List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

That's what happens when the integrity of the game gets overshadowed by greed. Everything the AFL{mclachlan} does is driven by$$. From changing the rules for a faster game, who can forget AFLX, to new teams in non AFL heartland, Hey i get it, it;s called expansion for the greater good, but in reply to the above quote, expansion clubs in non traditional markrts, have to pay overs for players to play in front of non existent crowds, for what? And who pays for it? While fat cats get more in their pay check, we get ever more costly food at games, more expensive tickets, whatever it takes for the bottom line. The game itself should be the most important factor when considering fans and players, the two most important things in the game. Can't beat going to a surburban game eating a pie, having a beer, whatching a game where the rules make sense, with friends and family and not worring about if you can afford it! Understand commercialism, but when the bottom line is more important than everything else, Houston we have a problem. Rant over

I half agree. But it's not $ per se. It's power, or scale, and a sense of aesthetics.

They want to cover all of Australia (bar Tassie, which has been forced on them) just so they have more reach. This costs money and probably will be a good thing in 40 years. But their way of 'growing' the game is just to pay for new teams in new places. Why not build up the game via grass roots and build teams more organically? So the AFL will just smash their way in, and it usually doesn't work.

On the aesthetics, they want AFLX. That was/is the goal. It's just that people won't watch it, and an AFLX style game loses in the AFL. So a sensible person would just accept that and move on. The AFL changes rules and screws teams over.

To me so much is about beliefs that are never reality checked. And if reality shows something different they spend mega $ and years in trying to change reality. With the media lap dogs cheering them on.

Over time I've come to belief that it is usually not a conspiracy, it's incompetence and narcissistic unwillingness to admit fault.

Well that's 100% a position of a need, great size at 197/97.
The concern would be he's been stuck behind Ben Brown and on a list for quite a while, so not young.

He's probably only someone I'd take at barebones contract, cheap deal e.g. a pick 45+ in this draft.
I wouldn't take him for free. Absolute spud.

Geelong delisting 5 players under 25
Quinton Narkle 24
Francis Evans 21
Zane Williams 21
Nick Stevens 20
Paul Tsapatolis 20

GeelongRecruits.gif

Not sure to be honest

A the cap implications . Ok we can renegotiate his contract, but that then ties him in for 4 years or longer

B what is the likelihood of getting a good player with 7 compared to 12. Apparently it’s not a great draft. The best player is a F/S, then 3 or 4 guns before evening out

C is Bowes any good? Has struggled at GC
It's cap/list dependent. Doesn't fit us, but the club that can accommodate the list position basically gets a free pick upgrade, and a player at no trade cost. Bowes is a handy player, potentially good-very good.

Care to name names
Clinton Casey, our Essendon supporting ex-prez was part of that little money making exercise. Too bad that Torquay is now shitful suburbia. Who can stand in the way when there's a dollar to be made!

Hey guys, hope all's well.

I reckon we should give a list spot to Quinton Narkle now that he has been delisted. Here's why:

• Would give us some intel on the Cats. Credit to them for whatever changes they've made in the past 12 months.
  • An upgrade on RCD for sure, can find the footy 30 times at AFL level. Maybe not always but he can.
  • Friends with Bolton, might help with retention.
  • At the least he is great midfield insurance if we lose some to injury. Perhaps level with Ross for opportunity, and ahead of Sonsie although would still prefer Sonsie to be given lots of game time.
  • Still only 24.

At the very least, a midfield boost of Taranto, Hopper, Narkle, and keeping Graham, this would be a good off-season for us.
Then, especially if we're trading Soldo I'd love us to find a replacement. And would love if we could bring in another early/mid 20s key position if available.

Grimes, Tarrant, Broad
Vlastuin, Balta, Baker
McIntosh, Taranto, Pickett
Martin, Riewoldt, Bolton
Cumberland, Lynch, MRJ
Nankervis, Prestia, Hopper

Miller/Ryan, Rioli, Cotchin, Graham

emg/ Gibcus, Ross, Short, Narkle

I reckon we should give a list spot to Quinton Narkle now that he has been delisted. Here's why:

• Would give us some intel on the Cats. Credit to them for whatever changes they've made in the past 12 months.
  • An upgrade on RCD for sure, can find the footy 30 times at AFL level. Maybe not always but he can.
  • At the least he is great midfield insurance if we lose some to injury. Perhaps level with Ross for opportunity, and ahead of Sonsie although would still prefer Sonsie to be given lots of game time.
  • Still only 24.

At the very least, a midfield boost of Taranto, Hopper, Narkle, and keeping Graham, this would be a good off-season for us.
Then, especially if we're trading Soldo I'd love us to find a replacement. And would love if we could bring in another early/mid 20s key position if available.

