Mega Thread The Western Bulldogs - The Sack Macca saga

You don't measure improvement like that. Norf would've lost to most sides in the league today, don't post rubbish

We had a chance to win it
Then who we gonna blame mate?

Eade? Wallace? Maybe Whitten ? :)

God what the hell power does Macca have over you guys ???

If Macca isn't the man in your view then what kind of coach would be good for us.

You don't measure improvement like that. Norf would've lost to most sides in the league today, don't post rubbish

I am not posting rubbish, we brought North into our game-plan, they struggled - we were even except in converting our goals. North are a team that will make finals this year we won't THAT'S IMPROVEMENT.

How do you measure improvement than?

I am not posting rubbish, we brought North into our game-plan, they struggled - we were even except in converting our goals. North are a team that will make finals this year we won't THAT'S IMPROVEMENT.

How do you measure improvement than?

North will make finals after their first 2 weeks??

Really ??

Behind hawks cats crows port swans freo eagles pies goldcoast Richmond so unless they make it a final 12 they in trouble

I hope you dont mind the intrusion but I think calls for a new coach are way off the mark. Your club is rebuilding and this process takes time. Lots of time. Truth be told I think thsat it will be another 2 or 3 years before your kids are ready but thsts just how it goes. When the likes of McRae, Hunter, Stevens, Hrovat, Bontempelli etc. have 50 odd games under their belts and are experienced and developed enough to be consistent performers and join the likes of Libba, Dalhaus and Wallis I reckon you will be primed. Alls you need is some strong foward targets. Your coach has these kids playing tough, fearless football which is the foundation for any good side. I reckon McMcCarthy is perfect for the group you have but patience will be required.

North will make finals after their first 2 weeks??

Really ??

Behind hawks cats crows port swans freo eagles pies goldcoast Richmond so unless they make it a final 12 they in trouble

Regardless of the mistakes I may make in my life, it's people like u that make me feel better about myself.

Utter moron.

Regardless of the mistakes I may make in my life, it's people like u that make me feel better about myself.

Utter moron.

Lol so I disagree and I'm a moron??

Well done mate you should feel better bout yourself you need al the help you can get.

I hope you dont mind the intrusion but I think calls for a new coach are way off the mark. Your club is rebuilding and this process takes time. Lots of time. Truth be told I think thsat it will be another 2 or 3 years before your kids are ready but thsts just how it goes. When the likes of McRae, Hunter, Stevens, Hrovat, Bontempelli etc. have 50 odd games under their belts and are experienced and developed enough to be consistent performers and join the likes of Libba, Dalhaus and Wallis I reckon you will be primed. Alls you need is some strong foward targets. Your coach has these kids playing tough, fearless football which is the foundation for any good side. I reckon McMcCarthy is perfect for the group you have but patience will be required.
Thankfully most of us realise this :thumbsu:

It remains to be seen whether he's the man to take us all the way, but he's certainly the right man for the present.

Thanks B Tron, most of us realise this, and think we are assembling a really good list, but it does take time to get the necessary fitness into these young players along with improved skills and experience. Some of our supporters have forgotten that before Eade we were in the wilderness for a number of years developing the 2009 team.

mattdougie let me restate their case why BMAC RULES
EXCUSES EXCUSES EXCUSE EXCUSES

Oh it was hot- we went to perth we had n idea that in march the sun shines
u see the afl bamboozled us and informed us about the draw the night before the game
didn't have time to set up a strategy
plus we played the mighty FFC in a practise match so WCE/Nth games were shot

good teams take years and years to build
it take 5-105 years of solid coaching to learn to handball to a team mate
or kick it more than 5m along the ground- its an oval ball man its not soccer!
look at port/crows/wce etc etc took them years to rebuild didn't it?

The previous coach sabotaged us
i mean fancy recruiting guys like wallis,jones,libba,dahl,grant,williams,higgins, etc etc they suckkkkkkkk

everyone knows that if u win contested football u win
13 wins from 46 games how u like them apples?

u dont need to have played to know the game and coach, previous experience means nothing
look at um what's his name um oh um..anyone - btw the woman who ran the cafe at geelong's ground when they won 3 premierships is being recruited as a specialist skills coach! She never played either!

Our players haven't learned to work hard enough yet
learning to run takes years of practice
learning to run to position is accompanied by a degree in physics - dont expect miracles overnight

We are simply tooo young
Port are 3rd youngest team behind gws and suns - followed by... we are mid table ouch!

Sacking the coach wont help
so melb/stk/port/bris/wce/freo/adel who sacked or nicely asked their coaches to leave in the last 2 years are doooomed right?
wce/port and freo are so fckd - i pity them!

We are building a game plan that stands up in finals
problem is we will never win enough games with our regular season game plan to make them

when players get to 50 games we will "fire"
wingard,heppel,polec,cameron,hunter libba blah blah blah - obviously these guys all suffered from "premature firefication"

we need to invest in the future and BMAC knows that
thats why BGOODES was recruited along with stewyC(440k/year yummy) coz seriously targetting a young gun forward ala cameron boyd blah blah blah by unloading older players and early draft choices makes no sense it speeds up the future

INSANITY DOING THE EXACT SAME THING OVER 46 GAMES AND EXPECTING A DIFFERENT RESULT

I hope you know that doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result isn't the definition of insanity, nor is it what the Bulldogs are doing.

mattdougie let me restate their case why BMAC RULES

Oh it was hot- we went to perth we had n idea that in march the sun shines
u see the afl bamboozled us and informed us about the draw the night before the game
didn't have time to set up a strategy
plus we played the mighty FFC in a practise match so WCE/Nth games were shot

good teams take years and years to build
it take 5-105 years of solid coaching to learn to handball to a team mate
or kick it more than 5m along the ground- its an oval ball man its not soccer!
look at port/crows/wce etc etc took them years to rebuild didn't it?

