List Mgmt. Trade & Draft Discussion 2023 post season - Picks Reid,30,40,49,66 (Bush league)

Hello Eagles fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Keys you may like to sticky this post & move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread if you have one.

Have no idea of Dees plans but apparently they did offer up 6 and 11 ++ for 1.
That must have been close to tempting, especially with F1 included.

From afl.com.au today...
As AFL.com.au's Cal Twomey reported last month, the Dees offered picks No.6, No.11 and No.42, plus a future first, for the No.1 pick, but the deal was knocked back.
Yeah we love to trade into drafts or up to target a player. But just can’t see us trading 6 out for a pick next year.

Will Lorenz started the year with minor OP, so slow start for him. But he built into the year nicely after that.
Recruiters did tell him to work on speed, but also thst his first step in traffic is exceptional. We'd be looking at him with later pick.

Disagree on Roberts, he's been a very good player.
Roberts kicking out of defence does get turned over a lot
So that's my major question mark on him

WEST COAST

Current picks: 1, 23, 37, 58, 73

Barring a very late surprise, Harley Reid will be an Eagle on Monday night. Complicated, multi-club trade proposals have been floated but, as it stands, clubs expect West Coast to keep the first selection and draft the generational talent. If local young gun Daniel Curtin slides past Hawthorn and beyond, though, the Eagles could then find themselves orchestrating a deal to get back into draft and nab the versatile, 197cm prospect. One of the draft’s biggest x-factors – and bolters – Lance Collard is likely to be in the mix if the Eagles keep the first pick of the second night, as will fellow West Australian Aiden O’Driscoll, Tasmanian Arie Schoenmaker and neat-kicking Sandringham playmaker Archie Roberts. But that selection, especially if there is a big slider in the first round, will be a much sought after commodity on Tuesday. The Eagles could be the club to give talented slider Ashton Moir a chance, while NGA prospect Oscar Hine-Baston is a chance land at the club later in the draft.

Don't miss out on the headlines from Draft news. Followed categories will be added to My News.
Follow
Melbourne is circling key tall Daniel Curtin and made the 8000km round trip to interview his Western Australian livewire teammate Koltyn Tholstrup.
The Demons are in a strong position to land Curtin as a flexible key position player who could emerge as the long-term replacement for 31-year-old Steven May.
The Hawks will have the first call on the 195cm Curtin at pick four but could instead pick up exciting small forward Nick Watson, while the Bulldogs like midfielder Ryley Sanders at five.
It means the Demons could land Curtin at six and then take exciting forward-midfielder Koltyn Tholstrup at 11 after visiting him in Esperance in regional WA last week.
AFL MOCK DRAFT: WHO COULD YOUR CLUB PICK?
Gun recruiter Jason Taylor is believed to have flown to Perth and then taken a light plane to the southern tip of WA to meet the 188cm goal kicker and his parents.

It is understood the Demons are the only club to have made the mega trip down to Tholstrup’s hometown to interview the popular and physical game winner.

He could form one of the most exciting forward combinations in the league if he joins forces in red and blue with Kysaiah Pickett.

Curtin could also help compensate for the potential departure of Harry Petty if Adelaide is successful in bringing the South Australian tall home.

But several live trades on draft night could yet shake-up the order as rivals including Adelaide (pick 10) and Sydney (12) zero in on pick seven from GWS Giants.

Essendon (pick nine) has targeted key defender Connor O’Sullivan, but Adelaide and Sydney are plotting a move up the order to land O’Sullivan first and pip the Bombers if they can get seven.

Geelong is eyeing powerful forward Nate Caddy at pick eight to help secure a replacement for Tom Hawkins.

If GWS complete a deal with Adelaide to slide back to pick 10, the Giants could secure classy outside midfielder Caleb Windsor at 10.

The Demons also have Windsor in the mix to help bolster their transition game, but would be ecstatic to secure Tholstrup if Windsor is already gone.

As the Herald Sun revealed last month, West Coast remains interested in swapping its future first-round draft pick with either Hawthorn or Melbourne to land Curtin.

But the Demons and Hawks are expected to knock back that offer in the chance West Coast bounces up the ladder next year with an improved injury list.

Versatile Tasmanian defender James Leake could also bolt into the top-10, while Geelong is also considering Murray midfielder Darcy Wilson and Essendon has kept tabs on WA defender Riley Hardeman if the Bombers slide back into the teens.

Keeping it really simple from a comparison perspective, Curtin plays multiple roles like Harley does. how do you rate Harley (in a standard draft) as
Medium forward
Inside mid
Balanced mid
Wing
Running half back
Lock down dedefender
I am your stats God😇🗡, bow down beneath me. Also stop being Kent's.

For a straight answer tho by nearly all measurable stats i could dig up somewhere around 3-8.

I put it like this for some basic logic. As a comparison Petracca is probably the closest for quality of player and style of play as a fwd/mid with questionable endurance at this point.

Trac is a good player Norm Smith medal, AA etc and what we would hope for Reid to become( or better) . Yet at the same exact point Reid averages 20% less of everything, kicks marks handballs, goals, whatever.

At 80% of Petraccas level is probably someone like Heeney who is still a really good player but not an elite midfielder of the comp.

Start a new job on Monday so it'll be a nice distraction come home after training and watch us pick our new #9 in Reid, Then see if we take Curtin or pull any other surprises during the night. Just hyped to be getting some more youth and excitement into the team.

