Toast Sam De Koning

Obviously I, along with every other Cat fan, loves what SDK gives us.

What a player!

This week he locks horns with a player who is a wonderful contested mark. Great test for the kid...and no easy task for a 12 game player.

of course I cant listen to it on my phone now bc SEN paywalls their streaming service for overseas listeners.

Yup... 5 a month to listen to streaming SEN ( just the regular programming not AFL)

5 bucks a month to lsiten to Gerard and Kingy... thatss free to air in melbourne... thats free to stream in melbourne ...but 5 a month for me.

Of course... I could GAF about the 5... its the principle..

Rant over.

Go SDK
Was going to attach mp3 to this reply but it's over the upload size. Any ideas?

SDK was just on AFL360, he absolutely loves the club and raved about the impact that Harry and Egan have had on his development.

Robbo asked a throwaway question about whether he seems himself playing alongside his brother one day and he said not likely as Tom is happy at Carlton, ‘and I love Geelong so much.’

We’ve got a good one here.
Tom sounds suspect though 😏

SDK was just on AFL360, he absolutely loves the club and raved about the impact that Harry and Egan have had on his development.

Robbo asked a throwaway question about whether he seems himself playing alongside his brother one day and he said not likely as Tom is happy at Carlton, ‘and I love Geelong so much.’

We’ve got a good one here.

quite probable ... a bit like the McKays Tom resting forward, Sam at FB... just not in the same jumper.

There is a family history with Carlton too going back to their Grandfather ... so Id say Tom stays for the ride. Carlton had the gumption to pick him in the draft..good luck to them.

If Sam is loving at Geelong , I hope they offer him a serious contract extension... something thing that finishes 25. His trajectory is ..up.

Just listened to an SDK interview.... He says he and his brother spend a bunch of time at the beaches and he loves the water.
Geelong is clearly the best place to be if you dig hitting Torquay and those great local beaches regularly.

It is so great watching 2 very good players play on each other, that is one thing i miss about the 80s, going to the footy, knowing 2 great Ruckman CHF CHB Full Forwards Full backs or on ballers playing against each other was worth the money

Nothing like watching the Great Ablett Snr or Scott (schoolbags) Turner. Gave him a bath every time.

I remember Ayres playing Ablett in the twos (mongrel) and poor old Scotty Turner copped him then too! Got a bath that day before Gaz broke down.

Big test for Sam tonight - does he back shoulder Naughton , try to stop his run or back himself to read the flight?
Naughton is a bit different in that he is quite prepared to run and launch very late - often from the back of the pack from where he has an amazing ability to get his hands on it and clunk it.
Has barely put a foot wrong so far in his very short journey so no shame if he gets a few kicked on him.
Having said that a strong team defence and pressure on the inside 50 kick will assist him greatly. :think:

You'd think SDK will play him shoulder to shoulder and rely on one of the other backs or Stanley to make their leisurely run at the ball ever so slightly earlier and in front of Naughton.......

Wins the Rising Star nom, heaps of press about how good he's going and then turned up and gave naughton a bath. Was awesome, is awesome.
I wonder how much time he spent working with or talking with Henry this past week

When we played the Bulldogs last year it was Henry on Naughton, and Henry kept him to 4 disposals, 1 mark & goalless before Naughton was subbed off at halftime

Incredible how quickly he's progressed and what he can do with so few games under his belt. Gone from being a guy you hope can do a few nice things and not get destroyed against the big forwards to a player we're genuinely relying on in a backline that is being frequently disrupted and depleted.

Out and out our best young prospect by a country mile and in such a crucial part of the ground and area of need for us.

Incredible how quickly he's progressed and what he can do with so few games under his belt. Gone from being a guy you hope can do a few nice things and not get destroyed against the big forwards to a player we're genuinely relying on in a backline that is being frequently disrupted and depleted.

Out and out our best young prospect by a country mile and in such a crucial part of the ground and area of need for us.
He's the best young KPD in the game.

We've had such an amazing run of developing great defenders, that it's almost a foregone conclusion that he is next in line.

Yeah pick 19. Blues had pick 17, could've united the two brothers, fortunately for us they didn't.

Blues wanted cooper stephens and would have taken him if we let him through. As it is we got him and luckily got de koning through to 19.

Its crazy how reliant our kpd stocks are on a 12 gamer but he will be a gun.

The amazing thing for me, or one of them, is his ability to repeat effort.

Keeping in mind hes 19... and that endurance and body resistance to contact takes time to develop, his ability to go again and again is amazing.

He just gets u and keeps going.

I reckon the bye cant get here soon enough for him to get some well earned respite and it wouldn't shock me if he gets a spell later in the season too.

Would be hard to stomach as he's so critical to us, but i wanna see him for another 14 seasons not 14 games so its worth it.

Bloke has been amazing and continues to lift the bar.

Wells sits back and smiles

Go Catters

The amazing thing for me, or one of them, is his ability to repeat effort.

Keeping in mind hes 19... and that endurance and body resistance to contact takes time to develop, his ability to go again and again is amazing.

He just gets u and keeps going.

I reckon the bye cant get here soon enough for him to get some well earned respite and it wouldn't shock me if he gets a spell later in the season too.

Would be hard to stomach as he's so critical to us, but i wanna see him for another 14 seasons not 14 games so its worth it.

Bloke has been amazing and continues to lift the bar.

Wells sits back and smiles

Go Catters
Him being a mid until his growth spurt really shows and is and will continue to be a big + for him going forward.

Toast Sam De Koning