them. This isn't me getting this from a few executives who know nothing about footy and are using this to justify his tenure.
Zero benefit. See above reply in this post.
I vehemently disagree with the initial statement.
Reading the game and identifying what is going on is a completely separate issue to being able to implement changes within your system and adapt during games.
Taking a crude analogy, I saw a burst water main on South road yesterday. I personally have no idea how that gets fixed to the intricate details, but I can see that it needs fixing.
Hinkley is a horrible game day coach and has been quoted as saying he doesn't believe that coaches have much impact on game day anyway.
Sickening. The lack of respect Aust wide for our club is astounding. Guess you reap what you sow.View attachment 2114784
Hmmmm 4 GF & 1 Flag in 14 years = Fears for Legacy
vs
0 GF in (so far) 12 years = who ya gonna get / he saved the club / not in SANFL anymore
2015 was the year Ken lost his mind & totally through the game plan out the window.Honestly I reckon he is spot on.
Ken came in fresh in 13, we looked like a team on the rise in 13 and 14. 15 and 16 injuries hit and 2017 was the year that it was time to change direction. Then its 8 years of treading water and shitting on fans and history.
Now that sounds more likelyNo, the story is that the club got spooked by Scott saying that he needed good assistants
The only knowledge I've gained from Ken over the last 10 years (2015 onwards) is that he's an incoherent loser.View attachment 2115279
And on the one or two occasions he’s been pressed to elaborate beyond the usual superficial platitudes, he sounded no more astute than his predecessor.
Never attended these seminars despite the hype around them. From what I heard from posters they were total BS.Apart from the two ‘WORLD FIRST MEMBERS’ SEMINARS’ that featured all manner of complicated information and minutiae from top-to-bottom with ginned up talk of premierships and whatnot, only to then turn around after spectacular flameouts and play the “but we’re so young!” card despite rolling with a first team stacked with 30 year olds throughout.
TOO FUNNYHelp me Obi-Wan-WestCoasti, you're my only hope
If he isn't gone by Wednesday lunch we're in trouble.There's been a disturbing lack of sacking so far