Opinion Sack Hinkley 8 - "Ask me in August"

What happens to Hinkley at the end of the year?

Mate I would have happily won one during COVID - 2020 PF against Richmond still burns in the gut as being the one that got away!!!
I think I'm still one of the only people that isn't fussed by that one. I think we win the PF and get smashed by Geelong the next week. They absolutely hammered us in 2020 in QLD. I think on neutral turf they would've hammered us.

Despite all our advantages I dont think we would've won 2020 or 2021 even if we got there. We were consistent but never convincing.

I think people stress way too much about it - we would have lost to Geelong in the GF.

I reckon the one that got away was 2014 - because we could have beaten Sydney.
Nah.

Sydney just beat us at the SCG, which was a classic, but then thumped us at home that year. I think on the MCG they won comfortably.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

I do laugh a little bit when Crows supporters speak about our club.

"Oh there a rabble down there"
"They should focus on footy and not on the guernsey and heritage"

This is coming from a club which has won something 19 of their last 67 games.

You're club is not just a rabble but irrelevant.

Keep out of our business.

Nah.

Sydney just beat us at the SCG, which was a classic, but then thumped us at home that year. I think on the MCG they won comfortably.

Its not a guarantee, but they got hammered in the final against Hawthorn.

Its hard to remember just how much momentum we had at that point. Jake Neade was turning everything in to absolute gold up forward and we had a belief around the team that had us running through brick walls.

I think we win that one more than we lose it, but it definitely wasn't a lock.

I love the selective nature of Koch. Maybe in addition to a prelim every 3 years (which is technically untrue) he should say we haven't even made finals EVERY SECOND YEAR.
What about no grand final appearance for 16 years?

I think I'm still one of the only people that isn't fussed by that one. I think we win the PF and get smashed by Geelong the next week. They absolutely hammered us in 2020 in QLD. I think on neutral turf they would've hammered us.

Despite all our advantages I dont think we would've won 2020 or 2021 even if we got there. We were consistent but never convincing.

Well you sure have no chance of winning the grand final if you aren't playing in it.

I think we would've been a decent chance against Geelong in 2020. Yeah they smashed us during the season but we did beat them in the QF. And remember this was a pre Jeremy Cameron Geelong that wasn't as strong as the one that won the flag last year.

We were never winning in 2021. The Melbourne fairytale was never going to be stopped once it got rolling.

This morning Koch on FiveAA
“Ken is the coach of the football club for this year and it’s round 3 for goodness sake,” Koch told FIVEaa.

“We always respect the views of our past legends.

“Tredders has a view, (Power premiership teammate) Kane Cornes has exactly the opposite view and … has come out quite critically against Tredders, (commentator) Gerard Whateley, even (former Crows captain) Mark Bickley has said they were just stupid comments.

“I think the massive opinion of everybody to the comments of Warren are that you are crazy to make any judgments after three rounds.

“Warren is a highly respected legend of the club but there’s lots of other highly respected legends of the club that support what the club is doing and totally disagree with Warren.”

Koch said losing a Showdown, particularly in its traditional prison-bar guernsey, was disappointing but it was early in a very long campaign.

Ken and the team need to get on with the job and need time to breathe, and get into the season,” he said.

“We all knew we had one of the toughest opening five, six rounds.

“I expect the team to respond accordingly on Saturday night against the Swans at the SCG.”

Its clear as day Koch needs to be removed as well from the top post!

Imagine pushing the idea that reaching the 2021 preliminary final was a success.
That's a bit like arguing Flight MH -370 was a successful flight because it got off the ground.

"it was a successful year in terms of win/loss!"

