Unofficial Preview Sack Hinkley

Sack him?

I have always preached that you do what is right for the club and put the club first in all of your dealings and let the cards fall where they fall," Scott said.
While I would love the opportunity to coach this football club with all the impediments removed, I said to the board that the club needs fresh air in my view to do the things that it needs to do.
This game is a fantastic game but a senior coach, coaching for 10 years and undertaking a strategic shift, I just felt the time was right for the club to get the fresh air that it needs.
So in order to do that, and the philosophy of putting the club first above all else, I made the offer to step aside.

Take a bow, Brad Scott.
Take note, Ken Hinkley.

We spent the off season looking to improve our scoring, where has all of that gone the last month or so? The whole year even?

I understand other teams have gone hyper defensive in response to the rule changes, but something has gone very wrong with our attacking system.

We spent the off season looking to improve our scoring, where has all of that gone the last month or so? The whole year even?

I understand other teams have gone hyper defensive in response to the rule changes, but something has gone very wrong with our attacking system.

Who are the established forwards in our team?

Who has played consistently as a forward in our team through Hinkley's reign?

What is the structure and gameplan for our forward set up?

Hinkley has almost criminally neglected this aspect of our team throughout his time.

Since Schulz retired it has been a variation of Snow White and the 7 dwarves every week.

That is why we don't score enough. Our goals are always engineered through sorcery and the sort of hard work that built the pyramids.

Are we the only group of humans on earth that can see kens faults? Seems everyone else here and interstate likes and respects him. I dont hate ken just know he is inadeqate in his job role. So im sure when we eventually do sack him our club will be made to look like the bad guys

A ratbag organisation, if you will.

193 cm isn't key forward height anymore. Gunston has been playing as a defender for quite a bit.

How did he kick his goals? Was it from contested marking or from general around the ground play? Did he bring other players into the game by bringing the ball to ground or creating space? Because that's what a key forward does.

You are right. Josh Kennedy is 194cm as is Taylor Walker. Now if they had been 1cm shorter hthey wouldn't have been key forwards, and both the Eagles and the Crows would have been down a key forward for the last 5 years at least.

In fact if they was measured in the morning they may have been lucky to scrape into the key forward club because we shrink by about 8mm each day as we stand upright and then gain that back when we are supine at night.

De goey doesn't know his height clearly because he basically plays as a key forward (Nick Riewolts words not mine).

Jack Riewolt, Jesse Hogan are both 195cm. Being approximately 1% clearer than their unlucky 193cm counterparts also makes fortunate to scrape into the key forwards club. Especially if their height were taken in the morning because by nightime they would only be 0.5% taller than their poor 193cm counterparts, assuming they were measured at nights.

This is a concern for the power because applying the same rule to defenders, Howard is the only key defender we have. Jonas and Cluery both fall well short of 193cm.

It could be argued that power forwards vs key forwards (in my mind one can certainly be a key forward without being a power forward Think the Riewolts, Schultz etc etc) these days are almost always taller than 193cm, as well as being significantly bulkier than other players. But even then I think most would agree that Josh Kennedy and even Taylor Walker play as Power forwards in the evening when they might only be 193cm.

This is assuming that no player ever lies about their height which I am sure they never do.

I guess my point, even though made extremely sarcastically, is that you can't make blanket statements like that, because it is demonstrably not true.

Gunston most of the time plays like a key forward and occasionally like a Power Forward. If he bulked up he could be a Power forward if he wanted to be. But why would he? He is doing alright as is. Hawthorn look like they are defnitely going to need a Power forward soon.

Needs to be told in no uncertain terms that it’s in his best interest to go chase the North/Carlton/Essendon jobs. The latter 2 will almost certainly only look for experienced coaches. He can walk out now without ever having copped the media scrutiny he deserves.

This is the best option for all. Everyone will save face and make it look like that it was at their own terms. Even Koch can avoid scrutiny by saying that extending Hinkley's contact was the right call since other clubs are/were headhunting him. But unfortunately we can't keep him since Hinkley has decided to pursue greener pastures. Therefore termination of contract due mutual agreement. It is a golden opportunity.

