Review Cats belt Freo by 78 points.

Mullin looks better the further he is away from our defensive goal square.

Surely the best thing for him now would be a month in the VFL on the ball.

I do wonder if a fit again Cam Guthrie could finish his career as he started in a small defender role to get another Premiership. Atkins may have to take on the job though, the ultimate team man. Clearly we have a problem there and small forwards are becoming increasingly important to the modern game.

big defensive presence through the middle of the ground with his size and running power.

We clearly went in with a plan to clamp down on Freo's midfield accumulators, with Atkins tacking like a maniac and MOC tagging Serong rather than skulking around in a vague BP position. Knevitt more than did his part, putting in a heap of bone crunchers himself, accumulating 21 touches along the way, and being able to use his height to influence aerial contests. I think he had a good game.

Mullin looks better the further he is away from our defensive goal square.

I think there'll be times when Mullin is playing a bit higher, sees an outnumber developing in our defensive goalsquare, and uses his inhuman speed to make it back there. Turns a 3-1 into a 3-2, tackles the opponent who wins the footy, can't stop the guy that opponent handballs to, and ends up copping the blame for the whole mess. Reasonable criticism is fine but now that Brandan Parfitt is gone I can see some other usual suspects looking for someone new to hate and I reckon I don't want to see that here.

We clearly went in with a plan to clamp down on Freo's midfield accumulators, with Atkins tacking like a maniac and MOC tagging Serong rather than skulking around in a vague BP position. Knevitt more than did his part, putting in a heap of bone crunchers himself, accumulating 21 touches along the way, and being able to use his height to influence aerial contests. I think he had a good game.

I think there'll be times when Mullin is playing a bit higher, sees an outnumber developing in our defensive goalsquare, and uses his inhuman speed to make it back there. Turns a 3-1 into a 3-2, tackles the opponent who wins the footy, can't stop the guy that opponent handballs to, and ends up copping the blame for the whole mess. Reasonable criticism is fine but now that Brandan Parfitt is gone I can see some other usual suspects looking for someone new to hate and I reckon I don't want to see that here.
It's not fair to target Bruhn for various reasons so I have moved onto Mullins 😁

Agree with the lot of what has been posted…so will try and focus on a couple of different thoughts

I get some of the Mullin criticism but if you eliminate that 5m of play we would probably wouldn’t be talking much about him? Other than he didn’t get much of the ball. And when I look at those 4 goals by the kid at least two of them - maybe 3 - should have been punched through before it hit the ground by a big player (mostly young COS).

We simply don’t have any small defender with the speed required unless we go back to Bews post injury (which is not out of the question). Lawson closing speed (due to footy IQ) under rated but we need a pure lock down fast player and Mullin I think is the only option where we don’t mind sacrificing his offence. He could ultimately end up on the wing.

We missed Kolo. I am so happy COS is getting a good block and he will be a very good player but that 3rd qtr wouldn’t have happened with Kolo in the team - would have killed those opportunities in the goal square

I haven’t head much commentary about J Henry but wow - he could go to another level this year. In my mind he is the leader in the backline now - a rock.

Blitz wasn’t flashy but he looks entrenched in his role in Defence and Ruck. Solid - and can create some offense out of the backline

So happy for Knevitt. At qtr time I was shocked to see he had zero possessions as I had thought he was everywhere. Watching the replay he was but was a bit fumbly so was more involved in bumps and tap ons and defensive side. Don’t think we can underestimate how much we need his height and strength inside to complement that rest of the MF. And those left handed handballs to the outside were amazing.

Two celebrated youngers from last year who didn’t have “flashy games” and therefore haven’t got many mentions…Lawson and Dempsey…I thought showed something different - and exciting…Lawson showed to me a defensive side - closing speed, spoils, accountability which I think is important as a complement to his run and ball use.

I was going to comment at half time on Knevitte, Lawson and Dempsey but the reception at game was poor - for Dempsey it was about a completely different thing that normal - his contests were the best I have seen. Yes he had the soccer goal and 80% efficiency and some (limited) smart possessions and was often providing an option and not used as normal for a Cats wing…but he had 5 effective tackles and a bunch of other almost tackles, flew into packs to bring ball to ground and generally looked like he had a different mindset to contact. I noted he looked cooked earlier than most likely as contested footy is harder fitness wise…so whilst it might have taken away from the normal game if he can keep this mindset up it could be what takes his game to new level.

Lastly on SDK we do have I think to stop thinking of him as a ruckman but as another midfielder. He is still going to get monstered by some physically capably rucks (maybe even including next week) but the coaching staff know that and will plan for it…but what he can do on the ground is really helpful to our MF I reckon. With Blitz playing well, wanting to get COS games until Kolo returns…SDK ain’t going back anytime soon

I thought close was very ordinary today and needs to have a good hard look at himself. I don’t care that it was sunny and 34, he let down the long sleeves fraternity with that effort today.

15 disposals, 1 goal and 7 score involvements playing the most difficult role on the field. He also led the team for F50 ground ball gets with 4. I'll never understand how this board picks its whipping boys.

Thought that piece of play was the play of the day Spearman:.... Knevitt in stoppage and surrounded by a number of Freo players, then out of nowhere in a split second executes this sublime handball to Brad Close who with very little time quickly finds with a precision short pass to Ollie Dempsey who marks and goals. That handball and play by Mitch Knevitt reminded me of Greg Williams, it was elite in traffic and I'm just hoping it wasn't a fluke and his is capable of repeating that type of exquisite skill level and awareness repeatedly in future.
That one stood out (for the impact and importance) but I recall at least 2 other great left hand handballs out of the pack to get people going (maybe one in the last to SDK on the run and I can’t think of the other right now). This is something different for us.

