@AFL
debut
39 - Dean Greig
38 - Greg Williams
34 - HARRY SHEEZEL
33 - Michael Barlow
33 - Peter Rohde
32 - Bradd Dalziell 32 - [PLAYERCARD]Jacob Hopper 32 - Gilbert McAdam

His 34 touches are the most by a debutant since Greg Williams picked up 38 in his first game in 1984.

At the game today with my dad.
Footy is a confidence game. We got some today 🙂
Modern players that succeed need confidence because they need great decision making and foot/hand skills (try doing that down on confidence - and we need those skills because defensively we have zone structures to avoid 1-on-1s and premiership contenders demand a contest from all (well most) players.
Clarko and Rats are bone fide good coaches so every North lad selected in the ones today got a boost. Rats and Clarko have coached against Ziebs, Kanyo, Sleevo and they feel these boys are worthy of a spot. Them plus kids and everyone felt they belonged today, my belief.
A bit more Clarko organising, another year for the kids, add Cheezel’s class (how good to have a low draft pick step up day one!), and that added belief and we got the win 🙂
A few beers in but hopefully you get the drift, we going the right direction and Clarko is picking kids that are gonna be genuine goodies, Sheez, Bergs, and genuine AFL competitors Jack Z, Kanye and Greenwood etc … before i forget, how good was Logie?!

positives -
structures
effort
LDU
Larkey
Log
Powell
Phillips
Chom: just needs to pluck some overhead marks
Curtis
Goater
Burgman
All our under 23’s look like they belong

negatives -
skills
fitness
bonar: getting fingers only or double clutching the ball so many times (still would preserve with)
sleevo: the only one who didn’t contribute (it’s Eddie Mazda time!)

special mention -
Ziebell: he might flourish under a Clarko game plan
Greenhead: mighty effort
Shiels: I thought he might be a liability on field but he earned his spot

and of course -
you have the cheeeeeeeeeez! Superb.

I think WC at marvel will be as easy as it gets so I don’t know how many more games we will win this year, but at least our under 23’s look the goods and clarko has given us structure.

Huh? Sounds odd.
ofitybhtqcia1.jpg

Just a great win. Tough, courageous, lucky in parts, but a great platform to launch into 2023 off.

Best were obvious - LDU, Souva, Sheeze, but the real mentions are Comben and Greenwood.

As funny as it sounds, its a bit of a breakout game for Chom. He will take enormous confidence from the fact he can contribute in such an important role.

He will go back to CHF next week and will be brimming with confidence.

Hes been overshadowed by Sheezel in all media reports so far, but LDU was the clear best on ground. My god he is special. Could be in the top 5 in the league by seasons end.

It’s the best game I can remember the resident whipping boys - Ziebell, Bonar, McDonald, Turner & Greenwood - having.

They were all awesome in a good system.
I was teeing off on greenwood halfway through the first. By the last, boy did I feel silly. Best game he’s played for us. Well played and Hats off.

They reckon nearly 14,000 attended The plastic Suns & COLA game yet 21,000 at ours. 🤣🤣🤣 Gee the AFL fudge the books..

PS: How good will it be when we get games into Warlord & B. George then pick up a couple of first rounders in the supadraft..

Woweeeeeee…

Anyone else in attendance today notice the balls of fluff constantly falling from the roof?

When I first arrived I could see it all over the ground. Outside Marvel there were those little thistle seeds everywhere floating around, so I assumed it was those.

Edit: yep, what you posted a pic of. They're thistle seeds

Umpire watch - just checking the replay and with 5.00 left to play in the third, Goater gets awarded a goal saving free kick for kicking in danger. He clears the ball out to a team mate in the pocket. The umpire calls it back and insists that Bergman takes the kick. Bergman then kicks it to the other flank where it gets intercepted and Allen gets spotted up for an easy set shot and goal. Why the **** did the umpire insist that Begrman take the kick when it was Goater who was infringed. ****ing moron umpire. Clear mistake.

Great to snag a win, I love the composure of Sheils. Will be good for the young fellas.

And I know we think Zurhaar will be the one to murder JHF when we play Port, but If I were him I'd be scared of Comben. Dude hits like a freight train.
yeah I don't remember a big guy with such sheer aggression with the athleticism to match since .....I don't want to say it,,,,but I will anyway,,,,Carey.

It was good to win today, the players will get a lot of confidence out of the game. The best part about the game was how large a role our younger players performed in that game.

Gibson needs to teach the defenders how to kill a contest, our inability to get fist anywhere near the ball or be able to put body contact on a forward at the point the ball arrives makes us leak too many goals imo.

Autopsy Autopsy vs WCE