No Oppo Supporters St.Kilda sack Brett Ratten

I reckon Ross is spending 8 hours a day watching old games to work out his best 22.
Only 8 hours - this is a guy not averse to 17 hour work days!! Very driven, obsessive type.......more like 8 hours per day per player, 2 players per day....

This is not related to coaching in any way but I just saw that kosi is dating Lauren Jackson.
Can you imagine the father son talent we might be able to get out of that relationship!!
Please get it done kosi!

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app
knowing our luck the kid will choose basketball, nothing's surer

We did the same when Ross left us.
...and for years afterwards. There was so much vitriol towards him on this board and now it's all love. Don't know whether it's the same people or not, but the tonal shift has been head spinning!

GDyi9uJ.gif

My only concern with Ross is that bringing him in will come with a very high "pass rate", anything short of flowers would be considered a failure.

I hope we give RL a 4 year deal just so he isn't too tempted to value the short term over the long term.

I think we need to see Windy, NWM, Owens, Sharman, Coffield and Pick 9 as starting 22 players, their development should come ahead of games going to Jones, Butler, Wood etc.

Would rather us come 14th next year with a good years worth of development into those types than scrape into the finals just to make up the numbers.

We are 5 or 6 really good players away from the top teams. We aren't going to be able to sign top end free agents and it's unlikely we'll nail all our picks over the next couple of year, so it is so, so important that we mould a couple of our youngsters with potential into genuine stars. Sydney should be the model we seek to emulate.

I wasn't on bigfooty for a lot of the year and I don't read every page. If i cover things that have already been said my bad.

It is an interesting dynamic having Lyon/Hayes in the same team coaching. Lenny clearly was able to challenge Ross during his playing days. This already gives us an assistant coach who wont be scared to challenge Lyon due to their relationship. Mind you, Lyon would have looked at all aspects of what he could do better. Using his assistant coaches and giving them more power would be a space he has grown in. As I said a few days ago and what the media said yesterday, his time in the media would have changed how he communicates massively. He did sit on the footy classified with Caro for two years after all.

Lenny Hayes would have an aura amount our younger players who watched AFL growing up, along with Lyon but more so for those who support St kilda. They view football the same, work hard, get the best out of yourself and hold yourself accountable for the team. So the players are getting constant messaging. With Hayes being able to speak to our players and say I get what you are saying but i agree with Ross. Can soften the blow of some honest feedback. In saying that, it sounds like Ross is a great relationship builder and once you have that relationship you can take on that feedback. If you look through our list, there isn't a lot players who I don't think will take his messaging the wrong way. People like Clark, i would imagine Ross will come in and say. Look I see your potential, outline why and then deliver what he needs to work on, and that he is going to push him to reach his potential. Is that better than A coach who builds friendly relationships, can't develop you too the best of your ability and then gets at you because you are not playing your best? I think so.

These two, along with the other players who are coming back to the club. Will be able to create the standards and expectations that it takes to make a grand final. Most of installed the pride back in the group of what it means to be a St Kilda player, and what it means to the supports to be up at the pointing end and contenting. I am sure people from the club in the past have come into the club and spoken about the things mentioned above. It is different having some one who is there day in and day out, investing in you to become the best footballer you can be and coming along for the ride.

This may well just be a romance story that has released oxytocin in abundance. Maybe it won't work out. At least right at this moment we have hope. People who have a proven track record at being successful in the industry are coming to the club. We are starting to build what is starting to look like a good football program. Mind you 09/10 the players have spoken about our facilities compared to say Collingwood. I am sure the boys will let them know what the achieved with the resources they had.

All in all, with the boys/the club having just been called irrelevant by some one who is coming in too help. A old coach coming back who through out the year has had belief in the players, and who thinks the way the club is talked about is disgusting. Along with Lenny, and the other assistant coach coming in (if it is hird, another great player). Lastly the group being put through a pre season I would imagine none of them would of experienced before.

I am looking forward to Round 1, when the lads come out breathing fire. With a mindset that is focused on accountability, toughness, discipline, getting the best out of yourself and most of all, winning!

One pretty simple change for me would be to let him know more than 4 days out from the announcement that they had been reviewing his position given they had been reviewing his position for a month.

I think everyone outside let alone inside the football club knew the football department, and therefore Ratts, was getting reviewed because of the aforementioned second half fadeaway... anything else?

There’s a concept called “task-relevant maturity” which comes from High Output Management by Andy Grove of Intel.

It basically says that anyone joining a new org or going into a new role has low task-relevant maturity because they don’t know the context and what’s expected of them. In that situation they need to be micromanaged to build up their maturity to the point where they can take ownership and need less management. It’s a very effective framework for considering how to manage people.

Clearly you can’t just say to a bunch of 18 year olds - or even probably 25 year olds who don’t know what an elite environment looks like - “take ownership”. They don’t know what they don’t know. You can only effectively give someone ownership once they have enough maturity to take it, before that your responsibility is to coach them up to that maturity.

It took Ross a year at the Saints and half a season at Freo to get buy-in and set his systems up. Each time he goes to a new club players will have a better idea about expectations and be accepting his credential bit better.

