Opinion Sack Hinkley 8 - "Ask me in August"

What happens to Hinkley at the end of the year?

Nobody wants to change what’s happening now.

We just don’t want to see the guy — who is increasingly being credited with the current invincibility despite it beginning immediately after he was quite visibly demoted from his usual matchday role — get rewarded for what is at best a partial influence that is unique in nature.

And well before the job is done.

Caroline Wilson was 100% right about Dew’s contract situation. And given her recent comments about Hinkley, that’s terrifying.
She had Dew sacked & Clarkson coaching the SUNS last year... throw enough arrows

She could’ve been used as a conduit to gauge Clarkson’s interest. There’s no doubt the SNUS admin has had their eye on a proper big fish for awhile.

Nobody wants to change what’s happening now.

We just don’t want to see the guy — who is increasingly being credited with the current invincibility despite it beginning immediately after he was quite visibly demoted from his usual matchday role — get rewarded for what is at best a partial influence that is unique in nature.

And well before the job is done.

Caroline Wilson was 100% right about Dew’s contract situation. And given her recent comments about Hinkley, that’s terrifying.

How are we 100% convinced it’s all Carr though?

I think it’s a good chance he has played a big role and his CV suggests he would be an excellent choice for us as senior coach.

But I’m not prepared to completely dismiss the role Ken has played.

Swapping Cornes and bassets roles around seemed logical at the time too and appears to have played a part.

And we were in this position in two out of the previous 3 seasons too, so It’s not the nobody saw coming streak that it is being made out to be either.

I’m pretty sure many on here keep banging on about sacking Hinkley immediately. It’s getting annoying and I probably should just remove myself from this thread as it is a bit of a downer.

That doesn't narrow it down Jimmy.
I vaguely heard this guy talking to Dwayno about it the other day, he said something about a family/lifestyle decision for the Hinkley's & he'd end up on the GC in the footy dept.

His claim to credibility was that he told Dwayne in advance of Hayes being picked.. which doesn't mean much more than he observed training & made a calculated guess.

Seems to marry up with what 66 was on about a few days ago.

Was a little funny how Whately this morning listed Hardwick and Hinkley as the main candidates, Josh Carr and a few others were mentioned, but he kept swinging between DH & KH with the former being the obvious choice but wouldn't discount Ken given he "has a heritage with the club" and then added "but surely not, and Port will see they have to sign him"

Given how the Hinkley Cuppers are in thick with him - admittedly I'm reading between the lines with very optimistic spectacles on - maybe there's a little bit more than the notional "we'll extend him after he makes finals" and Team Ken are pushing the message because for their mate it's not fait accompli that he stays on at Port

🤷‍♂️

Was a little funny how Whately this morning listed Hardwick and Hinkley as the main candidates, Josh Carr and a few others were mentioned, but he kept swinging between DH & KH with the former being the obvious choice but wouldn't discount Ken given he "has a heritage with the club" and then added "but surely not, and Port will see they have to sign him"

Given how the Hinkley Cuppers are in thick with him - admittedly I'm reading between the lines with very optimistic spectacles on - maybe there's a little bit more than the notional "we'll extend him after he makes finals" and Team Ken are pushing the message because for their mate it's not fait accompli that he stays on at Port

🤷‍♂️
I'm wearing the same glasses.

mood GIF

Boringly predictable I know. But cheap lols right.

How are we 100% convinced it’s all Carr though?

I think it’s a good chance he has played a big role and his CV suggests he would be an excellent choice for us as senior coach.

But I’m not prepared to completely dismiss the role Ken has played.

The one-on-one real time player-whispering and active instruction from the bench has clearly been a net benefit in isolation, versus the status quo.

How long that boost lasts without getting stale (we’re yet to endure a tough run where that could get annoying for frustrated players low on confidence and belief) is a lingering question we probably won’t get answered before the ultimate decision is made, for better or worse. Leaning ‘worse’.

Swapping Cornes and bassets roles around seemed logical at the time too and appears to have played a part.

I also don’t think it’s 100% Carr and rather a combination of younger, more tactically astute coaches (Bassett in particular) allowed to ‘cook’ without being overruled or subject to enforced paralysis now that the boss is on secondment. I have some decent mail regarding the latter point, but I appreciate this will be taken as apocryphal.

And we were in this position in two out of the previous 3 seasons too, so It’s not the nobody saw coming streak that it is being made out to be either.