Please make it happen Koch, KT and Board.
Needs to be told in no uncertain terms that it’s in his best interest to go chase the North/Carlton/Essendon jobs. The latter 2 will almost certainly only look for experienced coaches. He can walk out now without ever having copped the media scrutiny he deserves.

Please make this happen.

Who are the established forwards in our team?

Who has played consistently as a forward in our team through Hinkley's reign?

What is the structure and gameplan for our forward set up?

Hinkley has almost criminally neglected this aspect of our team throughout his time.

Since Schulz retired it has been a variation of Snow White and the 7 dwarves every week.

That is why we don't score enough. Our goals are always engineered through sorcery and the sort of hard work that built the pyramids.
exactly

Fairly sure that Riewaldt and Gunston have the same first name and are the same height. Darling is another sub 195 Jack.

Actually could see him doing alright with Carlton getting them out of their current shithole. Only problem is once he gets them out he’ll have the expectations to take them to the next level and he’ll fail to deliver keeping Carlton a mid table team just like us.

I reckon part of this is due to the ex-players from Geelong swaying opinion especially the ones in the media. Guys like Ling, Bartel and Mooney generally have complimentary things to say about him and I’m sure much of it is deserved, but it’s at lot easier for them to point the finger at some random strangers from Port than their old mate.

After all their outrageous success as players was in part due to a brilliant assistant coach and definitely nothing to do with, er, Weapons.

Our goals are always engineered through sorcery ...
That is the best description of our stock standard goalscoring I have read on these boards.
It would be quite funny if it wasn't true. :(

You are right. Josh Kennedy is 194cm as is Taylor Walker. Now if they had been 1cm shorter hthey wouldn't have been key forwards, and both the Eagles and the Crows would have been down a key forward for the last 5 years at least.

In fact if they was measured in the morning they may have been lucky to scrape into the key forward club because we shrink by about 8mm each day as we stand upright and then gain that back when we are supine at night.

De goey doesn't know his height clearly because he basically plays as a key forward (Nick Riewolts words not mine).

Jack Riewolt, Jesse Hogan are both 195cm. Being approximately 1% clearer than their unlucky 193cm counterparts also makes fortunate to scrape into the key forwards club. Especially if their height were taken in the morning because by nightime they would only be 0.5% taller than their poor 193cm counterparts, assuming they were measured at nights.

This is a concern for the power because applying the same rule to defenders, Howard is the only key defender we have. Jonas and Cluery both fall well short of 193cm.

It could be argued that power forwards vs key forwards (in my mind one can certainly be a key forward without being a power forward Think the Riewolts, Schultz etc etc) these days are almost always taller than 193cm, as well as being significantly bulkier than other players. But even then I think most would agree that Josh Kennedy and even Taylor Walker play as Power forwards in the evening when they might only be 193cm.

This is assuming that no player ever lies about their height which I am sure they never do.

I guess my point, even though made extremely sarcastically, is that you can't make blanket statements like that, because it is demonstrably not true.

Gunston most of the time plays like a key forward and occasionally like a Power Forward. If he bulked up he could be a Power forward if he wanted to be. But why would he? He is doing alright as is. Hawthorn look like they are defnitely going to need a Power forward soon.

i mean you could turn on the tv and see Membrey/Curnow as their clubs respective top KPF's but that does seem a bit of effort.

strange call.

Actually could see him doing alright with Carlton getting them out of their current shithole. Only problem is once he gets them out he’ll have the expectations to take them to the next level and he’ll fail to deliver keeping Carlton a mid table team just like us.
He would have an advantage with Carlton. They haven't had their footy skills coached out of them and haven't been brain washed by helter skelter Hinkley ball.
That will take about 3 years to accumplish, but rest assured it will happen and when it does, Carlton will kick his arse out the door.

He would have an advantage with Carlton. They haven't had their footy skills coached out of them and haven't been brain washed by helter skelter Hinkley ball.
That will take about 3 years to accumplish, but rest assured it will happen and when it does, Carlton will kick his arse out the door.

Have you watched them play? They have been well and truly Boltoned.