List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

Miller & Ryan
Neither are AFL ready 1st rucks right now. Ryan might become one, Miller will likely only ever be a KPP + 2nd ruck/back up, which is his best role for the team. Balta probably similar, KPD + 2nd ruck/back up.

Soldo is probably worth keeping on until we know if Ryan is ready, or way down the track Colina (I have not much hope at this stage but he's years away as a project).

Serious question R2R, if you were GWS, would you do that? Personally, I’d laugh heartily if that was offered. If it was the other way around, I’m sure you’d do the same Mate
Well if somebody had told me what Collingwood would do with Treloar i wouldnt have believed them

GWS are apparently looking at $2 mil over cap and need to off load players
Taranto if he selects Richmond and Hopper also agrees then they will not be able to trade them to other clubs and would need to get a deal done

Hopper wont get them a top 10 pick and Taranto would roughly be around the 6-10 range player(similar to Prestia) with the money he is going to get
GWS just cannot keep these players with the millionairs they have on their list.

Soldo+#12 - Taranto
#19- Hopper

Not really that far off imo maybe 4-5 spots off being ideal for GWS but you can only deal what you have

You may be right and Soldo is also from Canberra which would help them a lot.

.... But I wouldn't be seperating Balta, Soldo and Čolina and I doubt they want to be seperated - I wouldn't be so confident that we would "allow" Soldo to leave.
Fact is we cannot keep all these guys on the list even if we wanted to

Soldo , Nank , Colina are all similar type Ruckman (specially Soldo/Nank) ad cant play both in the same team
they will want to be 1st Rucks and also make some $$$ which Soldo is limited currently

I see soldo as the player thats surplus from the ones we have on the list , My opinion is that with players like Nank , Balta , Miller and hopefully Ryan & Biggy we just wont have the game time to give Soldo and will most likely be in 12 months time.

Neither are AFL ready 1st rucks right now. Ryan might become one, Miller will likely only ever be a KPP + 2nd ruck/back up, which is his best role for the team. Balta probably similar, KPD + 2nd ruck/back up.
But this is exactly the point Balta & Miller as well as Ryan possibly in the future have killed off Soldo's 2nd Ruck role and he will just b playing VFL
He wont stay as backup after 6-7 years on the list and will leave as a free agent in 12 months time

Soldo will be 27 next season

Well if somebody had told me what Collingwood would do with Treloar i wouldnt have believed them

Taranto if he selects Richmond and Hopper also agrees then they will not be able to trade them to other clubs and would need to get a deal done

Hopper wont get them a top 10 pick and Taranto would roughly be around the 6-10 range player(similar to Prestia) with the money he is going to get
GWS just cannot keep these players with the millionairs they have on their list.

Soldo+#12 - Taranto
#19- Hopper

Not really that far off imo maybe 4-5 spots off being ideal for GWS but you can only deal what you have
Whoever managed that list build should be sacked , a joke the money these overrated duds are on , kelly Whitfield cigs lol

People suggesting trading Soldo might want to consider the possibility of Toby Nankervis going down with a PCL or similar injury early season. Unless we bring in a Lloyd Meek for example, who exactly is an AFL ready first ruck on our list over Soldo at that point?

Yes, I would trade Soldo but only if we had confidence Ryan was ready for senior footy … which I think he would be.

Soldo’s major asset used to be his tapwork and ability to nullify the oppo ruck at stoppages…. his ruck work this year was putrid…. never hit a target, constantly tapped it to oppo mids etc….maybe it was due to coming off an ACL, but if we got a juicy offer I’d seriously consider it.

If it means we put another ruck on the rookie list so be it …. anyone 200cm standing upright could deliver what Soldo did in 2022.

Soldo+#12 - Taranto
#19- Hopper

No way could we afford both Taranto and Hopper., particularly with Cotch and JRoo likely to go around again. We need serious cash to pay Bolton, Rioli and Balta in coming years.

The only way we’d afford it would be if Dusty left and another club took on his $1.2m for 2-years. Then we could seriously front end their contracts.

I will always love Soldo but you're severely overrating him here.

Taranto is doing to cost a good first round pick as a starting point - it's fanciful to suggest otherwise.

You get what you pay for.
Soldo used to touch up Preuss when he played for Casey. I reckon Soldo like many other backup rucks would blossom if he got a starting ruck spot. That won't be with us. I mean who knew Darcy Cameron had it in him? No one. Or Witts or McInerney etc etc. Plus another full pre season will only help that knee. Plus the ruck tax is real, they always get slightly higher value on the trade table.
People suggesting trading Soldo might want to consider the possibility of Toby Nankervis going down with a PCL or similar injury early season. Unless we bring in a Lloyd Meek for example, who exactly is an AFL ready first ruck on our list over Soldo at that point?
Ryan and Miller. Balta or Biggie after that if we get desperate. Not many clubs have a decent ready to go #1 type rucks toiling away in the reserves. Can always rookie a mature age ruck or take one in the mid season draft if need be too.

It'd be a slight risk but if it meant we keep our first rounder and bring in Taranto it'd be well worth it.
Miller & Ryan
Yep

Soldo is probably worth keeping on until we know if Ryan is ready, or way down the track Colina (I have not much hope at this stage but he's years away as a project).
Next year will be Millers 6th season, he's just about to enter his prime. He'd be fine as insurance for Nank.
I bet you thought the same about Finlayson. Everyone did. Actually nearly everyone (myself included) thought he was an absolute dud. He's been the highest rated ruck in the league since round 7.

I'm not saying get rid of Soldo no matter what, but if it helps us acquire a gun mid or key forward and keep some draft capital then I think we'd have to consider it.

Id love for us to keep pick 19 some how if we get Ranto but our 1st wont be enough on its own.

Cerra was pick 6 and a future third.

You’d expect something similar to be the ultimate result regardless of where Taranto ends up.

Whether whomever trades for him has enough leverage to see the Giants take a more diluted package as unlike Cerra: Giants are more than willing to see him go for cap relief is the question.

Whoever managed that list build should be sacked , a joke the money these overrated duds are on , kelly Whitfield cigs lol
Haynes is apparently on a backended contract around $1 mil which is 2023
Greene
Kelly
Whitfield
Coniglio
haynes
Hogan
Himmelberg
Taylor

Not to mention the unlimited talented kids they will need to pay

We’d want to be getting something back to cough up those picks I reckon. I’d rather trade a future second as an example as I’d hate to see us trade out of the top end of this years draft
If we are a serious chance to get Taranto it’s because the club and his manager know we can get the deal done.

Just a matter of whether someone else makes a better offer

Not a slow flakes we are getting Taranto for pick 19. Pick 12 is the starting point. Do some of you know how good this bloke is. If we get him he can have the impact Prestia had in our side.
He's not as good as Prestia, AND WE WON'T HAVE PICK 12.

You may be right and Soldo is also from Canberra which would help them a lot.

.... But I wouldn't be seperating Balta, Soldo and Čolina and I doubt they want to be seperated - I wouldn't be so confident that we would "allow" Soldo to leave.

I get the impression those 3 are a package deal, at least for now

As for Soldo, as lumbering as he is, he’s still the only bona fide back-up that I see who’s ready if Nank goes down

People talking about a ready made backup incase Nankervis gets injured , There are not too many teams that would have a backup #1 Ruckman on their lists and if they have he will be gone in a year or 2

Nankervis is extremely durable and apart from that Syndesmosis injury he really has not missed alot of games playing 107 of a possible 130 in 6 years
I think we will be ok for 1-2 years until Ryan , Colina are good enough to backup and with Miller , Biggy and Balta as relief we have decent cover