List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 7

Hello Tiger fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

tugga you may like to sticky or merge this post, move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread.

Totally agree. But I reckon Buddy might've been just good enough at Tigerland to prevent us from going so bad through 2008/09 that we'd have missed out on Cotch and Dusty, and the Rance priority pick.

Interesting how poor decision end up leading to good things sometimes.

Didn't think of that. In many ways I prefer that we had JR than Buddy.
Yeah it’s an interesting thought experiment it dramatically changes our list profile in terms of players we would of targeted and even when our flag window would of been open

Assuming Buddy still goes to Sydney do we win the flag in those years before he leaves to make it worth it? Not sure if we would of had the cattle around him to do it

All in all hard to complain with how it all turned out on the back of multiple club and afl HoF inductees and 3 flags

Time to take our medicine over the next few seasons but hopefully it’s only some short term pain

Yeah it’s an interesting thought experiment it dramatically changes our list profile in terms of players we would of targeted and even when our flag window would of been open

Assuming Buddy still goes to Sydney do we win the flag in those years before he leaves to make it worth it? Not sure if we would of had the cattle around him to do it

All in all hard to complain with how it all turned out on the back of multiple club and afl HoF inductees and 3 flags

Time to take our medicine over the next few seasons but hopefully it’s only some short term pain
Hopefully short term, very short term.

I’m happy to see where we sit this year and even possibly have another mediocre year next year

But if we are just sitting mid table by 2027 with no real direction in terms of bottoming out or playing finals I will be disappointed and pushing for a proper rebuild

We were always taking Roughead at pick 4 but Hawks grabbed him knowing that! They gambled we wouldn’t take Franklin, and gambled correctly.
Irrelevant discussion really as it would have totally changed our list and drafting history, and we may not have won the 3 flags had we not subsequently selected the players we did.
If I remember correctly at the time of the draft all the pundits rated Tambling highly. The comparisons with Buddy only started when Buddy started tearing the comp apart. it's easy in hindsight.

Didn't think of that. In many ways I prefer that we had JR than Buddy.
Tough one that.
Jack or Buddy.
I guess Jack stayed through the hard times.
Not sure if Buddy would've.
Would Buddy lift the side enough to be out of reach for Cotch & Dusty.
Funny how things worked out.
Hawks & Buddy got their flags and so did we all because of the 04 draft.

The most glaringly obvious down fall if we had have taken Buddy is we would not have won 3 flags.

Lets say we win 1, he most certainly wouldnt have taken a pay cut allowing us to trade for Lynch or anyone for that matter that allowed us to stay at the top.

It's funny how the media and oppos always bring up picking Tambling over Buddy. Dees had 2 picks before Dusty but that never gets a mention. Fact is we won 3 flags with a list that was largely assembled during compromised drafts due to expansion clubs when we were at the bottom end of the ladder. Our recruiting has been A+.

We wouldn't have won any flags with Buddy. If we'd had him we wouldn't have finished low enough in 2007 or 2009 to get Cotchin and Martin, and we don't win any flags without either one of those, let alone both of them. We turned out to be very lucky drafting Tambling. And no, he didn't have superstar potential. He had no exposed form against the main states in his draft year. People got excited by him dominating for NT against Tassie and NSW. Could have been a good player, but was never going to be a superstar.

We also didn't have the culture at the time to handle Buddy. And without Cotchin, I'm not sure we'd have it yet. We should build that bloke a statue and put it opposite the one of Jack Dyer: the two greatest leaders our club has ever had. Perfect, complementary, bookends.

It's funny how the media and oppos always bring up picking Tambling over Buddy. Dees had 2 picks before Dusty but that never gets a mention. Fact is we won 3 flags with a list that was largely assembled during compromised drafts due to expansion clubs when we were at the bottom end of the ladder. Our recruiting has been A+.

Nah but apparently Geelong is better at recruiting according to their supporters. Something wrong with them

We wouldn't have won any flags with Buddy. If we'd had him we wouldn't have finished low enough in 2007 or 2009 to get Cotchin and Martin, and we don't win any flags without either one of those, let alone both of them. We turned out to be very lucky drafting Tambling. And no, he didn't have superstar potential. He had no exposed form against the main states in his draft year. People got excited by him dominating for NT against Tassie and NSW. Could have been a good player, but was never going to be a superstar.

We also didn't have the culture at the time to handle Buddy. And without Cotchin, I'm not sure we'd have it yet. We should build that bloke a statue and put it opposite the one of Jack Dyer: the two greatest leaders our club has ever had. Perfect, complementary, bookends.

Agree. Except that Tambling didn't have star potential.

When he developed physically he was a ball of muscle, fast, great skills, great footy brain. And somehow no ability to keep it going within games or between games. he had the ability to be an A grader. I know the attitude and mentality is the key to being really good, and for whatever reason (upbringing mostly I guess) Tambo just didn't have it. So I guess I agree with you, and disagree at the same time.

back then we couldn't develop players that needed it. If we'd got Dusty he wouldn't have been the star he has become.

And that was the knock on Buddy. His talent was never question at draft time it was if he had the mental fortitude required at AFL level. If we wouldn't have developed Dusty at that time the same probably goes for Buddy.

Yeh. Could easily have been Tambo that starred and Buddy just never there.

It's a bit depressing to think what we were. And petty good to think what we've become.

2024 FREE AGENTS

*qualifies as previously delisted player

RICHMOND

Jack Graham
Noah Cumberland*
Dylan Grimes
Dustin Martin
Kamdyn McIntosh
Toby Nankervis
Dion Prestia
Ben Miller*
Sam Naismith*

2024 FREE AGENTS

*qualifies as previously delisted player

RICHMOND

Jack Graham
Noah Cumberland*
Dylan Grimes
Dustin Martin
Kamdyn McIntosh
Toby Nankervis
Dion Prestia
Ben Miller*
Sam Naismith*

Couple there who could go FA I would miss. But that looks like good list management to me.

Noah Cumberland*
Ben Miller*
Sam Naismith*

Miss these 3? Naismith wouldn't leave to go elsewhere and the other two would be zero loss.

Looking the way salaries are about to explode (50+ million dollar players coming up), locking away TT and Hopper for 7-years on approx $5m contracts each is going to end up being excellent business from a salary cap perspective.

I would guess, that any decent player manager, which Paul Conners is, would build potential CBA increases into their deals... Or at least a portion of it