Started with the Chess,Hough and Bazzo picks, Last year was great as well. Got some genuine excitement and hope to see how things pan out for 2024.

I have been on this board for many years now, probably way too many years if I am honest, but I have been reading your posts and showing some restraint from replying.

By God you post some absolute s**t when assessing prospective players, when looking at draft cohorts.

I am mindful that all posters need to not get personal with their posts and be respectful, but I just wonder if you have ever actually played, or coached the game at any decent level, because you seem to be a fanatical numbers man.

I sort get the feeling that if you were shooting for goal, you would be getting out the protractor, compass and set square to work out your kicking action.

The heat of the battle decision making seems to be lost on you, either that or you don't actually comprehend the nuances of playing the game.

I read your many expansive posts and I scratch my head and think you must be related to, Paul De Podest AKA known as the "Money Ball" man in American Sport.

Good in theory, but as his stint at the Cleveland Browns shows, it reeks of practical failure.

The down fall of analytics is that it has no answer for such actions as a shirtfront a jumper punch or a king hit, or even an out desired one on one contest, how do you measure desire and hunger for the contest or footy IQ.

Not sure what you do for a living, but I suspect its theoretical and not practical in orientation.

Apologise if you find this post offensive, BUT it needs to be pointed out to you that football is more than a game of chess.
Fair point, just let me know when my big swinging dick slaps you old boys on the kneecap.

🏏I welcome any critical judgement for anything I post along with any abuse as long as it's campy fun or at least your own opinion rather than an echo.

I like stats simply put because numbers don't lie. It's a quantifiable way of illustrating a point without any bias. Two players in the same role can be quite accurately compared. I started looking for a better way to differentiate and found that if you can read into multiple sources you get a better idea of what's happening.

I've played a bit of footy. When out there you play on instinct as it's chaos.
From the sidelines you analyse the situation with as much information as possible as it's impossible to follow everything that's happening out there.

I disagree about the chess. As a coach you want as much control as possible. Matchups, rotations, injuries contingencies all need to be somewhat pre-planned. 18 magnets on the field have roles.

When out there playing there's specific set ups for kick ins, stoppages, even the 6,6,6. Hell even before taking the toss, check the wind forecast.

As for work, it's definitely theoretical as I keep telling Centerlink I'm looking for work😉

Start a new job on Monday so it'll be a nice distraction come home after training and watch us pick our new #9 in Reid, Then see if we take Curtin or pull any other surprises during the night. Just hyped to be getting some more youth and excitement into the team.

Started with the Chess,Hough and Bazzo picks, Last year was great as well. Got some genuine excitement and hope to see how things pan out for 2024.

I'm going to be caught in the car between work and home I reckon. Does anyone aside from AFL app have a live stream / live read and commentary of the draft? Can't remember if Fox have their own operation going, or even if they're allowed to

Unless your commute is > 60 mins, safe to say you'll be home before pick 4

Any physios or doctors on here with any insight into how debilitating bursitis of the hip would be?

I would’ve thought it would be readily suppressed during games by painkilling medication, but I’ve never had it and I’m not qualified.
Ive had bursitis in the shoulder and its all round miserable

I am your stats God😇🗡, bow down beneath me. Also stop being Kent's.

For a straight answer tho by nearly all measurable stats i could dig up somewhere around 3-8.

I put it like this for some basic logic. As a comparison Petracca is probably the closest for quality of player and style of play as a fwd/mid with questionable endurance at this point.

Trac is a good player Norm Smith medal, AA etc and what we would hope for Reid to become( or better) . Yet at the same exact point Reid averages 20% less of everything, kicks marks handballs, goals, whatever.

At 80% of Petraccas level is probably someone like Heeney who is still a really good player but not an elite midfielder of the comp.
I’ll be a Kent while you keep posting the stuff you do. In fact the more you hide by stats the bigger the KKKent I will try to be

Stats mean SFA. How do you assess U18 dominant Vic Metro with average Vic Country?

Your posts lack credibility when you dished up the Curtin crap.

Simple question - how many times did you see Curtin play this year and I do not mean watch on TV? I would suggest there is a reason why I see so many recruiters at the colts games. Stats are a major distraction. Under what stat do you measure “knows how to play football”?

I’ll be a Kent while you keep posting the stuff you do. In fact the more you hide by stats the bigger the KKKent I will try to be

Stats mean SFA. How do you assess U18 dominant Vic Metro with average Vic Country?

Your posts lack credibility when you dished up the Curtin crap.

Simple question - how many times did you see Curtin play this year and I do not mean watch on TV? I would suggest there is a reason why I see so many recruiters at the colts games. Stats are a major distraction. Under what stat do you measure “knows how to play football”?

We're about to draft Harley Reid. Have a Snickers kent.

Norf have been balls deep into him for quite a while, actually, if you go with pantskyle intel. They've only just shuffled their magnets

Please support my Intel by buying my onlyfans.

Only 2 WA boys out of 26
View attachment 1854409

Yep not good. However great to see Harley's new mate Zipporah "Zippy" Fish made the girls academy.... best fricken name ever
0ad8cee07910e56b4dc0581477e99f466307828d.jpg

Harley Reid poses for a selfie with Zippy Fish.