Our celebrated MFs in last couple of years (Danger and Holmes) are just power out themselves and kick it…which is good sometimes…but to have a player that can release the likes of Holmes and Smith (and SDK!) into space out front of centre square and the many players around the ground stoppages will be huge if that becomes part of his game

15 disposals, 1 goal and 7 score involvements playing the most difficult role on the field. He also led the team for F50 ground ball gets with 4. I'll never understand how this board picks its whipping boys.
I think (or at least I took it) he was joking due to Close not wearing long sleeves…

But I do agree with your sentiments. I was thinking when Mannagh is back does Close play a little more on the wing? He was there a bit more yesterday than normal I think (with Smith playing that Mannagh role sometimes out of the forward line).

Have him and Dempsey (who also had 15, 2 goals and 8 scoring involvements) on either wing could be good?

can you see Knev being like a Dunkley?

Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk
Was thinking a very poor man's Joel Corey given his running power. Either way I don't think he's reaching that level but can do that grunt work stuff - had one less tackle than Atkins and two more clearances on fewer CBAs and less ToG. And had some moments of class (like that handball forward over the congestion in the third that helped set up Close). Just needs games to get used to where and when he has to run etc.

Boys and Girls
Went to the game yesterday, I taken my son and mate. As they both are 10 it was good to take them to as there was plenty of activities for them to do before the game.

Was very happy with 3 out of the 4 quarters yesterday ( obviously 🙄)
Bazlenka.. im a Married man with 3 kids, but gee his a smooth looking fella lol
What a great performance 👏.

I thought it was Shannon Neale best game iv seen him play.. he played like a bloke who wanted to show his a big boy now and I'm going to take this opportunity.

Knevitt , you can see the bloke has got good footy IQ in the way he can definitely read the ball and give the ball to the blokes in the best position.. The only thing is he has to believe he belongs out there.. He got better as the game went on..

Connor O'Sullivan. He will be a good player, his just a bloke who will need 4 or so season's in him, hit the gym and will be a 200 plus club game player..

Cheers FoxDog50

Mullin is an easy target to zero in on but he’ll be fine.

Need to back our development program (and coaches) to know what’s best. Another 20 games invested into him and he’ll be a ripper. He’s an elite runner - strong - and built like a brick. Perfect lockdown small defender and after another season or two will be in our midfield.

And whilst he’s not racking up big numbers just yet, his kicking skills are amongst the best at the club.

I’m still not sold on Knevitt. But Mullin is a Chris Scott favourite and the perfect project player to have in our best 22. He’s learning / development trajectory is very sharp. Lots of upside.

Agree with the lot of what has been posted…so will try and focus on a couple of different thoughts

I get some of the Mullin criticism but if you eliminate that 5m of play we would probably wouldn’t be talking much about him? Other than he didn’t get much of the ball. And when I look at those 4 goals by the kid at least two of them - maybe 3 - should have been punched through before it hit the ground by a big player (mostly young COS).

We simply don’t have any small defender with the speed required unless we go back to Bews post injury (which is not out of the question). Lawson closing speed (due to footy IQ) under rated but we need a pure lock down fast player and Mullin I think is the only option where we don’t mind sacrificing his offence. He could ultimately end up on the wing.

We missed Kolo. I am so happy COS is getting a good block and he will be a very good player but that 3rd qtr wouldn’t have happened with Kolo in the team - would have killed those opportunities in the goal square

I haven’t head much commentary about J Henry but wow - he could go to another level this year. In my mind he is the leader in the backline now - a rock.

Blitz wasn’t flashy but he looks entrenched in his role in Defence and Ruck. Solid - and can create some offense out of the backline

So happy for Knevitt. At qtr time I was shocked to see he had zero possessions as I had thought he was everywhere. Watching the replay he was but was a bit fumbly so was more involved in bumps and tap ons and defensive side. Don’t think we can underestimate how much we need his height and strength inside to complement that rest of the MF. And those left handed handballs to the outside were amazing.

Two celebrated youngers from last year who didn’t have “flashy games” and therefore haven’t got many mentions…Lawson and Dempsey…I thought showed something different - and exciting…Lawson showed to me a defensive side - closing speed, spoils, accountability which I think is important as a complement to his run and ball use.

I was going to comment at half time on Knevitte, Lawson and Dempsey but the reception at game was poor - for Dempsey it was about a completely different thing that normal - his contests were the best I have seen. Yes he had the soccer goal and 80% efficiency and some (limited) smart possessions and was often providing an option and not used as normal for a Cats wing…but he had 5 effective tackles and a bunch of other almost tackles, flew into packs to bring ball to ground and generally looked like he had a different mindset to contact. I noted he looked cooked earlier than most likely as contested footy is harder fitness wise…so whilst it might have taken away from the normal game if he can keep this mindset up it could be what takes his game to new level.

Lastly on SDK we do have I think to stop thinking of him as a ruckman but as another midfielder. He is still going to get monstered by some physically capably rucks (maybe even including next week) but the coaching staff know that and will plan for it…but what he can do on the ground is really helpful to our MF I reckon. With Blitz playing well, wanting to get COS games until Kolo returns…SDK ain’t going back anytime soon
Dempsey long term transition to Connor rozee type mid is in progress 😍

Review Cats belt Freo by 78 points.

Write your reply...