Yeah, as I’ve always maintained, the talent has never been the issue. For me, there’s just far too much smoke regarding the wholesale changes that occurred after the horror fortnight of R2/R3 to believe Ken retains anything like the stranglehold on operations that he had prior.

It’s been 13 weeks of the sort of ‘shackles have been released’, ‘fresh voice’, ‘trying new things’, ‘struggling favourite(s) banished’ refresh usually associated with an outright sacking.

I’m pretty sure many on here keep banging on about sacking Hinkley immediately. It’s getting annoying and I probably should just remove myself from this thread as it is a bit of a downer.

Fair enough, but the thread is branded pretty clearly, and I reckon most of it mid-streak (ie El Scorcho, Schulzenfest) is tongue-in-cheek with the wider point being the dude still needs to vamoose.

Realistically, the SUNS vacancy and likely appointment of Hardwick is bad news for Sack Hinkley enthusiasts.

The prospect of Koch sacking Hinkley to appoint Hardwick, whilst still unlikely, was at least plausible. It would attract heat ala Harvey/Lyon at Freo but you could sell it as a ruthless decision in pursuit of success.

It's impossible to sell sacking Hinkley and appointing Carr given how this season has gone. It would be the most ruthless coach sacking in the history of the game and Koch isn't going to go from what he's been for a decade to that in the blink of an eye.

Our best hope now is a Hinkley extension with a succession plan to Carr after a year or two. But more likely it'll just be a 2-3 year Hinkley extension.

Speaking of Dwayno, listen to this media grab from Kochie from March about the folly of re-appointing coaches mid season...

Relevant section starts at 20.57

And for a perspective from those who know about the earlier days of the Suns and the way the AFL fecked them over worth listening to Blight's interview @00:44:00 and Campbell Brown @1:15:00

Realistically, the SUNS vacancy and likely appointment of Hardwick is bad news for Sack Hinkley enthusiasts.

The prospect of Koch sacking Hinkley to appoint Hardwick, whilst still unlikely, was at least plausible. It would attract heat ala Harvey/Lyon at Freo but you could sell it as a ruthless decision in pursuit of success.

It's impossible to sell sacking Hinkley and appointing Carr given how this season has gone. It would be the most ruthless coach sacking in the history of the game and Koch isn't going to go from what he's been for a decade to that in the blink of an eye.

Our best hope now is a Hinkley extension with a succession plan to Carr after a year or two. But more likely it'll just be a 2-3 year Hinkley extension.

I reckon it could be sold in a reasonably easy and plausible way. You push the idea that Ken decided to selflessly step back responsibilities this year in the hopes of mentoring Josh Carr to be head coach going forward, this still sells Hinkley as the "architect" of it all and doesn't diminish his input for the Hinkley lovers, and it automatically gives Carr appeal to that group.

Then, in the off season, if Hinkley gets signed by GC or whoever, you sell it as him realising he still has passion to go on or whatever. There would be some backlash, sure, but hopefully by then you've conditioned the majority of the supporter base to be pro-Carr so it doesn't matter too much.

Problem with it is it probably requires that being pushed as the narrative soon, because if you try and do the whole thing at the end of the season it won't work.

.... Anyway I don't trust Koch to do anything like this and I'm sure we'll sign a limp Hinkley for 4 years whilst Carr drives of to Richmond.

If Hardwick said that he wasn't interested in coaching the Suns who would be the second choice?

If its Hinkley then it opens the door for us. All it needs is a quiet phone call. Unfortunately it would probably be someone else. Everyone knows Stinkers is a dud.

I reckon it could be sold in a reasonably easy and plausible way. You push the idea that Ken decided to selflessly step back responsibilities this year in the hopes of mentoring Josh Carr to be head coach going forward, this still sells Hinkley as the "architect" of it all and doesn't diminish his input for the Hinkley lovers, and it automatically gives Carr appeal to that group.

Then, in the off season, if Hinkley gets signed by GC or whoever, you sell it as him realising he still has passion to go on or whatever. There would be some backlash, sure, but hopefully by then you've conditioned the majority of the supporter base to be pro-Carr so it doesn't matter too much.

Problem with it is it probably requires that being pushed as the narrative soon, because if you try and do the whole thing at the end of the season it won't work.

.... Anyway I don't trust Koch to do anything like this and I'm sure we'll sign a limp Hinkley for 4 years whilst Carr drives of to Richmond.

This all relies on Hinkley being happy to step away (which he isn't) or going to the SUNS (which he won't because Hardwick will be their man, which was the whole premise of my post).