List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 7

Hello Tiger fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

tugga you may like to sticky or merge this post, move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread.

Premiership ruckman, good age bracket and looking super fit. Definitely pick under 35

For a brief period (in 2019 I think) IMO Soldo had overtaken Nank as our best ruckman. His tap work was superb and he was starting to get more of the ball and actually take some contested marks around the ground.

Then he did his knee and hasn’t been able to get a consistent run at it since.

I think he should leave for his own career’s sake. With Ryan showing ability, when Nank is fit I just can’t see Soldo playing regular senior footy 2024 onwards.

He’d definitely command a top-30 pick. Shaun Higgins went for about pick-32 to the Cats. He’d be a great pick-up for Geelong, Saints or Port.

With Samson being a more than capable first ruck if required from next season I reckon we should offload Soldo for a 2nd rounder and Ralphsmith too. We have an abundance of half back flankers / wingers and he has some currency. Those picks with our 2nd and a possibly a later pick would be enough for GCs pick 7.

Could also trade our future first out for another 1st this year to somewhat fast track the rebuild.

With Samson being a more than capable first ruck if required from next season I reckon we should offload Soldo for a 2nd rounder and Ralphsmith too. We have an abundance of half back flankers / wingers and he has some currency. Those picks with our 2nd and a possibly a later pick would be enough for GCs pick 7.

Could also trade our future first out for another 1st this year to somewhat fast track the rebuild.

I don't know about Samson being a more than capable first ruck from next year. He looks to be progressing nicely but was often struggling to keep his feet against seasoned rucks this year and is no doubt still building his tank as well. We should expect improvement for next year but not sure we'd be wanting to head into the season with only Nankervis and Ryan as rucks. I am in the keep Soldo camp. But for his foot issues he'd have played a minimum of 7 games this season, so far. This week would be 8. The 3 games he has played he has done quite well, including a goal in each game.

Rucks get injured and suspended. You need back up and Soldo has always said he will happily play at VFL level if that is what is needed. I don't mind your plan of trading out some players to see if we can get some reasonable picks in, but I would be leaving all 3 of our rucks right out of that.

Heard yesterday that the Giants are into a couple of our fringe types. HRS is definitely one, Sonsie maybe the other. Might be able to conjure up a deal to include these guys (not that I want to lose Sonsie) to grab one of those keys

The Giants only have picks 9, 12 and 50 and they're not gonna give up those two early picks for our fringe players.

Perhaps they'll get another pick from Hawthorn for Riccardi? I'd let them have Ralphsmith, but it would take a good offer to let Sonsie go.

I don't know about Samson being a more than capable first ruck from next year. He looks to be progressing nicely but was often struggling to keep his feet against seasoned rucks this year and is no doubt still building his tank as well. We should expect improvement for next year but not sure we'd be wanting to head into the season with only Nankervis and Ryan as rucks. I am in the keep Soldo camp. But for his foot issues he'd have played a minimum of 7 games this season, so far. This week would be 8. The 3 games he has played he has done quite well, including a goal in each game.

Rucks get injured and suspended. You need back up and Soldo has always said he will happily play at VFL level if that is what is needed. I don't mind your plan of trading out some players to see if we can get some reasonable picks in, but I would be leaving all 3 of our rucks right out of that.
Samson will be good to go next year if required IMO. Don't need 3 blokes capable of being 1st ruck on your list. If Soldo goes back out when Nankervis returns I doubt he'll stay anyway, he's too good for vfl and he could earn alot more money elsewhere.

If we traded out Soldo we'd need to draft another ruck to come through though yeah.

Soldo is a genuine AFL ruck who can work well with Nank. Why trade him? - seems nuts to me.

Jack and Cotch are holding there places, so should be allowed to stay if they want.

If we can trade our way into the GC first pick then please do it.

They are desperate for tall defender
And barass has been on there radar for a while
Pick 5 or McDonald is crazy talk for a 28yr old.Sydney are not that desperate.
They might as well keep 5 and pick up Curtin.
Pick 22 might be more in the ball park for a 28yr old.

Bit disappointing he hasn’t been given maccas game time tbh we need to find opportunities for emerging talent or they’ll leave , the time was when dimma had the reigns and we were losing every week was non sensical to play the same bloody side
Agreed! As good as KMac has been I think its time to let him go as he won't get better. Hes too slow

Nah. GC need points this year, not future picks.

We would need to find a couple of r2 picks this year to package up with ours. Two of Soldo, Graham and Ralphsmith should be on the table IMO.
Yeah but if they keep this years 1st its almost a burn?
I'd give them pick 46 as well if they need pts

Definitely. They'll sell it to the highest bidder. Really hope we're all over it even if it means trading out some depth.
There's no way we get enough points to get our hands on that pick. We'd need to trade out a really high value player, or give them our future first which I can't see us doing because it gives us nothing to trade for a key forward next year.

Imo the only way it happens is if Dusty decides he wants to go and join Dimma on the GC, and right now it's looking like Dusty wants to stick around and finish his career with us.

There's no way we get enough points to get our hands on that pick. We'd need to trade out a really high value player, or give them our future first which I can't see us doing because it gives us nothing to trade for a key forward next year.

Imo the only way it happens is if Dusty decides he wants to go and join Dimma on the GC, and right now it's looking like Dusty wants to stick around and finish his career with us.
Why? Soldo and Ralphsmith would both get 2nd rounders in a trade. Them plus our 2nd round pick would be around the equivalent of their 1st round in points value. Chuck in our 3rd round and they're ahead.