Opinion Sack Hinkley 8 - "Ask me in August"

What happens to Hinkley at the end of the year?

Well... It's August. With games against Geelong at pussy park and the rampaging gws were about to turn a 13 game win streak into 5 losses in a row.

How many seasons is it where we've been at the pointy end through the first few months then fallen in a heap?

BYE BYE DONUT
I have just updated my work availability to every single weekend until October. Might as well earn some extra cash for a decent holiday.

I was a little bit shocked at how little i cared tonight. My passion for this club is gone and it's never coming back. They can sign him up for another 10 years for all i care. The idiot theatre goers that were courted by Koch post the Adelaide Oval move deserve this loser clown. They're a match made in heaven. Don't feel like this is my club anymore.
My passion is greatly diminished. I do know if we sack Hinkley I'm only going to get a 3 game membership. I've just become too used to not going to games and am enjoying the extra time with the family (as despite my efforts, my kids born in 2005 and 2007, ensured they got firstly 2008 - 2012, then 2015-onwards, so it was an uphill battle to get them to buy in and I failed). The eldest is interested in a 3 game membership with me, but that's more for us spending time out of the house together (plus will be moving out of home next year, so a good way to catch up), grabbing a meal before or after, there's no interest in Port/the game itself.

I hate Hinkley more for making it so hard to get another generation of Port supporters to join/follow me, then for anything else I think.

And yet, we won more games than any other club in our first eleven seasons in the comp (1997-2007), and are still clinging to what might be our seventh top-2 minor round finish in the past twenty-two seasons.

We’re not angry because we can’t accept the higher degree of difficulty, we’re angry at the pathological propensity to p¡ss away golden opportunities when they’re earned precisely because we are the degree of difficulty.

There’s no reason why Port Adelaide shouldn’t be sat here with a modern trophy cabinet to rival West Coast’s — the last thing we need to keep doing is belittling ourselves in a bid to excuse all-too familiar failure.
Now.. this post deserves a

"Bloody well said!"

I was a little bit shocked at how little i cared tonight. My passion for this club is gone and it's never coming back. They can sign him up for another 10 years for all i care. The idiot theatre goers that were courted by Koch post the Adelaide Oval move deserve this loser clown. They're a match made in heaven. Don't feel like this is my club anymore.
Can we go for a 3rd AFL licence?

Alberton fc
No hinkleys fc
Queen Street fc

We just need the real port Adelaide back not this franchise bullshit happy clapper shit we got now.

Next week a loss to Geelong gotta be his ‘Primus’ game?

He can just go home from there… like walk.

The pendulum will have already swung back to ‘poor Kenny doesn’t have the talent, he can’t extract blood from a stone!’ by three quarter time.

‘To be 14-6 with this mob is a testament to his superhero coaching abilities!’

He's an idiot, he doesn't have any answers.
He never has any answers, his entire tenure us winning has always come as a result of individual brilliance of out best players.
Its not 100% that in my view, the original Ken the 13/14 even parts of 15 Ken wasn't this version of Ken

In that 2013 semi he admitted he made mistakes:
“It drives me crazy and I take a fair bit of responsibility for it,” Hinkley said.
“I know myself that I didn’t follow through on my gut feel on that night.
“As a coach I reckon it’s the most powerful thing you have is your gut and it’s got to be a controlling factor on gameday.
“I went safe against a side that I knew I should have went after and that’s what happened and that probably drives me a bit crazy, to be honest"

Ask yourself when was the last time he was that honest with his members? Contrast it with the 2021 wouldn't change a thing BS

He was good in his time, his time was 6 years ago is the problem

Knew once same port rocked up with the semi flat, fumbly style that you know once they start that way we lose as we never shake out of it. A good team would have had us down 80 at the half. 2021 prelim vibes about tonight

Lol the game was shot the microsecond Ryan Burton fresh of clipping the Crom for the second showdown in a row dropped a dolly at halfback fell over and then watched TayTay sink a goal over his head 10 minutes in

Everything after that was a RedTube channel

Its not 100% that in my view, the original Ken the 13/14 even parts of 15 Ken wasn't this version of Ken

In that 2013 semi he admitted he made mistakes:
“It drives me crazy and I take a fair bit of responsibility for it,” Hinkley said.
“I know myself that I didn’t follow through on my gut feel on that night.
“As a coach I reckon it’s the most powerful thing you have is your gut and it’s got to be a controlling factor on gameday.
“I went safe against a side that I knew I should have went after and that’s what happened and that probably drives me a bit crazy, to be honest"

Ask yourself when was the last time he was that honest with his members? Contrast it with the 2021 wouldn't change a thing BS

He almost punched Shaun Hart in the box that year too. I always thought he was medicated after 2013/2014. His competitive psycho edge was gone and Everything after that was "life's good" " footy is a great game" " the winner was football tonight"

Also a lot of it was down to his mate Walsh dying as well. Other parts of his life became more important. Work/life balance was a real focus of his around 2015 onwards. He made mention of this numerous times. I have no doubt about that.