Grimes, Tarrant, Broad
Vlastuin, Balta, Baker
Martin, Riewoldt, Bolton
Cumberland, Lynch, MRJ

Gee Sonsie stiff not to make the emergencies at the very least.
I'd prefer to develop Sonsie over Narkle.

I feel like Narkle would be surplus to requirements and if we need him to retain Bolton, I dont think that says much about the program we are running at Richmond.

Gee Sonsie stiff not to make the emergencies at the very least.
I'd prefer to develop Sonsie over Narkle.

I feel like Narkle would be surplus to requirements and if we need him to retain Bolton, I dont think that says much about the program we are running at Richmond.
You're right, Sonsie should almost be in the 22 but at worst in the emergencies, my bad.

I just think we need more midfield depth and Narkle for free wouldn't be a bad get.

• Still only 24.

Grimes, Tarrant, Broad
Vlastuin, Balta, Baker
Martin, Riewoldt, Bolton
Cumberland, Lynch, MRJ

Don't think we need spuds like Narkle who clearly isn't up to it.

Particularly when you have Short out of the 22 and Sonsie not even mentioned.

• Still only 24.

Grimes, Tarrant, Broad
Vlastuin, Balta, Baker
Martin, Riewoldt, Bolton
Cumberland, Lynch, MRJ

Narkle couldnt carry sonsie bags.

I half agree. But it's not $ per se. It's power, or scale, and a sense of aesthetics.

They want to cover all of Australia (bar Tassie, which has been forced on them) just so they have more reach. This costs money and probably will be a good thing in 40 years. But their way of 'growing' the game is just to pay for new teams in new places. Why not build up the game via grass roots and build teams more organically? So the AFL will just smash their way in, and it usually doesn't work.

On the aesthetics, they want AFLX. That was/is the goal. It's just that people won't watch it, and an AFLX style game loses in the AFL. So a sensible person would just accept that and move on. The AFL changes rules and screws teams over.

To me so much is about beliefs that are never reality checked. And if reality shows something different they spend mega $ and years in trying to change reality. With the media lap dogs cheering them on.

Over time I've come to belief that it is usually not a conspiracy, it's incompetence and narcissistic unwillingness to admit fault.
The origin of the Eagles was a need for money by a broke ass VFL competition. Swans existed but were poor on field. A lot of VFL clubs almost went under a couple merged. Then Bears, Crows. It took a long while to bed them in. Then AFL wanted state rivalries so Power, Suns and Dockers & Giants followed.

I can understand the rationale for a Derby. I'm in NSW so I can see Sydney teams FTA. and Gold Coast & the Gabba is driving distance. The Suns club give away merch for local AFL club raffles. The Suns players are ambassadors for junior leagues in NNSW.

The Suns are doing everything right except winning. I guess its content to sell to the broadcaster. Ditto the AFLW which is, finally found a good time slot.

The local league has a strong womens comp which has provided a player to the Pies. A friend's daughter plays for the Giants so, I have some interest.

Gold Coast has been the basket case, but at least the Giants seem to manage better. People don't go to footy in NSW like they do in Victoria.

I watched a replay of a 2020 game. There is no reason to change the man on the mark rule. But it ain't changing back so, can we just adjust our game. We could win games/flags losing the free kick tally. We can't with stand & dissent.

Samson Ryan is ready for next season. Ruck and forward. He is our ace in the pack. Jacob Bauer is not far off either. Very exciting. Must hold onto these two players at all costs. Don’t want another Chol disaster.

Seing that photo with Jack geez Samson is a massive unit. Hoping like he'll be can be what we thought/hopes CCJ might become.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

• Still only 24.

Grimes, Tarrant, Broad
Vlastuin, Balta, Baker
Martin, Riewoldt, Bolton
Cumberland, Lynch, MRJ

I don't think we should recruit players that wouldn't be best 22. May as well draft a kid.

Actually deleted my post because I misread yours.

Regardless of all the plus’s and minuses; what I saw in the u18’s game doesn’t give me much confidence that I’d want give up 5% of our cap for pick 7.
I agree. Happy to hand over picks this year rather than next. Pick 7 Is likely to be a bust. The talent in the draft looks very thin.

Even if we were not after TT and Hopper I’d be happy to trade out of this draft. As for taking GC debt for pick 7 it’s crazy, plus GC also are expecting something back. Probably a second rounder. Picks are great when the talent pool is deep but that is not how it looks. The club is weighing up it’s options and you can be sure have looked at the possibility of this pics seven. At the end of the day I believe they will pass because it’s not worth it.