The previous coach sabotaged us
i mean fancy recruiting guys like wallis,jones,libba,dahl,grant,williams,higgins, etc etc they suckkkkkkkk

everyone knows that if u win contested football u win
13 wins from 46 games how u like them apples?

u dont need to have played to know the game and coach, previous experience means nothing
look at um what's his name um oh um..anyone - btw the woman who ran the cafe at geelong's ground when they won 3 premierships is being recruited as a specialist skills coach! She never played either!

Our players haven't learned to work hard enough yet
learning to run takes years of practice
learning to run to position is accompanied by a degree in physics - dont expect miracles overnight

We are simply tooo young
Port are 3rd youngest team behind gws and suns - followed by... we are mid table ouch!

Sacking the coach wont help
so melb/stk/port/bris/wce/freo/adel who sacked or nicely asked their coaches to leave in the last 2 years are doooomed right?
wce/port and freo are so fckd - i pity them!

We are building a game plan that stands up in finals
problem is we will never win enough games with our regular season game plan to make them

when players get to 50 games we will "fire"
wingard,heppel,polec,cameron,hunter libba blah blah blah - obviously these guys all suffered from "premature firefication"

we need to invest in the future and BMAC knows that
thats why BGOODES was recruited along with stewyC(440k/year yummy) coz seriously targetting a young gun forward ala cameron boyd blah blah blah by unloading older players and early draft choices makes no sense it speeds up the future

You know this is exactly how the ancient Athenians used to debate.

pedantic till the end just like your excuses excellent
what next Times New Roman insulting?
should i use Arial Font?
I hardly think asking someone to respect the person they're insulting is being pedantic. You'd hardly fire a worker using they're nickname. "Hey Stevo, you're sacked mate." is not a phrase I'd feel you would hear from someone with a little class.
If I was being pedantic I'd suggest you'd want to capitalize at the start of your sentences and include the use of a comma before "excellent". That would be pedantic.

Yes the season's beginning has been frustrating.

Yes Mccartney needs to get more out of his players.

Let's wait and see how the season pans out thought. Last year we were 1-7 and we finished with 8 wins. We're currently 0-2. It's as simple as that. We need to relax.

Also I don't like this crap about us not having a game plan. We had a game plan when we were running hot last year because we were getting games on our terms. Yesterday we had control of the game and kept the ball in our 50 for long periods. We caused turnovers in dangerous positions and generated shots on goal. We were sloppy in punishing them and they out worked us in the end. Let's hope we take our chances in the future and that this fitness thing is just gastro related.

I just can't understand why we decided to give McCartney another 2 years extension befor this season started.

It wasn't as though he was being sought out by other teams. I believe he is very good at saying the right thing and people and the players buy into his message, however no one can convince me he is tactically astute.

I would think anyone who follows the Bulldogs would have known we were a tall short in both games this year. Why wasn't Tallia or Young played.

As for our improvement last year, I think it is underestimated how much of this could be attributed to Jarrad Grant , the change in our forward line as a result of his inclusion meant we became much more unpredictable and offensive. And let's be honest McCartney never liked Grant and only played him to see if he could become trade bait. He had to change his mind based on how outstanding Grant played.

It will be an interesting year no doubt about it.

As for our improvement last year, I think it is underestimated how much of this could be attributed to Jarrad Grant , the change in our forward line as a result of his inclusion meant we became much more unpredictable and offensive.

That could also stand for individual thoughts and freedom something our stern teacher wont stand for

Weak as piss these boards mate, I'd like to see these guys at games
My face is the most shown at the footy, come up and say hi and we shall discuss the future of the club in a civilized matter.

Seriously, those asking for BMAC'S head are just revealing their own ignorance of the game. There are many good signs and BMAc is doing most things right. At the minute he is being pigheaded about some areas of team selection which are killing us. But I am more than inclined to think he believes that certain things are non negotiable and taking the hard line now, will be the difference between making semi finals and winning premierships in a 2-3 years

In other words, I firmly believe if yesterday's game was played with ins - Campbell and Talia, out - Gia and Wood - we win. Now, this would be very unfair on Gia and Wood but also indisputable. It also would validate errors in Campbell and Talias game - the later of which escapes me - but I think this is where BMAC is ruthless.

To further elaborate the point, both Cooney and Higgins have added a physicality to their games which has been absent for their entire careers. The defensive side of Cooney's game was missing under Eade and cost us in critical games. Similarly, Higgins has been flakey for the same reason and took a huge step forward yesterday.

Even with our selection issues yesterday's game was decided entirely by Boomer Harvey. From late in the third and most of the fourth quarter we had no one who could run with him. We were shot. He opened us up virtually single handedly.

Some people need to remember where we were 12 months ago when we were losing by 70 point margins and never in the hunt. Yesterday was a commendable effort and before to long we are going to win games like that.