Honestly I have nothing against the guy , I think he'd be a great development coach but he's just a poor match day tactician and completely has no idea when what he's planned isn't working out. He's just done , get him out of the club.

Russell Ebert: 1983–1987 (5 seasons, 0 flags, 1 losing GF): not renewed at the end of 1987, aged 38.

• Jack Cahill: 1974–1982; 1988-1998 (19 seasons, 10 flags, 1 losing GF): not renewed at the end of 1998, aged 58.

• Williams forced to resign mid 2010, a premiership coach

• Ken Hinkley: 2013-???? (10 completed seasons, 0 flags, 0 losing GF)

Can someone explain what happened to our supporter base, that's become accepting of excuses

Screenshot_20230728_211955_Twitter.jpg

Russell Ebert: 1983–1987 (5 seasons, 0 flags, 1 losing GF): not renewed at the end of 1987, aged 38.

• Jack Cahill: 1974–1982; 1988-1998 (19 seasons, 10 flags, 1 losing GF): not renewed at the end of 1998, aged 58.

• Williams forced to resign mid 2010, a premiership coach

• Ken Hinkley: 2013-???? (10 completed seasons, 0 flags, 0 losing GF)

Can someone explain what happened to our supporter base, that's become accepting of excuses

View attachment 1759316

The AFL is running our club, hence the media love for ken. It's by design. The moment anyone is critical of him there's a media pile on and the club is on the phone.

After we almost folded in 2012 it's all about stability not premierships (they're a bonus). We are a business. We are just as much a franchise as Adelaide football club now really.

We also have a softcok breakfast TV host that runs this club , so what do you expect really?

Pretty much every single career coach who was sacked/punted from their decade-plus long job later admitted that they went on too long in the role, or regretted not accepting a fresh offer 3-5 years before the end.

Williams, Buckley, Sheedy among them.

• “My message was stale”
• “Deep down I knew I’d run my race”
• “Players tend to tune out at the 7-8 year mark”

When Dunkin’ Daddy joins the Herald-Sun SACKED podcast and admits he should’ve taken the Suns job in 2017 or the Bombers job in 2022, I’ll probably hear of that second-hand is the point I’m making.

Pretty much every single career coach who was sacked/punted from their decade-plus long job later admitted that they went on too long in the role, or regretted not accepting a fresh offer 3-5 years before the end.

Williams, Buckley, Sheedy among them.

• “My message was stale”
• “Deep down I knew I’d run my race”
• “Players tend to tune out at the 7-8 year mark”

When Dunkin’ Daddy joins the Herald-Sun SACKED podcast and admits he should’ve taken the Suns job in 2017 or the Bombers job in 2022, I’ll probably hear of that second-hand is the point I’m making.
Lol yea you probably will and that hand will be some wine soak from the Geelong Greyhound Racing club you bump into in 2030 while at a game in Melbourne or some such

Lockhart Road confirmed for me what Ive always suspected this version of Hinkley (post whatever brain snap 2017 caused) doesnt buy the PAFC Est 1870 story, never really did and certainly wont now

It's all about the money money money and those of his 'Boys' who buy into his worldview, meanwhile he doesnt GAF about the rest of us paying north of 1000 bucks a year to keep playing Fallout-Queen St Alberton

In other words you wont hear about it because we arent remotely important enough for him to admit even that much no matter how post-apocalyptic reality gets

He's an idiot, he doesn't have any answers.
He never has any answers, his entire tenure us winning has always come as a result of individual brilliance of out best players.

Absolutely.

"So Ken, what went wrong?"

"The Crows were a lot better than us." (No shit Ken. We really don't need you up here to tell us the bleedin' obvious)

"And why was that Ken?"

"I don't know."

Rucci's next question should have been either "So what were you busy doing on the bench Ken, if you were too busy to be able to get a sense of what went wrong?" or "But isn't it your job to know? And don't you think the supporters deserve more than just 'I don't know'?"

But no.