- 200 game veteran, brownlow medallist Ollie "never played in a grand final" wines

I only tuned in for the final minute or two. My notes:
  • Koch calls Warren Tredrea "crazy" for judging Ken Hinkley after three rounds.
  • He claims the club always knew they faced a "tough draw in the first six rounds".
  • "Warren Tredrea has a podcast to advertise".
  • He says supporters are "emotional after a Showdown loss", and that 'he gets emotional too'.
  • "It's round three of a very long season, and we have to give our team the absolute best chance of succeeding".
  • "It's up to [the players] to bounce back from that, and play the Port Adelaide way".
  • He continues to blame the players by singling out the efforts of Charlie Dixon and Sam Powell-Pepper, saying they had no support.
  • He uses our 0-5 start last year as an example of Ken not losing the playing group.
  • "It's round three!"
  • "IT'S ROUND THREE! IT'S CRAZY!"
  • He uses Kane Cornes, Mark Bickley, Ollie Wines as examples of people who think Warren Tredrea is "crazy".
  • "Yes, Warren is a legend of the club, but there are plenty of other legends of the club who think Warren is wrong".
I'd love to snot this prick. For all our hate and blame of Ken, this guy is the #1 villain. I don't see anything changing with just a new coach, he needs to go 100%. He is the problem.

Sometimes I wonder if Kochie is a secret Crows plant/double agent, sent to destroy Port Adelaide from within

images

We at Carlton have had some bum presidents/chairmen at the club over the years (Collins, Smorgon etc) but at least us members had the ability and means to turf them out via our constitutional members rights.

Really puzzles and bewilders me why both SA clubs members don't have the same rights to decide their board and Chairperson make up either. Gil the Dildo (aka Gildo) doesn't seem to give a contential about it either.

This morning Koch on FiveAA
“Ken is the coach of the football club for this year and it’s round 3 for goodness sake,” Koch told FIVEaa.

“We always respect the views of our past legends.

“Tredders has a view, (Power premiership teammate) Kane Cornes has exactly the opposite view and … has come out quite critically against Tredders, (commentator) Gerard Whateley, even (former Crows captain) Mark Bickley has said they were just stupid comments.

“I think the massive opinion of everybody to the comments of Warren are that you are crazy to make any judgments after three rounds.

“Warren is a highly respected legend of the club but there’s lots of other highly respected legends of the club that support what the club is doing and totally disagree with Warren.”

Koch said losing a Showdown, particularly in its traditional prison-bar guernsey, was disappointing but it was early in a very long campaign.

Ken and the team need to get on with the job and need time to breathe, and get into the season,” he said.

“We all knew we had one of the toughest opening five, six rounds.

“I expect the team to respond accordingly on Saturday night against the Swans at the SCG.”

Its clear as day Koch needs to be removed as well from the top post!
Did Kochie prompt an A.I to write the most rage inducing response ever?

Kane Cornes
Gerard Whateley
Mark Bickley

No. It’s not possible. Koch cannot have named those three as examples against Tredrea.

No one could. At least, not seriously.

Is this true?!

Sometimes I wonder if Kochie is a secret Crows plant/double agent, sent to destroy Port Adelaide from within

images

We at Carlton have had some bum presidents/chairmen at the club over the years (Collins, Smorgon etc) but at least us members had the ability and means to turf them out via our constitutional members rights.

Really puzzles and bewilders me why both SA clubs members don't have the same rights to decide their board and Chairperson make up either. Gil the Dildo (aka Gildo) doesn't seem to give a contential about it either.

Port supporters are widely known as some of the most passionate in the land. The amount of 10, 20, even 30 year members who have turfed their membership because of these clowns is incredible. They are actively trying to destroy the club. It's incredible.

I do laugh a little bit when Crows supporters speak about our club.

"Oh there a rabble down there"
"They should focus on footy and not on the guernsey and heritage"

This is coming from a club which has won something 19 of their last 67 games.

You're club is not just a rabble but irrelevant.

Keep out of our business.
Yeah agreed but as a organisation and player development they're ahead of us.

Someone with a profile needs to back Tredrea here. The silence is deafening.

The problem is everyone is just reading "sack him at round 3" which at first glance is ridiculous but if you actually listen to the rest of what he said it's not. Personally I think tredrea has gone too hard a bit early coz realistically no club is sacking a coach at round 3... But I'm just glad he's turned up the heat because there's no escape once we start getting flogged in winter and we're no chance. They have no option but to pull the trigger.

Even if you want to include prelims as a 'success measure', noting Premierships take precedent, we are still glaringly fcuking mediocre for Twinkle Fingers reign:

TeamPrelimsPremierships
1​
4​
3​
2​
3​
3​
3​
7​