The only reservation in my mind is the list and the lack of genuine top end talent.

Say Rossy does his job, we finish 4 or 5 which doesn't give us DP's to get elite talent meanwhile the list isn't good enough to win the ultimate prize.

Genuine no man's land with no one at fault.

The only reservation in my mind is the list and the lack of genuine top end talent.

Say Rossy does his job, we finish 4 or 5 which doesn't give us DP's to get elite talent meanwhile the list isn't good enough to win the ultimate prize.

If we finish 4th or 5th that’s a massive win then we can potentially trade in talent and build on it in the following year

Eh not like we make the most of our high draft picks anyway.

If we finish that high you use your cap space to bring in players.

It took Ross a year at the Saints and half a season at Freo to get buy-in and set his systems up. Each time he goes to a new club players will have a better idea about expectations and be accepting his credential bit better.

It was a really radical shift in game plan last time around.
I'm not sure he'll be able to make that sort of radical change this time around.
Our team has the basics, the same basics all of the other teams have.
I'm thinking that it will be tweaking it and learning to make changes mid game.

Getting ahead of yourself, but its 1 draft pick. Tanking doesn't work.

In 2016 people laughed at me because I said that the Tigers would make the finals in 2017. They had some absolute shit on their list and apart from Dusty having a break out season and Rance being Rance they had a very bad year finishing 14th with 4 less wins than us even.

They had Ben Lennon, Jake Batchelor, Chris Yarran, Andrew Moore, Shaun Hampson, Jacob Townsend, Ben Griffiths, Troy Chaplin, Anthony Miles, Taylor Hunt, Ty Vickery, Reece Conca, Oleg Markov, Liam McBean, Connor Menadue, Stephen Morris, Nathan Drummond, Reece McKenzie, Todd Elton, Callum Moore, Adam Marcon all on the list for that year.

What they did was change up their game plan to suit the players available and set some strong systems. They went on to be one of the great dynasty teams.

I think Ross can replicate that. I'd say we have about 6 top players: Steele, Sincs, Crouch, King, Wilkie, Gresham. Then we have a really good even spread outside that and a few guys who are playing below their best. If Ross can put Hill and Billings back how they were we get huge lift. A lot will depend on Snags, King, Coffield, Paton and Clark to lift themselves up a level.

I'm not sure he'll be able to make that sort of radical change this time around.

I think what he'll do is bring systems and set plays to make us up to date. I expect a much more team orientated side. Ross has his stars but what his sides do well is work hard and work for each other. Our depth is a strength and if we can utilise that with his systems based game plan I think we might surprise a few.

Totally agree and I think Eddie said something similar about Ross coming back and building a game plan around the players you have, not what you wish you had.

That on top of taking a Geelong approach to trading, which would be to tagellrget Bayside and mornington peninsula boys and create that lifestyle that "brings them home".

There are so many real-estate, construction/builders and finance guys around the club in various coteries, why not as a club weaponise them to help land players in these areas?

If we create a game plan that's tailored to our players now, then create place where a) the stars stay for a little less than they would get elsewhere and b) start to get some consistency and success on the field and c) create a lifestyle culture that players want to be around then we'll have our own dynasty.

Save a couple of guys, the rest of Geelongs players grew up in the country with lots coming from the ballarine and surf coast - they bring them home. It might not be for young kids, but find a top player who is married with children and it becomes very appealing.

Externally our list is described as shite with too many C graders & not enough A graders. Under RTB, I expect we will suddenly uncover a few A graders. He is excellent at playing to the strengths of the best players in his teams.

I can definitely see King playing a more mobile Roo/Pav-role & isolating smaller players inside 50 (Billings, Higgins & Gresh) like he did previously with Milne, Walters & Ballantine.

Ross will also hide our deficiencies by playing a style that suits the list. To this point, I can definitely see someone with leg speed (DMac) put into midfield in a defensive role. I’m also expecting our midfielders to be more accountable.

Jones & Butler (& Clark the obvious one) the players I see that will need to prove a lot over preseason that they are RTB type players. I see Brad Hill immediately improving as soon as the Boss walks into the club without saying a word. As much as I criticise Billings, I think he’s a pro that will improve under a more accountable gameplan.

How do you shift a gamelan that doesn’t exist?

Externally our list is described as shite with too many C graders & not enough A graders. Under RTB, I expect we will suddenly uncover a few A graders. He is excellent at playing to the strengths of the best players in his teams.

I can definitely see King playing a more mobile Roo/Pav-role & isolating smaller players inside 50 (Billings, Higgins & Gresh) like he did previously with Milne, Walters & Ballantine.

Ross will also hide our deficiencies by playing a style that suits the list. To this point, I can definitely see someone with leg speed (DMac) put into midfield in a defensive role. I’m also expecting our midfielders to be more accountable.

Jones & Butler (& Clark the obvious one) the players I see that will need to prove a lot over preseason that they are RTB type players. I see Brad Hill immediately improving as soon as the Boss walks into the club without saying a word. As much as I criticise Billings, I think he’s a pro that will improve under a more accountable gameplan.
In summary

He is an excellent coach